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 Executive Summary 
 

Tax expenditures are legal mandates that provide preferential tax treatment to taxpayers 
that meet the requirements of the mandates.  The 2020 Tax Expenditures Report contains 
information on 232 tax expenditure items enacted in the Rhode Island General Laws as of January 
1, 2020, however not all items were in effect for the years reported.  For tax expenditure items that 
did have reliable data from which to estimate revenue forgone, the estimated total revenue forgone 
was $2.13 billion in 2016 and $2.28 billion in 2017.   
 

The 2020 Tax Expenditures Report continues to use the reliability index that was developed 
in the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report.  The Index of Reliability is shown below: 
 

Index of Reliability  Interpretation 
Level One (1)  Estimate is from actual Rhode Island tax return data 
Level Two (2)  Estimate is extrapolated from Rhode Island source data 
Level Three (3)  Estimate is from Rhode Island tax simulation model 
Level Four (4)  Estimate is federal/national data scaled for Rhode Island 
Level Five (5)  No reliable data exists from which to derive an estimate 

 
The following table shows the number of tax expenditure items by tax expenditure 

category, the revenue forgone by tax expenditure category, and the average reliability index level 
by tax expenditure category for 2016: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Expenditure Category for 2016 

Tax Expenditure Category 

Number of 
Items in Each 

Category 
Tax Year 2016 

Revenue Forgone1 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Credits 34 $   260,502,974 1.1 
Deductions 23      241,761,901 2.6 
Exclusions 25      213,622,700 4.2 
Exemptions 104   1,364,886,046 3.6 
Modifications 30        26,625,720 1.6 
Other Items 6                     --- 5.0 

                                                 
1 Revenue forgone amounts are a mix of fiscal year and tax year periodicities depending on the tax expenditure 
category in question.  Mixed fiscal year/tax year tax expenditure categories, the number of individual fiscal year 2016  
items, the fiscal year 2016 revenue forgone amount, the number of individual tax year 2016 items, the tax year 2016 
revenue forgone amount, the number of individual fiscal year 2017 items and the fiscal year 2017 revenue forgone 
amount in order by tax expenditure item are: Exclusions, 23 for $180,798,105, one for $21,144,505 and one for 
$11,680,090; Exemptions, 65 for $525,144,727, five for $116,501,517 and 34 for $723,239,802; Modifications, four 
for $5,331,906 and 26 for $21,293,814; and Tax Abatements, two for $1,743,232 and one for $84,695. 
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Summary Table by Tax Expenditure Category for 2016 

Tax Expenditure Category 

Number of 
Items in Each 

Category 
Tax Year 2016 

Revenue Forgone1 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Preferential Tax Rates 2       23,531,687 3.0 
Tax Abatements 3         1,827,927 2.3 
Tax Deferrals 2                       0 3.0 

2016 TOTAL 229 $ 2,132,758,955 2.9 
 

The tax expenditure category with the highest number of tax expenditure items in 2016 
was Exemptions with 104.  Exemptions also had the highest number of items for which no reliable 
data exists from which to estimate revenue forgone with 43, or 41.3 percent of all Exemptions.  
Finally, Exemptions are also the tax expenditure category with the largest amount of revenue 
forgone at $1.36 billion or 64.0% of the estimated total revenue forgone for 2016.  The tax 
expenditure category with the smallest amount of revenue forgone was Tax Abatements at 
$1,827,927 or 0.09% of the estimated total revenue forgone. 

 
The revenue forgone for each of the tax expenditure items is assigned a reliability index 

level on a scale of one to five, with one meaning the calculated revenue forgone is the most reliable 
possible and five meaning that it is not possible to calculate the revenue forgone for the tax 
expenditure item.  A total of 82 or 36.0 percent of all 2016 tax expenditure items received a 
reliability index level score of one, while 78 or 34.2 percent of the 229 tax expenditure items were 
assigned a reliability index score of five.  The remaining 69 tax expenditure items were assigned 
a reliability index level score of two, three, or four with 33 of the remaining 69 tax expenditure 
items receiving a reliability index level of three. 

 
The following table shows the number of tax expenditure items by tax expenditure 

category, the revenue forgone by tax expenditure category, and the average reliability index level 
by tax expenditure category for 2017: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Expenditure Category for 2017 

Tax Expenditure Category 

Number of 
Items in Each 

Category 
Tax Year 2017 

Revenue Forgone2 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Credits 35 $ 308,728,238 1.1 

                                                 
2 Revenue forgone amounts are a mix of fiscal year and tax year periodicities depending on the tax expenditure 
category in question.  Mixed fiscal year/tax year tax expenditure categories, the number of individual fiscal year 2017 
items, the fiscal year 2017 revenue forgone amount, the number of individual tax year 2017 items, the tax year 2017 
revenue forgone amount, the number of individual fiscal year 2018 items and the fiscal year 2018 revenue forgone 
amount in order by tax expenditure item are: Exclusions, 23 for $217,489,269, one for $31,376,042 and one for 
$11,918,401; Exemptions, 65 for $537,302,405, five for $129,893,407 and 34 for $765,011,847; Modifications, four 
for $4,949,228 and 27 for $31,837,785; and Tax Abatements, two for $1,672,327 and one for $84,405. 
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Summary Table by Tax Expenditure Category for 2017 

Tax Expenditure Category 

Number of 
Items in Each 

Category 
Tax Year 2017 

Revenue Forgone2 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Deductions 23 $   235,371,921 2.6 
Exclusions  25     260,783,712 4.2 
Exemptions  104  1,432,207,659 3.5 
Modifications  31       36,787,013 1.6 
Other Items  6                     --- 5.0 
Preferential Tax Rates  2         8,952,163 3.0 
Tax Abatements  3         1,756,732 2.3 
Tax Deferrals 2                       0 3.0 

2017 TOTAL 231 $ 2,284,587,438 2.9 
 

The tax expenditure category with the highest number of tax expenditure items in 2017 
was Exemptions with 104.  Exemptions also had the highest number of items for which no reliable 
data exists from which to estimate revenue forgone with 40, or 38.5 percent of all Exemptions.  
Finally, Exemptions are also the tax expenditure category with the largest amount of revenue 
forgone at $1.43 billion or 62.7 percent of the estimated total revenue forgone for 2017.  The tax 
expenditure category with the smallest amount of revenue forgone was Tax Abatements at 
$1,756,732 or 0.08 percent of the estimated total revenue forgone. 

 
A total of 86 or 37.4 percent of all tax expenditure items in 2017 received a reliability index 

level score of one, while 75 or 32.6 percent of the 231 tax expenditure items were assigned a 
reliability index score of five.  The remaining 67 tax expenditure items were assigned a reliability 
index level score of two, three or four with 34 of the remaining 67 tax expenditure items receiving 
a reliability index level of three. 

 
The following table shows the number of tax expenditure items grouped by tax type, the 

revenue forgone grouped by tax type, and the average reliability index level grouped by tax type 
for 2016: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Type for 2016 

Tax Type 
Number of 

Items * 
Tax Year 2016 

Revenue Forgone3 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax 4 $                 --- 5.0 

                                                 
3 Revenue forgone amounts are a mix of fiscal year and tax year periodicities depending on the tax type in question.  
Mixed fiscal year/tax year tax types, the number of individual fiscal year 2016 items, the fiscal year 2016 revenue 
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Summary Table by Tax Type for 2016 

Tax Type 
Number of 

Items * 
Tax Year 2016 

Revenue Forgone3 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Bank Deposits Tax 4                      0 2.0 
Bank Tax 26      14,644,269 1.6 
Beverage Containers Tax 2           189,174 4.5 
Business Corporation Tax 57      62,574,992 2.6 
Cigarettes Tax 4        2,819,884 2.3 
Estate and Transfer Tax 4      20,700,000 3.0 
Generation Skipping Transfer 
Tax 1                      0 1.0 
Hotel Tax 1           920,087 1.0 
Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax 24        3,134,554 1.5 
Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax 1        5,921,129 1.0 
Motor Fuel Tax 3    183,670,880 1.3 
Non-Profit Refund 1        3,895,071 1.0 
Personal Income Tax 59    567,876,874 1.8 
Public Service Corporation Tax 25        3,566,229 2.1 
Rental Vehicle Surcharge  1        5,331,906 1.0 
Real Estate Conveyance Tax 5                      0 4.2 
Sales and Use Tax 90 1,257,513,906 3.5 

2016 TOTAL 312 $ 2,132,758,955 2.5 
* The number of items by tax type will exceed the number of items by tax expenditure category due to individual 

tax expenditure items spanning more than one tax type.   
 

The tax type with the highest number of tax expenditure items in 2016 was the Sales and 
Use Tax with 90.  The tax type with the largest amount of revenue forgone in 2016 was also the 
Sales and Use Tax at $1.26 billion or 59.0 percent of the estimated total revenue forgone.  Finally, 
the tax type with the highest number of tax expenditure items for which no reliable data existed 
                                                 
forgone amount, the number of individual tax year 2016 items, the tax year 2016 revenue forgone amount, the number 
of individual fiscal year 2017 items and the fiscal year 2017 revenue forgone amount in order by tax type are: Alcoholic 
Beverage Tax, three for an indeterminable amount, one for an indeterminable amount; Bank Tax, four for $11,531,021 
and 22 for $3,113,248; Business Corporation Tax, 20 for $12,000,666 and 37 for $50,574,326; Estate and Transfer 
Tax, three for $0 and one for $20,700,000; Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax, three for $1,783 and 21 for 
$3,132,771; Personal Income Tax, five for indeterminable amounts and 54 for $567,876,874; Public Service 
Corporation Tax, five for indeterminable amounts and 20 for $3,566,229; and Sales and Use Tax, 54 for $522,594,014, 
0 for $0,  and 36 for $734,919,892. 
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was again the Sales and Use Tax at 32 items, or 35.6 percent of all tax expenditure items in this 
tax type.  Several tax types had the smallest amount of revenue forgone at $0 for tax expenditure 
items for which revenue forgone could be determined. 
 

The individual tax expenditure with the largest amount of revenue forgone is the sales and 
use tax exemption for purchases used for manufacturing purposes at nearly $379.1 million or 17.8 
percent of the estimated total revenue forgone.  This tax expenditure item was assigned a reliability 
index level of two.  There were 88 individual tax expenditure items which had the smallest possible 
revenue forgone of $0 and all were assigned a reliability index level of one. 
 

The following table shows the number of tax expenditure items grouped by tax type, the 
revenue forgone grouped by tax type, and the average reliability index level grouped by tax type 
for 2017: 
 

Summary Table by Tax Type for 2017 

Tax Type 
Number of 

Items * 
Tax Year 2017 

Revenue Forgone4 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax 4 $          29,543 4.0 
Bank Deposits Tax 4                      0 2.0 
Bank Tax 26      11,262,043 1.6 
Beverage Containers Tax 2 $         184,271 4.5 
Business Corporation Tax 57       56,412,732 2.6 
Cigarettes Tax 4         2,863,461 2.3 
Estate and Transfer Tax 4       37,000,000 3.0 
Generation Skipping Transfer 
Tax 1                       0 1.0 
Hotel Tax 1         2,479,513 1.0 
Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax 24       21,804,154 1.5 
Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax 1         2,957,954 1.0 
Motor Fuel Tax 3     218,181,579 1.3 

                                                 
4 Revenue forgone amounts are a mix of fiscal year and tax year periodicities depending on the tax type in question.  
Mixed fiscal year/tax year tax types, the number of individual fiscal year 2017 items, the fiscal year 2017 revenue 
forgone amount, the number of individual tax year 2017 items, the tax year 2017 revenue forgone amount, , the number 
of individual fiscal year 2018 items and the fiscal year 2018 revenue forgone amount in order by tax type are: Alcoholic 
Beverage Tax, three for $29,543, one for an indeterminable amount; Bank Tax, four for $7,074,323 and 22 for 
$4,187,720; Business Corporation Tax, 20 for $1,877,840 and 37 for $54,534,892; Estate and Transfer Tax, three for 
$0 and one for $37,000,000; Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax, three for $1,759 and 21 for $21,802,395; 
Personal Income Tax, five for indeterminable amounts and 56 for $607,458,991; Public Service Corporation Tax, five 
for indeterminable amounts and 20 for $3,334,939; and Sales and Use Tax, 54 for $535,603,124, 0 for $0, and 36 for 
$776,930,248. 
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Summary Table by Tax Type for 2017 

Tax Type 
Number of 

Items * 
Tax Year 2017 

Revenue Forgone4 

Average 
Reliability 

Index Level 

Non-Profit Refund 1         3,135,658 1.0 
Personal Income Tax 61     607,458,991 1.8 
Public Service Corporation Tax 25         3,334,939 2.1 
Rental Vehicle Surcharge 1         4,949,228 1.0 
Real Estate Conveyance Tax 5                       0 4.2 
Sales and Use Tax 90  1,312,533,372 3.4 

2017 TOTAL 314 $ 2,284,587,438 2.5 
* The number of items by tax type will exceed the number of items by tax expenditure category due to individual 
tax expenditure items spanning more than one tax type.   

 
The tax type with the largest number of 2017 tax expenditure items for which no reliable 

data existed was the Sales and Use tax at 30 items, or 33.3 percent of all tax expenditure items in 
this tax type.  The tax type with the largest amount of revenue forgone was the Sales and Use Tax 
at $1.31 billion, or 57.5 percent of the estimated total revenue forgone.  Several tax types had the 
smallest amount of revenue forgone at $0 for tax expenditure items for which revenue forgone 
could be determined. 
 

The largest amount of calculated revenue forgone for an individual tax expenditure item 
for 2017 is the sales and use tax exemption for purchases used for manufacturing purposes at nearly 
$389.4 million or 17.0 percent of the total calculated revenue forgone.  This tax expenditure item 
was assigned a reliability index level of two.  There were 81 tax expenditure items in total which 
had the smallest possible revenue forgone of $0 and all were assigned a reliability index level of 
one. 
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 Foreword 
 

The 2020 Tax Expenditures Report generally uses data for 2016 as its base year and 
includes estimates of forgone revenue for 2016 through 2021.  The year reference can be either 
calendar year or fiscal year and is dependent on the tax expenditure item.  For example, the tax 
expenditure amount for the exclusion of the biodiesel portion of a blended gallon of diesel fuel is 
reported on a fiscal year basis for 2016 through 2021 while the tax expenditure amount for the tax 
credit received for the provision of accommodations under Americans with Disabilities Act is 
reported on a calendar year basis for 2016 through 2021.  The Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) 
has tried to make it clear throughout the report when a tax expenditure amount is for a fiscal year 
versus a calendar year and when a summary tax expenditure amount is provided by tax expenditure 
category or by tax type a note is provided that breaks out the tax expenditure amount by fiscal and 
calendar year. 

 
Whenever more recent data was available for subsequent years, be it for fiscal years or tax 

years, the latest data was included in the report rather than an estimate.  It should be noted that 
more recent data may have become available for some tax expenditure items during the preparation 
of this report but is not reflected in this report. 

 
The 2018 Tax Expenditures Report included information on tax expenditure items for Tax 

Years 2014 through 2019, with Tax Year 2014 as its base tax year.  Technically, the 2020 Tax 
Expenditures Report is mandated to provide information on all tax expenditure items in effect on 
January 1, 2019, as well as an estimate of forgone revenue for 2020 and 2021.   For a complete 
and more accurate picture for 2016 through 2018 forgone revenue to be provided, ORA reported 
current data or an updated estimate of forgone revenue as appropriate.  

 
As always, constructive comments are welcome and any errors or omissions in the report 

are the responsibility of the Chief of the Office of Revenue Analysis. 
 
 

Paul L. Dion, Ph.D. 
Chief, Office of Revenue Analysis 
Rhode Island Department of Revenue 
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 Introduction 
 
Purpose of the Tax Expenditures Report 
 

The purpose of the Tax Expenditures Report is to provide information on the cost of tax 
preference items that are mandated under Rhode Island law, federal law, or other legal mandates.  
Tax expenditure items are not subject to the same public scrutiny as spending appropriations that 
are made through the budget process.  Oftentimes, the estimated cost of a tax expenditure item is 
made only once — at the time it is passed into law.  The Tax Expenditures Report provides for an 
accounting of the cost of tax expenditure items on an ongoing basis.  By providing this cost 
information, the Tax Expenditures Report allows these expenditures to be assessed on par with 
appropriated expenditures.  Absent a Tax Expenditures Report, it would be extremely difficult to 
assess the cost effectiveness of a tax expenditure vis-à-vis an appropriated expenditure.  As the 
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities notes, tax expenditures are simply “spending by another 
name.”5 
 
Current Rhode Island Law on Tax Expenditures Reporting 
 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.1 – Tax Expenditure Reporting6 
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1(a) mandates that the Chief of the Office of Revenue 
Analysis deliver to the General Assembly by the second Tuesday in January of each even 
numbered year a tax expenditure report.  The tax expenditure report must include the minimum 
information for 100.0 percent of the tax expenditures in place on January 1 of the odd numbered 
year preceding the report’s publication.  Thus, the 2020 Tax Expenditures Report covers the tax 
expenditures that were in place on January 1, 2019. 
 
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1(b) defines a tax expenditure as “any tax credit, deduction, 
exemption, exclusion, credit preferential tax rate, tax abatement, and tax deferral that provides 
preferential treatment to selected taxpayers.”  The term “credit preferential tax rate” is not defined 
in the statute.  The Chief of the Office of Revenue Analysis has chosen to interpret this item to 
mean a “modification” or “preferential tax rate” and reports on each of these tax expenditure items 
separately.  The Office of Revenue Analysis has determined that as of January 1, 2019 there were 
230 tax expenditure items in effect in 20167 either “directly through Rhode Island General Laws 
or constitutional provisions or indirectly through adoption of other tax codes.”   
 
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1(c) delineates the information on each tax expenditure item 
that must be included in the report.  This information includes: (1) the legal reference of the tax 
expenditure items, “including whether the tax expenditure is the result of a federal or state 
constitutional, judicial, or statutory mandate;” (2) the actual amount of revenue forgone or an 
estimate for the calendar year in which the report is published and the year following the report’s 
publication, and an index of the reliability of each estimate that ranges in value from one to five, 

                                                 
5 Levitis, Jason, Nicholas Johnson, and Jeremy Koulish, Promoting State Budget Accountability Through Tax 
Expenditure Reporting.  Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: Washington, D.C., April 2009, page 5. 
6 A full copy of the statute governing tax expenditure reporting is contained in Appendix A. 
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with level one being the most reliable; (3) the identification of the beneficiaries of the tax 
expenditure by “number, income, class and industry;” (4) a comparison of the Rhode Island tax 
expenditure items to tax expenditure items of the other New England states, but particularly 
Connecticut and Massachusetts; (5) “the data source(s) and analysis methodology” for each tax 
expenditure item estimate; and (6) “identification of similar taxpayers or industries” that do not 
benefit from the tax expenditure item.  To the greatest extent possible, the Office of Revenue 
Analysis has tried to comply with each of these informational mandates. 
 
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1(d) requires that each report contain a section comprised 
of recommendations to improve the effectiveness of the tax expenditures report as a tax policy 
tool.  The recommendations are to be accompanied with an identification of the resources needed 
to implement the recommendations and an estimate of the costs associated with the 
recommendations. 
 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.2 – Rhode Island Economic Development Tax 
Incentives Evaluation Act of 20138 
On July 11, 2013, Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.2 entitled the “Rhode Island 
Economic Development Tax Incentives Evaluation Act of 2013” was enacted into law.  Rhode 
Island General Laws § 44-48.2-4(a) states that the Tax Expenditure Report produced pursuant to 
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1 “shall include an additional analysis component,… 
produced in consultation with the director of the economic development corporation, the director 
of the office of management and budget, and the director of the department of labor and training.”  
A total of 21 tax expenditure economic development incentives are to be analyzed “at least once 
between July 1, 2014, and June 30, 2017, and no less than once every three (3) years thereafter” 
while the analysis of any tax expenditure economic development incentives enacted into law after 
July 1, 2013 “shall be completed within five (5) years of taking effect and no less than once every 
three (3) years thereafter”.  The statutory references for the 21 tax expenditure economic 
development incentives are listed in Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.2-3(a)(1).  The additional 
analysis component that must be included in the tax expenditure report for these tax expenditure 
economic development incentives is detailed in Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.2-5(a). 
 
The Office of Revenue Analysis produced reports containing the analysis required in Rhode Island 
General Laws § 44-48.2-5(a) for all 21 of the tax expenditure economic development incentives 
listed in Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.2-3(a)(1) between March 2018 and July 2018. 
 
History of Rhode Island Law on Tax Expenditures Reporting 
 
Rhode Island’s governing statute for tax expenditure reporting was passed into law without the 
Governor’s signature on August 9, 1996 (see Rhode Island Public Laws 1996, Chapter 327, 
Section 1 and Chapter 394, Section 1).  This initial statute required the state tax administrator to 
submit annually to the General Assembly beginning in 1998, on or before the second Tuesday in 
January, “to the extent possible within the appropriations provided for the purpose,” a tax 
expenditures report.  The tax expenditures report for 1998 was to provide the “minimum 
information” for 25.0 percent of existing tax expenditures.  The report for 1999 would cover an 

                                                 
8 A full copy of the statute governing tax incentive evaluation is contained in Appendix B. 
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additional 25.0 percent of the tax expenditures, so that 50.0 percent of tax expenditures will have 
been reported.  Similar 25.0 percent increments were required for 2000 and 2001, such that by 
January 2001, 100.0 percent of tax expenditures will have been reported.  Beginning in January 
2002, the cycle repeated itself so that no report on a tax expenditure item was more than four years 
old. 
 
The definition of tax expenditure was the same as it is in current law, as was the requirement for 
providing the legal reference of each tax expenditure, identifying the beneficiaries of each tax 
expenditure as well as similar taxpayers or industries that did not benefit from the tax expenditure, 
and comparing Rhode Island’s tax expenditure items to those of other New England states, 
particularly Connecticut and Massachusetts.  The original statute also required that the report 
include the legislative history of each tax expenditure, the “determination of the beneficiary’s state 
tax burden” and a cost/benefit analysis of each tax expenditure item “including the direct revenue 
loss from the tax expenditure as well as the economic and tax revenue gains occurring through the 
economic activity resulting from the tax expenditure.”  On June 25, 1997 (see Rhode Island Public 
Laws 1997, Chapter 30, Section 1), the original statute was amended to delete the requirement of 
the inclusion of a cost/benefit analysis for each tax expenditure item in the tax expenditure report. 
 
On July 10, 2003, the statute was amended again to change the periodicity of the report from 
annually to biannually beginning in 2004.  In addition, the rolling renewal of 25.0 percent of 
existing tax expenditures was changed to require that “the minimum information on 100.0 percent 
of tax expenditures in effect on January 1” of the prior calendar year be reported.  The requirement 
that the legislative history of a tax expenditure item be reported was eliminated leaving only the 
requirement that the legal reference for each tax expenditure item be reported.  Further, the original 
statute was modified to require that an estimate of the revenue forgone that results from each tax 
expenditure item be reported if the actual amount cannot be determined and that such estimates be 
made for the calendar year preceding and following the year in which the report is published as 
well as the report’s publication year.  Additionally, the requirement that the beneficiary of tax 
expenditure item’s state tax burden be determined was deleted and replaced with the requirement 
that the data sources and analysis methodology underlying each estimate of revenue forgone be 
provided.  Also, the amendment to the statute required each report to include “a section containing 
recommendations for improving the effectiveness of the report as a tax policy tool” including the 
resources required and an estimate of the costs associated with these recommendations.  Finally, 
the revision to the statute required the state tax administrator to “make available to the General 
Assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island’s tax expenditure reporting effort” by the second 
Tuesday in January 2004. 
 
On June 30, 2006, Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.1 was amended to shift the 
responsibility for the delivery of the tax expenditure report from “the state tax administrator, to the 
extent possible within the appropriations provided for the purpose” to the Chief of the Office of 
Revenue Analysis without regard to appropriations provided for that purpose.  In addition, this 
amendment required the Chief of the Office of Revenue Analysis to “make available to the General 
Assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island’s tax expenditure reporting effort” by the second 
Tuesday in January 2004.  This latter amendment could not be fulfilled given that the Office of 
Revenue Analysis was not created until June 2006. 
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 Interpreting the Report 
 
The Index of Reliability 
 
Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1 (c)(2)9 requires the tax administrator to “develop an index 
of the reliability of each estimate” of revenue forgone.  By statute, the index of reliability is based 
on a scale of one to five, “with level one being most reliable.”  The statute further specifies that 
estimates of revenue forgone that are derived from actual tax returns “should be assigned reliability 
level one,” while those estimates of revenue forgone for which no reliable data exists “should be 
assigned reliability level five.”  The 2010 Tax Expenditures Report was the first such report to 
provide such an index. 
 
The 2020 Tax Expenditures Report continues to use the reliability index that was developed in the 
2010 Tax Expenditures Report.  The Index of Reliability is shown below: 
 
Index of Reliability  Interpretation 
Level One (1)  Estimate is from actual Rhode Island tax return data 
Level Two (2)  Estimate is extrapolated from Rhode Island source data 
Level Three (3)  Estimate is from Rhode Island tax simulation model 
Level Four (4)  Estimate is federal/national data scaled for Rhode Island 
Level Five (5)  No reliable data exists from which to derive an estimate 

 
The end points of the Index of Reliability (i.e., Level One and Level Five) are consistent with their 
statutory mandates.  An estimate of revenue forgone for a tax expenditure item that is assigned an 
Index of Reliability Level One will be based on actual Rhode Island tax return data.  Given the 
fact that an Index of Reliability Level Five indicates that “no reliable data exists from which to 
derive an estimate,” tax expenditure items assigned this level will not have an estimate of revenue 
forgone presented.  Rather, the phrase “no estimate possible” will be presented next to the tax 
expenditure item. 
 
The Index of Reliability Levels Two through Four requires some further explanation.  An estimate 
of revenue forgone with an Index of Reliability Level Two is based on data that can be directly 
sourced to Rhode Island or an update of a previously derived estimate of the tax expenditure item.  
Some examples of data that can be directly sourced to Rhode Island include data provided by the 
U.S. Census Bureau, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the U.S. Bureau of Economic 
Analysis.  In addition, state government agencies, quasi-public agencies, and non-governmental 
organizations are able to provide reliable Rhode Island specific data from which to estimate the 
revenue forgone of a tax expenditure item.  In the case of updating a previously derived estimate, 
the original estimate may be from a previously published tax expenditures report, a fiscal note that 
was completed for a particular piece of legislation during a session of the General Assembly, or 
an estimate that was derived by the Budget Office, the Division of Taxation, the Office of Revenue 
Analysis or some other state agency for a purpose other than that of the tax expenditures report.  
                                                 
9 A full copy of the statute governing tax expenditure reporting is contained in Appendix A. 
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When an Index of Reliability Level Two is assigned to the revenue forgone estimate of a tax 
expenditure item, the source of the Rhode Island data will be specified. 
 
An estimate of revenue forgone for a tax expenditure item with an Index of Reliability Level Three 
is derived from a micro simulation model of a particular tax that has been developed and provided 
by a third-party vendor.  In some cases, a micro simulation model will generate estimates based 
on underlying Rhode Island economic data rather than actual tax data.  The most obvious example 
of this type of micro simulation model is the Rhode Island Micro Sales Tax Model that was 
purchased by the General Assembly in 2008 and made available to the Office of Revenue Analysis 
for the purpose of estimating the revenue impacts from changing sales tax rates, sales tax 
exemptions, and/or the sales tax base.  This model is used extensively to estimate the revenue 
forgone from the numerous transactions that are exempt from the State’s sales and use tax. 
 
Finally, an estimate of revenue forgone for a tax expenditure item with an Index of Reliability 
Level Four is based on federal / national data that is scaled to Rhode Island.  Alternatively, the 
estimate may be based on federal data that is then adjusted by a factor that allows for the 
extrapolation of the federal data to Rhode Island.  When an Index of Reliability Level Four is 
assigned to the revenue forgone estimate of a tax expenditure item, the date on which the original 
estimate was derived will be stated if it is known as will the method used to update the original 
estimate.  In the case of an estimate that is based on federal data that is scaled to Rhode Island, the 
base federal data will be identified as will the scaling factor. 
 
Structure of the Report 
 
Previous tax expenditures reports presented tax expenditure items by tax type.  In other words, the 
primary organizing key was tax type with tax expenditure items appearing under each tax type.  In 
the Tax Expenditures Report, January 2008, thirty-eight tax expenditure items are listed under the 
heading “Personal Income” and these tax expenditure items are comprised of modifications, 
credits, exclusions, adjustments, deductions and preferential tax rates.10  In addition, when it comes 
to tax expenditure items, it is often the case that what is available for one tax type will also be 
made available for other tax types.  For example, the Motion Picture Production Tax Credit allows 
for a credit of 30.0 percent “of the state certified production costs incurred directly attributable to 
activity within the state, provided that the primary locations are within the state of Rhode Island 
and the total production budget as defined herein is a minimum of one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000).”11  This credit, which can be transferred or sold, can be used against the “tax imposed” 
under the state’s business corporation tax, bank tax, insurance company gross premiums tax, and 
the personal income tax.  As a result of this type of tax expenditure, tax expenditures report issued 
prior to the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report had to include a category labeled “Tax Preference Items 
Applicable to More Than One Tax”12 in order to consistently categorize tax expenditure items. 
 

                                                 
10 State of Rhode Island, Department of Revenue, Division of Taxation, Tax Expenditures Report, January 2008, p. 
3.  This report was prepared by Cecilia C. Vallee, Revenue Analyst, at the request of David M. Sullivan, Rhode Island 
Tax Administrator. 
11 See Rhode Island General Laws § 44-31.2-5(a). 
12 See Tax Expenditures Report, January 2008, p. 144. 



IV. Interpreting the Report 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  16 

Beginning with the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report, the Office of Revenue Analysis adopted a 
different presentation format.  Rather than list the tax expenditure items by the tax type to which 
they apply, the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report used the category of tax expenditure item as the 
organizing key.  That is, each category of tax expenditure items listed each individual tax 
expenditure item and the tax types to which the individual tax expenditure item applies.  For 
example, the Motion Picture Production Tax Credit would be categorized under “Credits” with the 
business corporation tax, bank tax, insurance company gross premiums tax, and the personal 
income tax as the relevant tax types.  The 2020 Tax Expenditures Report follows the same 
approach as was adopted for the 2010 Tax Expenditures Report.   
 
To assist readers in the use of the 2020 Tax Expenditures Report, two sets of summary tables are 
included.  The first set of summary tables lists the value of tax expenditures by tax expenditure 
item.  Thus, for example, under the category “Credits” the total value of each individual tax 
expenditure credit item, without regard to the tax type under which it was used, will be shown.  
The second set of summary tables lists the value of tax expenditures by tax type.  Thus, for 
example, under the tax type “Personal Income” the total value of each individual tax expenditure 
item that is used under the personal income tax will be displayed. 
 
Definition of Terms 
 
The following definitions will be used when referring to the different types of tax expenditure 
items included in this report. 
 
Credit:  The direct dollar-for-dollar reduction of an individual’s tax liability.  The value of a tax 
credit is invariant to a taxpayer’s tax bracket. 
Deduction:  An amount subtracted from adjusted gross income when calculating taxable income.  
The value of a tax deduction is proportional to a taxpayer’s tax bracket. 
Exclusion:  An amount or proportion that can be legally excluded from the taxable base prior to 
the assessment of tax. 
Exemption:  A taxable expenditure, income, or investment on which no tax is levied.  A tax 
exemption may be of limited or permanent duration. 
Modification:  An amount added to or subtracted from gross income to arrive at adjusted gross 
income.  Usually, adjusted gross income is the basis from which taxable income is derived. 
Preferential Tax Rate:  A tax rate made available to certain taxpayers that is less than the statutory 
tax rate.  Typically, the preferential tax rate is made available to taxpayers that meet specified 
criteria. 
Tax Abatement:  Rebate given in levies or taxes under special circumstances or as an offset to the 
performance of particular actions. 
Tax Deferral:  Paying taxes in the future for income earned in the current year, such as through an 
Individual Retirement Account (IRA), 401(k), Simplified Employee Pension (SEP) IRA or Keogh 
plan. 
 



IV. Interpreting the Report 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  17 

Categorization of Tax Expenditure Items 
 
The tables on the following pages show the categorization of tax expenditure items and to which 
taxes each tax expenditure item applies.  The individual tax expenditure items are listed 
alphabetically and those tax expenditure items that originate in the federal Internal Revenue 
Code are so indicated.   
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Credits: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Accommodations under Americans with Disabilities Act 44-54-1 X X
2 Adult and Child Daycare 44-47 X X X X *
3 Adult Education 44-46 X X X X X *
4 Anchor Institution 42-64.3 X X X X
5 Apprenticeship 44-11-41 X
6 Biotechnology Investment 44-31-1.1 X *
7 Child and Dependent Care (Federal) 44-30-2.6 X
8 Contribution to Scholarship Organizations 44-62 X X X X X X
9 Earned Income (Federal/State) 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(N) X
10 Educational Assistance and Development 44-42-2 X X X X
11 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 44-39.1-1 X X X X X *
12 Historic Homeownership Assistance 44-33.1-3 X
13 Historic Preservation 44-33.6-3 X X X X X
14 Historic Structures 44-33.2-3 X X X X X
15 Hydroelectric Power 44-30-22 X *
16 Interest for Loans to Mill Building Owners 42-64.9-9 X X X X *
17 Investment 44-31-1 X X X *
18 Jobs Training 42-64.6-2 X X X X *
19 Juvenile Restitution 14-1-32.1(c) X
20 Lead Paint Abatement 44-30.3-1 X
21 Motion Picture Production 44-31.2-5 X X X X
22 Motor Fuel Use Carrier Taxes Paid to Rhode Island 31-36.1-15 X
23 Musical and Theatrical Production 44-31.3-2 X X X X X
24 New Qualifed Jobs Incentive Act 44-48.3 X X X X X
25 Property Tax Relief 44-33-5 X
26 Real or Personal Property Taxed in Another State 44-40-3(b) X
27 Rebuild Rhode Island 42-64.20 X X X X X
28 Research and Development Expense 44-32-3 X X *
29 Research and Development Property 44-32-2 X X *
30 Residential Renewable Energy System 44-57-1 X *
31 Specialized Investment in Mill Building 42-64.9-7 / 44-31-2 X X X *
32 Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship 42-64.26     X
33 Tax on Net Estate of Decedent 44-22-1.1 X
34 Taxes Paid to Other States 44-30-18 X
35 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill Buildings 42-64.9-8 X *

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                            Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Deductions: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Accelerated Amortization for Certain Manufacturers 44-11-11.3 X
2 Alimony Paid (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
3 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Prevention and Treatment Facilities 44-11-11.1 X
4 Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, etc. (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
5 Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier Access Charges 44-13-1(b) X
6 Educator Expenses (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
7 Electricity for Resale 44-13-4(2) X
8 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal Revenue Code 44-61-1.1 X X X
9 Health Savings Account (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
10 Individual Retirement Arrangement Contributions (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
11 Keough and SEP Contributions (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
12 Merchandise Sold 44-13-5(a) X
13 Moving Expenses (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
14 Net Operating Losses 44-11-11(b) X
15 One-Half of Self Employment Tax (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
16 Penalty of Early Withdrawal of Savings (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
17 Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership 44-43-2 X X X X
18 Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or Premiums for Reinsurance Assumed 27-3-38(d) / 44-17-2 X
19 Self Employed Health Insurance (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
20 Standard Deduction 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(B) X
21 Student Loan Interest (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X
22 Tax Incentives for Employers 44-55-4.1 X X X X X
23 Tuition and Fees (Federal) 44-30-2.6 / 44-30-32 X

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                                            Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Exclusions: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of Diesel Fuel 31-36-1(6) X
2 Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured Homes for Consideration of $100 or less 31-44-20(a) X
3 Conveyance of Real Estate for Consideration of $100 or less 44-25-1(a) / 44-25-1(b) X
4 Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to the Capitol Center Project 44-25-2(c) X
5 Corporations Excluded from Taxation by Charter 44-11-1(4)(vi) X
6 Corporations Not Doing Business for Profit 44-11-1(4)(iv) X
7 Corporations That Maintain and Manage Intangible Investments 44-11-1(4)(vii) X
8 Dividends Received from Shares of Stock 44-11-12(1) / 44-14-15 X X X
9 Financial Institutions 44-11-1(4)(i) X
10 Fraternal Beneficiary Societies 44-11-1(4)(v) X
11 Fraternal Benefit Societies 44-17-1(a) X
12 Gain or Loss on Sale of Property Other Than Securities 44-14-11 X
13 Income from the Sale of International Investment Management Services 44-11-14.5 X
14 Insurance and Surety Companies 44-11-1(4)(iii) X
15 Interest Received from Debt Instruments Issued by Public Service Corporations 44-11-12(2) X
16 Long-Term Gain From Capital Investment in Small Business 44-43-5 X X X X
17 Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, Aviation Fuel, and Heating Oil 31-36-1(4) X
18 Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar 44-20-13.2(a)(2) X
19 Net Taxable Estate Amount 44-22-1 X
20 Possession of 10 Packs of Cigarettes with Out-of-State Tax Stamps 44-20-16 X
21 Public Service Corporations 44-11-1(4)(ii) X
22 Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated Costs of Non-Public Service Corporations 44-13-2.2 X X
23 Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer but Separately Stated on Invoice 44-18-12(b)(iv) X
24 Value-Added Non-Voice Services That Use Computer Processing Applications 44-13-4(4) X
25 Veterinary and Testing Laboratories Services 44-18-7.3(b)(3) X

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                                      Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Exemptions: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Agricultural Products for Human Consumption 44-18-30(61) X
2 Air and Water Pollution Control Facilities 44-18-30(15) X
3 Aircraft and Aircraft Parts 44-18-30(56) X
4 Banks and Regulated Investment Companies Interstate Toll Free Calls 44-18-30(49) X
5 Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose Material, and Litter Control Participation Permittee 44-44-3.6 / 44-44-2(1) X
6 Bibles 44-18-30(29) X
7 Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively for Winter Storage, Maintenance, Repair or Sale 44-18-30(46) X
8 Boats or Vessels Generally 44-18-30(48) X
9 Boats to Non-Residents 44-18-30(30) X
10 Building Materials Used to Rebuild After Disaster 44-18-30(51) X
11 Buses, Trucks or Trailers Used in Interstate Commerce 44-18-40 X
12 Camps 44-18-30(16) X
13 Casual Sales 44-18-20(g) X
14 Charitable, Educational or Religious Organizations 44-18-30(5) X
15 Clothing and Footwear 44-18-30(27) X
16 Coffins, Caskets and Burial Garments 44-18-30(12) X
17 Coins 44-18-30(43) X
18 Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess of Five Net Tons 44-18-30(26) X
19 Commercial Vessels of 50 Tons Burden or More 44-18-30(25) X
20 Compressed Air 44-18-30(33) X
21 Containers 44-18-30(4) X
22 Deed, Instrument or Writing where Grantor is U.S. Government or State of Rhode Island 44-25-2(b) X
23 Diesel Emission Control Technology 44-18-30(62) X
24 Dietary Supplements 44-18-30(59) X
25 Distressed Essential Community Hospital 23-17.25-2 X
26 Educational Institutions Rental Charges 44-18-30(18) X
27 Electricity and Gas 44-18-30(21) X
28 Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy from RI Economic Development Corporation 44-18-40.1 X
29 Equipment for Research and Development 44-18-30(42) X
30 Estates of Persons Declared Missing in Action by the U.S. Armed Forces 44-22-2 X
31 Farm Equipment 44-18-30(32) X
32 Farm Structure Construction Materials 44-18-30(44) X
33 Feed for Certain Animals Used in Commercial Farming 44-18-30(63) X
34 Feminine Hygiene Products (new) 44-18-30(66) X
35 First 50,000 Gallons of Distilled Spirits of a Distiller in Continuous Operation for 12 Months 3-10-1(d) X

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                                  Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other
Number Exemptions: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes

36 First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a Brewer in Continuous Operation for 12 Months 3-10-1(c) X
37 Flags 44-18-30(34) X
38 Food and Food Ingredients 44-18-30(9) X
39 Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps 44-18-30(39) X
40 Gasoline 44-18-30(6) X
41 Heating Fuels 44-18-30(20) X
42 Horse Food Products 44-18-30(53) X
43 Human Blood 44-18-30(60) X
44 Installation Labor Charges, When Separately Stated 44-18-12(b)(ii) X
45 Jewelry Display Product 44-18-30(47) X
46 Lottery Prizes 42-61-17 X
47 Manufacturers' Machinery and Equipment 44-18-30(22) X
48 Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical Equipment 44-18-30(10) X
49 Mobile and Manufactured Homes Generally 44-18-30(50) X
50 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for Amputee Veterans 44-18-30(35) X
51 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for Persons with Disabilities 44-18-30(19) X
52 Narragansett Pier Railroad Company 44-13-1(a) X
53 Newspapers 44-18-30(2) X
54 Ocean Marine Insurance 44-17-1 X
55 Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers 3-10-2 X
56 Personal and Dependent 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(C) X
57 Personal Holding Company, Regulated Investment Company or Real Estate Investment Trust 44-11-2( c ) X
58 Precious Metal Bullion 44-18-30(24) X
59 Promotional and Product Literature of Boat Manufacturers 44-18-30(38) X
60 Property Otherwise Exempted 44-18-36(3) X
61 Property Purchased from Federal Government 44-18-35 X
62 Property Purchased Outside of State by Nonresident and Brought into State 44-18-36(2) X
63 Property Returned Within 120 Days from the Date of Delivery 44-18-30(58) X
64 Prosthetic Devices and Mobility Enhancing Equipment 44-18-30(11) X
65 Purchases Used for Manufacturing Purposes 44-18-30(7) X
66 Qualified Sales of Manufactured and Mobile Home Parks 31-44-3.3 X
67 Rebuild Rhode Island Sales and Use Tax 42-64.20-5(o) X
68 Refillable and Reusable Beverage Containers 44-44-3 X
69 Renewable Energy Products 44-18-30(57) X
70 Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping Quarters in a Hospital or Nursing Home 44-18-30(17) X
71 Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation Project Status Designees 42-64-20 X

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                                  Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other
Number Exemptions: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes

72 Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation Lessees 45-37.1-9 *
73 Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to Member of Clergy 3-10-1(b) X
74 Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 44-18-30A(a) X
75 Sales beyond Constitutional Power of State 44-18-30(1) X
76 Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists 44-18-30.B X
77 Sales in Municipal Economic Development Zones 44-18-30.C X
78 Sales in Public Buildings by Blind People 44-18-30(14) X
79 Sales of Motor Vehicles to Nonresidents 44-18-30(13) X
80 Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational Vehicles to Non-residents 44-18-30(54) X
81 Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for Residential Purposes 44-18-20(d)(3) X
82 Sales to Common Carriers for Use Outside of the State 44-18-33 X
83 Sales to Federal Government 44-18-31 X
84 Sales to the State or Its Political Subdivisions 44-18-30(8) X
85 Sales to the U.S. Government and Operators of Railroad Transportation Equipment 31-36-13 X
86 School Meals 44-18-30(3) X
87 Securities from Taxation 44-13-14 X
88 Seeds and Plants used to Grow Food and Food Ingredients 44-18-30(65) X
89 Special Adaptations for Wheelchair Accessible Taxicabs 44-18-30(19)(iii) X
90 Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous Waste Recycling, Reuse, or Treatment 44-18-30(37) X
91 Supplies Used in Preparing Floral Products and/or Arrangements 44-18-30(52) X
92 Telecommunications Carrier Access Service 44-18-30(45) X
93 Textbooks 44-18-30(36) X
94 Total Loss or Destruction of Motor Vehicle within 120 Days of Tax Payment 44-18-21(c) X
95 Trade-in Value of Boats 44-18-30(41) X
96 Trade-In Value of Private Passenger Automobiles 44-18-30(23) X
97 Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate Family Members 44-18-20(d)(1) X
98 Transfers or Sales Related to Business Dissolution or Partial Liquidation 44-18-20(d)(2) X
99 Transportation Charges of Motor Carriers to Haul Goods 44-18-30(40) X
100 Vacation Homes Rented in Entirety 44-18-36.1(a) X
101 Vehicles Purchased by Nonresident Military Personnel Subject to Sales Tax Elsewhere 44-18-30.A(b) X
102 Video Lottery Terminal, Table Games, and Sports Wagering Prizes 42-61.2-10 X
103 Water for Residential Use 44-18-30(28) X
104 Wine and Spirits 44-18-30(64) X
105 Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 or less by Nonprofit Organizations 44-18-30(31) X

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                                  Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Modifications: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Bonus Depreciation Provided by JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003 44-61-1 X X X
2 Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, Dealing In or Holding Securities on Own Behalf 44-11-2(b) X
3 Contribution to Medical Savings Account by Scituate Residents 44-30-25.1(d)(1) X
4 Contributions to an Account under Tuition Savings Program 44-30-12(c)(4) X
5 Enterprise Zone Business Owner with Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone 42-64.3-7 X X
6 Federally Taxable Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program Account 44-30-12(c)(3) X
7 Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying Corporations 44-39.3-1 X
8 Income Earned on a Rhode Island Family Education Account 44-30-12(c)(2) / 44-30-25(f) X
9 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Preservation Tax Credits 44-33.6-3(f) X
10 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Structures Tax Credits 44-33.2-3(e)(2) X
11 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits 44-31.2-9 X
12 Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax Credits 44-31.3-2(b)(5) X
13 Income or Gain from a Qualifying Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying Corporation 44-43-8 X
14 Interest on Obligations of the United States and its Possessions 44-11-11(a)(1)(vi) / 44-30-12(c)(1) X
15 Military Pay of Nonresident Individuals 44-30-32(d) X
16 New Research and Development Facilities 44-32-1 X X
17 Nonqualified Withdrawals from a Medical Savings Account by Scituate Residents 44-30-12(b)(5)/44-30-25.1(d)(3) †
18 Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program Account 44-30-12(b)(4)/44-30-32(a)(3) †
19 Nonqualified Withdrawals or Distributions from Rhode Island Family Education Accounts 44-30-12(b)(3)/44-30-25(g) †
20 Organ Transplantation 44-30-12(c)(7) X
21 Performance-Based Income of Eligible Employees via the Jobs Growth Act 42-64.11-4 X
22 Profits or Gains from Sale of Work by Artists, Writers, and Composers 44-30-1.1(c)(1) X
23 Provision of Insurance Benefit to Dependent or Domestic Partner 44-30-12(c)(6) X
24 Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership 44-43-2(5) X
25 Railroad Retirement Benefits 45 U.S.C. 231m(a) X
26 Recognition of Income from Discharge of Business Indebtedness 44-66-1 X X X
27 Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by Rental Car Companies 31-34.1-2(b) X
28 Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment 44-30-12(d) X
29 Tax Incentives for Employers 44-55-4.1 X
30 Taxable Pension Plan and/or Annuity Income 44-30-12(c)(9) X
31 Taxable Social Security Income 44-30-12(c)(8) X

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
A cross (†) indicates a tax expenditure item is associated with the indicated tax type but will no longer be reported on because there is no revenue forgone.

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                                           Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.
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RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Other Items: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Allocation and Apportionment of Airlines 44-11-15 / Regulation CT 15-04 X
2 Allocation and Apportionment of Brokerage Services 44-11-14.2(b) X
3 Allocation and Apportionment of Credit Card Banks 44-11-14.3 X
4 Allocation and Apportionment of Motor Carriers 44-11-15 / Regulation CT 15-04 X
5 Allocation and Apportionment of Regulated Investment Companies 44-11-14.2(a) X
6 Allocation and Apportionment of Retirement and Pension Plans 44-11-14.4 X

RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Preferential Tax Rates: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Jobs Development Act 42-64.5-3 X X X X
2 Life Science Rate Reduction 42-64.14-10 X

RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Tax Abatements: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount 44-20-19 X
2 Political Check-Off 44-30-2(d)(1) X
3 Value of Farmland Included in Estate 44-23-5(b) X

RI Statutory Bus Corp Pub Serv Bank Bank Dep Ins Co PIT SUT Other

Number Tax Deferrals: Reference: 44-11 44-13 44-14 44-15 44-17 44-30 44-18 Taxes
1 Holding Period for Unstamped Cigarettes 44-20-14 X
2 Write-Downs or Reserves for Securities Losses 44-14-14 X

Definitions :  Bus Corp: Business Corporation Tax; Pub Serv: Public Service Corporation Tax; Banks: Taxation of Banks; Bank Dep: Tax on Bank Deposits, Generally; Ins Co: Taxation of Insurance
                       Companies; PIT: Personal Income Tax; and SUT: Sales and Use Tax.

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

Tax Type Against Which Tax Expenditure Item May Be Applied

2020 TAX EXPENDITURE ITEMS
An asterisk (*) indicates a tax expenditure item that is no longer allowed under Rhode Island General Laws, for that particular tax type.
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 Laws Changes that Impact Tax Expenditures  
 
There were several law changes enacted during the 2018 and 2019 sessions by the General 
Assembly that impact tax expenditures.  Law changes that impacted tax expenditures enacted in 
the 2016 and 2017 sessions of the General Assembly were included in the 2018 Tax Expenditures 
Report.  The following list of revised, added, and deleted tax expenditure items is in alphabetical 
order by tax expenditure category.  
 
CREDITS 
 
• Historic Preservation 2013 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-33.6 / Rhode Island Public Laws 
2019, Chapter 88, Article 5, Section 14 / Rhode Island Public Laws 2019, Chapter 291, Section 
1 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  Projects that were approved for historic preservation tax credits, 
funded through the cultural arts and the economy grant program (as enacted in Rhode Island 
Public Laws 2014, Chapter 145), and set to expire on December 31, 2019 were extended until 
December 31, 2022. 
 
Projects that were approved for historic preservation tax credits but not funded through the 
cultural arts and the economy grant program and set to expire on June 30, 2019 were extended 
until June 30, 2020. 
 
Sunset:  No credits shall be issued for tax years beginning on or after June 30, 2020 or 
December 31, 2022 depending on whether the project eligible for the credit was funded through 
the cultural arts and the economy grant program. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2019 / July 19, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change may increase the tax expenditures associated 
with taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 and 
44-30.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the enacted change. 

 
• Jobs Training 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.6 / Rhode Island Public Laws 
2018, Chapter 47, Article 11, Section 3 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / 2018 
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Description of Change:  The enacted change established a retroactive sunset to the beginning 
of TY 2018.  
 
Sunset:  No credits shall be issued for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2018 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change may reduce the tax expenditures associated 
with taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, and 44-17.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the enacted change. 

 
• Motion Picture Production Tax Credit 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-31.2-5 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2018, Chapter 47, Article 12, Section 16 / Rhode Island Public Laws 2019, Chapter 88, 
Article 12, Section 6 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2005 / 2018 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  In the 2018 session, the credit increased from 25.0 percent to 30.0 
percent of the state-certified production costs directly attributable to activities within the state.  
The maximum credit per production was capped at $7 million, up from a cap of $5 million in 
prior years.  Additionally, the tax administrator was granted authority to waive the $7 million 
per-production cap for a feature-length film or TV series, up to the amount of remaining funds 
available under the program for a given year.  Reality television shows were added to the list 
of productions that are not allowed to receive the credit.   
 
In the 2019 session, the sunset was extended from July 1, 2024 to July 1, 2027.  Additionally, 
the aggregate annual cap for total motion picture production tax credits and/or musical and 
theatrical tax production credits was increased from $15 million to $20 million, effective for 
tax years beginning after December 31, 2019.  
 
Sunset:  No credits shall be issued on or after July 1, 2027 unless the production has received 
initial certification prior to July 1, 2027. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2018 / July 5, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted changes increase the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-14, 44-17, and 44-30. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the enacted changes. 
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• Musical and Theatrical Production Tax Credit 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-31.3-2 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 41 / Rhode Island Public Laws 2019, Chapter 54 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Section 6 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2012 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  In the 2019 session, the sunset was extended from July 1, 2019 to July 
1, 2024.  The amount of tax credit was increased from 25.0 percent to 30.0 percent of total 
production and performance expenditures and transportation expenditures for the accredited 
theater production.  Additionally, the aggregate annual cap for total motion picture production 
tax credits and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits was increased from $15 million 
to $20 million, effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 2019. 
 
Sunset:  No credits shall be issued on or after July 1, 2024 unless the production has received 
initial certification prior to July 1, 2024. 
 
Effective Date:  June 28, 2019 / December 31, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted changes increase the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-14, 44-17, and 44-30. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the enacted changes. 

 
• New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.3 / Rhode Island Public Laws 
2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Sections 7 and 22 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  In the 2019 session, for each application approved after July 1, 2019, 
the tax credit was capped at 75 percent of reasonable W-2 withholding received by the state 
for each new full-time job created or $7,500, whichever is greater.  The New Qualified Jobs 
Incentive Act sunset was extended to December 31, 2020. 
 
Sunset:  No credits can be authorized to be reserved after December 31, 2020. 
 
Effective Date:  July 5, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  These enacted changes will have an indeterminate effect on the 
tax expenditures for Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17, and 44-
30.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the extension of this tax credit. 
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• Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.20 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Section 3 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  The Rebuild Rhode Island tax credit sunset was extended to December 
31, 2020 in the 2019 session.   
 
Sunset:  No credits can be authorized to be reserved after December 31, 2020. 
 
Effective Date:  July 5, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The extension of the sunset may increase the tax expenditures for 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17, and 44-30.  
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the extension of this tax credit. 
 

• Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.26 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Section 16 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  The Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship tax credit sunset was 
extended to December 31, 2020 in the 2019 session.  
 
Sunset:  No credits can be authorized to be reserved after December 31, 2020. 
 
Effective Date:  July 5, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  This program will increase the tax expenditure for Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-30.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the extension of this tax credit. 
 

EXEMPTIONS 
 

• Coffins, Caskets, Urns, Shrouds, and Burial Garments: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(12) / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 5, Section 9 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1952 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  Extended the sales and use tax exemption for coffins, caskets, shrouds, 
and other burial garments that are ordinarily sold by a funeral director as part of the business 
of funeral directing to urns.  
 
Effective Date:  October 1, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change increases the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 

• Containers 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(4) / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2018, Chapter 47, Article 4, Section 10 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 2018 
 
Description of Change:  Extended the sales and use tax exemption for containers to kegs and 
barrel containers, whether returnable or not, when sold to alcoholic beverage producers who 
place the alcoholic beverages in the containers.   
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2018 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change increases the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 

• Feminine Hygiene Products: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(66) / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 5, Section 9 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2019 / N/A 
 
Description of Change:  Adds an exemption against the sales and use tax for the sale, storage, 
use, or other consumption of tampons, panty liners, menstrual cups, sanitary napkins, and 
similar products for which the principal use is feminine hygiene in connection with the 
menstrual cycle.  
 
Effective Date:  October 1, 2019 
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Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change increases the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 

• Personal and Dependent 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(C) / Rhode Island 
Public Laws 2018, Chapter 47, Article 4, Section 13 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2018 
 
Description of Change:  The statutory change allowed Rhode Island personal and dependent 
exemptions to continue to be claimed by taxpayers who owe Rhode Island personal income 
tax after the Tax Cut and Jobs Act of 2017 (TCJA) eliminated federal personal and dependent 
exemptions.   
 
For tax years beginning on or after 2018, the term exemption amount means the same as it did 
in the Internal Revenue Code Sections 151 and 152, as of December 22, 2017.  The exemption 
amount will continue to be adjusted for inflation.  If the taxpayer identification number (TIN) 
is not listed on the federal income tax form for any individual, the TIN must be listed on the 
Rhode Island personal income tax form for the exemption to be claimed.  
 
Effective Date:  January 1, 2018 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change provides for continuity of the tax expenditure 
for Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 

• Rebuild Rhode Island Sales and Use Tax Exemption 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.20-5(q) / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Section 2-3 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  The amounts awarded for sales and use tax exemptions under Rebuild 
Rhode Island were incorporated under the Rebuild Rhode Island tax credit program per project 
cap of $15 million and the maximum aggregate tax credit amount of $210 million, excluding 
tax credits and sales and use tax exemptions issued for projects on the I-195 land.  Additionally, 
any sales and use tax use tax exemptions awarded are now included in the $25 million per 
project cap for a project on “I-195 land”.  Previously, the amounts awarded for the sales and 
use tax exemption under the Rebuild Rhode Island tax credit program were not included in 
either the per project or aggregate maximum amount of tax credits awarded.   
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According to Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.20-7, the Rebuild Rhode Island tax 
credit fund shall be used to redeem or reimburse the state for any sales and use tax exemptions 
allowed under Rebuild Rhode Island. 
 
Sunset:  No credits can be authorized to be reserved after December 31, 2020. 
 
Effective Date:  July 5, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  Due to the reimbursement from the Rebuild Rhode Island tax 
credit fund, the inclusion of the sales and use tax exemption under the per project and total 
aggregate Rebuild Rhode Island tax credit program caps will decrease the tax expenditures for 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.   
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute for the legislative changes. 
 
Video-Lottery Terminal, Table Games, and Sports Wagering Prizes 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-61.2-10 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2018, Chapter 47, Article 4, Section 4 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1992 / 2018 
 
Description of Change:  The enacted change extended the sales and use tax exemption for 
prizes received from video-lottery terminals and table games to prizes, including payoffs, 
received from sports betting.  Prizes are still subject to any taxes applicable to Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Effective Date:  July 1, 2018 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change may increase the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 

OTHER ITEMS 
 

• City of Pawtucket Downtown Redevelopment Project: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 45-33.4 / Rhode Island Public Laws 
2018, Chapter 103 / Rhode Island Public Laws 2019, Chapter 118 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2018 / 2019 
 
Description of Change:  The City of Pawtucket Downtown Redevelopment Project was 
enacted in the 2018 session and amended in the 2019 session.  The enacted change creates an 
arts district, a growth center district, and a ballpark district within the City of Pawtucket in 
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which the state is authorized to enter into an economic activity taxes agreement with the 
Pawtucket Redevelopment Agency and the City of Pawtucket for the purpose of financing 
redevelopment projects and bonding costs, including capitalized interest, debt service reserves, 
and costs of issuance.  Economic activity taxes include city economic activity taxes and state 
economic activity taxes generated from activities in the arts district, growth center district, and 
ballpark district as noted above.  City economic activity taxes include city incremental tangible 
asset taxes imposed under Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) § 44-5-12, local and state hotel 
taxes imposed under RIGL § 44-18-36.1, and local meals and beverage taxes imposed under 
RIGL § 44-18-18.1.  State economic activity taxes include incremental tax revenues realized 
in the same districts as noted previously that are assessed and collected against Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-18, and 44-30.  For the taxes included in the economic 
activity taxes agreement for the above noted districts, a baseline revenue amount was 
established in 2019.  Once an economic activity taxes agreement has been signed, any 
incremental taxes defined as city economic activity taxes or state economic activity taxes 
collected above this baseline will be deposited into a restricted receipt account known as the 
Downtown Pawtucket Redevelopment Economic Activity Taxes Fund.  If such an agreement 
has not been signed by June 30, 2020, incremental tax revenues realized in the above noted 
districts collected under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 will be deposited into the 
Downtown Pawtucket Redevelopment Economic Activity Taxes Fund. 
 
Effective Date:  June 29, 2018 / July 8, 2019 
 
Tax Expenditures Impacted:  The enacted change increases the tax expenditures for Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-11, 44-18, and 44-30. 
 
Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 
. 
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 Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 
 
Forgone revenue in any given year can be either on a calendar year or a fiscal year basis.  Unless 
otherwise marked, tax expenditures items are reported for fiscal year 2016 and 2017.  Tax 
expenditure items marked with a † indicate forgone revenue is on a calendar year basis.  
Additionally, tax expenditure items marked with a ^ indicate that fiscal year 2017 and fiscal year 
2018 are reported.  Finally, tax expenditure items marked with a * indicate forgone revenue is 
included with another tax expenditure item.   
 
Credits 

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

63 Accommodations under Americans with 
Disabilities Act † 

$                   0 1 $            1,000 1 

64 Adult and Child Daycare †                      0 1                      0 1 
67 Adult Education †                      0 1                      0 1 
70 Anchor Institution †                      0 1                      0 1 
71 Apprenticeship †                      0 1                      0 1 
73 Biotechnology Investment †                      * 5                      * 5 
74 Child and Dependent Care (Federal)†        3,601,918 1        3,672,222 1 
76 Contributions to Scholarship 

Organizations † 
       1,339,428 1        1,289,055 1 

79 Earned Income (Federal) †      23,652,797 1      27,859,648 1 
81 Educational Assistance and 

Development † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

83 Employment – Welfare Bonus Program 
† 

                     0 1                      0 1 

85 Historic Homeownership Assistance†                   n/a n/a               5,129 1 
87 Historic Preservation †        7,362,155 1        5,782,702 1 
91 Historic Structures †        2,704,003 1      22,027,086 1 
94 Hydroelectric Power †                      0 1                      0 1 
95 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

97 Investment †        2,269,036 1        4,007,608 1 
101 Jobs Training †        1,404,970 1           661,578 1 
102 Juvenile Restitution †                      0 1                      0 1 
103 Lead Paint Abatement †           215,526 1           256,290 1 
105 Motion Picture Production †        1,254,310 1        2,134,162 1 
108 Motor Fuel Use Carrier Taxes Paid to 

Rhode Island † 
       5,921,129 1        2,957,954 1 

109 Musical and Theatrical Productions †           644,364 1           520,959 1 
112 New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act †                      0 1             40,187 1 
116 Property Tax Relief †        4,124,475 1        4,144,492 1 
118 Real or Personal Property Taxed in 

Another State † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

120 Rebuild Rhode Island †                      0 1                      0 1 



VI. Summary Results by Tax Expenditure Item 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  35 

Credits (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
124 Research and Development Expense† $     2,819,293 1 $     2,694,684 1 
126 Research and Development Property†             13,817 1             60,142 1 
128 Residential Renewable Energy System †                      0 1                      0 1 
129 Specialized Mill Building Investment†                      0 1                      0 1 
131 Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker 

Fellowship † 
                     0 1           586,926 1 

133 Tax on Net Estate of Decedent †      20,700,000 1      37,000,000 1 
135 Taxes Paid to Other States †    182,475,753 1    193,026,414 1 
137 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill 

Buildings † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

 Total Credits $ 260,502,974 1.1 $ 308,728,238 1.1 
      

Deductions 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

140 Accelerated Amortization for Certain 
Manufacturers † 

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

140 Alimony Paid (Federal) †        1,236,158 4        1,309,202 4 
142 Amortization of Air or Water Pollution 

Prevention and Treatment Facilities † 
                   <1 1                  762 1 

143 Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, 
etc. (Federal) † 

            59,201 4             74,592 4 

145 Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier 
Access Charges † 

       3,566,229 1        3,321,434 1 

146 Educator Expenses (Federal) †           102,001 2             98,924 2 
148 Electricity for Resale †                    --- 5                    --- 5 
149 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 

Depreciation, Section 179 of IRC † 
          363,672 1           253,140 1 

152 Health Savings Account (Federal) †           485,788 4           521,382 4 
154 Individual Retirement Arrangement 

Contributions (Federal) † 
       1,122,404 2        1,088,279 2 

156 Keogh and SEP Contributions (Federal) 
† 

       3,098,195 2        3,333,140 2 

158 Merchandise Sold †                      0 1                      0 1 
159 Moving Expenses (Federal) †           341,012 4           337,835 4 
161 Net Operating Losses †      25,897,264 1      19,560,161 1 
163 One-Half of Self-Employment Tax 

(Federal) † 
       2,921,026 4        3,109,687 4 

165 Penalty of Early Withdrawal of Savings 
(Federal) † 

            10,560 4             12,075 4 

166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership † 

                   36 1             13,537 1 

169 Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or 
Premiums for Reinsurance Assumed† 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

170 Self-employed Health Insurance 
(Federal) † 

       3,438,573 2        3,510,088 2 
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Deductions (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

172 Standard Deduction † $ 198,054,375 1 $ 197,694,885 1 
174 Student Loan Interest (Federal) †           908,601 2           900,638 2 
176 Tax Incentives for Employers †               1,294 1           138,020 1 
179 Tuition and Fees (Federal) †           155,512 2             94,140 2 

 Total Deductions $ 241,761,901 2.6 $ 235,371,921 2.6 
      

Exclusions 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

183 Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of 
Diesel Fuel  

$     1,036,257 1 $     1,485,727 1 

184 Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured 
Homes for Consideration of $100 or less  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

184 Conveyance of Real Estate for 
Consideration of $100 or less  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

186 Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to 
the Capitol Center Project  

                     0 1                      0 1 

187 Corporations Excluded from Taxation by 
Charter  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

187 Corporations Not Doing Business for 
Profit  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

189 Corporations that Maintain and Manage 
Intangible Investments  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

190 Dividends Received from Shares of 
Stock † 

     21,144,505 1      31,376,042 1 

192 Financial Institutions                    --- 5                    --- 5 
194 Fraternal Beneficiary Societies                     --- 5                    --- 5 
195 Fraternal Benefit Societies                     --- 5                    --- 5 
196 Gain or Loss on Sale of Property Other 

Than Securities  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

197 Income from the Sale of International 
Investment Management Services  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

198 Insurance and Surety Companies                     --- 5                    --- 5 
199 Interest Received from Debt Instruments 

Issued by Public Service Corporations  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

200 Long-Term Gain from Capital 
Investment in Small Business  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

202 Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, 
Aviation Fuel, and Heating Oil  

   178,685,196 2    214,812,408 2 

203 Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar         1,076,652 2        1,191,134 2 
205 Net Taxable Estate Amount                    --- 5                    --- 5 
206 Possession of 10 Packs of Cigarettes 

with Out-of-State Tax Stamps  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

207 Public Service Corporations                     --- 5                    --- 5 
208 Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated 

Costs of Non-Public Service 
Corporations  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 
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Exclusions (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

209 Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer but 
Separately Stated on Invoice  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

210 Value-Added Non-Voice Services that 
Use Computer Processing Applications  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

211 Veterinary and Testing Laboratory 
Services ^ 

     11,680,090 3      11,918,401 3 

 Total Exclusions $ 213,622,700 4.2 $ 260,783,712 4.2 
      

Exemptions 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

214 Agricultural Products for Human 
Consumption ^ 

$     2,774,143 3 $     2,871,299 3 

215 Air and Water Pollution Control 
Facilities ^ 

          146,023 3           149,431 3 

216 Aircraft and Aircraft Parts ^        3,091,516 3        3,220,082 3 
217 Banks and Regulated Investment 

Companies Interstate Toll Free Calls  
       1,060,555 4           906,585 4 

219 Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose 
Material, and Litter Control Participation 
Permittee † 

          189,174 4           184,271 4 

220 Bibles                     --- 5                    --- 5 
221 Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively 

for Winter Storage, Maintenance, Repair 
or Sale ^ 

                     * 5                      * 5 

222 Boats or Vessels Generally ^        5,105,467 3        5,700,487 3 
223 Boats Sold to Non-Residents                       * 5                      * 5 
224 Building Materials Used to Rebuild 

After Disaster  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

225 Buses, Trucks or Trailers Used in 
Interstate Commerce ^ 

       4,635,400 3        4,649,000 3 

226 Camps ^        1,386,198 3        1,497,001 3 
228 Casual Sales                     --- 5                    --- 5 
229 Charitable, Educational or Religious 

Organizations ^ 
     95,094,200 3      95,901,500 3 

232 Clothing and Footwear ^      35,180,268 3      37,260,845 3 
233 Coffins, Caskets and Burial Garments^        1,211,485 3        1,276,465 3 
235 Coins            588,104 4           490,243 4 
236 Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess 

of Five Net Tons  
          221,175 4           111,282 4 

238 Commercial Vessels of 50 Tons Burden 
or More  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

239 Compressed Air                     --- 5                    --- 5 
240 Containers ^      10,361,665 3      10,690,623 3 
241 Deed, Instrument or Writing where 

Grantor is U.S. Government or State of 
Rhode Island  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 
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Exemptions (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

242 Diesel Emission Control Technology $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 
243 Dietary Supplements         2,292,554 4        2,403,969 4 
244 Distressed Essential Community 

Hospital  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

245 Educational Institutions Rental Charges 
^ 

       8,353,659 3        8,936,917 3 

247 Electricity and Gas ^      70,155,339 3      73,531,199 3 
249 Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy 

from RI Economic Development 
Corporation (now RI Commerce 
Corporation)  

                     0 1                      0 1 

249 Equipment for Research and 
Development ^ 

       5,035,870 3        5,278,597 3 

251 Estates of Persons Declared Missing in 
Action by the U.S. Armed Forces  

                     0 1                      0 1 

252 Farm Equipment ^           921,600 3           935,400 3 
253 Farm Structure Construction Materials ^           239,352 3           249,376 3 
254 Feed for Certain Animals Used in 

Commercial Farming ^ 
          558,439 3           564,731 3 

256 Feminine Hygiene Products (New)                   n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 
257 First 50,000 Gallons of Distilled Spirits 

of a Distiller in Continuous Operation 
for 12 Months † 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

258 First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a 
Brewer in Continuous Operation for 12 
Months  

                   --- 5             29,543 1 

259 Flags              34,328 4             34,117 4 
260 Food and Food Ingredients ^    163,324,676 3    170,724,311 3 
262 Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps      17,413,518 1      17,147,896 1 
263 Gasoline       70,475,348 2      70,902,147 2 
265 Heating Fuels       17,342,019 4      17,693,959 4 
266 Horse Food Products ^             30,116 3             30,669 3 
268 Human Blood            576,802 4           556,428 4 
269 Installation Labor Charges, When 

Separately Stated ^ 
     36,249,200 3      38,070,500 3 

270 Jewelry Display Product                     --- 5                    --- 5 
271 Lottery Prizes                     --- 5                    --- 5 
272 Manufacturers' Machinery and 

Equipment ^ 
     38,810,300 3      39,220,200 3 

273 Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical 
Equipment ^ 

   120,478,638 3    128,246,521 3 

275 Mobile and Manufactured Homes 
Generally  

          257,525 2           326,100 2 

276 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment 
for Amputee Veterans  

                     * 5                      * 5 

277 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment 
for Persons with Disabilities  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 
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Exemptions (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

279 Narragansett Pier Railroad Company $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 
280 Newspapers ^        1,390,933 3        1,522,700 3 
281 Ocean Marine Insurance                1,783 4               1,759 4 
282 Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island 

Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

284 Personal and Dependent †    113,991,759 1    127,014,158 1 
286 Personal Holding Company, Regulated 

Investment Company or Real Estate 
Investment Trust  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

288 Precious Metal Bullion                     --- 5                    --- 5 
289 Promotional and Product Literature of 

Boat Manufacturers ^ 
          171,200 3           173,000 3 

290 Property Otherwise Exempted                     --- 5                    --- 5 
291 Property Purchased from Federal 

Government ^ 
       8,991,668 3        9,255,468 3 

293 Property Purchased Outside of State by 
Non-Resident and Brought into State  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

294 Property Returned Within 120 Days 
from the Date of Delivery  

            59,287 1             58,869 1 

295 Prosthetic Devices and Mobility 
Enhancing Equipment ^ 

     11,669,129 3      12,724,984 3 

297 Purchases Used for Manufacturing 
Purposes 

   379,125,624 2    389,371,558 2 

298 Qualified Sales of Manufactured and 
Mobile Home Parks  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

299 Rebuild Rhode Island Sales and Use Tax 
(New) 

                     0 1                      0 1 

300 Refillable and Reusable Beverage 
Containers  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

301 Renewable Energy Products †        1,291,500 2        1,732,500 2 
303 Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping 

Quarters in a Hospital or Nursing Home 
Licensed by the State^ 

     34,994,860 3      37,371,970 3 

304 Rhode Island Economic Development 
Corporation Project Status Designees  

          350,000 1                      0 1 

306 Rhode Island Industrial Facilities 
Corporation Lessees  

                     0 1                      0 1 

307 Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to 
Member of Clergy  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

308 Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other 
Jurisdictions  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

310 Sales beyond Constitutional Power of 
State  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

311 Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists†        1,029,084 2           962,478 2 
313 Sales in Municipal Economic 

Development Zones  
                     0 1                      0 1 

314 Sales in Public Buildings by Blind 
People  

          101,675 1             82,126 1 
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Exemptions (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

315 Sales of Motor Vehicles to Non-
Residents  

$                 --- 5 $     2,143,934 1 

317 Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational 
Vehicles to Non-Residents  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

318 Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for 
Residential Purposes  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

319 Sales to Common Carriers for Use 
Outside of the State  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

320 Sales to Federal Government ^        8,415,176 3        8,468,166 3 
321 Sales to the State or Its Political 

Subdivisions ^ 
     33,843,467 3      33,937,589 3 

323 Sales to the U.S. Government and 
Operators of Railroad Transportation 
Equipment  

       3,949,427 1        1,883,444 1 

324 School Meals ^        4,859,970 3        5,146,201 3 
326 Securities from Taxation                     --- 5                    --- 5 
327 Seeds and Plants used to Grow Food and 

Food Ingredients  
                     * 5                      * 5 

328 Special Adaptations for Wheelchair 
Accessible Taxicabs  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

329 Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous 
Waste Recycling, Reuse, or Treatment  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

330 Supplies Used in Preparing Floral 
Products and/or Arrangements ^ 

          867,017 3           898,736 3 

331 Telecommunications Carrier Access 
Services ^ 

     13,168,600 3      13,184,900 3 

332 Textbooks ^        1,724,228 3        1,864,553 3 
333 Total Loss or Destruction of Motor 

Vehicle within 120 Days of Tax 
Payment  

            59,287 1             58,869 1 

334 Trade-in Value of Boats                     --- 5                    --- 5 
336 Trade-In Value of Private Passenger 

Automobiles ^ 
                   --- 5      11,458,426 1 

337 Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate 
Family Members  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

339 Transfers or Sales Related to Business 
Dissolution or Partial Liquidation  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

340 Transportation Charges of Motor 
Carriers to Haul Goods  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

341 Vacation Homes Rented in Entirely           920,087 1        2,479,513 1 
342 Vehicles Purchased by Non-Resident 

Military Personnel Subject to Sales Tax 
Elsewhere  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

343 Video-Lottery Terminal, Table Games, 
and Sports Wagering Prizes 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

344 Water for Residential Use       13,489,030 2      13,717,546 2 
345 Wine and Spirits       16,826,599 1      16,902,518 1 
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Exemptions (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

346 Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 
or less by Non-Profit Organizations  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

 Total Exemptions $ 1,364,886,046 3.6 $ 1,432,207,659 3.5 
 
Modifications 

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

350 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003 † 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

354 Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, 
Dealing in or Holding Securities on Own 
Behalf † 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

355 Contribution to Medical Savings 
Account by Scituate Residents † 

                 399 1                  355 1 

356 Contributions to an Account under 
Tuition Savings Program † 

          141,364 1           161,069 1 

358 Enterprise Zone Business Owner with 
Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone † 

            21,510 1             19,483 1 

360 Federally Taxable Withdrawals from 
Tuition Savings Program Account † 

                     * 5                      * 5 

361 Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying 
Corporations † 

                     * 5                      * 5 

362 Income Earned on a Rhode Island 
Family Education Account † 

            19,657 1             14,909 1 

364 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Preservation Tax Credits † 

          118,298 2             20,365 2 

365 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Historic Structures Tax Credits † 

          322,090 2               5,346 2 

366 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Motion Picture Production Company 
Tax Credits † 

            54,875 2               1,973 2 

368 Income from the Assignment or Transfer 
of Musical & Theatrical Tax Credits † 

            28,191 2                  482 2 

369 Income or Gain from a Qualifying 
Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying 
Corporation † 

            30,534 1             49,700 1 

370 Interest on Obligations of the United 
States and its Possessions † 

       2,118,804 1        1,930,198 1 

372 Military Pay of Non-Resident 
Individuals † 

          752,713 1           455,145 1 

374 New Research and Development 
Facilities † 

            16,196 1             24,484 1 

375 Nonqualified Withdrawals from a 
Medical Savings Account by Scituate 
Residents 

                  n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 

376 Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition 
Savings Program Account 

                  n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 
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Modifications (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

377 Nonqualified Withdrawals or 
Distributions from Rhode Island Family 
Education Accounts 

$                n/a n/a $                n/a n/a 

377 Organ Transplantation †               5,313 1               3,843 1 
379 Performance-Based Income of Eligible 

Employees via the Jobs Growth Act † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

380 Profits or Gains from Sales of Work by 
Artists, Writers, and Composers † 

            20,139 1             14,747 1 

381 Provision of Insurance Benefit to 
Dependent or Domestic Partner † 

            45,450 1             44,003 1 

382 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership † 

                 377 1                  214 1 

383 Railroad Retirement Benefits †           199,672 1           187,690 1 
385 Recognition of Income from Discharge 

of Business Indebtedness † 
          903,948 1           497,297 1 

388 Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by 
Rental Car Companies  

       5,331,906 1        4,949,228 1 

389 Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment †                      0 1                      0 1 
390 Tax Incentives for Employers †             14,374 1             18,057 1 
392 Taxable Pension Plan and/or Annuity 

Income (New) † 
                  n/a n/a      11,968,388 1 

394 Taxable Social Security Income †      16,479,910 1      16,420,037 1 

 Total Modifications $ 26,625,720 1.6 $ 36,787,013 1.6 
      

Other Items 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

397 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Airlines  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

398 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Brokerage Services  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

400 Allocation and Apportionment of Credit 
Card Banks  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

401 Allocation of Apportionment of Motor 
Carriers 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

403 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Regulated Investment Companies  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

406 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Retirement and Pension Plans  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Other Items $               --- 5.0 $               --- 5.0 
      
Preferential Tax Rates 

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

409 Jobs Development Act  $   23,531,687 1 $     8,952,163 1 
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Preferential Tax Rates (continued) 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

411 Life Science Rate Reduction  $                   * 5 $                   * 5 

 Total Preferential Tax Rate $ 23,531,687 3.0 $   8,952,163 3.0 
      

Tax Abatements 
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

414 Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount  $     1,743,232 1 $     1,672,327 1 
415 Political Check-Off †             84,695 1             84,405 1 
417 Value of Farmland Included in Estate                    --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Tax Abatements $   1,827,927 2.3 $   1,756,732 2.3 
      
Tax Deferrals 

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

420 Holding Period for Unstamped 
Cigarettes † 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

421 Write-Downs or Reserves for Securities 
Losses † 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Tax Deferrals $                 0 3.0 $                 0 3.0 
      

TOTAL TAX EXPENDTURES $ 2,132,758,955 3.0 $ 2,284,587,438 2.9 
 
 
 



VII. Summary Results by Tax Type 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  44 

 Summary Results by Tax Type 
 

Forgone revenue in any given year can be either on a calendar year or a fiscal year basis.  Unless 
otherwise marked, tax expenditures items are reported for fiscal year 2016 and 2017.  Tax 
expenditure items marked with a † indicate forgone revenue is on a calendar year basis.  
Additionally, tax expenditure items marked with a ^ indicate that fiscal year 2017 and fiscal year 
2018 are reported.  Finally, tax expenditure items marked with a * indicate forgone revenue is 
included with another tax expenditure item.   

 
Alcoholic Beverage Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 3-10) 
Exemptions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

257 First 50,000 Gallons if Distilled 
Spirits of a Distiller in Continuous 
Operation for 12 Months † 

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

258 First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a 
Brewer in Continuous Operation for 
12 Months  

                   --- 5             29,543 1 

282 Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode 
Island Alcoholic Beverage 
Manufacturers  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

307 Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to 
Member of Clergy  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exemptions $                 --- 5.0 $          29,543 4.0 

 Total Alcoholic Beverage Tax $               --- 5.0 $        29,543 4.0 

      
Bank Deposits Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-15) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

67 Adult Education † $                   0 1 $                   0 1 
76 Contributions to Scholarship 

Organizations † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

83 Employment – Welfare Bonus 
Program † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

 Total Credits $                   0 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

176 Tax Incentives for Employers † $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 
 Total Deductions $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

 Total Bank Deposits Tax $                 0 2.0 $                 0 2.0 
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Bank Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-14) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

64 Adult and Child Daycare † $                   0 1 $                   0 1 
67 Adult Education †                      0 1                      0 1 
70 Anchor Institution †                      0 1                      0 1 
76 Contributions to Scholarship 

Organizations † 
              9,000 1                      0 1 

81 Educational Assistance and 
Development † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

83 Employment – Welfare Bonus 
Program † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

87 Historic Preservation †                      0 1                      0 1 
91 Historic Structures †                      0 1                      0 1 
95 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

97 Investment †        1,612,069 1        2,489,188 1 
101 Jobs Training †                       0 1                      0 1 
105 Motion Picture Production†                      0 1                      0 1 
109 Musical and Theatrical Production †                      0 1                      0 1 
112 New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act †                      0 1                      0 1 
120 Rebuild Rhode Island †                      0 1                      0 1 
129 Specialized Mill Building 

Investment† 
                     0 1                      0 1 

 Total Credits $     1,621,069 1.0 $     2,489,188 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

149 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 
Depreciations, Section 179 of IRC † 

$          44,179 1 $                   0 1 

166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

176 Tax Incentives for Employers †                      0 1                      0 1 
 Total Deductions $         44,179 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

190 Dividends Received from Shares of 
Stock † 

$     1,448,000 1 $     1,694,651 1 

196 Gain or Loss on Sale of Property 
Other Than Securities  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

200 Long-Term Gain from Capital 
Investment in Small Business  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exclusions $     1,448,000 3.7 $     1,694,651 3.7 
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Bank Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-14) 
Modifications     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

350 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 
2003 † 

$                   * 5 $                   * 5 

385 Recognition of Income from 
Discharge of Business Indebtedness† 

                     0 1               3,881 1 

 Total Modifications $                   0 3.0 $            3,881 3.0 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017 

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

409 Jobs Development Act  $   11,531,021 1 $     7,074,323 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rates $   11,531,021 1.0 $     7,074,323 1.0 

Tax Deferral     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

421 Write-Downs or Reserves for 
Securities Losses 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Tax Deferrals $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

 Total Bank Tax $ 14,644,269 1.6 $ 11,262,043 1.6 

      
Beverage Containers Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-44) 
Exemptions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

219 Beverage Containers, Hard-to-
Dispose Material, and Litter Control 
Participation Permit  

$        189,174 4 $        184,271 4 

300 Refillable and Reusable Beverage 
Containers  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exemptions $        189,271 4.5 $        184,271 4.5 

 
Total Tax on Beverage 

Containers $      189,271 4.5 $      184,271 4.5 

      
Business Corporation Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

63 Accommodations Under Americans 
with Disabilities Act † 

$                   0 1 $            1,000 1 

64 Adult and Child Daycare †                      0 1                      0 1 
67 Adult Education †                      0 1                      0 1 
70 Anchor Institution †                      0 1                      0 1 
71 Apprenticeship †                      0 1                      0 1 
73 Biotechnology Investment †                      * 5                      * 5 
76 Contributions to Scholarship 

Organizations † 
                     0 1                      0 1 
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76 

Credits (continued)     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
81 Educational Assistance and 

Development † 
$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

83 Employment – Welfare Bonus 
Program † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

87 Historic Preservation †                      0 1                      0 1 
91 Historic Structures †                      0 1             16,357 1 
94 Hydroelectric Power †                      0 1                      0 1 
95 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

97 Investment †           572,971 1        1,157,085 1 
101 Jobs Training †        1,404,970 1           637,437 1 
102 Juvenile Restitution †                      0 1                      0 1 
105 Motion Picture Production †                      0 1        1,124,973 1 
109 Musical and Theatrical Production †                      0 1                      0 1 
112 New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act †                      0 1                      0 1 
120 Rebuild Rhode Island †                      0 1                      0 1 
124 Research and Development 

Expense† 
       2,085,001 1        1,642,059 1 

126 Research and Development 
Property† 

            13,817 1             60,142 1 

128 Residential Renewable Energy 
System † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

129 Specialized Mill Building 
Investment† 

                     0 1                      0 1 

137 Wages Paid by Employers in Mill 
Buildings † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

 Total Credits $     4,076,759 1.1 $     4,639,053 1.1 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

140 Accelerated Amortization for Certain 
Manufacturers †  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

142 Amortization of Air or Water 
Pollution Prevention and Treatment 
Facilities † 

                   <1 1                  762 1 

149 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 
Depreciation, Section 179 of IRC † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

161 Net Operating Losses †      25,897,264 1      19,560,161 1 
166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 

Venture Capital Partnership † 
                   36 1                    32 1 

176 Tax Incentives for Employers †               1,294 1           138,020 1 
 Total Deductions $   25,898,594 1.7 $    19,698,975 1.7 
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Business Corporation Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

187 Corporations Excluded from 
Taxation by Charter  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

187 Corporations Not Doing Business for 
Profit  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

189 Corporations That Maintain and 
Manage Intangible Investments  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

190 Dividends Received from Shares of 
Stock † 

     19,696,505 1      29,681,391 1 

192 Financial Institutions                    --- 5                    --- 5 
194 Fraternal Beneficiary Societies                     --- 5                    --- 5 
197 Income from the Sale of International 

Investment Management Services  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

198 Insurance and Surety Companies                     --- 5                    --- 5 
199 Interest Received from Debt 

Instruments Issued by Public Service 
Corporations  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

200 Long-Term Gain from Capital 
Investment in Small Business  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

207 Public Service Corporations                     --- 5                    --- 5 
208 Taxed Gross Earnings and 

Associated Costs of Non-Public 
Service Corporations  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exclusions $   19,696,505 4.6 $   29,681,391 4.6 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

286 Personal Holding Company, 
Regulated Investment Company or 
Real Estate Investment Trust  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

 Total Exemptions  $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

350 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 
2003 † 

$                   * 5 $                   * 5 

354 Companies Engaged in Buying, 
Selling, Dealing in or Holding 
Securities on Own Behalf † 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

358 Enterprise Zone Business Owner 
with Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone† 

                     0 1                      0 1 

374 New Research and Development 
Facilities † 

            16,166 1             24,353 1 

385 Recognition of Income from 
Discharge of Business Indebtedness† 

          886,302 1           491,120 1 

 Total Modifications $        902,468 2.6 $        515,473 2.6 
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Business Corporation Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11) 
Other Items     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

397 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Airlines  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

398 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Brokerage Services  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

400 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Credit Card Banks  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

401 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Motor Carriers  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

403 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Regulated Investment Companies  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

406 Allocation and Apportionment of 
Retirement and Pension Plans  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Other Items $                --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

409 Jobs Development Act  $   12,000,666 1 $     1,877,840 1 
411 Life Science Rate Reduction                       * 5                      * 5 

 Total Preferential Tax Rates $   12,000,666 3.0 $     1,877,840 3.0 

 Total Business Corporation Tax $ 62,574,992 2.8 $ 56,412,732 2.6 

      
Cigarette Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-20) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

203 Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar  $     1,076,652 2 $     1,191,134 2 
206 Possession of 10 Packs of Cigarettes 

with Out-of-State Tax Stamps  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exclusions $     1,076,652 3.5 $     1,191,134 3.5 

Tax Abatement     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

414 Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount  $     1,743,232 1 $     1,672,327 1 
 Total Tax Abatements $     1,743,232 1.0 $     1,672,327 1.0 

Tax Deferral     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

420 Holding Period for Unstamped 
Cigarettes 

$                     0 1 $                     0 1 

 Total Tax Deferrals $                     0 1.0 $                     0 1.0 

 Total Cigarette Tax $     2,819,884 2.3 $     2,863,461 2.3 
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Estate and Transfer Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-22) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016 
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

133 Tax on Net Estate of Decedent † $   20,700,000 1 $   37,000,000 1 
 Total Credits $   20,700,000 1 $   37,000,000 1 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016 

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

205 Net Taxable Estate Amount  $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 
 Total Exclusions $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016 

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

251 Estates of Persons Declared Missing 
in Action by the U.S. Armed Forces 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

 Total Exemptions $                   0 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

Tax Abatement     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

417 Value of Farmland Included in an 
Estate  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

 Total Tax Abatements $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

 Total Estate and Transfer Tax $ 20,700,000 3.0 $ 37,000,000 3.0 

      
Generation Skipping Transfer Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-40) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

118 Real or Personal Property Taxed in 
Another State † 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

 Total Credits $                   0 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

Total Gen Skipping Transfer Tax $                 0 1.0 $                 0 1.0 

      
Hotel Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18-36.1) 
Exemptions 
Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

341 Vacation Homes Rented in Entirely $        920,087 1 $     2,479,513 1 

 Total Exemptions $        920,087 1.0 $     2,479,513 1.0 

Total Hotel Tax $      920,087 1.0 $   2,479,513 1.0 

 
Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

64 Adult and Child Daycare † $                   0 1 $                   0 1 
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Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17) 
Credits (continued)     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

67 Adult Education † $                   0 1 $                   0 1 
70 Anchor Institution †                      0 1                      0 1 
76 Contributions to Scholarship 

Organizations † 
            45,000 1             45,000 1 

81 Educational Assistance and 
Development † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

83 Employment – Welfare Bonus 
Program † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

87 Historic Preservation †           997,387 1           302,613 1 
91 Historic Structures †        1,050,000 1      19,807,679 1 
95 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

97 Investment †             83,996 1           361,335 1 
101 Jobs Training †                      0 1             24,141 1 
105 Motion Picture Production †           222,096 1           209,001 1 
109 Musical and Theatrical Production †                      0 1                      0 1 
112 New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act †                      0 1                      0 1 
109 Rebuild Rhode Island †                      0 1                      0 1 
124 Research and Development 

Expense† 
          734,292 1        1,052,625 1 

126 Research and Development 
Property† 

                     0 1                      0 1 

129 Specialized Mill Building 
Investment† 

                     0 1                      0 1 

 Total Credits $     3,132,771 1.0 $   21,802,394 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership † 

$                   0 1 $                 <1 1 

169 Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or 
Premiums for Reinsurance 
Assumed† 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

176 Tax Incentives for Employers †                      0 1                      1 1 
 Total Deductions $                   0 2.3 $                   1 2.3 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

195 Fraternal Benefit Societies  $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 
 Total Exclusions $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 
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Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17) 
Exemptions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

281 Ocean Marine Insurance  $            1,783 4 $            1,759 4 
 Total Exemptions $            1,783 4.0 $            1,759 4.0 

Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
2016 

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

409 Jobs Development Act  $                   0 1 $                   0 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rates $                   0 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

 
Total Insurance Company Gross 

Premiums Tax $   3,134,554 1.5 $ 21,804,154 1.5 

      
Motor Carrier Fuel Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-36.1) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016 
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

108 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Taxes Paid to 
Rhode Island † 

$     5,921,129 1 $     2,957,954 1 

 Total Credits $     5,921,129 1.0 $     2,957,954 1.0 

 Total Motor Carrier Fuel Tax $     5,921,129 1.0 $     2,957,954 1.0 

      
Motor Fuel Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-36) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

183 Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon 
of Diesel Fuel  

$     1,036,257 1 $     1,485,727 1 

202 Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, 
Aviation Fuel, and Heating Oil  

   178,685,196 2    214,812,408 2 

 Total Exclusions $ 179,721,453 1.5 $ 216,298,135 1.5 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

323 Sales to the U.S. Government and 
Operators of Railroad Transportation 
Equipment  

$     3,949,427 1 $     1,883,444 1 

 Total Exemptions $     3,949,427 1.0 $     1,883,444 1.0 

 Total Motor Fuel Tax $ 183,670,880 1.3 $ 218,181,579 1.3 
      
Non-Profit Refund (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-33.6-3) 
Credits     
Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

87 Historic Preservation † $     3,895,071  $     3,135,658  

 Total Credits $     3,895,071 1.0 $     3,135,658 1.0 

 Total Non-Profit Refund $   3,895,071 1.3 $   3,135,658 1.3 
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Personal Income Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

74 Child and Dependent Care (Federal)† $     3,601,918 1 $     3,672,222 1 
76 Contributions to Scholarship 

Organizations † 
       1,285,428 1        1,244,055 1 

79 Earned Income (Federal) †      23,652,797 1      27,859,648 1 
85 Historic Homeownership Assistance†                   n/a n/a               5,129 1 
87 Historic Preservation †        2,469,697 1        2,344,431 1 
91 Historic Structures †        1,654,003 1        2,203,050 1 

103 Lead Paint Abatement †           215,526 1           256,290 1 
105 Motion Picture Production †        1,032,214 1           800,187 1 
109 Musical and Theatrical Production †           644,364 1           520,959 1 
112 New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act †                      0 1             40,187 1 
116 Property Tax Relief †        4,124,475 1        4,144,492 1 
120 Rebuild Rhode Island †                      0 1                      0 1 
131 Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker 

Fellowship † 
                     0 1           586,926 1 

135 Taxes Paid to Other States †    182,475,753 1    193,026,414 1 
 Total Credits $ 221,156,175 1.0 $ 236,703,990 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

140 Alimony Paid (Federal) † $     1,236,158 4 $     1,309,202 4 
143 Certain Business Expenses of 

Reservists, etc. (Federal) † 
            59,201 4             74,592 4 

146 Educator Expenses (Federal) †           102,001 2             98,924 2 
149 Expensing of Assets in Lieu of 

Depreciation, Section 179 of IRC † 
          319,493 1           253,140 1 

152 Health Savings Account (Federal) †           485,788 4           521,382 4 
154 Individual Retirement Arrangement 

Contributions (Federal) † 
       1,122,404 2        1,088,279 2 

156 Keough and SEP Contributions 
(Federal) † 

       3,098,195 2        3,333,140 2 

159 Moving Expenses (Federal) †           341,012 4           337,835 4 
163 One-Half of Self-employment Tax 

(Federal) † 
       2,921,026 4        3,109,687 4 

165 Penalty of Early Withdrawal of 
Savings (Federal) † 

            10,560 4             12,075 4 

170 Self-employed Health Insurance 
(Federal) † 

       3,438,573 2        3,510,088 2 

172 Standard Deduction †    198,054,375 1    197,694,885 1 
174 Student Loan Interest (Federal) †           908,601 2           900,638 2 
179 Tuition and Fees (Federal) †           155,512 2             94,140 2 

 Total Deductions $ 212,252,899 2.7 $ 212,338,007 2.7 
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Personal Income Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

200 Long-Term Gain from Capital 
Investment in Small Business  

$                  --- 5 $                 --- 5 

208 Taxed Gross Earnings and 
Associated Costs of Non-Public 
Service Corporations  

                    --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exclusions $                  --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

284 Personal and Dependent † $ 113,991,759 1 $ 127,014,158 1 
 Total Exemptions $ 113,991,759 1.0 $ 127,014,158 1.0 

Modifications     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

350 Bonus Depreciation Provided by 
JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 
2003 † 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

355 Contribution to Medical Savings 
Account by Scituate Residents † 

                 399 1                  355 1 

356 Contributions to an Account under 
Tuition Savings Program † 

          141,364 1           161,069 1 

358 Enterprise Zone Business Owner 
with Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone† 

            21,510 1             19,483 1 

360 Federally Taxable Withdrawals from 
Tuition Savings Program Account † 

                     * 5                      * 5 

361 Gain from Stock Options in 
Qualifying Corporations † 

                     * 5                      * 5 

362 Income Earned on a Rhode Island 
Family Education Account † 

            19,657 1             14,909 1 

364 Income from the Assignment or 
Transfer of Historic Preservation Tax 
Credits † 

          118,298 2             20,365 2 

365 Income from the Assignment or 
Transfer of Historic Structures Tax 
Credits † 

          322,090 2               5,346 2 

366 Income from the Assignment or 
Transfer of Motion Picture 
Production Tax Credits † 

            54,875 2               1,973 2 

368 Income from the Assignment or 
Transfer of Musical and Theatrical 
Production Tax Credits † 

            28,191 2                  482 2 

369 Income or Gain from a Qualifying 
Employee’s Ownership of a 
Qualifying Corporation † 

            30,534 1             49,700 1 

370 Interest on Obligations of the United 
States and its Possessions † 

       2,118,804 1        1,930,198 1 

372 Military Pay of Non-Resident 
Individuals † 

          752,713 1           455,145 1 
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Personal Income Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30) 
Modifications (continued)     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

374 New Research and Development 
Facilities † 

$                 30 1 $               131 1 

375 Nonqualified Withdrawals from a 
Medical Savings Account by Scituate 
Residents 

                  n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 

376 Nonqualified Withdrawals from 
Tuition Savings Program Account 

                  n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 

377 Nonqualified Withdrawals or 
Distributions from Rhode Island 
Family Education Accounts 

                  n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 

377 Organ Transplantation †               5,313 1               3,843 1 
379 Performance-Based Income of 

Eligible Employees via the Jobs 
Growth Act † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

380 Profits or Gains from Sales of Work 
by Artists, Writers, and Composers † 

            20,139 1             14,747 1 

381 Provision of Insurance Benefit to 
Dependent or Domestic Partner † 

            45,450 1             44,003 1 

382 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 
Venture Capital Partnership † 

                 377 1                  214 1 

383 Railroad Retirement Benefits †           199,672 1           187,690 1 
385 Recognition of Income from 

Discharge of Business Indebtedness† 
            17,646 1               2,296 1 

389 Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment †                      0 1                      0 1 
390 Tax Incentives for Employers †             14,374 1             18,057 1 
392 Taxable Pension Plan and/or Annuity 

Income (New) † 
                  n/a n/a      11,968,388 1 

394 Taxable Social Security Income †      16,479,910 1      16,420,037 1 
 Total Modifications $   20,391,346 1.5 $   31,318,431 1.5 

Tax Abatement     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

415 Political Check-Off † $          84,695 1 $          84,405 1 
 Total Tax Abatements $          84,695 1.0 $          84,405 1.0 

 Total Personal Income Tax $ 567,876,874 1.8 $ 607,458,991 1.8 

      
Public Service Corporation Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-13) 
Credits     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

63 Accommodations Under Americans 
with Disabilities Act † 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

64 Adult and Child Daycare †                      0 1                      0 1 
67 Adult Education †                      0 1                      0 1 
70 Anchor Institution †                      0 1                      0 1 
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Public Service Corporation Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-13) 
Credits (continued)     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

76 Contributions to Scholarship 
Organizations † 

$                   0 1 $                   0 1 

81 Educational Assistance and 
Development † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

83 Employment – Welfare Bonus 
Program † 

                     0 1                      0 1 

87 Historic Preservation †                      0 1                      0 1 
91 Historic Structures †                      0 1                      0 1 
95 Interest for Loans to Mill Building 

Owners † 
                     0 1                      0 1 

101 Jobs Training †                      0 1                      0 1 
109 Musical and Theatrical Production †                      0 1                      0 1 
112 New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act †                      0 1                      0 1 
120 Rebuild Rhode Island †                      0 1                      0 1 

 Total Credits $                   0 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

Deductions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

145 Connecting Fees, Switching and 
Carrier Access Charges † 

$     3,566,229 1 $     3,321,434 1 

148 Electricity for Resale †                    --- 5                    --- 5 
158 Merchandise Sold †                      0 1                      0 1 
166 Qualifying Investment in a Certified 

Venture Capital Partnership † 
                     0 1             13,505 1 

176 Tax Incentives for Employers †                    --- 5                    --- 5 
 Total Deductions $     3,566,229 2.6 $     3,334,939 2.6 

Exclusions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

190 Dividends Received from Shares of 
Stock † 

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

200 Long-Term Gain from Capital 
Investment in Small Business  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

210 Value-Added Non-Voice Services 
That Use Computer Processing 
Applications  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exclusions $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

279 Narragansett Pier Railroad Company $                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 
326 Securities from Taxation                     --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exemptions $                 --- 5.0 $                 --- 5.0 
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Preferential Tax Rate     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

409 Jobs Development Act  $                   0 1 $                   0 1 
 Total Preferential Tax Rate $                   0 1.0 $                   0 1.0 

Total Public Service Corporation Tax $   3,566,229 2.1 $   3,334,939 2.1 

 
Rental Vehicle Surcharge (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-34.1) 
Modifications     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

388 Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained 
by Rental Car Companies  

$     5,331,906 1 $     4,949,228 1 

 Total Modifications $     5,331,906 1.0 $     4,949,228 1.0 

 Total Rental Vehicle Surcharge $   5,331,906 1.0 $   4,949,228 1.0 

 
Real Estate Conveyance Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-25) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

184 Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured 
Homes for Consideration of $100 or 
less  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

184 Conveyance of Real Estate for 
Consideration of $100 or less  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

186 Conveyance of Real Estate Relating 
to the Capitol Center Project  

                     0 1                      0 1 

 Total Exclusions $                   0 3.7 $                   0 3.7 

Exemptions     
Page 

Number Item 
2016  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 
2017  

Forgone Revenue 
Reliability 

Level 

241 Deed, Instrument or Writing where 
Grantor is U.S. Government or State 
of Rhode Island  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

298 Qualified Sales of Manufactured and 
Mobile Home Parks  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

 Total Exemptions $                   0 5.0 $                   0 5.0 

 
Total Real Estate Conveyance 

Tax $                 0 4.2 $                 0 4.2 

      
Sales and Use Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18) 
Exclusions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

209 Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer 
but Separately Stated on Invoice  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

211 Veterinary and Testing Laboratory 
Services^  

     11,680,090 3      11,918,401 3 

 Total Exclusions $   11,680,090 4.0 $   11,918,401 4.0 
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Sales and Use Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18) 
Exemptions     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

214 Agricultural Products for Human 
Consumption ^ 

$     2,774,143 3 $     2,871,299 3 

215 Air and Water Pollution Control 
Facilities ^ 

          146,023 3           149,431 3 

216 Aircraft and Aircraft Parts ^        3,091,516 3        3,220,082 3 
217 Banks and Regulated Investment 

Companies Interstate Toll Free Calls 
       1,060,555 4           906,585 4 

220 Bibles                     --- 5                    --- 5 
221 Boats or Vessels Brought in 

Exclusively for Winter Storage, 
Maintenance, Repair or Sale ^ 

                     * 5                      * 5 

222 Boats or Vessels Generally ^        5,105,467 3        5,700,487 3 
223 Boats Sold to Non-Residents                       * 5                      * 5 
224 Building Materials Used to Rebuild 

After Disaster  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

225 Buses, Trucks or Trailers used in 
Interstate Commerce ^ 

       4,635,400 3        4,649,000 3 

226 Camps ^        1,386,198 3        1,497,001 3 
228 Casual Sales                     --- 5                    --- 5 
229 Charitable, Educational or Religious 

Organizations ^ 
     95,094,200 3      95,901,500 3 

232 Clothing and Footwear ^      35,180,268 3      37,260,845 3 
233 Coffins, Caskets and Burial 

Garments ^ 
       1,211,485 3        1,276,465 3 

235 Coins            588,104 4           490,243 4 
236 Commercial Fishing Vessels in 

Excess of Five Net Tons  
          221,175 4           111,282 4 

238 Commercial Vessels of 50 Tons 
Burden or More  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

239 Compressed Air                     --- 5                    --- 5 
240 Containers ^      10,361,665 3      10,690,623 3 
242 Diesel Emission Control Technology                    --- 5                    --- 5 
243 Dietary Supplements         2,292,554 4        2,403,969 4 
244 Distressed Essential Community 

Hospital  
                   --- 5                    --- 5 

245 Educational Institutions Rental 
Charges ^ 

       8,353,659 3        8,936,917 3 

247 Electricity and Gas ^      70,155,339 3      73,531,199 3 
249 Electricity, Steam and Thermal 

Energy from RI Economic 
Development Corporation (now RI 
Commerce Corporation)  

                     0 1                      0 1 

249 Equipment for Research and 
Development ^ 

       5,035,870 3        5,278,597 3 

252 Farm Equipment ^           921,600 3           935,400 3 
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Sales and Use Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18) 
Exemptions (continued)     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

253 Farm Structure Construction 
Materials ^ 

$        239,352 3 $        249,376 3 

254 Feed for Certain Animals Used in 
Commercial Farming ^ 

          558,439 3           564,731 3 

256 Feminine Hygiene Products (new)                   n/a n/a                   n/a n/a 
259 Flags              34,328 4             34,117 4 
260 Food and Food Ingredients ^    163,324,676 3    170,724,311 3 
262 Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps      17,413,518 1      17,147,896 1 
263 Gasoline      70,475,348 2      70,902,147 2 
265 Heating Fuels      17,342,019 4      17,693,959 4 
266 Horse Food Products ^             30,116 3             30,669 3 
268 Human Blood            576,802 4           556,428 4 
269 Installation Labor Charges When 

Separately Stated ^ 
     36,249,200 3      38,070,500 3 

270 Jewelry Display Product                     --- 5                    --- 5 
271 Lottery Prizes                    --- 5                    --- 5 
272 Manufacturers' Machinery and 

Equipment ^ 
     38,810,300 3      39,220,200 3 

273 Medicines, Drugs and Durable 
Medical Equipment ^ 

   120,478,638 3    128,246,521 3 

275 Mobile and Manufactured Homes 
Generally  

          257,525 2           326,100 2 

276 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive 
Equipment for Amputee Veterans  

                     * 5                      * 5 

277 Motor Vehicle and Adaptive 
Equipment for Persons with 
Disabilities 

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

280 Newspapers ^        1,390,933 3        1,522,700 3 
288 Precious Metal Bullion                     --- 5                    --- 5 
289 Promotional and Product Literature 

of Boat Manufacturers ^ 
          171,200 3           173,000 3 

290 Property Otherwise Exempted                     --- 5                    --- 5 
291 Property Purchased from Federal 

Government ^ 
       8,991,668 3        9,255,468 3 

293 Property Purchased Outside of State 
by Non-Resident and Brought into 
State  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

294 Property Returned Within 120 Days 
from the Date of Delivery  

            59,287 1             58,869 1 

295 Prosthetic Devices and Mobility 
Enhancing Equipment ^ 

     11,669,129 3      12,724,984 3 

297 Purchases Used for Manufacturing 
Purposes 

   379,125,624 2    389,371,558 2 

299 Rebuild Rhode Island Sales and Use 
Tax (New) 

                     0 1                      0 1 

301 Renewable Energy Products        1,291,500 2        1,732,500 2 
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Sales and Use Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18) 
Exemptions (continued)     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

303 Rental Charged for Living or 
Sleeping Quarters in a Hospital or 
Nursing Home ^ 

$   34,994,860 3 $   37,371,970 3 

304 Rhode Island Economic 
Development Corporation Project 
Status Designees  

          350,000 1                      0 1 

306 Rhode Island Industrial Facilities 
Corporation Lessees  

                     0 1                      0 1 

308 Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other 
Jurisdictions  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

310 Sales beyond Constitutional Power of 
State  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

311 Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists         1,029,084 2           962,478 2 
313 Sales in Municipal Economic 

Development Zones  
                     0 1                      0 1 

314 Sales in Public Buildings by Blind 
People 

          101,675 1             82,126 1 

315 Sales of Motor Vehicles to Non-
Residents  

                   --- 5        2,143,934 1 

317 Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational 
Vehicles to Non-Residents  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

318 Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for 
Residential Purposes  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

319 Sales to Common Carriers for Use 
Outside of the State  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

320 Sales to Federal Government ^        8,415,176 3        8,468,166 3 
321 Sales to the State or Its Political 

Subdivisions ^ 
     33,843,467 3      33,937,589 3 

324 School Meals ^        4,859,970 3        5,146,201 3 
327 Seeds and Plants used to Grow Food 

and Food Ingredients ^ 
                     * n/a                      * n/a 

328 Special Adaptations for Wheelchair 
Accessible Taxicabs  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

329 Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous 
Waste Recycling, Reuse, or 
Treatment  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

330 Supplies Used in Preparing Floral 
Products and/or Arrangements ^ 

          867,017 3           898,736 3 

331 Telecommunications Carrier Access 
Services ^ 

     13,168,600 3      13,184,900 3 

332 Textbooks ^        1,724,228 3        1,864,553 3 
333 Total Loss or Destruction of Motor 

Vehicle within 120 Days of Tax 
Payment  

            59,287 1             58,869 1 

334 Trade-in Value of Boats                     --- 5                    --- 5 
336 Trade-In Value of Private Passenger 

Automobiles ^ 
                   --- 5      11,458,426 3 
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Sales and Use Tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18) 
Exemptions (continued)     

Page 
Number Item 

2016  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

2017  
Forgone Revenue 

Reliability 
Level 

337 Transfers or Sales Made to 
Immediate Family Members  

$                 --- 5 $                 --- 5 

339 Transfers or Sales Related to 
Business Dissolution or Partial 
Liquidation  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

340 Transportation Charges of Motor 
Carriers to Haul Goods  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

342 Vehicles Purchased by Non-Resident 
Military Personnel Subject to Sales 
Tax Elsewhere  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

343 Lottery Prizes                    --- 5                    --- 5 
344 Water for Residential Use       13,489,030 2      13,717,546 2 
345 Wine and Spirits       16,826,599 1      16,902,518 1 
346 Youth Activities Equipment Sold for 

$20 or less by Nonprofit 
Organizations  

                   --- 5                    --- 5 

 Total Exemptions $ 1,245,833,816 3.5 $1,300,614,971 3.4 

 Total Sales and Use Tax $ 1,257,513,906 3.5 $ 1,312,533,372 3.4 

      
TOTAL TAX EXPENDTURES $2,132,758,955 2.9 $2,284,587,438 2.8 

 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Credits 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  62 

 
  Detail of Tax Expenditure Items  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CREDITS 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Credits 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  63 

1. Accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-54-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1997 / 2010 
 
Description:  A small business taxpayer that pays for or incurs expenses to provide access 
to persons with disabilities to comply with federal or state laws is allowed a credit equal to 
10.0 percent of the total amount expended against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapters 44-11 and 44-13.  The credit cannot exceed $1,000 each tax year.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $1,000 1 
2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $1,000 1 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $1,000 1 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $1,000 1 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $1,000 1 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $1,000 1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $1,000 1 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $1,000 1 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $1,000 1 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $1,000 1 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts allows taxpayers to deduct up to $35,000 of the costs of 
removing architectural or transportation barriers to the handicapped in the year these costs 
are incurred.  The immediate deduction of these expenditures, which would otherwise have 
to be capitalized and depreciated over a longer period, results in a deferral of tax or an 
interest-free loan. 
 
Massachusetts citation:  26 U.S.C. § 190  
 

2. Adult and Child Daycare: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-47-1 and 44-47-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / 1994 
 
Description:  A credit is allowed against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13 (except § 44-13-13), 44-14, and 44-17 for 30.0 percent of the total 
amount expended in the state by a taxpayer (a) “for day care services purchased to provide 
care for the dependent children or dependent adult family members of the taxpayer’s 
employees or employees of commercial tenants of the taxpayer during the employees’ 
hours of employment;” (b) “in the establishment and/or operation of a day care facility 
used primarily by the dependent children of the taxpayer’s employees or employees of 
commercial tenants of the taxpayer during the employees’ hours of employment;” (c) “in 
conjunction with one or more other taxpayers for the establishment and/or operation of a 
day care facility used primarily by the dependent children of the taxpayer’s employees or 
employees of commercial tenants of the taxpayer during the employees’ hours of 
employment;” or (d) “the total amount foregone in rent or lease payments related to the 
dedication of rental or lease space to child day care services.” 
 
The maximum credit allowed is $30,000 and cannot reduce the tax due for any tax year to 
less than $100.  The credit may be carried forward for the next five consecutive tax years, 
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if the credit has been earned under conditions (b), (c) or (d) above, but no carryforward 
provision is available for credits earned under condition (a).  
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  TY 2018 data is as of October 2019 and 
may not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by 
the Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation, Public Service Corporation, Bank and 
Insurance Company Gross Premiums Taxes:  Amount of credit is based on the three-year 
moving average value of the credit taken in tax year 2016 through tax year 2018.  The 
number of taxpayers is based on the three-year moving average of the number of taxpayers 
in tax year 2016 through tax year 2018. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a corporation subject to the corporation business tax to 
claim a credit for expenditures made as a human capital investment.  According to the 
Connecticut statute, “(5) planning, site preparation, construction, renovation or acquisition 
of facilities in this state for the purpose of establishing a day care facility in this state to be 
used primarily by the children of employees who are employed in this state” and “(6) 
subsidies to employees who are employed in this state for child care to be provided in this 
state” are expenditures that qualify as human capital investments.  The tax credit is equal 
to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or incurred by the corporation for a human capital 
investment.  A credit cannot exceed the amount of corporation business tax otherwise 
payable, although unused amounts may be carried forward for up to five succeeding 
income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217x  
 
Maine:  Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, eligible taxpayers 
can claim a credit up to 25.0 percent of adult dependent care expenses paid for adult day 
care, hospice services and respite care provided these expenses were not used in calculating 
the federal child and dependent care credit.  Eligible expenses are capped at $3,000 for one 
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qualifying individual or $6,000 for two or more qualifying individuals.  The credit is 
refundable up to $500. 
 
Maine also had a quality child care investment credit. A corporation can claim a credit up 
to 30.0 percent up to $30,000 of expenditures while an individual taxpayer who expends at 
least $10,000 in one year, the credit is worth $1,000 each year for 10 years and $10,000 at 
the end of the 10-year period.  This credit was repealed for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2016 but carry over of unused credit amounts is still allowed. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5218-A, 5219-P 
 

3. Adult Education: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-46-1, 44-46-3, and 44-46-7 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / 1999 
 
Description:  An employer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15, and 44-17 for 50.0 percent of the costs 
incurred solely and directly for non-worksite or worksite-based adult education programs, 
as specifically defined.  The employees for whom the employer claims an adult education 
tax credit must remain in the employ of the business for a minimum period of 13 
consecutive weeks and a minimum of 455 hours of paid employment before an employer 
is eligible for the credit. 
 
The maximum credit per employee is $300 and the maximum credit per calendar year per 
employer is $5,000.  This credit cannot reduce the business corporation tax to less than 
$100.   The credit is not refundable and any amount of the credit that is not used in the 
taxable year in which the employer becomes eligible for the credit cannot be carried 
forward to the following year. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a corporation subject to the corporation business tax to 
claim a credit for expenditures made as a human capital investment.  According to the 
Connecticut statute, “(1) job training which occurs in this state for persons who are 
employed in this state; (2) work education programs in this state including, but not limited 
to, programs in public high schools and work education-diversified occupations programs 
in this state;” and “(3) worker training and education for persons who are employed in this 
state provided by institutions of higher education in this state” are expenditures that qualify 
as human capital investments.  The tax credit is equal to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or 
incurred by the corporation for a human capital investment.  A credit cannot exceed the 
amount of corporation business tax otherwise payable, although unused amounts may be 
carried forward for up to five succeeding income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217x  
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts adopts the federal exclusion for qualified educational 
expenses for undergraduate and graduate education expenses up to the federal annual 
maximum of $5,250 per calendar year.   
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2 
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4. Anchor Institution: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.30 / Rhode Island Public 
Law Chapter 141, Article 19, Section 13 
 
Stated Purpose: “The purposes of the program are to encourage economic development 
and job creation in connection with the relocation of qualified businesses to the state of 
Rhode Island by providing an incentive to existing Rhode Island businesses to encourage 
a qualified business to relocate to Rhode Island.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / N/A 
 
Description:  Under the Anchor Institution Tax Credit program, which is administered by 
the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation, a Rhode Island business may be allowed a credit 
for having played “a substantial role in the decision of a qualified business to relocate a 
minimum number of jobs” to Rhode Island.  A Rhode Island business is allowed a credit 
against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, and 
44-17.  The amount of the tax credit shall be based on criteria established by the commerce 
corporation such as number, types and compensation of jobs created, industry sector and 
whether the relocation benefits a Hope Community. An Anchor Institution tax credit fund 
has been established and any appropriations made are for the sole purpose of the 
redemption of this tax credit or reimbursement to the state for tax credits applied against a 
taxpayer’s liability.  The program may provide tax credits to eligible businesses for up to 
five years.  No credits may be issued after December 31, 2018. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  TY 2018 data is as of October 2019 and 
may not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by 
the Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

5. Apprenticeship: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-41 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any taxpayer who employs a machine tool or metal trade apprentice or plastic 
process technician apprentice duly enrolled and registered under the terms of a qualified 
program is eligible for a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-11.  The amount of the credit is equal to 50.0 percent of the actual wages paid 
to each qualifying apprentice or $4,800, whichever is less.  The number of apprenticeships 
for which tax credit is allowed must exceed the average number of apprenticeships begun 
during the five preceding years. 
 
The credit is not refundable and any amounts not deductible in the taxable year in which 
the credit is earned may not be carried forward to succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A credit may be applied against the Connecticut corporation business tax by 
corporations that employ apprentices who are receiving training in the manufacturing, 
plastics and plastics-related, or construction trades.  Wages of pre-apprentices are not 
eligible for this tax credit.   
 
The tax credit allowed per apprentice in the manufacturing trades and plastics and plastics-
related trades shall be the lesser of:  (1) $6 per hour multiplied by the total number of hours 
worked during the income year by apprentices in the first half of a two-year term of 
apprenticeship and the first three-quarters of a four-year term of apprenticeship, provided 
the amount of credit allowed for any income year with respect to each such apprenticeship 
may not exceed $7,500 or 50 per cent of actual wages paid in such income year to an 
apprentice in the first half of a two-year term of apprenticeship or in the first three-quarters 
of a four-year term of apprenticeship, whichever is less..  The tax credit allowed per 
apprentice in construction trades shall be the lesser of:  (1) $2 per hour multiplied by the 
total number of hours completed by the apprentice during a four-year qualifying 
apprenticeship training program; (2) 50.0 percent of the total wages paid to the apprentice 
during a four-year qualifying apprenticeship training program; or (3) $4,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217g  
 
Massachusetts:  Beginning January 1, 2019 Massachusetts allows a credit awarded to 
employers registered with the division of apprentice standards as apprenticeship-program 
sponsors and who have entered into an apprentice agreement with each apprentice for 
whom the credit is claimed. The credit is equal to $4,800 or 50.0 percent of the wages paid 
to the apprentice for each apprentice. The total amounts of credits authorized annually is 
$2.5 million. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(v) 
 

6. Biotechnology Investment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31-1.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any company primarily engaged in commercial biological research and 
development or manufacturing and sale of biotechnology products or active 
pharmaceutical ingredients shall be allowed a credit of 10.0 percent of the cost or other 
basis for federal tax purposes of tangible personal property, excluding vehicles and 
furniture, and other tangible property with situs in Rhode Island and principally used in the 
production of biotechnology products after December 31, 2001.  This credit can be used 
against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11. 
 
To qualify for the tax credit a company must pay its employees that work a minimum of 
30 hours per week within the state, a median annual wage equal to or greater than 125.0 
percent of the average annual wage paid by all employers in Rhode Island to employees 
that work a minimum of 30 hours per week, and the company must provide benefits typical 
to the biotechnology industry. 
 
Any amount of credit not used in the tax year it was earned may be carried forward for up 
to 15 succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 (This credit is included in the Investment Tax Credit.)   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2017 Business Corporation Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  No separate projection is made due to lack of reliable data.  
Projected impact of the Biotechnology Investment Tax Credit is included in the projections 
of the Investment Tax Credit. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2019 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2020 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2021 Business Corporation Tax * * 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut has a modification reducing taxable income for general partners 
of a qualified venture capital fund that invests in a Connecticut bioscience business for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2018. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704g 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides for an incentive payment to a biotechnology or 
medical device manufacturing company that creates 10 or more eligible jobs in the 
commonwealth during a single calendar year.  The jobs incentive payment is equal to 50.0 
percent multiplied by the applicable Massachusetts income tax rate for the salary paid to 
the persons who perform the newly created eligible jobs. 
 
Massachusetts also has a life sciences refundable investment tax credit equal to 10.0 
percent of the cost of qualifying property acquired, constructed or erected during the tax 
year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62C, § 67D(b) and ch 63 §38U 
 

7. Child and Dependent Care (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(F)(I)(g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  A taxpayer entitled to the federal child and dependent care credit is entitled 
to a credit against the Rhode Island personal income tax.  In general, if a taxpayer can claim 
the federal credit for expenses paid for someone to care for a dependent that is under age 
13 or to care for a spouse or dependent whom is unable to care for himself/herself, then the 
taxpayer can claim a credit for the same expenses against the tax imposed under Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  The child and/or dependent care expenses must be 
paid in order for the taxpayer to work or look for work.  The amount of the credit is equal 
to 25.0 percent of the federal credit that is claimed. 
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Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations based on TY 2016 and TY 
2017 personal income tax data. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $3,601,918 26,305 

2017 Personal Income Tax $3,672,222 26,459 
 
Projection Methodology:  Tax year 2017 revenue forgone is grown by the growth realized 
in revenue forgone between TY 2016 and TY 2017 to project TY 2018.  Tax years 2019 
through 2021 projected revenue forgone is held constant with TY 2018.  The projected 
number of taxpayers is based on the same methodology. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $3,743,898 26,614 

2019 Personal Income Tax $3,743,898 26,614 

2020 Personal Income Tax $3,743,898 26,614 

2021 Personal Income Tax $3,743,898 26,614 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.     
 
Maine:  A resident individual is allowed a credit against the tax otherwise due in the amount 
of 25.0 percent of the federal tax credit allowable for child and dependent care expenses in 
the same tax year, except that for tax years beginning in 2003, 2004 and 2005, the 
applicable percentage is 21.5 percent instead of 25.0 percent.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5218(4) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions provide for a deduction for the care of a 
qualified child under the age of 13, a disabled dependent or a disabled spouse. The 
maximum deduction is $4,800 for one qualifying individual and $9,600 for two or more 
qualifying individuals. If a taxpayer claims this deduction on their form, they are ineligible 
to claim the dependent member of household deduction. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(a)(ii) 
 
Vermont:  A taxpayer is entitled to a credit against the tax imposed of 24.0 percent of the 
child care and dependent care credit allowed against the taxpayer’s federal income tax for 
the taxable year.  Vermont also has a second credit for taxpayers with federal AGI under 
$30,000, if filing individually, or $40,000, if married filing jointly.  The credit is equal to 
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50.0 percent of the federal child and dependent care credit for child and dependent care 
services procured in Vermont, so long as the facility providing these services has been 
certified by the Agency of Human Services. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5822d and 5828c 
 

8. Contributions to Scholarship Organizations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-62-4 and 44-62-5 
 
Stated Purpose: “In order to enhance the educational opportunities available to all students 
in this state, a business entity will be allowed a tax credit…for voluntary cash contribution 
(sic) made by the business entity to a qualified scholarship.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2006 / 2014 
 
Description:  Taxpayers that make voluntary cash contributions to certified scholarship 
organizations are entitled to receive a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15, 44-17 or 44-30.  The maximum credit 
allowed a business entity is no greater than $100,000 in any tax year.  The total aggregate 
amount of all tax credits for contributions to scholarship organizations approved by the 
Division of Taxation in a fiscal year cannot exceed $1.0 million.  Effective July 3, 2013 
and thereafter, the total aggregate amount of all tax credits for contributions to scholarship 
organizations approved by the Division of Taxation cannot exceed $1.5 million. 
 
There are two methods by which the tax credit can be earned, a two-year contribution plan 
and a one-time contribution plan.  Under the two-year contribution plan, the taxpayer 
commits to making the same amount of contribution for two consecutive tax years.  In this 
case, the yearly tax credit earned is equal to 90.0 percent of the total voluntary contribution 
made by the business entity.  Under the one-time contribution plan, the business entity 
receives a credit equal to 75.0 percent of the total voluntary contribution that is made. 
 
The tax credit must be used in the tax year the contribution was made.  The tax credit is 
not refundable, assignable or transferable and any unused credit may not be carried 
forward.  The tax credit may not reduce the tax below the state minimum tax.  
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $9,000 1 

2016 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $45,000 1 

2016 Personal Income Tax $1,285,428 98 

2016 Total $1,339,428 100 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $45,000 1 

2017 Personal Income Tax $1,244,055 73 

2017 Total $1,289,055 74 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 amount of credit and number of taxpayers is what was 
reported at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference by the Division of 
Taxation.  TY 2019 forgone revenue and the number of taxpayers is equal to the 3-year 
average (TY 2016, TY 2017, and TY 2018) amount of revenue forgone and count of 
taxpayers.  TY 2020 and TY 2021 are set equal to TY 2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Personal Income Tax $1,027,707 52 

2018 Projected Total $1,027,707 52 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $30,000 1 

2019 Personal Income Tax $1,185,730 74 

2019 Projected Total $1,215,730 75 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $30,000 1 

2020 Personal Income Tax $1,185,730 74 

2020 Projected Total $1,215,730 75 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $30,000 1 

2021 Personal Income Tax $1,185,730 74 

2021 Projected Total $1,215,730 75 
 
Law Comparison:  Only New Hampshire has a similar provision. 
 
New Hampshire: A tax credit is allowed against the business profits tax and/or the business 
enterprise tax for business organizations and business enterprises that contribute to 
scholarship organizations which award scholarships to be used by students to defray 
educational expenses.  For each contribution made to a scholarship organization, a business 
organization or business enterprise may claim a credit equal to 85 percent of the 
contribution against the business profits tax…or against the business enterprise tax…or 
apportioned against both provided the total credit granted against both shall not exceed the 
maximum education tax credit allowed.  No business organization or business enterprise 
shall receive more than 10 percent of the aggregate amount of tax credits permitted.  The 
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credit may be carried forward five years by any business organization or business enterprise 
but shall not exceed $1.0 million in any given year.  The aggregate of tax credits issued by 
the commissioner of the department of revenue administration to all taxpayers claiming the 
credit shall not exceed $3,400,000 for the first program year and $5,100,000 for the second 
program year.  In subsequent years, the aggregate of tax credits shall not exceed the amount 
allowed for the prior year, unless the amount of the total donations used for scholarships 
exceeds 80 percent of the current program year's tax credits allowed, the aggregate of tax 
credits allowed for the next program year shall increase by 25 percent.  
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann., Ch. 77-G(3) and 77-G(4)  
 

9. Earned Income (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(N) / Rhode 
Island Public Laws 2016, Chapter 142, Article 13, Section 15  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2016 
 
Description:  For tax year 2016, an eligible taxpayer’s Rhode Island earned income credit 
equals 12.5 percent of the federal earned income credit with the excess Rhode Island credit 
amount to be fully refundable. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, a 
taxpayer entitled to a federal earned-income credit shall be allowed a Rhode Island earned-
income credit equal to 15 percent of the federal earned-income credit with the excess Rhode 
Island credit amount fully refundable. 
 
In general, a taxpayer can claim the federal credit if he/she is employed and meets certain 
income criteria and rules including those having to do with children living in the home.  
The federal earned income tax credit is up to 45.0 percent of the first $13,930 in earned 
income for taxpayers with three or more eligible dependents in TY 2016. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, testimony provided at the May and 
November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conferences. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $23,652,797 88,424 

2017 Personal Income Tax $27,859,648 86,811 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $27,999,132 85,370 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2019 amount of credit and number of taxpayers is the 
average of TY 2017 and TY 2018.  TY 2020 and TY 2021 are set equal to TY 2019.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Personal Income Tax $27,929,390 86,091 

2020 Personal Income Tax $27,929,390 86,091 

2021 Personal Income Tax $27,929,390 86,091 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar 
provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows for a refundable earned income tax credit equal to 23.0 
percent of the federal earned income tax credit to resident taxpayers who work and earn 
incomes below certain levels.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704e 
 
Maine:  The allowable earned income tax credit is in the amount of 5.0 percent of the 
federal earned income tax credit.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the 
earned income tax credit is fully refundable for Maine residents and prorated for part-year 
residents.  Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, the Maine earned 
income tax credit amount increases to 12% of the federal earned income tax credit amount 
for eligible taxpayers with qualifying children and to 25% of the federal earned income tax 
credit amount for eligible taxpayers without qualifying children.  In addition, taxpayers 
aged 18 to 24 years without qualifying children are eligible for the Maine earned income 
tax credit if they are eligible for the federal earned income tax credit. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-S 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a credit against the taxes imposed if the 
taxpayer qualified for and claimed the federal earned income credit. Effective for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the amount of the credit is 23.0 percent of the federal 
credit received by the taxpayer for the taxable year.  For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019, the credit increases to 30.0 of the federal credit.  If the taxpayer claims 
and receives other state income tax credits, this credit must be applied last. If the amount 
of the credit exceeds the taxpayer’s liability, the excess is treated as an overpayment, and 
the taxpayer will be refunded the excess, without interest.  Taxpayers who are victims of 
domestic abuse that file a Massachusetts personal income tax return as married filing 
separately may be eligible for the credit, despite not being eligible for the federal earned 
income tax credit, if they meet certain criteria.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(h) 
 
Vermont:  The credit is 32.0 percent of the individual’s federal earned income tax credit 
multiplied by the percentage of the individual’s earned income earned or received while a 
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Vermont resident to the individual’s total earned income.  For tax years beginning on and 
after January 1, 2018 the credit increases to 36.0 percent of the federal credit. If the credit 
exceeds the taxpayer’s income tax liability for the year, the excess of credits over payments 
due shall be paid to the taxpayer.  If the taxpayer’s earnings come from periods of part-
year residency, then the credit is prorated.   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5828b 
 

10. Educational Assistance and Development: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-42-2 and 44-42-5 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / N/A 
 
Description:  An 8.0 percent credit is allowed against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13 (except § 44-13-13), 44-14 and 44-17 for 
contributions in excess of $10,000 made to an institution of higher education in Rhode 
Island (a) for the establishment or maintenance of a faculty chair, department, or program 
for scientific research or education; (b) for a work fellowship program that is providing 
training connected with scientific research or education for the students of the institution; 
or (c) for tangible personal property contributed for use in an educational, training, or 
research program for scientific research or education excluding sale discounts and sale-gift 
or similar arrangements for equipment. 
 
The credit cannot reduce the tax due below $100 in a given tax year.  Any amount of credit 
not used may be carried forward for five succeeding years.  
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $0 0 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Credits 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  83 

 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a corporation subject to the corporation business tax to 
claim a credit for expenditures made as a human capital investment.  According to the 
Connecticut statute, “(4) donations or capital contributions to institutions of higher 
education in this state for improvements or advancements of technology, including 
physical plant improvements” are expenditures that qualify as human capital investments.  
The tax credit is equal to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or incurred by the corporation for 
a human capital investment.  A credit cannot exceed the amount of corporation business 
tax otherwise payable, although unused amounts can be carried forward for up to five 
succeeding income years.  
 
Connecticut also has a credit for land donated without any financial consideration or sold 
at a discounted price to a municipality of the state for educational use.  The credit is 50.0 
percent of the difference between the fair market value and the amount received for the 
donated land.  The credit sunset on January 1, 2013 but unused credits may be carried 
forward for 15 years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217x and 12-217ff 
 
Vermont:  For tax years 2016 and 2017, Vermont has a deduction for donations and gifts 
that are made to an approved organization, although the applicable deduction amount varies 
based on the property that is donated.  For cash contributions, a deduction is allowed for 
up to 50.0 percent of the taxpayer’s AGI.  For property contributions, a deduction can be 
taken up to 30.0 percent of AGI.  Any excess charitable contributions may be carried 
forward for a total of five years.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811  
 

11. Employment − Welfare Bonus Program: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-39.1-1, 40-6.3-1 and 40-6.3-
4 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / 1986 
 
Description:  Any employer participating in the Bonus Program under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 40-6.3 is entitled to apply for the credit.  The credit is awarded to 
employers that hire individuals who had previously received Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC) for 30 consecutive months prior to the law’s enactment and 
employ such individuals for at least 24 consecutive months prior to application for the 
credit.  The credit is equal to $250 per eligible employee and can be applied against the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15 and 44-17.   
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The credit cannot be applied until all other credits for which the taxpayer is eligible to use 
have been applied and it cannot reduce the tax due below $100 in a given tax year.  The 
credit is not refundable and any unused credit amounts cannot be carried forward to 
succeeding tax years.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Deposits Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

12. Historic Homeownership Assistance: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-33.1-3 / Public Law 2017, 
Chapter 302, Article 8, Section 19  
 
Stated Purpose: “The purpose of this chapter is to encourage maintenance and 
rehabilitation of residential properties that have historic merit by providing income tax 
credit for the maintenance or rehabilitation of historic residences.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1989 / 2017 
 
Description:  The historic homeownership tax credit is equal to up to 20.0 percent of the 
certified costs of renovation in the year in which the work is completed for a taxpayer who 
owns and lives in a Rhode Island historical residence.  It was eliminated as part of the 
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reform of the personal income tax system that was enacted in June 2010.  At that time, 
taxpayers with unused amounts of credits were denied the opportunity to use these 
carryforward amounts in tax years beginning after December 31, 2010.  In the 2017 session, 
the General Assembly amended the law to allow the use of these unused amounts of historic 
homeownership tax credits against personal income tax liabilities effective for tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2016.     
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony provided at the November 2019 
Revenue Estimating Conference 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax n/a n/a 

2017 Personal Income Tax $5,129 5 
 
Projection Methodology:  According to the Division of Taxation, there are 115 taxpayers 
with unused credits under this tax expenditure item.  However, it is not possible to project 
the number of taxpayers who will claim unused carry-forward credits against their Rhode 
Island personal income tax liability. TY 2018, 2019 and 2020 projected usage is based on 
FY usage reported by the Division of Taxation in its May and November 2019 Revenue 
Estimating Conferences testimony.  CY 2021 is set equal to CY 2020. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $4,860 No estimate possible 

2019 Personal Income Tax $12,039 No estimate possible 

2020 Personal Income Tax $2,000 No estimate possible 

2021 Personal Income Tax $2,000 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  An owner of an historic home whom incurs qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures exceeding $15,000 shall be eligible for a tax credit in an amount equal to 30 
percent of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures not to exceed $30,000 per dwelling.  
The owner must occupy the home as a primary residence or convey the historic home to a 
new owner who will occupy it as a primary residence. Unused credit may be carried 
forward for four years.  On or after July 1, 2015, 70 percent of $3 million of total credits 
reserved must be for owners rehabilitating historic homes located in a regional center as 
designated in the state plan of conservation and development adopted by the General 
Assembly. 
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Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-416 
 
Vermont:  Under the Vermont Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit program, a 
qualified applicant of a qualified historic rehabilitation project may claim against his or her 
individual income tax liability a credit of 10.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures as defined under Section 47(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and properly 
chargeable to the federally certified rehabilitation.  To qualify for this tax credit, 
expenditures for the qualified project must exceed $5,000 and applicants must apply prior 
to completion of the qualified project. This credit is capped at $2,400,000 annually.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930cc(a) 
 

13. Historic Preservation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-33.6-3 
 
Stated Purpose: “The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures, 
as well as to generate the positive economic and employment activities that will result from 
such redevelopment and reuse.”   
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2013 / 2016 
 
Description:  A taxpayer that incurs qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the substantial 
rehabilitation of a certified historic structure, provided the taxpayer is not a social club, is 
entitled to a credit against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-
11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30.  The credit is equal to 20.0 percent of the qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures for any certified historic structure or 25.0 percent of the 
qualified rehabilitation expenditures, provided that either (i) at least 25.0 percent of the 
total rentable area of the certified historic structure is available for a trade or business or 
(ii) the entire rentable area located on the first floor of the certified historic structure is 
available for a trade or business.  
 
Tax credits are allowed for the tax year in which the structure or an identifiable portion of 
the structure is placed into service and, if the credits exceed the taxpayer’s tax liability in 
a given tax year, the unused amounts can be carried forward for up to ten years from the 
first tax year the credits were utilized.  The maximum credit cannot exceed $5.0 million 
for all phases of any certified rehabilitation project and the total credits authorized cannot 
exceed the sum of the estimated credits available in the historic preservation tax credit trust 
fund.  No credits shall be authorized to be reserved pursuant to R.I. General Laws Chapter 
44-33.6 on or after June 30, 2017 or upon the exhaustion of the maximum aggregate credits, 
whichever comes first.  Credits may be allocated to partners, members or owners that are 
exempt from taxation under section 501(c)(4) or section 501(c)(6) and are listed as non-
profit refund under tax type. 
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Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  The count of taxpayers is based on 
unique taxpayer IDs on a certificate.  It is possible that a joint filing could have two unique 
taxpayer IDs.  TY 2018 is based on returns processed and finalized through October 2019. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $997,387 1 

2016 Personal Income Tax $2,469,697 29 

2016 Non-Profit Refund $3,895,071 3 

2016 Total $7,362,155 33 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $302,613 1 

2017 Personal Income Tax $2,344,431 32 

2017 Non-Profit Refund $3,135,658 2 

2017 Total $5,782,702 35 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $8,283,862 5 

2018 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2018 Non-Profit Refund $2,500,000 2 

2018 Total $10,783,862 7 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2019, CY 2020 and CY 2021 historic 
preservation tax credits is based on estimates prepared by the Office of Revenue Analysis 
for the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 2019, FY 2020, FY 2021 
and FY 2022 for only those projects that qualify under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 
44-33.6.  The allocation of the total amount of historic preservation tax credits to CY 2019, 
CY 2020, and CY 2021 was executed by first allocating the Division of Taxation’s 
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approved project list by estimated year of completion.  The yearly total historic 
preservation credit estimates were then allocated to each subsequent tax year by the average 
amount of credit claimed each year compared to when the credit was assigned.  For 
example, over the past 16 years, 30.6% of the assigned historic credit amount has been 
claimed in the year following assignment, while 52.9% of the assigned historic credit 
amount has been claimed in the second year following assignment.  The amount of historic 
preservation tax credits allocated to each tax type is based on each tax type’s five-year 
average percentage of total historic preservation tax credits redeemed.  For personal income 
tax the percentage is 34.7 percent; for business corporation tax the percentage is 1.5 
percent; for bank (financial institutions) tax the percentage is 0.0 percent; for insurance 
company gross premiums tax the percentage is 43.6 percent; and for non-profit refund the 
percentage is 20.1 percent.  No company has ever used an historic preservation tax credit 
against the tax owed under the public service corporation tax. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected  

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $174,667 Unknown 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $3,703,277 Unknown 

2019 Personal Income Tax $4,213,823 Unknown 

2019 Non-Profit Refund $5,273,212 Unknown 

2019 Projected Total $13,364,979 Unknown 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $138,066 Unknown 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $4,879,950 Unknown 

2020 Personal Income Tax $3,382,048 Unknown 

2020 Non-Profit Refund $4,029,750 Unknown 

2020 Projected Total $12,429,813 Unknown 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $110,507 Unknown 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $3,662,518 Unknown 

2021 Personal Income Tax $2,639,527 Unknown 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected  

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2021 Non-Profit Refund $3,921,279 Unknown 

2021 Projected Total $10,333,831 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  A tax credit is available to individuals, limited liability companies, non-profit 
and for-profit corporations or other business entities for expenses associated with 
rehabilitating certain historic properties.  The credit is equal to 25.0 percent of the actual 
rehabilitation expenditures, or 30.0 percent of the actual qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures for projects including affordable housing not exceeding $4.5 million.  The 
annual limit for all taxpayers is $31.7 million.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 
5 years.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-416c 
 
Maine:  After December 31, 2007, taxpayers are allowed historic rehabilitation credits for 
the certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures incurred.  A “substantial rehabilitation 
credit” is allowed against the income tax in an amount equal to 25.0 percent of the 
taxpayer’s certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures for which a tax credit is claimed 
under the Internal Revenue Code Section 47 for a certified historic structure located in 
Maine.  The credit allowed is refundable and is also increased to 30.0 percent of certified 
qualified rehabilitation expenditures for a certified affordable housing project. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-BB 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a 20.0 percent credit of qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures incurred in the rehabilitation of a certified historic structure.  
The credit is not refundable, but a carryforward is allowable for five tax years. The 
Commissioner of the Department of Revenue, in consultation with the Massachusetts 
Historical Commission, will authorize credits annually until December 31, 2022 in an 
aggregate amount up to $50 million per year. .  Effective January 1, 2018 the aggregate cap 
was increased annually to $55 million. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6J, see also TIR 16-15 
 
Vermont:  Under the Vermont Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit program, a 
qualified applicant of a qualified historic rehabilitation project may claim against his or her 
individual income tax liability a credit of 10.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures as defined under Section 47(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and properly 
chargeable to the federally certified rehabilitation.  To qualify for this tax credit, 
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expenditures for the qualified project must exceed $5,000 and applicants must apply prior 
to completion of the qualified project. This credit is capped at $2,400,000 annually.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930cc(a) 
 

14. Historic Structures: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-33.2-3 
 
Stated Purpose: “The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2008 
 
Description:  A credit equal to 30.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures 
(QREs) incurred to rehabilitate the historic structure is allowed against the taxes imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30 for the 
redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic structures.  The structure must have 
been certified as historic by the Rhode Island Historical Preservation and Heritage 
Commission and placed into service prior to January 1, 2008.  The credit processing fee 
for these projects is 2.25 percent of the QREs.  Projects that are in progress as of January 
1, 2008 but not yet placed into service are eligible to receive a credit equal to either 27.0 
percent of the QREs incurred with a credit processing fee of 5.0 percent of the QREs 
incurred or 26.0 percent of the QREs incurred with a credit processing fee of 4.0 percent 
of the QREs incurred or 25.0 percent of the QREs incurred with a credit processing fee of 
3.0 of the same. 
 
Historic structures tax credits are transferrable and unused amounts of the credit may be 
carried forward to a maximum of 10 succeeding tax years.  Proceeds from the sale of 
historic structures tax credits are exempt from Rhode Island taxes. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  The count of taxpayers is based on 
unique taxpayer IDs on a certificate.  It is possible that a joint filing could have two unique 
taxpayer IDs.  TY 2018 is based on returns processed and finalized through October 2019. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,050,000 2 

2016 Personal Income Tax $1,654,003 84 

2016 Total $2,704,003 86 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $16,357 1 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $19,807,679 28 

2017 Personal Income Tax $2,203,050 71 

2017 Total $22,027,086 100 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $3,978,983 99 

2018 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2018 Total $3,978,983 99 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2019, CY 2020 and CY 2021 historic 
structures tax credits is based on Taxation testimony as well as estimates prepared by the 
Office of Revenue Analysis for the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference for 
FY 2020, FY 2021 and FY 2022 for only those projects that qualify under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-33.2.  The allocation of the total amount of historic structures 
tax credits to CY 2019, CY 2020 and CY 2021 was executed by taking the five-year 
average percentage of the total historic preservation and historic structures tax credits 
issued.  The amount of historic preservation and historic structures tax credits allocated to 
each tax type is based on that tax type’s five-year average percentage of total historic 
preservation and historic structures tax credits redeemed.  For personal income tax the 
percentage is 34.7 percent; for business corporation tax the percentage is 1.5 percent; for 
bank (financial institutions) tax the percentage is 0.0 percent; for insurance company gross 
premiums tax the percentage is 43.6 percent; and for non-profit refund the percentage is 
20.1 percent. No company has ever used a historic tax credit against the tax owed under 
the public service corporation tax.  Finally, the ORA estimates of historic preservation tax 
credits by tax type are subtracted from the total historic preservation and historic structures 
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tax credits by tax type estimated for CY 2019 – 2021 to arrive at estimates for historic 
structures tax credits. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $63,031 Unknown 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $4,498,390 Unknown 

2019 Personal Income Tax $1,260,922 Unknown 

2019 Projected Total $5,822,343 Unknown 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $110,054 Unknown 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $2,203,971 Unknown 

2020 Personal Income Tax $2,228,672 Unknown 

2020 Projected Total $4,542,697 Unknown 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $119,032 Unknown 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $3,239,103 Unknown 

2021 Personal Income Tax $2,647,514 Unknown 

2021 Projected Total $6,005,650 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  A tax credit is available to individuals, limited liability companies, non-profit 
and for-profit corporations or other business entities for expenses associated with 
rehabilitating certain historic properties.  The credit is equal to 25.0 percent of the actual 
rehabilitation expenditures, or 30.0 percent of the actual qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures for projects including affordable housing not exceeding $4.5 million.  The 
annual limit for all taxpayers is $31.7 million.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 
5 years.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 10-416c 
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Maine:  After December 31, 2007, taxpayers are allowed historic rehabilitation credits for 
the certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures incurred.  A “substantial rehabilitation 
credit” is allowed against the income tax in an amount equal to 25.0 percent of the 
taxpayer’s certified qualified rehabilitation expenditures for which a tax credit is claimed 
under the Internal Revenue Code Section 47 for a certified historic structure located in 
Maine.  The credit allowed is refundable and is also increased to 30.0 percent of certified 
qualified rehabilitation expenditures for a certified affordable housing project. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-BB 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a 20.0 percent credit of qualified 
rehabilitation expenditures incurred in the rehabilitation of a certified historic structure.  
The credit is not refundable, but a carryforward is allowable for five tax years.  The 
Commissioner of the Department of Revenue, in consultation with the Massachusetts 
Historical Commission, will authorize credits annually until December 31, 2022 in an 
aggregate amount up to $50 million per year.  Effective January 1, 2018 the aggregate cap 
was increased annually to $55 million. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6J 
 
Vermont:  Under the Vermont Downtown and Village Center Tax Credit program, a 
qualified applicant of a qualified historic rehabilitation project may claim against his or her 
individual income tax liability a credit of 10.0 percent of the qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures as defined under Section 47(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and properly 
chargeable to the federally certified rehabilitation.  To qualify for this tax credit, 
expenditures for the qualified project must exceed $5,000 and applicants must apply prior 
to completion of the qualified project. This credit is capped at $2,400,000 annually. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930cc(a) 
 

15. Hydroelectric Power: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30-22 and 44-30-23 
 
Stated Purpose:  “It is the policy of this state to support and foster the development of 
hydropower generating facilities by the establishment of tax incentives for those owners of 
existing dams who install hydroelectric power generation equipment.”   
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1980 / N/A 
 
Description:  A hydroelectric power developer will be allowed a non-refundable state 
income tax credit in the amount of 10.0 percent of the installation costs of a small 
hydroelectric power production facility at an existing dam site in Rhode Island.  The credit 
can be used against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11.  This 
credit is limited to $500,000 in costs to develop a small hydroelectric power production 
facility for a maximum credit of $50,000. 
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If the allowable amount of the credit exceeds the tax liability of the developer in the taxable 
year the credit is earned, unused portions of the credit may be carried forward to no more 
than five succeeding tax years.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation Tax:  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers held constant with TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

16. Interest for Loans to Mill Building Owners: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.9-9 
 
Stated Purpose:  It is the purpose of this chapter to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic industrial 
mill structures.   
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / 2005 
 
Description:  A tax credit of 10.0 percent of the interest earned and paid on loans made to 
eligible businesses, solely and exclusively for expenditures made within a certified mill 
building can be used against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-
11, 44-13, 44-14 or 44-17.  A taxpayer is further allowed a tax credit of 100.0 percent for 
interest earned on loans made solely and exclusively for the purposes of substantial 
rehabilitation against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-
13, 44-14 or 44-17. 
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Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

17. Investment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1974 / 2002 
 
Description:  A credit is allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapters 44-11, 44-14 and 44-17 for the cost of realty and tangible property in Rhode 
Island, which are principally used by the taxpayer in the production of goods by 
manufacturing, processing or assembling.  General manufacturers are provided with a 
credit of 4.0 percent of the cost or qualified amounts for leased assets of tangible personal 
property and buildings and structural components of buildings provided that the assets have 
a useful life of at least four years.  A credit equal to 10.0 percent of the cost or qualified 
amounts for leased assets of tangible personal property, excluding motor vehicles and 
furniture, provided that the assets have a useful life of at least four years, is granted to 
manufacturers that are classified in major groups 20 through 39, 50 and 51, 60 through 67, 
73, 76, 80 through 82, 87, and 89 in the Standard Industrial Classification manual (SIC 
Codes).  A 10.0 percent credit of the cost or qualified amounts for leased assets of buildings 
and structural components is also provided to “high performance manufacturers” which are 
defined as businesses described in major groups 28, 30, 34 to 36 and 38 of the SIC Codes.  
For leased buildings and structural components, the lease must have a term of at least 20 
years.  High performance manufacturers must also meet certain wage requirements to 
qualify.  The above noted credit percentages also apply to computers, software, and 
telecommunications hardware even if these assets have useful lives of less than four years. 
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The 4.0 percent credit can reduce the tax due to the amount of the corporate minimum tax, 
as set forth in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(e).  The 10.0 percent credit can 
only reduce a tax liability by 50.0 percent unless it has been applied by a high-performance 
manufacturer to the acquisition of buildings by purchase or by a lease of 20 years or more 
in which case the tax liability can be reduced to the amount of the corporate minimum tax.  
Credits are non-refundable and unused amounts of the credits not used in the taxable year 
earned can be carried forward to not more than seven succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony from the November 2019 
Revenue Estimating Conference. 
 
The figures below include any amounts attributable to the Biotechnology Investment 
credit. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $572,971 26 

2016 Bank Tax $1,612,069 1 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $83,996 1 

2016 Total $2,269,036 28 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $1,157,085 38 

2017 Bank Tax $2,489,188 1 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $361,335 2 

2017 Total $4,007,608 41 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 amount of credit and number of taxpayers is what was 
reported at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference by the Division of 
Taxation.  TY 2019 forgone revenue and number of taxpayers is equal to the TY 2016 – 
2017 average amount of forgone revenue and count of taxpayers.  TY 2020 and TY 2021 
are set equal to TY 2019. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $253,723 16 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $346,899 1 

2018 Total $600,622 17 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $865,028 32 

2019 Bank Tax $2,050,629 1 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $222,666 2 

2019 Projected Total $3,138,322 35 

 
Calendar Year / Tax Type 

Projected         
Revenue Forgone 

Projected        
Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $865,028 32 

2020 Bank Tax $2,050,629 1 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $222,666 2 

2020 Projected Total $3,138,322 35 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $865,028 32 

2021 Bank Tax $2,050,629 1 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $222,666 2 

2021 Projected Total $3,138,322 35 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.    
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a credit against corporation business tax equal to 5.0 
percent of the amount paid or incurred by a corporation for any new fixed capital 
investments.  Any credit not used during the income year in which the acquisition was 
made may be carried forward to the next five succeeding income years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217w 
 
Maine:  Maine has three credits which are similar.  Maine’s jobs and investment tax credit 
prior to January 1, 2016 was applicable to taxpayers whose property is a qualified 
investment of at least $5.0 million for the taxable year with a situs in Maine.  The taxpayer’s 
records must substantiate that at least 100 new jobs were created in the 24-month period 
following the date the property was placed in service.  The amount of the credit is equal to 
a former federal credit and is limited to $500,000 or the amount of tax, whichever is less. 
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This tax credit is repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016 but may be 
carried over for a period of seven years.   
 
Maine’s seed capital investment credit is eligible to an investment in a business that: a) is 
located in Maine; b) has gross sales of $5.0 million or less per year; c) is the full-time, 
professional activity of at least one of the principal owners; d) that has been determined by 
the authority to be a manufacturer or a value-added natural resource enterprise; and e) is a 
manufacturer, or a product or service provider with sales derived predominately from 
outside the state or to out-of-state residents, or is engaged in developing or applying 
advanced technologies.  The Finance Authority of Maine (FAME) issues a certificate for 
up to 50.0 percent of the cash equity they provide to eligible Maine businesses.  25.0 
percent of the authorized credit may be used for each tax year.   
 
Finally, Maine has a high-technology investment tax credit.  Prior to January 1, 2016, the 
high-technology activity included the design, creation, and production of computer 
software, computer equipment, supporting communications components and other 
accessories that are directly associated with computer software and equipment.  Taxpayers 
engaged in high-technology activity that purchase and use eligible equipment or that lease 
eligible equipment from a lessor were generally eligible for a credit equal to the investment 
credit base for equipment that was placed into service in Maine during the tax year.  This 
tax credit is repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016 but under certain 
circumstances may be carried over for a period up to ten years. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5215, 5216-B and 5219-M 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include only manufacturers; corporations 
engaged primarily in research and development; or in agriculture or commercial fishing.  
The credit is 3.0 percent of the cost or other basis of the property including buildings and 
leased tangible personalty and has a three-year carry forward of unused credit. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 31A 
 
New Hampshire:  An investment tax credit equal to 75.0 percent of the contribution made 
to the Community Development Finance Authority during the contributor’s tax year is 
allowed against the business profits tax, the insurance taxes or the business enterprise tax 
individually or in combination. The credit or any unused portion of the credit may be 
carried forward for five succeeding years but may not exceed $1.0 million in any given tax 
year. Contributors may only take the credit after the contributions are received by the 
authority. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 162-L:10 
 
Vermont:  Prior to January 1, 2017, a person, upon obtaining the approval of the Vermont 
Economic Progress Council may receive a credit against its income taxes imposed in an 
amount equal to five to ten percent of its total investments within the state of Vermont in 
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plants or facilities and machinery and equipment in the applicable tax year, but only if those 
investments exceed $150,000.  This credit was repealed effective January 1, 2017.   
 
For investments made on or after January 1, 2012, Vermont also entitles taxpayers to a 
credit against the tax imposed of 24.0 percent of the federal investment tax credit allowed 
against the federal income tax for the taxable year attributable to the Vermont-property 
portion of the investment. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5930(g) and 5822(d) 
 

18. Jobs Training: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.6 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / 2018 
 
Description:  A qualified employer is allowed a credit against the taxes imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, and 44-17 of 50.0 percent of the 
qualifying expenses to provide training and/or retraining to qualifying employees.  A 
qualified employer must be so sanctioned by the Human Resources Investment Council.  
A qualifying employee is certain individuals employed by the employer in Rhode Island 
for at least 30 hours per week and earns or will earn immediately upon completion of the 
training and/or retraining program 150.0 percent of the state minimum wage. 
 
Fifty percent of the credit amount can be used in the taxable year in which the expense is 
incurred with the balance to be used in the succeeding tax year.  The maximum credit per 
employee is no more than $5,000 in any three-year period.  The credit allowed cannot 
reduce the tax due below the minimum. As of the 2018 legislative session, no credits shall 
be awarded for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony provided at the November 2019 
Revenue Estimating Conference  
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $1,404,970 2 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $1,404,970 2 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Credits 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  102 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $637,437 2 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $24,141 1 

2017 Total $661,578 3 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 amount of credit and number of taxpayers is what was 
reported at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference by the Division of 
Taxation and represents carry forward amounts of the credit that was not used in prior tax 
years.  No further projection was made due to the repeal of the credit effective for tax years 
beginning or after January 1, 2018 and no carryover provision. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $24,140 1 

2018 Total $24,140 1 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a tax credit equal to 5.0 percent of the amount paid or 
incurred by a corporation for human capital investments.  Expenditures that may qualify as 
human capital investments include:  
• In-state job training for persons employed in the state;  
• Work education programs in Connecticut, such as programs in public high schools and 

work education-diversified occupations programs; and 
• Worker training and education for persons employed in Connecticut, provided by 

Connecticut higher education institutions.  
 
A credit cannot exceed the amount of corporation business tax otherwise payable, although 
unused amounts can be carried forward for up to five succeeding income years.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217x 
 

19. Juvenile Restitution: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 14-1-32.1(c) 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Credits 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  103 

 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1980 / 1989 
 
Description:  An employer of a juvenile hired under the juvenile victim restitution program 
of the Family Court is entitled to receive a credit of 10.0 percent of the wages paid to the 
juvenile annually.  The credit cannot exceed $3,000 annually and may be taken against the 
taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.    
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017.   
 

 
Calendar Year / Tax Type 

Projected         
Revenue Forgone 

Projected        
Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

20. Lead Paint Abatement: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30.3-1 and 44-30.3-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  A property owner or lessee who resides in Rhode Island is entitled to tax 
relief for residential lead removal or lead hazard reduction when he or she obtains a 
Housing Resources Commission regulated certification, obtains a Department of Health 
regulated lead safe certification and fulfills all requirements, including certain income 
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requirements as provided by this law.  The tax relief can be used against the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
The tax relief shall be equal to the amount actually paid for the required lead abatement or 
lead hazard mitigation up to a maximum of $1,500 per dwelling unit for mitigation and up 
to $5,000 per dwelling unit for abatement.  The credit can be earned on a maximum of 
three dwelling units per claimant.  The tax credit is refundable for the amounts of the credit 
claimed in excess of the taxpayer’s liability. 
 
The maximum amount of credits that can be claimed in a given fiscal year is $250,000.  
For tax year 2016, claimants with household incomes of $44,500 or less shall receive 
priority in receiving tax credit certificates. For tax years 2017 and 2018 this amount is 
$44,600 and $45,500, respectively. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations based on TY 2016 and TY 
2017 personal income tax data. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $215,526 52 

2017 Personal Income Tax $256,290 59 
 
Projection Methodology:  Number of taxpayers held constant with TY 2017.  Amount of 
credit is assumed to be the maximum allowed of $250,000.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $250,000 59 

2019 Personal Income Tax $250,000 59 

2020 Personal Income Tax $250,000 59 

2021 Personal Income Tax $250,000 59 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions allow a credit to an owner of a residence who 
pays for the containment or abatement of any paint, plaster or other accessible structural 
materials containing dangerous levels of lead or who pays for the replacement of one or 
more window units in a dwelling constructed before 1978 in order to bring the dwelling 
into full compliance with the provisions of Mass. Gen. L. c. 111, Section 197 (concerning 
materials containing dangerous levels of lead) may claim a credit for the lesser of the cost 
of the removal, containment or replacement or $1,500 per dwelling. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(e) 
 

21. Motion Picture Production: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31.2-5 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The primary objective of this chapter is to encourage development in 
Rhode Island of a strong capital base for motion picture film, videotape, and television 
program productions, in order to achieve a more independent, self-supporting industry.  
This objective is divided into immediate and long-term objectives as follows:  
1.  Immediate objectives are to:  

i.  Attract private investment for the production of motion pictures, videotape 
productions, and television programs, which contain substantial Rhode Island 
content as defined herein.  

ii.  Develop a tax infrastructure, which encourages private investment. This 
infrastructure will provide for state participation in the form of tax credits to 
encourage investment in state- certified productions.  

iii.  Develop a tax infrastructure utilizing tax credits, which encourage investments 
in multiple state-certified production projects.  

2.  Long-term objectives are to:  
i.  Encourage increased employment opportunities within this sector and increased 

competition with other states in fully developing economic development 
options within the film and video industry.  

ii.  Encourage new education curricula in order to provide a labor force trained in 
all aspects of film production.”   

 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2005 / 2018 
 
Description:  For tax years 2016 and 2017, a 25.0 percent tax credit based on the amount 
of state-certified production costs directly attributable to activities within the state may be 
awarded to a motion picture production company; provided that the primary locations are 
within the state.  The credit can be used against the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30.  To qualify, the minimum total production 
budget must be at least $100,000 and the maximum credit allowed is $5.0 million per 
production.  The credit can be transferred or sold to another Rhode Island taxpayer and 
unused amounts of the credit can be carried forward for not more than three succeeding tax 
years. Effective July 1, 2018, the credit is increased to 30.0 percent of state-certified 
production costs directly attributable to activities within the state.  The maximum credit 
per production is increased from $5.0 million to $7.0 million, and the tax administrator is 
granted authority to waive that cap for feature-length films or TV series.   
 
For tax years beginning on or before December 31, 2019, no more than $15.0 million in 
total credits may be issued for any tax year for motion picture production tax credits and/or 
musical and theatrical production tax credits.  No specific amount shall be set aside for 
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either type of production.  In the 2019 legislative session, the motion picture production 
tax credit sunset was extended from July 1, 2024 to July 1, 2027.  Additionally, the 
aggregate annual cap was increased from $15.0 million to $20.0 million for total motion 
picture production tax credits and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits, effective 
for tax years beginning after December 31, 2019.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $222,096 1 

2016 Personal Income Tax $1,032,214 14 

2016 Total $1,254,310 15 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $1,124,973 3 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $209,001 5 

2017 Personal Income Tax $800,187 24 

2017 Total $2,134,162 32 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $1,322,213 1 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $348,285 4 

2018 Personal Income Tax $382,210 6 

2018 Total $2,052,708 11 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2019, CY 2020 and CY 2021 motion 
picture production tax credits is based on estimates prepared by the Office of Revenue 
Analysis for the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 2019, FY 2020, 
FY 2021, and FY 2022 for motion picture production projects that qualify under Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-31.2.  This analysis assumes that the full $20.0 million of 
motion picture production and/or musical and theatrical production tax credits will be 
utilized in calendar years 2020 and 2021. The allocation of the total amount of motion 
picture production tax credits to CY 2019, CY 2020 and CY 2021 was executed using the 
percentages derived for the allocation of motion picture production tax credits and the 
Office of Revenue Analysis applying these percentages to the estimates for FY 2019, FY 
2020, FY 2021, and FY 2022 for the included motion picture productions.  For CY 2019, 
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the five-year average percentage for the January to June period was multiplied against the 
estimated FY 2019 total amount of motion picture production tax credits and the five-year 
average percentage for the July to December period was multiplied against the estimated 
FY 2020 total amount of motion picture production tax credits.  A similar method was used 
for CY 2020 and CY 2021 and fiscal years 2020, 2021 and 2022.  The amount of motion 
picture production tax credits allocated to each tax type is based on that tax type’s three-
year average percentage of total motion picture production tax credits redeemed.  For 
personal income tax the percentage is 51.1 percent; for business corporation tax the 
percentage is 28.2 percent; for bank (financial institutions) tax the percentage is 9.5 
percent; and for insurance company gross premiums tax the percentage is 11.2 percent.  No 
company has ever used a motion picture production tax credit against the tax owed under 
the franchise tax or the public service corporation tax. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $1,311,618 Unknown 

2019 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $452,195 Unknown 

2019 Personal Income Tax $2,501,695 Unknown 

2019 Projected Total $4,265,508 Unknown 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $3,387,547 Unknown 

2020 Bank Tax $589,618 Unknown 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $755,312 Unknown 

2020 Personal Income Tax $5,410,847 Unknown 

2020 Projected Total $10,143,324 Unknown 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $4,338,683 Unknown 

2021 Bank Tax $1,327,489 Unknown 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,471,726 Unknown 

2021 Personal Income Tax $7,473,523 Unknown 

2021 Projected Total $14,611,421 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Production companies incurring production expenses or costs between 
$100,000 and $500,000 may be eligible for a credit equal to 10.0 percent of production 
expenses or costs, between $500,000 and $1.0 million may be eligible for a credit equal to 
15.0 percent of production expenses or costs, and more than $1.0 million may be eligible 
for a credit equal to 30.0 percent of production expenses or costs.  To qualify for the credit, 
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production companies must conduct at least 50.0 percent of the principal photography days 
within the state or expend at least 50.0 percent of post-production costs within the state or 
expend at least $1.0 million of post-production costs within the state.  No expenses or costs 
incurred outside the state and used within the state shall be eligible for the credit.  No credit 
may be sold, assigned or otherwise transferred, in whole or in part, more than three times.  
Issued credits are to be claimed in the next five income years.  For income tax years 
commencing on or after January 1, 2019, for credits that are sold, assigned or otherwise 
transferred, the taxpayer may only claim 92.0 to 95.0 percent of the credit value determined 
by the relationship between the buyer and the seller of the credit. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217jj 
 
Maine:  Effective March 29, 2006, a visual media production company is allowed a 
nonrefundable income tax credit in an amount equal to 5.0 percent of the visual media 
production expenses if such expenses are $75,000 or greater.  A visual media production 
company certified by the Department of Economic and Community Development is 
allowed a reimbursement equal to 12.0 percent of certified production wages paid to 
employees who are residents of Maine and 10.0 percent of certified production wages paid 
to other employees. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5219-Y and 6902(1)  
 
Massachusetts:  Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, and 
before January 1, 2023, a taxpayer whose production expenses exceed 50.0 percent of the 
total production expenses for a motion picture or who shoot at least 50.0 percent of the 
total principal photography days of the film in Massachusetts is entitled to an additional 
credit equal to 25.0 percent of all Massachusetts production expenses, excluding the payroll 
expenses used to claim the total aggregate payroll credit. The entire salary paid to a high 
salary employee that is equal to or greater than $1 million may be used to calculate the 
production expense credit including the portion of the salary that is less than $1 million 
provided that such salary is excluded from the payroll credit, for which it does not qualify.  
They are also allowed a credit equal to 25.0 percent of the total aggregate payroll paid by 
a motion picture production company that constitutes Massachusetts source income.  
Finally, production companies who expend over $50,000 in Massachusetts production 
costs during a consecutive twelve-month period are eligible for a sales tax exemption.  
These tax credits are refundable at 90.0 percent and may be carried forward to any of the 
five subsequent taxable years.   
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(l) 
 

22. Motor Carrier Fuel Use Taxes Paid to Rhode Island: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-36.1-15 
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Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to assure the payment of tax on fuel 
consumed by motor carriers in propelling qualified motor vehicles on the public highways 
in Rhode Island.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1981 / 2006 
 
Description:  All motor carriers are entitled to a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 31-36 on all motor fuel purchased within the state but used 
outside of the state for its operations, provided that the tax imposed by the laws of the State 
of Rhode Island has been paid by the motor carrier on said fuel.  The credit is equal to the 
tax rate per gallon of motor fuel in effect when the fuel was purchased. 
 
The tax credit is refundable to the extent that the credit exceeds the amount of the motor 
fuel tax for which the motor carrier is liable. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  The number of 
taxpayers is the number of licensed International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) carriers in 
Rhode Island. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $5,921,129 974 

2017 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $2,957,954 844 

2018 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,409,372 918 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,409,372 918 

2020 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,409,372 918 

2021 Motor Carrier Fuel Use Tax $3,409,372 918 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the five New England states are also signatories of the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement and, therefore, all have similar provisions. 
 

23. Musical and Theatrical Production: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31.3-2 
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Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the local economy and reducing unemployment in Rhode Island.”   
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2012 / 2019 
 
Description:  Prior to July 1, 2019, this credit is equal to 25.0 percent of the production and 
performance expenditures and transportation expenditures directly attributable to activities 
in the state for a live stage production in a qualified production facility.  Effective July 1, 
2019, the credit increased to 30.0 percent of production and performance expenditures and 
transportation expenditures directly attributable to activities in the state for a live stage 
production in a “qualified production facility.”  The credit is allowed against the taxes 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17 and 44-30.  
To qualify, the minimum production budget must be $100,000 and the maximum credit 
allowed is $5.0 million per production.   
 
“Production and performance expenditures” include expenditures incurred in the state 
including, but not limited to, expenditures for design, construction and operation, including 
sets, special and visual effects, costumes, wardrobes, make-up, accessories, costs 
associated with sound, lighting, staging, payroll, transportation expenditures, advertising 
and public relations expenditures, facility expenses, rentals, per diems, accommodations 
and other related costs.  “Transportation expenditures” include expenditures for the 
packaging, crating, and transportation both to the state for use in a qualified theater 
production of sets, costumes, or other tangible property constructed or manufactured out 
of state, and/or from the state after use in a qualified theater production of sets, costumes, 
or other tangible property constructed or manufactured in this state and the transportation 
of the cast and crew to and from the state.  “Qualified production facility” means a facility 
located in the state in which live theatrical productions are, or are intended to be, 
exclusively presented that contains at least one stage, a seating capacity of 1,000 or more 
seats, and dressing rooms, storage areas, and other ancillary amenities necessary for the 
accredited theater production.  
 
No more than $15.0 million may be issued for any tax year for the total combined motion 
picture production tax credits and musical and theatrical production tax credits.  For tax 
years beginning after December 31, 2019, the cap for total combined motion picture 
production tax credits and musical and theatrical production tax credits increases to $20.0 
million.  No musical and theatrical production tax credits will be issued on or after July 1, 
2024.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. Data is current as of January 2020. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Personal Income Tax $644,364 13 

2016 Total $644,364 13 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Personal Income Tax $520,959 28 

2017 Total $520,959 28 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Personal Income Tax $58,211 5 

2018 Total $58,211 5 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projection for CY 2019, CY 2020, and CY 2021 musical 
and theatrical production tax credits is based on estimates prepared by the Office of 
Revenue Analysis. For CY 2019 ORA took estimated unused credit amounts as well as 
credit assigned for CY 2019 reported at the 2019 November Revenue Estimating 
Conference by the Rhode Island Film and Television Office.  Credit usage per year was 
allocated in the same manner that was observed from previously assigned credit usage in 
CY 2012-CY 2018. ORA estimates that 26% of the credit issued is used in the year of 
issuance; 34% of the credit issued is used in the year immediately following issuance; 39% 
of the credit issued is used in the second year immediately following issuance; and 1% of 
the credit issued is used in the third year immediately following issuance. A similar method 
was used for CY 2020 and CY 2021 however, ORA estimated the amount of credit assigned 
by taking the average amount of credit assigned from CY 2013-CY 2018.  Finally, the 
amount of projected credit was allocated to tax type by utilizing the average credit usage 
per tax type from TY 2015-TY 2018. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 Unknown 

2019 Personal Income Tax $692,905 Unknown 

2019 Projected Total $692,905 Unknown 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Personal Income Tax $442,020 Unknown 

2020 Projected Total $442,020 Unknown 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Bank Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Personal Income Tax $236,007 Unknown 

2021 Projected Total $236,007 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states.   
 

24. New Qualified Jobs Incentive Act: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-48.3 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Sections 7 and 22 
 
Stated Purpose:  “Through the establishment of a jobs incentive program, Rhode Island can 
take steps to stimulate business expansion and attraction, create well-paying jobs for its 
residents, and generate revenues for necessary state and local governmental services.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019  
 
Description:  A qualifying business may receive a tax credit of at least $2,500 a year for 
each new full-time job created, where the employee works at least 35 hours a week and 
whose wages are subject to withholding. The credit can rise to $7,500 a year if the business 
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meets certain criteria.  The amount of tax credits may not exceed the reasonable W-2 
withholding received by the State in that year for each new full-time job created by the 
recipient.  Administered by the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation (CommerceRI), the 
program may provide tax credits to eligible businesses for a period of up to 10 years.  An 
eligible business under the program is allowed a credit against the taxes imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17, and 44-30.  In the 2019 
legislative session, the new qualified jobs incentive tax credit sunset was extended to 
December 31, 2020 from June 30, 2020.  For each application approved after July 1, 2019, 
the tax credit was capped at 75 percent of reasonable withholding received by the state for 
each new full-time job created or $7,500, whichever is greater.   
 
Data Source: Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony provided at the November 2019 
Revenue Estimating Conference. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Projection Methodology:  Tax year 2018 is based off testimony provided by the Division 
of Taxation at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference. The Projection for CY 
2019, CY 2020 and CY 2021 is based on information provided by CommerceRI in their 
testimony at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference. CommerceRI reported 
future credit activity in fiscal years. ORA assumed that the amount reported in a given 
fiscal year was equal to the amount of credit taken in the previous calendar year.  As the 
new qualified jobs incentive tax credit is dependent on withholding, ORA assumed all 
credits will be taken against the personal income tax and no credits will be assigned or sold. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Personal Income Tax $40,187 1 

2017 Total $40,187 1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $96,042 1 

2019 Personal Income Tax $1,870,412 14 

2020 Personal Income Tax $2,689,545 17 

2021 Personal Income Tax $4,609,790 22 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Under the job creation tax credit, Connecticut provides a credit to companies 
that relocate out-of-state operations to Connecticut, create at least 10 new, full-time jobs, 
and hire new employees for those jobs and keep them employed for at least 12 months. 
Full or partial credits are awarded if the proposed company relocation is not economically 
viable without the credits and provides a net benefit to economic development and 
employment in the state. The credit is up to 60 percent of the state income tax withheld 
from the new employees’ wages. For each new employee, the credit may be claimed for 
up to five consecutive years. There is a recapture provision if the number of new employees 
falls below that for which the taxpayer claimed the credit and they are not replaced by other 
new employees. The annual limit for all companies is $10 million. Credits must be taken 
in the same income year they are earned.  No new eligibility certificates were issued under 
this program after January 1, 2012. 
 
Under the job expansion tax credit, Connecticut may allow a taxpayer who creates at least 
10 new jobs in Connecticut a credit in an amount up to 60 per cent of the income tax 
deducted and withheld from the wages of new employees and paid over to the state.  For 
each new employee, credits may be granted for five successive years.  The credit shall be 
claimed in the income year in which it is earned, and any credits not used in a tax year shall 
expire.  The commissioner shall determine whether the taxpayer is eligible for the tax 
credit, whether the proposed job growth is economically viable only with use of the tax 
credit, would provide a net benefit to economic development and employment 
opportunities in the state, and conforms to the state plan of conservation and development.  
The total amount of credits granted under the job expansion tax credit program, as well as 
the job creation tax credit program and vocational rehabilitation job creation tax credit 
program shall not exceed $20.0 million in any one fiscal year or $40.0 million dollars over 
the duration of the job expansion tax credit program.  No credit is allowed for any new jobs 
created on or after January 1, 2014. 
 
Connecticut Statutes:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217gg, 12-217ii, and 12-217pp 
 
Massachusetts:  The Economic Development Incentive Program credit provisions now 
include “certified job creation projects”, with a credit up to $1,000 per job created or $5,000 
per job created in a gateway municipality.  To be certified, the Economic Assistance 
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Coordinating Council (EACC) must approve a project, which is subject to a cap.  Criteria 
such as job creation or capital investment used to certify credit eligible projects are 
dependent upon the type of project.  Credits are not transferable but may be refundable 
only for manufacturing retention projects or certified job creation projects.  For projects 
certified on or after January 1, 2017, the amount of tax credit is determined by the EACC.  
Limitations on the maximum amount of credit awarded to particular certified projects have 
been eliminated.  All types of projects may be certified as refundable credits, up to a 
maximum of $5 million per year, and the EACC may specify the timing of the refund. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(g) and ch. 63, § 38N, see also TIR 
16-15 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire provides for a tax credit to businesses who hire new, 
full-time, year-round employees in Coos County for work directly in one or more business 
activities.  To qualify, an employee must be paid actual wages equal to or greater than 150 
percent of the current state minimum wage.  A qualified tax credit employee does not 
include an employee who is: (a) shifted to a new position because of a merger, acquisition, 
or restructuring; (b) laid-off and rehired within 270 days to the same or a similar position; 
or (c) not on the employer's payroll for at least 90 days prior to the date on which the 
employer claims the credit for the first tax period.  
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 162-Q 
 
Vermont:  Vermont does not include a credit, but does provide a cash incentive, paid in 
installments, based on new, qualified job and payroll creation in Vermont, to companies 
authorized by the Vermont Economic Progress Council (VEPC).  The incentive amount is 
earned over a period of up to five years and paid out over a period of up to nine years, 
provided the company maintains or increases base payroll and meets the necessary targets. 
 
The Vermont Employment Growth Incentive (VEGI) also provides a performance-based 
employment growth incentive to be paid out of the business’s withholding account upon 
approval by the Vermont Economic Progress Council (VEPC) and the Vermont 
Department of Taxes.  The value of the incentives is dependent upon the net fiscal benefit 
resulting from projected qualifying payroll and qualifying capital investment.  An incentive 
ratio is applied to the net fiscal benefit generated by the cost-benefit model in order to 
determine the maximum award the VEPC may authorize for each application it approves. 
 
The VEPC shall calculate an incentive percentage for each approved application as 
follows: authorized award amount divided by the five-year sum of all payroll targets.  An 
approval shall specify: the application base jobs at the time of the application; total jobs at 
time of application; the application base payroll; total payroll at time of application; the 
incentive percentage; the wage threshold; the payroll thresholds; a job target for each year 
of the award period; a payroll target for each year of the award period; a capital investment 
target for each year of the award period and a sufficient description of the nature of the 
qualifying capital investment over the award period.  The council may authorize incentives 
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in excess of net fiscal benefit multiplied by the incentive ratio not to exceed an annual 
authorization established by law. 
 
To the extent a business authorized to earn employment growth incentives…experiences a 
90-percent or greater drop below application base jobs or, in the case of a business with no 
jobs at the time its application is approved, a 90-percent or greater drop below its 
cumulative job target during the utilization period, all authority to earn and claim 
incentives…shall be revoked, and such business shall be subject to recapture of all 
incentives previously claimed, together with interest and penalty. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5813(u) 
 

25. Property Tax Relief: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-33-9 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of this chapter is to provide relief, through a system of tax 
credits and refunds and appropriations from the general fund, to elderly and/or disabled 
persons who own or rent their homes.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1977 / 2006 
 
Description:  Rhode Island full-year residents with total annual household income of 
$30,000 or less are entitled to a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-30 equal to the amount by which the property taxes accrued or rent 
constituting property taxes accrued upon the claimant’s homestead for the taxable year 
exceeds a certain percentage of the claimant’s total household income for that taxable year, 
which percentage is based upon income level and household size. Beginning on January 1, 
2014 this credit is available only to those taxpayers who were over the age of 65 and/or 
disabled.  The credit is computed based on the following table: 
 

Income Range  1 Person  2 or More Persons 
Less than $6,000  3.0 %  3.0 % 
$6,001 to $9,000  4.0 %  4.0 % 
$9,001 to $12,000  5.0 %  5.0 % 
$12,001 to $15,000  6.0 %  5.0 % 
$15,001 to $30,000  6.0 %  6.0 % 

 
Starting July 2007, and for each year after, the credit is increased in increments of five 
dollars from the maximum of $300 in 2006 based on income derived from video lottery 
games until a maximum credit of $500 is reached. The credit maximum in TY 2016 equaled 
$335 while in TY 2017 the credit maximum was $350.  In TY 2018 and TY 2019, the 
credit maximum increased to $365 and $385, respectively.  The credit is refundable up to 
the maximum amount of credit in any given tax year. 
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Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation’s testimony at the November 2019 
Revenue Estimating Conference (REC). 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $4,124,475 15,093 

2017 Personal Income Tax $4,144,492 15,012 

2018 Personal Income Tax $3,705,073 13,918 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2019-20121 projected amounts of credit and number of 
taxpayers was held constant with TY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Personal Income Tax $3,705,073 13,918 

2020 Personal Income Tax $3,705,073 13,918 

2021 Personal Income Tax $3,705,073 13,918 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar 
provisions.  
  
Connecticut:  For TY 2016 the tax credit is a maximum of $200 with a phase out income 
schedule based on filing status.  For the 2017 and 2018 tax years, eligibility for the credit 
is limited to taxpayers who are 65 years of age or older or validly claim at least one 
dependent on their federal income tax return for that year. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704c 
 
Maine:  For tax years beginning after January 1, 2014, a refundable tax credit is available 
for taxpayers equal to 50.0 percent of property taxes paid on a resident’s homestead above 
6.0 percent of income. Prior to tax year 2018, the credit is limited to $600 for taxpayers 
under 65 years of age or $900 for taxpayers 65 and older. For tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2018, the credit is limited to $750 for resident individuals under 65 years 
of age or $1,200 for resident taxpayers 65 years and older. Rent constituting property tax 
equals 15 percent of rent. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5219-KK 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a credit available only to taxpayers 65 
and older.  The credit to an owner or renter of residential property located in Massachusetts 
is equal to the amount by which the real estate tax payment or 25 percent of the rent 
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constituting the real estate tax payment exceeds 10 percent of the taxpayer’s total income, 
not to exceed $1,100 for tax year 2018. For TY 2018 eligible taxpayers cannot have total 
Massachusetts income exceeding $58,000 for a single individual who is not the head of 
household, $73,000 for a head of household, and $88,000 for married couples filing a joint 
return, and with an assessed valuation of the residence that does not exceed $788,000.   
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(k) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include an adjustment of statewide or local share property 
tax liability or a homestead owner or renter credit.  Homeowners have a two-part 
calculation in determining the adjustment amount:  1) Single Threshold: 2.0 percent 
adjusted to reflect the district’s per pupil spending, with higher thresholds for districts with 
higher spending.  2) Multiple Threshold: three brackets and thresholds:  Lowest Bracket: 
2.0 percent for income up to $9,999 Highest Bracket: 5.0 percent for income $25,000–
$47,000.  This includes a minimum benefit based on education taxes on up to $15,000 of 
house site value.  Renters have a Multiple Threshold calculation: three brackets and 
thresholds: Lowest Bracket: 2.0 percent for income up to $9,999.  Highest Bracket: 5.0 
percent for income $25,000–$47,000.  The maximum benefit a taxpayer may receive 
cannot exceed the amount of the reduced property tax or the amount of the allocable rent.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 6066 
 

26. Real or Personal Property Taxed in Another State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-40-3(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1981 / 1991 
 
Description:  To the extent that a tax is imposed on a generation-skipping transfer by Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-40-3(a) a reduction in said tax is allowed for any real 
property located in another state or personal property with taxable situs in another state 
which requires the payment of a tax for which credit is received against the federal 
generation-skipping transfer tax.  The amount of the reduction is the ratio of the value of 
the property in the other state to the value of the gross generation-skipping transfer for 
federal tax purposes. 
 
Data Source:  Estate Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 

2017 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 
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Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant with 
TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax  $0 0 

2019 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 

2020 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 

2021 Generation Skipping Transfer Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Real or tangible personal property located outside of Connecticut that is 
subject to generation-skipping transfer taxes by any state or states other than Connecticut 
for which such federal credit is allowable, the amount of tax due shall be reduced by the 

lesser of (1) 

                          

the amount of any such taxes 
paid to such other state or states and allowed as a credit against the federal generation-
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skipping transfer tax or (2) 

                          

an amount 
computed by multiplying such federal credit by a fraction. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-390b 
 
Maine:  Tax not directly connected with a trade or business or with property held for 
production of rents or royalties may be deducted only as an itemized deduction on Form 
1040, Schedule A. These include the following (1) state, local or foreign real property tax; 
(2) state or local personal property tax; (3) state, local or foreign income, war profits, or 
excess profit tax; and (4) generation-skipping transfer tax imposed on income distributions. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(1-D) 
 
Vermont:  State and local property taxes paid by a taxpayer are deductible, but only if the 
taxes were based on value alone and imposed on a yearly basis.  Additionally, there are 
other miscellaneous taxes that are deductible, such as generation-skipping transfer tax 
imposed on income distributions. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

27. Rebuild Rhode Island: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.20 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Sections 2-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  “Through the establishment of a rebuild Rhode Island tax credit program, 
Rhode Island can take steps to stimulate business development; retain and attract new 
business and industry to the state; create good-paying jobs for its residents; assist with 
business, commercial, and industrial real estate development; and generate revenues for 
necessary state and local governmental services.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
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Description: In general, this program offers tax credits against the tax imposed under 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-17, or 44-30 for certain 
commercial developments that have a financing gap. The project cost must be at least $5 
million. The maximum credit is the lesser of: 30 percent of the total project cost, or the 
amount needed to close a project financing gap.  Overall, the maximum credit is $15 
million per project. 
 
The credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due for any taxable year by more than 50.0 percent 
of the tax liability that would be payable and for corporations to no less than the minimum 
tax as set in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(e).  The amount that exceeds the 
taxpayer's tax liability may be carried forward for credit against the taxes imposed for the 
succeeding four years, or until the full credit is used, whichever occurs first.  Credits may 
also be assigned or sold.  The program is administered by the Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation (CommerceRI).  At the discretion of CommerceRI, projects eligible for the 
tax credit may be exempt from sales and use tax on certain items used in the project.  No 
credits may be authorized to be reserved after June 30, 2020.  Finally, the credit recipient 
may also request a refund of his/her credits in whole or in part, for 90% of the credit 
amount.   
 
In the 2016 Session, the credit was capped at $15 million for any qualified development 
project, including projects completed in phases or in multiple projects.  However, projects 
that would develop land or buildings on the “I-195 land” as a separate qualified 
development project may be exempt from the maximum credit allowed of 30 percent of 
the total project cost if it is less than the amount needed to close a project funding gap.  
Additionally, the maximum aggregate credits authorized under this program was set at 
$150 million.  In the 2019 session, the amounts awarded for any sales and use tax 
exemptions were incorporated under the established per project cap of $15 million and the 
maximum aggregate tax credits was set at $210 million, excluding credits issued for 
projects on the “I-195 land.”  The project cap for a project on “I-195 land” was set at $25 
million, also inclusive of any sales and use tax exemptions.  The sunset date was extended 
to December 31, 2020. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2016 Refund Option $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2017 Refund Option $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 projected revenue forgone was reported at the 
November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference (REC) by the Division of Taxation.  For 
TY 2019-TY 2021 CommerceRI provided testimony at the November 2019 REC.  As of 
November 2019, 35 projects have been confirmed under this program.  Because credits 
may be assigned or sold, the estimate of the number of taxpayers is not possible.  (Actual 
and projected revenue forgone for the Rebuild Rhode Island sales and use tax exemption 
is included in the exemptions section.)  The amount of Rebuild RI tax credits allocated to 
each tax type is based on that tax type’s five-year average percentage of total historic 
preservation tax credits redeemed.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Personal Income Tax $457,794 6 

2018 Refund Option $212,486 1 

2018 Projected Total $670,280   7 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $158,743 No estimate possible 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2019 Bank Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $4,503,231 No estimate possible 

2019 Personal Income Tax $3,581,631 No estimate possible 

2019 Refund Option $2,562,099 No estimate possible 

2019 Projected Total $10,805,704 No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $196,821 No estimate possible 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2020 Bank Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $5,583,424 No estimate possible 

2020 Personal Income Tax $4,440,759 No estimate possible 

2020 Refund Option $3,176,671 No estimate possible 

2020 Projected Total $13,397,675 No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $329,449 No estimate possible 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2021 Bank Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $9,345,798 No estimate possible 

2021 Personal Income Tax $7,433,151 No estimate possible 

2021 Refund Option $5,317,262 No estimate possible 

2021 Projected Total $22,425,659 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  The tax credit for any taxable year is applicable only to those taxpayers with 
property considered to be a qualified investment of at least $5,000,000 for the taxable year 
with a situs in Maine and placed into service by the taxpayer on or after January 1, 1979. 
The taxpayer must substantiate that at least 100 new jobs attributable to a qualified 
investment were created in the 24-month period following the date the property was placed 
in service. The amount of the credit allowed for any taxable year is limited to $500,000 or 
the amount of the tax, whichever is less. Unused credits may be carried over to future years, 
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but the carryforward period must not exceed six years. This tax credit was repealed for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5215 
 

28. Research and Development Expense: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-32-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1994 / 1999 
 
Description:  A taxpayer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11 or 44-17 for the excess, if any, of the qualified research 
expenses for the taxable year over the base period research expenses, where qualified and 
base period research expenses are as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 41.  The amount of credit is 
equal to 22.5 percent of expenses for the first $25,000 worth of credit taken and 16.9 
percent of expenses for any amount of applicable credit above $25,000. 
 
The credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due for any taxable year by more than 50.0 percent 
of the tax liability that would be payable and for corporations to no less than the minimum 
tax as set in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(e).  Unused amounts of the credit 
earned in a taxable year may be carried forward to not more than seven succeeding tax 
years. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $2,085,001 107 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $734,292 1 

2016 Total $2,819,293 108 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $1,642,059 75 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,052,625 2 

2017 Total $2,694,684 77 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 amount of credit and number of taxpayers is what was 
reported at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference by the Division of 
Taxation.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended 
returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  TY 2019 forgone 
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revenue and number of taxpayers is equal to the TY 2016 – TY 2017 average amount of 
revenue forgone and count of taxpayers.  TY 2020 and TY 2021 are set equal to TY 2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $1,477,869 49 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,872,596 2 

2018 Projected Total $3,350,465 51 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $1,863,530 91 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $893,459 2 

2019 Projected Total $2,756,989 93 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $1,863,530 91 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $893,459 2 

2020 Projected Total $2,756,989 93 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $1,863,530 91 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $893,459 2 

2021 Projected Total $2,756,989 93 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A corporation may receive a credit against its corporation business tax equal 
to 25.0 percent of the amount by which research and experimental expenditures, as defined 
in Section 174 of the Internal Revenue Code, in the current income year exceed 
expenditures in the preceding year.  Unused credits may be carried forward for 15 years. 
 
Connecticut also allows a credit against corporation business taxes for research and 
development expenditures incurred in the state.  The credit increases from 1.0 percent of 
expenditures up to $50 million, to $500,000 plus 2 percent of the excess of expenses 
between over $50 million and up to $100 million, to $1.5 million plus 4 percent of the 
excess of expenses between over $100 million  and up to $200 million, to 6.0 percent of 
expenditures over $200 million.  Unused credits may be carried forward until fully taken.   
 
Companies with less than $70 million in gross sales that cannot take either research and 
development credit because they do not have a tax liability, are permitted to sell unused 
credits back to the state at 65.0 percent of their value.  The maximum annual refund is $1.5 
million per company. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217j, 12-217n and 12-217ee 
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Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a credit of 5.0 percent of the excess, if any, of the 
qualified research expenses for the tax year over the base amount of the average spent on 
research expenses over the last 3 years, and 7.5 percent of the basic research payments.  
The credit is limited to 100.0 percent of the corporation’s first $25,000 of tax and 75.0 
percent of the tax in excess of $25,000 and has a 15-year carry forward.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5219-K  
 
Massachusetts:  A credit is allowed for domestic or foreign corporations against its excise 
tax equal to the sum of 10.0 percent of the excess, if any, of the qualified research expenses 
for the taxable year over the basic amount; and 15.0 percent of the basic research payments 
determined under Section 41(e)(1)(A) of the Federal Revenue Code.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38M 
 
New Hampshire:  There shall be allowed a research and development tax credit for 
qualified manufacturing research and development expenditures made or incurred during 
the fiscal year, as follows: (1) The aggregate of tax credits issued by the commissioner to 
all taxpayers claiming the credit shall not exceed $7,000,000 for any fiscal year, (2) Each 
credit shall be used to offset the taxpayer's tax liability within the subsequent 5 tax years. 
The amount of the credit shall be the lesser of:  (A) Ten percent of the excess of the 
qualified manufacturing research and development expenses for the taxable year over the 
base amount; (B) The proportional share of the maximum aggregate credit amount allowed 
in subparagraph (1); (C) $50,000.  
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:5(XIII) 

Vermont:  A taxpayer of this State shall be eligible for a credit against the tax imposed in 
an amount equal to 27.0 percent of the amount of the federal tax credit allowed in the 
taxable year for eligible research and development expenditures under 26 U.S.C. § 41(a) 
and which are made within this State. Any unused credit may be carried forward for up to 
10 years. 

Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930ii 
 

29. Research and Development Property: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-32-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1994 / 1999 
 
Description:  A taxpayer is allowed a credit against the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11 or 44-17 for tangible personal property and other tangible 
property, including buildings and structural components of buildings that is acquired, 
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constructed or reconstructed, or erected after July 1, 1994.  The property must be 
depreciable or a recovery property as determined under 26 U.S.C. § 167 and § 168, have a 
useful life of at least three years, have a situs in the state, and are used principally for 
purposes of research and development in the experimental or laboratory sense.  The amount 
of credit is equal to 10.0 percent of the cost or other basis for Federal income tax purposes 
of the property. 
 
The credit allowed cannot reduce the tax due for corporations to less than the minimum tax 
as set in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(e).  Unused amounts of the credit 
earned in a taxable year may be carried forward to not more than seven succeeding tax 
years. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $13,817 1 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $13,817 1 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $60,142 2 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $60,142 2 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 amount of credit and number of taxpayers is what was 
reported at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference by the Division of 
Taxation.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended 
returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  TY 2019 forgone 
revenue and number of taxpayers is equal to the TY 2016 – TY 2017 average amount of 
revenue forgone and count of taxpayers.  TY 2020 and TY 2021 are set equal to TY 2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $36,980 2 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $36,980 2 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $36,980 2 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $36,980 2 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $36,980 2 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $36,980 2 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine has a capital investment credit equal to 7.0 percent if the taxpayer is an 
individual or 9.0 percent if the taxpayer is a taxable corporation, of the amount of the net 
increase in the depreciation deduction reported as an addition to income for the taxable 
year.  Property placed in service in the State during a taxable year not specifically excluded 
in statute is allowed the credit. The credit is not refundable but any unused portions may 
be carried forward for a period not to exceed 20 years. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5219-GG  
 

30. Residential Renewable Energy System: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-57-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2000 / 2009 
 
Description:  An eligible person who pays all or part of the cost of an eligible renewable 
energy system is allowed a credit of 25.0 percent of the cost of the system against the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11.  Eligible renewable energy 
systems consist of a photovoltaic system, a solar domestic hot water system, an active solar 
space heating system, a geothermal system or a wind-generating system that is installed in 
a dwelling. 
 
The computation of the credit is subject to a maximum renewable energy system cost of 
$15,000 for a photovoltaic system, $7,000 for a solar domestic hot water system, $15,000 
for an active solar heating system, $7,000 for a geothermal system and $15,000 for a wind-
energy system.  Renewable energy systems with cost in excess of these maximums will 
receive a credit of 25.0 percent of the maximum allowable system cost. 
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The tax credit cannot lower the claimant’s tax liability to below the minimum tax as 
required by Rhode Island law and unused amounts of the credit cannot be carried forward 
to succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax  $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation Tax:  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers is held constant with TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides a credit equal to the lesser of 15.0 percent of the 
net expenditure or $1,000.  Massachusetts allows a carry-over of any excess amount for 
three years. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(d) 
 
Vermont:  A taxpayer is entitled to a 100.0 percent credit for the Vermont-property portion 
of the business solar energy tax credit component of the Federal investment tax credit 
applied against the taxpayer’s Federal tax liability. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5930z 
 

31. Specialized Mill Building Investment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.9-7 and 44-31-2 
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Stated Purpose:  “It is the purpose of this chapter to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic industrial 
mill structures.”  (Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.9-3) 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  The owner of a certified mill building may be allowed a specialized 
investment tax credit of 10.0 percent of the rehabilitation and reconstruction costs of a 
certified mill building that has been substantially rehabilitated. This credit may be taken 
against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-14 and 44-17. 
 
Application of the tax credit cannot reduce the taxpayer’s tax liability below the minimum 
tax required by Rhode Island law.  The tax credit not refundable but unused portions of the 
tax credit may be carried forward no more than seven succeeding tax years. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers is held constant in 
TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

32. Stay Invested in RI Wavemaker Fellowship: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-64.26 / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 12, Section 16 
 
Stated Purpose:  “The purpose of the fund is to expand employment opportunities in the 
state and to retain talented individuals in the state by providing tax credits in relation to 
education loan repayment expenses to applicants who meet the eligibility requirements 
under this chapter.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
 
Description:  Provides a tax credit that can be claimed by an applicant who “shall have 
graduated from an accredited two year, four year or graduate post-secondary institution of 
higher learning with an associate's, bachelor's, graduate, or post-graduate degree and at 
which the applicant incurred education loan repayment expenses” and who is “a full-time 
employee with a Rhode Island-based employer located in this state for a term of up to four 
consecutive 12 month periods” and “whose employment is for work in one or more of the 
following covered fields: life, natural or environmental sciences; computer, information or 
software technology; advanced mathematics or finance; engineering; industrial design or 
other commercially related design field; or medicine or medical device technology.”   
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The amount of credit that can be granted by the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation to 
an applicant is “up to a maximum amount for each” 12 month period “of $1,000 for an 
associate's degree holder, $4,000 for a bachelor's degree holder, and $6,000 for a graduate 
or post-graduate degree holder,…not to exceed the education loan repayment expenses 
incurred by such applicant during each 12 month period completed for up to four 
consecutive 12 month periods.” 
 
The credit is allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-
30.  The fellowship recipient may also request a refund of his/her credits in whole or in 
part, for 100% of the credit amount.  In the 2018 legislative session, the Stay Invested in 
RI Wavemaker Fellowship tax credit sunset was extended from December 1, 2018 to June 
30, 2020. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax (Credit) $0 0 

2016 Personal Income Tax (Refund) $0 0 

2016 Total $0 0 

2017 Personal Income Tax (Credit) $72,516 22 

2017 Personal Income Tax (Refund) $514,410 128 

2017 Total $586,926 150 

2018 Personal Income Tax (Credit) $95,474 31 

2018 Personal Income Tax (Refund) $811,185 188 

2018 Total $906,659 219 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2019 forgone revenue and number of taxpayers is equal to 
the TY 2017 – TY 2018 average amount of revenue forgone and count of taxpayers.  TY 
2020 and TY 2021 are set equal to TY 2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Personal Income Tax (Credit) $83,995 27 

2019 Personal Income Tax (Refund) $662,798 158 

2019 Projected Total $746,793 185 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Personal Income Tax (Credit) $83,995 27 

2020 Personal Income Tax (Refund) $662,798 158 

2020 Projected Total $746,793 185 

2021 Personal Income Tax (Credit) $83,995 27 

2021 Personal Income Tax (Refund) $662,798 158 

2021 Projected Total $746,793 185 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions.  
 
Connecticut:  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019, Connecticut has a 
refundable tax credit for certain college graduates against personal income tax.  Eligible 
taxpayers are employed in the state, receive a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree in a 
science, technology, engineering or math-related field, from an institution of higher 
education on or after January 1, 2019, and reside in the state or move to the state within 
two years of completing such degree.  The credit is $500 and may be claimed for the five 
successive taxable years after the date of graduation provided that the employment and 
residency status continue. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-704f 
 
Maine: A credit is available for certain educational loan payments for Maine resident 
individuals who earn an associate or bachelor’s degree from a Maine college or university 
and who subsequently live in Maine, work for an employer located in Maine and pay taxes 
in Maine.  The credit is available for individuals graduating after 2007 and is prorated by 
the fraction of coursework for the degree occurring after 2007.  The credit is available to 
eligible graduates and employers making loan payments on behalf of qualifying 
employees.  Unused credits may be carried over for up to 10 tax years.  Beginning with the 
2013 tax year the individual credit is refundable for graduates with a degree in science, 
technology, engineering, or mathematics. 
 
The employer credit is limited to eligible payments made during the term of the qualified 
employee’s employment and is also limited to 50 percent of the credit amount if the 
qualified employee works only part-time (16-32 hours weekly). 
 
Maine Statute:  36 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann tit. 36, § 5217-D 
 

33. Tax on Net Estate of Decedent: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-22-1.1  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / 2014 
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Description of Change:  Provides a credit of $64,400 against the taxes owed under Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-22 for decedents whose death occurs on or after January 
1, 2015.  Beginning on January 1, 2016 and each January 1 thereafter, the Rhode Island 
credit amount will be adjusted by the percentage of increase in the Consumer Price Index 
for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) as of September 30 of the prior calendar year 
compounded annually and rounded up to the nearest $5.00 increment.  For a date of death 
on or after January 1, 2016 and prior to January 1, 2017 the credit amount was $64,400.  
For a date of death on or after January 1, 2017 and prior to January 1, 2018 the credit 
amount is adjusted to $65,370. For a date of death on or after January 1, 2018 and prior to 
January 1, 2019 the credit amount was $66,810.  For a date of death on or after January 1, 
2019 and prior to January 1, 2020 the credit amount is adjusted to $68,350. 
 
For decedents whose death occurs prior to January 1, 2015, the prior law’s threshold 
exemption “cliff” amount remains in place.  For these decedents, tax is owed on the full 
amount of the taxable value of the estate once an estate’s taxable value exceeds the 
threshold amount.  For calendar year 2014, the threshold exemption amount below which 
an estate was exempt from tax was $921,655.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Amount of credit and number of 
taxpayers was reported at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference (REC) by 
the Division of Taxation.  The number of taxpayers represents the number of Estate returns 
that used any portion of the credit.  The amount of taxpayers’ savings reported is the actual 
amounts of credit claimed on the returns.  
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Estate and Transfer Tax $20,700,000 598 

2017 Estate and Transfer Tax $37,000,000 742 

2018 Estate and Transfer Tax $35,200,000 747 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2019 forgone revenue and number of taxpayers is equal to 
the TY 2016 – TY 2018 average amount of revenue forgone and count of taxpayers. TY 
2020 and TY 2021 is set equal to TY 2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Estate and Transfer Tax $30,966,667 696 

2020 Estate and Transfer Tax $30,966,667 696 

2021 Estate and Transfer Tax $30,966,667 696 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar 
provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  For decedents dying on or after January 1, 2016 if the taxable estate is not 
over $2.0 million than there is no estate tax owed.  For anything over $2.0 million, 
Connecticut taxes the amount in a graduated rate schedule from 7.2 percent to 12.0 percent 
on the excess over $10.1 million.  ORA calculates that the Rhode Island credit equivalent 
of such an exemption would be $99,600.  For tax years 2018 through 2022, the estate tax 
threshold will increase annually until it matches the federal threshold (currently $11.18 
million and is indexed to inflation).  The threshold will be $2.6 million in TY 2018, $3.6 
million in TY 2019, $5.1 million in TY 2020, $7.1 million in TY 2021, and $9.1 million 
in TY 2022.  Connecticut is scheduled to match the federal exemption in TY 2023. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-402 
 
Maine:  For estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2013 but before January 1, 
2016 the annual Maine exclusion amount is $2.0 million.  For estates of decedents dying 
during calendar year 2016, the exclusion amount was increased to $5.45 million.  For 
estates of decedents dying on or after January 1, 2017 the annual exclusion amount is $5.49 
million. Maine has a 3-tier tax rate system of 8.0 percent, 10.0 percent and 12.0 percent 
based on the amount of the value of the estate.  ORA calculates that the Rhode Island credit 
equivalent of Maine’s $5.49 million exception would be $449,600. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §4102 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts has decoupled from the federal estate tax system.  
Beginning in 2006, an exclusion amount of $1.0 million has been in place.  ORA calculates 
the Rhode Island credit equivalent of such an exemption would be $33,200.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65C, § 3 
 
Vermont:  Vermont has an independent estate tax rate schedule and exemption amount, no 
longer relying on the federal credit calculations repealed by Congress in 2005.  Estates 
have an exemption amount of $2.75 million and are taxed at 16.0 percent for any value 
over that.  ORA calculates the Rhode Island credit equivalent of such an exemption would 
be $160,000. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7442a 

 
34. Taxes Paid to Other States: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-18 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / 1972 
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Description:  A resident shall be allowed a credit against the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-30 for the aggregate of net income taxes imposed for the taxable 
year by other states, including the District of Columbia of the United States, provided that 
such taxes are imposed irrespective of the residence of the taxpayer.  The credit shall not 
exceed the proportion of the taxpayer’s Rhode Island personal income tax that the 
taxpayer’s Rhode Island income derived from the other taxing states bears to his or her 
entire Rhode Island income for the same taxable year. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations based on TY 2016 and TY 
2017 personal income tax data. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $182,475,753 83,645 

2017 Personal Income Tax $193,026,414 86,781 
 
Projection Methodology:  The average realized growth rate for TY 2016 and TY 2017 was 
applied to TY 2017 amount of forgone revenue and number of taxpayers to project TY 
2018. For tax years 2019-2021, amount of credit and number of taxpayers held constant 
with TY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected  

Revenue Forgone 
Projected  

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $205,685,665 91,239 

2019 Personal Income Tax $205,685,665 91,239 

2020 Personal Income Tax $205,685,665 91,239 

2021 Personal Income Tax $205,685,665 91,239 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a credit against personal income taxes in the amount of 
any income tax imposed on any resident or part-year resident for the taxable year by 
another state. 
  
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-704 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions also include the income taxes of any state, political subdivision 
thereof, the District of Columbia, or any political subdivision of a foreign country, which 
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is analogous to a state of the United States; however, the other taxing jurisdiction must 
allow a reciprocal reduction of its tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5217-A 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions also include the income taxes of all territories 
or possessions of the United States [e.g. Guam, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands], as 
well as, of the Canadian provinces. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6(a) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions also include credit for the income taxes of all territories 
or possessions of the United States [e.g. Guam, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands], the 
District of Columbia and a limited credit for the income taxes of the Canadian provinces. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5825 
 

35. Wages Paid by Employers in Mill Buildings: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.9-8 
 
Stated Purpose:  “It is the purpose of this chapter to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island’s historic industrial 
mill structures.”   
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  A taxpayer who owns and operates an eligible business within a certified mill 
building that has been substantially rehabilitated is allowed a credit against the tax imposed 
under Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11.  The credit is equal to 100.0 percent of 
the total amount of Rhode Island salaries and wages as are paid to the same employees in 
excess of the prior calendar year.  The maximum credit allowed per taxable year under the 
provision of the subsection is three thousand dollars ($3,000) per qualified employee. 
 
The credit cannot reduce the tax liability of the taxpayer below the minimum tax required 
by Rhode Island law.  Unused amounts of the credit cannot be carried forward to 
succeeding tax years.  An eligible business that is also located in an enterprise zone can 
use the credit provided under this section or that provided in Rhode Island General Laws 
Section 42-64.3-6 but not both. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of credit and number of taxpayers is held constant with 
TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 
 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Deductions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  139 

 
 
 
 
 

DEDUCTIONS 
 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Deductions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  140 

1. Accelerated Amortization for Certain Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-11.3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1994 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any taxpayer engaged in manufacturing activities in Rhode Island that has, on the 
average, over the five previous years annually produced goods at facilities located in Rhode Island 
which generate net sales of at least $10.0 million and where, on the average, at least 80.0 percent 
of that production has been for eventual sale to a branch of the United States armed services may, 
if it represents that it anticipates the need to reduce its reliance on such sales, elect to amortize the 
unrecovered basis of all or a portion of its depreciable assets over a 60 month period in equal 
monthly installments.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

2. Alimony Paid (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
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Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI includes a deduction for alimony paid “under divorce or separate maintenance decrees 
or written separation agreements” between the taxpayer and the taxpayer’s spouse or former 
spouse. 
 
The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 eliminated the federal deduction for the amount of alimony 
paid effective for divorce or separation agreements entered into in tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2018.  The passage of this act effectively eliminates the deduction of alimony paid 
for Rhode Island personal income tax purposes for these same divorce and separation agreements. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  The 
federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island adjusted 
gross income to total federal AGI for each tax year.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying 
the calculated Rhode Island value of the deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.945 percent for TY 
2016 and 2.983 percent for TY 2017.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island 
by using the ratio of total Rhode Island tax filers to total federal tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $1,236,158 2,065 

2017 Personal Income Tax $1,309,202 2,058 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $1,272,680 2,062 

2019 Personal Income Tax $1,272,680 2,062 

2020 Personal Income Tax $1,272,680 2,062 

2021 Personal Income Tax $1,272,680 2,062 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for alimony paid. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for amounts paid to former spouses 
for alimony or separate maintenance under court order as stated on the federal tax return.  Alimony 
will continue to be deductible by the payor for divorce settlements made after December 31, 2018. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of alimony or separate maintenance payments is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

3. Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Prevention and Treatment Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-11.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1966 / 2000  
 
Description:  A taxpayer, at his or her election, is allowed to take as a deduction the amortization 
of the adjusted basis for determining gain of any “treatment facility” over a period of 60 months.  
The deduction is allowed against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.  
The amortization deduction requires that the federal depreciation or amortization, if any, must be 
added back before the Rhode Island calculation is made. 
 
A treatment facility means “any land, facility, device, building, machinery, or equipment, the 
construction, reconstruction, erection, installation, or acquisition of which” meets federal and state 
standards for the control of air or water pollution, has been made primarily to control the pollution 
of water or air and applies only to water and air pollution control facilities that are installed for the 
treatment of waste waters and air contaminants resulting from industrial processes. 
 
A prevention facility means “any land, facility, device, building, machinery, or equipment the 
construction, reconstruction, erection, installation, or acquisition of which” meets federal and state 
standards for the prevention of air or water pollution or contamination, has been made primarily 
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to prevent the pollution or contamination of water or air, and applies only to water and air pollution 
prevention facilities that are installed for the prevention of waste waters, air contaminants, and 
hazardous solid wastes resulting from industrial processes. 
 
The treatment or prevention facility must be certified by the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Management. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis Calculations.  The 
amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the deduction by the business corporation 
tax rate of 7.0 percent. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax <$1 4 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $762 4 
 
Projection Methodology:  The TY 2018 revenue forgone amount and the number of taxpayers is 
data from the Division of Taxation and utilizes a business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent.  It 
should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended returns that have 
not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  For TY 2019-2021, the amount of revenue 
forgone and the number of taxpayers were held constant with TY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax <$1 1 

2019 Business Corporation Tax <$1 1 

2020 Business Corporation Tax <$1 1 

2021 Business Corporation Tax <$1 1 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for 100.0 percent of the costs 
associated with an approved industrial air pollution control facility or industrial waste treatment 
facility during the taxable year of the construction, reconstruction, erection, or improvement of the 
facility. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38D 
 

4. Certain Business Expenses of Reservists, etc. (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI includes a deduction for certain business expenses of Armed Forces reservists, 
qualified performing artists, and fee-basis state and local government officials, and employees with 
impairment-related work expenses.  These expenses are ordinary and necessary unreimbursed 
expenses attributable to an individual’s job including vehicle expenses, expenses related to travel 
that is not overnight (parking fees, tolls, transportation by train, bus, etc.), expenses related to 
overnight travel (lodging, airfare, etc.), other business expenses, and meals. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  The 
federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island AGI to 
total federal AGI for each tax year.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated 
Rhode Island value of the deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.945 percent for TY 2016 and 
2.983 percent for TY 2017.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using 
the ratio of total Rhode Island tax filers to total federal tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $59,201 554 

2017 Personal Income Tax $74,592 516 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $66,896 535 

2019 Personal Income Tax $66,896 535 

2020 Personal Income Tax $66,896 535 

2021 Personal Income Tax $66,896 535 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for certain business expenses of Armed Forces reservists, qualified 
performance artists, and fee-based government officials. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for certain business expenses of 
Armed Forces reservists, qualified performing artists, and fee-based government officials as stated 
on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of certain business expenses of Armed Forces reservists, qualified 
performance artists, and fee-based government officials is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

5. Connecting Fees, Switching and Carrier Access Charges: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-1(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 1985 
 
Description:  All amounts paid by a corporation subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-13-4(4) to another corporation for connecting fees, switching charges, 
and carrier access charges shall be deducted from the gross earnings of the paying corporation. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the amount of deduction by the public 
service corporation tax rate for telecommunications corporations of 5.0 percent.  This item includes 
an unknown amount of uncollectable bad debt. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $3,566,229 60 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $3,321,434 57 
 
Projection Methodology:  The TY 2018 revenue forgone amount and the number of taxpayers is 
data from the Division of Taxation and utilizes a public service corporation tax rate for 
telecommunications corporations of 5.0 percent.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not 
include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of 
Taxation.  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for tax years 2019-
2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax  $854,052 40 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $3,443,831 59 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $3,443,831 59 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $3,443,831 59 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Sales of services to another service provider for resale, including access services, are 
exempt from the service provider tax.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2557 
 

6. Educator Expenses (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI allows a qualified educator to deduct unreimbursed expenses incurred for books, 
supplies, computer equipment, other equipment, and supplementary materials used in a classroom 
or related to athletics.  The maximum allowable deduction is $250 per eligible educator. 
 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Deductions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  147 

Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017, Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income (SOI), Table 
2: Individual Income and Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income.  TY 2016 and 
TY 2017 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective personal 
income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the revenue forgone 
amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2016, these Rhode Island resident effective tax 
rates range from -0.3992% for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 to 4.5677% for the 
federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or more.  For TY 2017, the comparable numbers are -0.6397% 
for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 and 4.7412% for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI report 
for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $102,001 16,100 

2017 Personal Income Tax $98,924 15,550 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $100,463 15,825 

2019 Personal Income Tax $100,463 15,825 

2020 Personal Income Tax $100,463 15,825 

2021 Personal Income Tax $100,463 15,825 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for educator expenses. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
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beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of educator expenses is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

7. Electricity for Resale: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-4(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 2008  
 
Description:  The transmission or sale of electricity to other public utility corporations, non-
regulated power producers, or municipal utilities for resale, whether within the state or not, shall 
be deducted from gross earnings prior to the calculation of the tax imposed by this section. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  A deduction is allowed from all sales for resale of water, steam, gas and electricity 
to public service corporations and municipal utilities, whether such purchasers are Connecticut 
public service corporations or Connecticut municipal utilities, and whether or not they are subject 
to the Public Service Companies Tax.  
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-265(b)(1)(A) 
 

8. Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal Revenue Code: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-61-1.1  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2003 / 2013 
 
Description:  For purposes of the expensing of assets under Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 
44-11, 44-14 and 44-30, the expense deduction for Rhode Island tax purposes shall be allowed in 
the same manner as is provided for under Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  Any 
remaining tax basis of the asset purchased shall be depreciated as provided for under the IRC 
Sections 167 and 168, excluding § 168(k).   
 
Prior to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, Rhode Island’s rule regarding Section 179 
Expensing was a timing difference with Rhode Island disallowing section 179 expensing of more 
than $25,000 in a given tax year while the federal government allowed section 179 expensing of 
up to $500,000 in a given tax year.  In this case, taxpayers had to add back to taxable income the 
amount of section 179 expensing in excess of $25,000 for Rhode Island tax purposes with this 
difference depreciated over the useful life of the asset.  In tax years subsequent to the first year in 
which section 179 expensing in excess of $25,000 was used for federal income tax purposes, 
taxpayers subtracted the depreciation value of the asset from taxable income for Rhode Island tax 
purposes.  Thus, over the useful life of the asset, the expense allowed for Rhode Island and Federal 
tax purposes will be equal.   
 
For tax years beginning after December 31, 2013, Rhode Island conformed to federal law with 
respect to section 179 expensing.  Thus, whatever the deduction amount that was taken federally 
under section 179 expensing is also allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes.  As a result, for assets 
placed in service after December 31, 2013, there is no tax expenditure associated with section 179 
expensing as the deduction allowed for Rhode Island tax purposes is the same as the deduction 
allowed for federal tax purposes. 
 
The Division of Taxation allows corporate tax filers to report bonus depreciation, which is 
disallowed by Rhode Island law, and section 179 expensing on the same line as a total. As a result, 
depending on the tax year, the reported amounts on Rhode Island business corporation tax returns 
include both bonus depreciation and section 179 expensing.  Generally, after tax year 2018, it is 
presumed that section 179 expensing deductions will no longer be reported as they will no longer 
exist due to conformity with federal tax law with regard to section 179 expensing.  Thus, this tax 
expenditure will, in general, terminate for tax years beginning after December 31, 2018. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporation Tax:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue 
Analysis (ORA) calculations.  This deduction includes combined bonus depreciation and enhanced 
section 179 expensing for C-corporations only, and the amounts are not necessarily specific to 
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Rhode Island-based activity.  For TY 2016 and TY 2017, the total net modification resulted in an 
increase to federal taxable income and thus, no revenue was forgone for these taxpayers.  The 
number of taxpayers includes C-corporations that had a deduction increasing or decreasing federal 
taxable income and can include a taxpayer in both categories, provided the taxpayer 
simultaneously had a modification increasing and decreasing federal taxable income. 
 
Bank Tax:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, ORA calculations.  This deduction includes 
combined bonus depreciation and enhanced Section 179 expensing, and the amounts are not 
necessarily specific to Rhode Island-based activity.  For TY 2016 the total net modification 
resulted in a decrease to federal taxable income.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by 
multiplying the apportioned net decreasing deduction by the banking institutions excise tax rate of 
9.0 percent.  For TY 2017, the total net deduction amount was positive; therefore, there is no 
revenue forgone from this deduction in TY 2017.  The number of taxpayers includes those 
taxpayers with a deduction that increased their federal taxable income. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income 
Tax Simulation Model.  Deduction includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
deduction for the timing of section 179 expensing for the same tax years, then summed the results 
for both calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference 
between the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and 
non-resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 7,908 

2016 Bank Tax $44,179 48 

2016 Personal Income Tax $319,493 4,591 

2016 Total $363,672 12,547 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 8,318 

2017 Bank Tax $0 58 

2017 Personal Income Tax $253,140 4,449 

2017 Total $253,140 12,825 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation Tax:  TY 2018 revenue forgone amounts and the 
number of taxpayers is data from the Division of Taxation and utilizes a business corporation tax 
rate of 7.0 percent.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or 
amended returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  Data for this 
deduction includes combined bonus depreciation and enhanced Section 179 expensing for C-
corporations only and the amounts are not necessarily specific to Rhode Island-based activity.   
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Bank Tax:  TY 2018 revenue forgone amounts and the number of taxpayers is data from the 
Division of Taxation and utilizes a bank excise tax rate of 9.0 percent.  It should be noted that TY 
2018 data does not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by 
the Division of Taxation.  Data for this deduction includes combined bonus depreciation and 
enhanced Section 179 expensing for banks and the amounts are not necessarily specific to Rhode 
Island-based activity.   
 
Personal Income Tax:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers for TY 2018 is 
the average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016 – TY 2017. 
 
Due to the changes in Rhode Island tax law described above, ORA does not expect there to be any 
deduction for the timing of section 179 expensing for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2019.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected       

Forgone Revenue  
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 3,613 

2018 Bank Tax $207,599 11 

2018 Personal Income Tax $286,317 4,520 

2018 Projected Total $493,915 8,144 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and New Hampshire have similar 
provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Beginning on or after January 1, 2018, individuals and corporations are required to 
apportion the federal deduction for the cost of qualifying (section 179) property over a five-year 
period.  Taxpayers must add back 80 percent of the federal deduction in the first year and may 
deduct 25 percent of the disallowed portion of the deduction in each of the four succeeding tax 
years. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217(b)(2)(C), 12-701(a)(20)(A)(xiv), and 12-
701(a)(20)(B)(xxv) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s tax laws conform to the Section 179 deduction, as included in the calculation of 
federal AGI.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(1-D) 
 
Massachusetts:  For both the corporate excise and the personal income tax, Massachusetts’s tax 
laws allow taxpayers to elect to expense certain business assets purchased during the taxable year 
following the current code for purposes of IRC.  The taxpayer is allowed the same deduction as 
allowed federally.  
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, §§ 1(c), 6F(c)(2)-(3) 
 
New Hampshire:  For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2000 and prior to January 1, 
2017, New Hampshire defines the term “United States Internal Revenue Code” to mean “[f]or all 
tax years beginning after January 1, 2000, the United States Internal Revenue Code (IRC) of 1986 
in effect on December 31, 2000.”  Thus, by definition, amendments to the IRC that occurred after 
December 31, 2000 and before January 1, 2017 are not allowable under New Hampshire’s business 
profits tax and business taxpayers have to adjust the taxable income reported on their federal return 
before reporting their gross business profits on their New Hampshire business tax return.  The 
adjustment will require: (1) The removal of the Section 179 expense allowed under the IRC in 
effect for the taxable year; and (2) the inclusion of only the Section 179 expense allowed under 
the IRC in effect on December 31, 2000.  
 
For all taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2017 and prior to January 1, 2018, the 
definition of “United States Internal Revenue Code” was updated to reference the IRC in effect on 
December 31, 2015 and for all taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the definition 
was updated to the IRC in effect on December 31, 2016, with some exceptions.  Expense 
deductions, as allowed under Section 179, were capped at $100,000 for TY 2017 and for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018 expense deductions were capped at $500,000. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 77-A:1(XX) and 77-A:3-a 
 

9. Health Savings Account (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI allows for the deduction of contributions to a qualified health savings account (HSA).  
For contributions to an HSA to be deductible, the taxpayer must be enrolled in a high-deductible 
health insurance plan and not be covered by another type of health insurance.  The high deductible 
health insurance plan must satisfy certain criteria.  The maximum deductible HSA contributions 
for tax years 2014 through 2018 are listed below: 

Tax Year Single Coverage Family Coverage 
2016 $3,350 $6,750 
2017 $3,400 $6,750 
2018 $3,450 $6,900 
2019 $3,500 $7,000 
2020 $3,550 $7,100 
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Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  The 
federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island AGI to 
total federal AGI for each tax year.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated 
Rhode Island value of the deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.945 percent for TY 2016 and 
2.983 percent for TY 2017.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using 
the ratio of total Rhode Island tax filers to total federal tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $485,788 6,063 

2017 Personal Income Tax $521,382 6,520 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $503,585 6,292 

2019 Personal Income Tax $503,585 6,292 

2020 Personal Income Tax $503,585 6,292 

2021 Personal Income Tax $503,585 6,292 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item as it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for contributions to an HSA. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total income for contributions 
to an HSA as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
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Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of HSA contributions is adopted. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

10. Individual Retirement Arrangement (IRA) Contributions (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI includes a deduction for contributions to traditional individual retirement 
arrangements.  For tax years 2016 through 2018, contributions were or will be subject to maximum 
amount of $5,500 for taxpayers less than 50 years old and $6,500 for taxpayers 50 years old or 
more.  For tax years 2019 and 2020, the comparable figures are $6,000 and $7,000, respectively. 
 
This deduction is subject to a phase-out at the federal level based on the taxpayer’s modified AGI.  
The table below lists the phase-out ranges for single and head of household filers who are covered 
by a workplace retirement plan, the income phase-out ranges for married couples filing jointly 
where the spouse making the IRA contribution is covered by a workplace retirement plan, and the 
phase-out ranges for married couples filing jointly where the IRA contributor is not covered by a 
workplace retirement plan but is married to someone who is covered for tax years 2016 through 
2020.  For married individuals filing separately who lived apart, the deduction thresholds are the 
same as single filers.  For married individuals filing separately and living together for at least part 
of the year that are covered by a retirement plan at work or have a spouse that is covered by a 
workplace plan, the phase-out range for tax years 2016 through 2020 includes any modified AGI 
below $10,000.  
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Tax 
Year 

Single / Heads of 
Household / Married 

Filing Separately 
and Living Apart 

Married Filing Jointly 
Contributor Covered 
by Workplace Plan 

Married Filing Jointly 
Contributor Not Covered 
by Workplace Plan but 

Spouse is Covered 
2016 $61,000 - $71,000 $98,000 - $118,000 $183,000 - $193,000 
2017 $62,000 - $72,000 $99,000 - $119,000 $186,000 - $196,000 
2018 $63,000 - $73,000 $101,000 - $121,000 $189,000 - $199,000 
2019 $64,000 - $74,000 $103,000 - $123,000 $193,000 - $203,000 
2020 $65,000 - $75,000 $104,000 - $124,000 $196,000 - $206,000 

 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017, Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income (SOI), Table 
2: Individual Income and Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income.  TY 2016 and 
TY 2017 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective personal 
income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the revenue forgone 
amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2016, these Rhode Island resident effective tax 
rates range from -0.3992% for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 to 4.5677% for the 
federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or more.  For TY 2017, the comparable numbers are -0.6397% 
for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 and 4.7412% for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI report 
for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $1,122,404 9,870 

2017 Personal Income Tax $1,088,279 9,650 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $1,105,342 9,760 

2019 Personal Income Tax $1,105,342 9,760 

2020 Personal Income Tax $1,105,342 9,760 

2021 Personal Income Tax $1,105,342 9,760 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.     
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for contributions to an IRA. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction from total gross income for 
contributions to an IRA as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, §§ 2(a)(2)(F) and 5(b) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of contributions to IRAs is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

11. Keogh Plan and Simplified Employee Pension Plan Contributions (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI) with the modifications.  The Rhode Island 
income of a non-resident individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions 
entering into his or her federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island 
sources.” 
 
Federal AGI includes a deduction for contributions to a Keogh plan and a Simplified Employee 
Pension (SEP) plan.  The deduction is limited to the lesser of total contributions made to the 
business’ defined-contribution Keogh or SEP plan, including any excess contributions carryover, 
or 25.0 percent of compensation paid to employees participating in the plan.  The contributions an 
employer can make to an employee’s defined-contribution Keogh or SEP plan are limited to 25.0 
percent of the employee’s compensation or a specific maximum deduction, whichever is less.  The 
allowable compensation to be included in the calculation of the 25.0 percent is also limited to a 
specific dollar amount.  The table below lists the maximum amounts of allowable compensation 
to be considered for the deduction and the maximum deductible contribution to an eligible 
employee’s plan.   
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Tax Year 
Maximum Allowable 

Compensation 
Maximum Contribution to an 

Eligible Employee’s Plan 
2016 $265,000 $53,000 
2017 $270,000 $54,000 
2018 $275,000 $55,000 
2019 $280,000 $56,000 

 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017, Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income (SOI), Table 
2: Individual Income and Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income.  TY 2016 and 
TY 2017 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective personal 
income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the revenue forgone 
amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2016, these Rhode Island resident effective tax 
rates range from -0.3992% for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 to 4.5677% for the 
federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or more.  For TY 2017, the comparable numbers are -0.6397% 
for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 and 4.7412% for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI report 
for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $3,098,195 4,140 

2017 Personal Income Tax $3,333,140 4,150 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $3,215,668 4,145 

2019 Personal Income Tax $3,215,668 4,145 

2020 Personal Income Tax $3,215,668 4,145 

2021 Personal Income Tax $3,215,668 4,145 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income-based provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
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Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for contributions to Keogh and SEP plans equal to 25.0 percent of 
their income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for contributions to Keogh and 
SEP plans as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return.  However, the deduction for 
contributions on behalf of employees as defined in Internal Revenue Code § 401(c)(1) (e.g., 
partners and owners of sole proprietorships) is specifically disallowed. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, §§ 2(a)(2)(F), (3)(d)(1)(D) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of deductions for contributions to Keogh and SEP plans is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

12. Merchandise Sold: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-5(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 2003 
 
Description:  Corporations with a principal line of business in manufacturing, selling, and 
distributing to the public illuminating (electric) or heating gas and in the case of every public 
service cable corporation, may deduct from the gross earnings reported on the corporations’ gross 
earnings tax return “the net invoice price plus the transportation cost” of any merchandise sales. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, data current as of December 2019. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  The TY 2018 revenue forgone amounts and the number of taxpayers is 
data provided by the Division of Taxation.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include 
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any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  
Revenue forgone and number of taxpayers for tax years 2019 - 2021 is the average revenue forgone 
and number of taxpayers from TY 2016 and TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax  $0 0 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions allow the deduction from the Utilities Companies’ Tax for 
sales of appliances, which use water, steam, gas or electricity for the net invoice price plus 
transportation costs of such appliances. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-265(b)(1)(C) 
 

13. Moving Expenses (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI includes a deduction for moving expenses provided that the expenses are incurred 
within one year from the date that the taxpayer has reported to work in the new location, the new 
main job location is at least 50 miles farther from your former home than your prior job location, 
and the taxpayer works full-time for 39 weeks in the first 12 months after arrival in the area of the 
new job location (self-employed taxpayers must also work 78 weeks in the first 24 months after 
arrival in the area of the new job location). 
 
The federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 eliminated the federal deduction for moving expenses, 
except for members of the Armed Forces, effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 
2017.  This act effectively eliminates this tax expenditure item for Rhode Island personal income 
tax purposes beginning in Tax Year 2018. 
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Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  The 
federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island AGI to 
total federal AGI for each tax year.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated 
Rhode Island value of the deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.945% for TY 2016 and 2.983% 
for TY 2017.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of 
total Rhode Island tax filers to total federal tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $341,012 3,927 

2017 Personal Income Tax $337,835 3,799 
 
Projection Methodology:  ORA projects no revenue forgone for tax years 2018 through 2021 due 
to the elimination of the federal deduction for all but military-related moving expenses.  If military-
related moving expenses are reported in the future, forecasts of forgone revenue will be included 
in future Tax Expenditures Reports. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2019 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2020 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2021 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for moving expenses. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5125 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for moving expenses as stated on 
the taxpayer’s federal income tax return for tax years beginning before December 31, 2017.  
Massachusetts did not conform to the elimination of this federal deduction as Massachusetts 
follows the Internal Revenue Code in effect as of January 1, 2005 in regards to this issue.  Thus, 
this deduction will be allowed in the calculation of Massachusetts taxable income.  
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to Vermont 
income tax is federal taxable income for tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018.  Because 
Vermont uses an individual’s federal taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont 
income tax liability, the federal treatment of deductions for moving expenses is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

14. Net Operating Losses: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-11(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 2007  
 
Description:  A taxpayer subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11 
is allowed a net operating loss deduction that is the same as that allowed under 26 U.S.C. § 172, 
subject to the specific determinative criteria outlined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-
11-11.  This section also allows the taxpayer to carry the net operating loss forward for five 
succeeding tax years and disallows the carryback of a net operating loss.  Prior to the Tax Cuts and 
Jobs Act of 2017, federal tax law allowed a two-year carryback of a net operating loss and a 20-
year carry-forward of a net operating loss.  For tax years beginning after December 31, 2017, 
federal tax law disallows the carryback of a net operating loss but provides for an indefinite 
carryforward period. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
This modification includes amounts that are not necessarily specific to Rhode Island-based 
activity.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the apportioned deduction by 
the business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent.  The number of taxpayers includes C-corporations 
that had a deduction decreasing federal taxable income. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $25,897,264 2,232 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $19,560,161 2,095 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 revenue forgone amounts and number of taxpayers is data from 
the Division of Taxation and utilizes a business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent.  It should be 
noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been 
processed by the Division of Taxation.  TY 2019 - TY 2021 revenue forgone amounts and number 
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of taxpayers are the average of the revenue forgone amounts and number of taxpayers from TY 
2016 - TY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected           

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  $18,228,921 1,290 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $21,228,782 1,872 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $21,228,782 1,872 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $21,228,782 1,872 
 
Law Comparison:  All New England states have net operating loss deduction provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut has a specific statutory provision allowing a net operating loss carryover 
deduction and does not simply follow the Internal Revenue Code Section 172 (26 U.S.C. § 172).  
The Connecticut statute provides any excess of allowable deductions over the gross income in the 
same year, or the amount of such excess apportioned to Connecticut under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-
218, is an operating loss and is deductible as an operating loss carryover for operating losses 
incurred in income years commencing on or after January 1, 2000, in each of the 20 income years 
following the loss year.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, carryforwards are 
limited to 50 percent of net income.  Taxpayers with net operating losses greater than $6 billion 
from pre-2013 years and a tax liability greater than $2.5 million may elect to use net operating loss 
carryforwards earlier than otherwise allowed.  Net operating losses may not be carried back.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(4)(A) 
 
Maine:  Maine generally conforms to the Internal Revenue Code as of a specific date but requires 
several modifications to federal taxable income related to net operating losses in order to arrive at 
Maine net income. For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2002 and prior to January 
1, 2008, subsequent to the year of the loss, a subtraction modification is allowed for an amount 
equal to the absolute value of the amount of any net operating loss for which federal adjusted gross 
income was increased under Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5200-A(1)(H), and that, pursuant to 26 
U.S.C. § 172, was carried back for federal income tax purposes, less the absolute value of loss 
used in the taxable year of loss to offset any addition modification required by Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 
tit. 36, § 5200-A(1).  The carryforward period for Maine conforms to the federal carryforward 
period.  For taxable years beginning in 2008, the amount of loss carried forward cannot exceed 
$100,000, and for taxable years 2009, 2010, and 2011 the modification under paragraph 2 cannot 
be claimed. The amount not deducted as a result of the restriction in 2009, 2010, and 2011 can be 
deducted in tax years beginning after December 31, 2011, but only if Maine taxable income is not 
reduced to zero, the amount has not been previously used as a modification, and the taxable year 
is within the allowable federal period for carryover plus the number of years that the net operating 
loss carryover adjustment was not deducted as a result of the restriction with respect to tax years 
beginning in 2009, 2010, or 2011. 
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For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, an income addition modification is required 
in an amount equal to the net operating loss carryforward claimed as a federal deduction for the 
same tax year.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(1)(LL) and (PP), 5200-A(1) and (2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Corporations are allowed a deduction for net operating losses computed under 
Massachusetts’ law.  The Massachusetts net operating loss is the amount by which the sum of the 
deductions allowed to arrive at net income, excluding the deductions for net operating loss and the 
dividends-received deduction exceeds gross income for the taxable year.  The number of years for 
which such a loss may be carried forward is five taxable years for losses incurred in taxable years 
beginning prior to January 1, 2010 or for 20 taxable years for losses incurred in taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2010.  Net operating losses cannot be carried back, and capital 
losses cannot be carried forward or back. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 30(5)(b) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire allows a deduction for the amount of the net operating loss 
carryover determined under 26 U.S.C. § 172 in effect on December 31, 1996, except for the 
requirement to carryback the loss and the limitation to carryforward for 10 years following the loss 
year.  The law does not allow for the carryback of losses in any instance.  A net operating loss is 
apportioned in the year incurred.  For taxable years ending on or after January 1, 2013, the amount 
of net operating loss generated in a tax year that may be carried forward may not exceed 
$10,000,000.   
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:4, XIII 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s statutes include a net operating loss deduction, in place of the federal net 
operating loss deduction, by defining “Vermont net operating loss” (VNOL) as any negative 
income after allocation and apportionment of Vermont net income.  The VNOL is allowed as a 
carryforward in the 10 years following the loss year.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(25), 5888(4)(B) 
 

15. One-Half of Self-Employment Tax (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
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Federal AGI includes a deduction for one-half of the amount of self-employment tax paid by self-
employed taxpayers.  Self-employed individuals, those taxpayers who are sole proprietors, 
independent contractors, partners in a partnership, and members in a single member LLC, must 
pay a tax on net earnings from self-employment for Social Security and Medicare.  Because 
taxpayers that are employees are responsible for only one-half of the Social Security and Medicare 
taxes assessed, the other half being paid by the employer, self-employed taxpayers are allowed to 
deduct one-half of the self-employment tax paid to Social Security and Medicare. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  The 
federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island AGI to 
total federal AGI for each tax year.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated 
Rhode Island value of the deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.945% for TY 2016 and 2.983% 
for TY 2017.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of 
total Rhode Island tax filers to total federal tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $2,921,026 68,987 

2017 Personal Income Tax $3,109,687 70,418 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $3,015,356 69,702 

2019 Personal Income Tax $3,015,356 69,702 

2020 Personal Income Tax $3,015,356 69,702 

2021 Personal Income Tax $3,015,356 69,702 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item as part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for one-half of the self-employment tax paid. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction of up to $2,000 for self-
employment tax payments.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1)(K) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of deductions for one-half of the self- employment tax is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

16. Penalty for Early Withdrawal of Savings (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
 
Federal AGI allows a deduction for the penalty paid for the withdrawal of monies from a certificate 
of deposit (CD) or other time deposit savings account prior to the maturation of the time deposit 
savings account. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017 Statistics of Income Bulletin, Internal Revenue Service.  The 
federal deduction data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of total Rhode Island AGI to 
total federal AGI for each tax year.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the calculated 
Rhode Island value of the deduction by an effective tax rate of 2.945% for TY 2016 and 2.983% 
for TY 2017.  Federal number of taxpayers’ data is scaled for Rhode Island by using the ratio of 
total Rhode Island tax filers to total federal tax filers for each tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $10,560 1,464 

2017 Personal Income Tax $12,075 1,442 
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Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $11,317 1,453 

2019 Personal Income Tax $11,317 1,453 

2020 Personal Income Tax $11,317 1,453 

2021 Personal Income Tax $11,317 1,453 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for the penalty on the early withdrawal of monies from time deposit 
savings accounts. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for the penalty on the early 
withdrawal of monies from time deposit savings accounts as stated on the taxpayer’s federal 
income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of the penalty on the early withdrawal of monies from time deposit 
savings accounts is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

17. Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-43-2 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  A deduction reducing net income or net worth, gross earnings, or gross premiums 
for making a qualifying investment in a certified venture capital partnership shall be allowed for 
the amount of the qualifying investment in the year in which the taxpayer first makes such an 
investment prior to computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 
44-13, 44-14, or 44-17.  A modification reducing federal AGI shall be allowed prior to computing 
the tax owed under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30 and is included in the modifications 
section of this report.  
 
Data Source: Business Corporation: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue 
Analysis (ORA) calculations.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the 
deduction by the business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent.  The number of taxpayers includes 
C-corporations that had a deduction decreasing federal taxable income. 
 
Public Service Corporation Taxes: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, ORA calculations.  The 
amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the deduction amount by an average public 
service corporation gross earnings tax rate of 4.0 percent. 
 
Bank Taxes:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
 
Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, ORA calculations.  
The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the deduction amount by the insurance 
company gross premiums tax rate of 2.0 percent.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $36 8 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $36 8 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $32 3 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $13,505 1 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $<1 1 

2017 Total $13,537 5 
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Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 revenue forgone and number of taxpayers for all tax types is 
data from the Division of Taxation.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any 
extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.   
 
Bank, Business Corporation, and Insurance Company Gross Premiums Taxes:  TY 2019-TY 2021 
revenue forgone amounts and number of taxpayers is the average revenue forgone and number of 
taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 
Public Service Corporation Taxes:  TY 2019-TY 2021 revenue forgone amounts and number of 
taxpayers were held constant with TY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $0 0 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $34 6 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Projected Total $34 6 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $34 6 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $34 6 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $34 6 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $34 6 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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18. Return or Unabsorbed Premiums or Premiums for Reinsurance Assumed: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 27-3-38(d) and 44-17-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1896 / 2007 
 
Description:  Taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17 
are allowed to deduct from gross premiums the amount of return premiums on contracts covering 
property and risks, the amount of premiums for reinsurance assumed of the property and risks, 
and, for mutual insurance companies, the amount of dividends or unused or unabsorbed portion of 
the premiums applied as a partial payment of the premiums or returned to policyholders in cash or 
credited to policyholders. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of deduction and number of taxpayers were held constant with 
TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut levies a tax on net direct premiums on domestic and nonresident and 
foreign insurance companies.  Net direct premiums include all receipts of premiums from 
policyholders and applicants for policies, whether received in the form of money or other valuable 
consideration but excluding annuity premiums and considerations and premiums received for 
reinsurances assumed from other insurance companies, less returned or canceled premiums and 
dividends paid to policyholders on direct business.  
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-201(7), (8) 
 
Maine:  The Maine insurance premiums tax is measured by the full amount of gross insurance 
premiums, reduced by all direct return premiums on the gross direct premiums, and all dividends 
paid to policy holders on direct premiums.  Except when direct return premiums are returned in 
the same tax year that the premium was paid, the deduction allowed may be taken only if the tax 
has been paid. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2515 
 
Massachusetts:  In determining the tax payable by insurance companies, all premiums on policies 
written but not taken or canceled through default of payment and all premiums returned or credited 
to policyholders during the tax year may be deducted, provided that all premiums for which the 
deduction is claimed have been included as premium receipts on the tax return.  This deduction 
does not include premiums returned or credited on reinsurance assumed.  
 
Massachusetts Statute: Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 20, 24 
 
New Hampshire:  The premium tax on authorized and formerly authorized insurers is calculated 
based on the total of gross direct premiums received during the previous calendar year for policies 
insuring property, subjects or risks resident or located in the state, or to be performed in the state, 
minus premiums or dividends returned or credited to policyholders.  Title insurers may also deduct 
the portion of the premiums chargeable to title search and examination services.  The tax on 
premiums for surplus lines is also calculated based on the amount of gross premiums less the 
amount of return premiums.   
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 400-A:31(I), 405:29(I) 
 
Vermont:  From the full amount of insurance company premiums and assessments, there is a 
deduction for all sums paid for return premiums on canceled policies upon risk located in the state 
and dividends actually paid or allowed to policyholders residing in the state.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5035(a), 5036(d), 8554 
 

19. Self-Employed Health Insurance (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
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Federal AGI includes a deduction for the premiums paid for medical, dental, and qualified long-
term care insurance for the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, and the taxpayer’s dependents if the 
taxpayer is a self-employed individual with a net profit, a partner with net earnings from self-
employment, or a shareholder owning more than 2.0 percent of the outstanding stock of an S 
corporation with wages from the corporation.  The insurance plan must be established under the 
business.  The premium deduction for qualified long-term care insurance is subject to a maximum 
allowable amount. 
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017, Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income (SOI), Table 
2: Individual Income and Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income.  TY 2016 and 
TY 2017 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective personal 
income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category and then summing the revenue forgone 
amounts across all federal AGI categories.  For TY 2016, these Rhode Island resident effective tax 
rates range from -0.3992% for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 to 4.5677% for the 
federal AGI category of $1,000,000 or more.  For TY 2017, the comparable numbers are -0.6397% 
for the federal AGI category of under $25,000 and 4.7412% for the federal AGI category of 
$1,000,000 or more.  The number of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI report 
for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $3,438,573 14,110 

2017 Personal Income Tax $3,510,088 14,140 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $3,474,330 14,125 

2019 Personal Income Tax $3,474,330 14,125 

2020 Personal Income Tax $3,474,330 14,125 

2021 Personal Income Tax $3,474,330 14,125 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.      
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Deductions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  172 

Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for payments for health insurance by the self-employed. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include a deduction for payments for health insurance 
by the self-employed as stated on the taxpayer’s federal income tax return. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of deductions for payments for health insurance by the self-
employed is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

20. Standard Deduction: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(B) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island allows a basic standard deduction from modified adjusted gross income 
(AGI).  The standard deduction values are adjusted for inflation as specified by Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(J).   
 
The table below lists the standard deduction for single, married filing separately, head of 
household, married filing jointly, and qualifying widow(er) personal income tax filers.  For 
taxpayers with a modified federal adjusted gross income (AGI) greater than a specified amount in 
each tax year, regardless of filing status, there is a phase-out in the deduction amount allowed to 
be taken.  For example, for each $5,500 increase, or part thereof, in modified AGI, a reduction of 
20.0 percent in allowable standard deduction amount was imposed in TY 2016.  Once a taxpayer’s 
modified AGI exceeds the phase-out limit, the allowable standard deduction amount is zero.   
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Tax Year 

Single / 
Married Filing 

Separately 
Head of 

Household 

Married 
Filing Jointly 
/ Widow(er) Phase-Out Range 

2016 $8,300 $12,450 $16,600 $193,600 - $215,800 
2017 $8,375 $12,550 $16,750 $195,000 - $217,350 
2018 $8,525 $12,800 $17,050 $199,000 - $221,800 
2019 $8,750 $13,100 $17,500 $203,850 - $227,050 

 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax Simulation Model.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and 2017 laws and the 
Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the applicable standard deduction for the same 
tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is 
determine by taking the difference the two tax liability calculations.  Number of taxpayers includes 
all taxpayers that claimed the standard deduction to reduce their personal tax liability.  It should 
be noted that ORA changed the methodology for the calculation of the revenue forgone and the 
number of taxpayers for this deduction to not include taxpayers who did not claim the standard 
deduction but were eligible to do so based on federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index: 1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $198,054,375 536,024 

2017 Personal Income Tax $197,694,885 532,615 
 
Projection Methodology:  Due to changes in the calculation methodology, the revenue forgone 
amounts and number of taxpayers were held constant for tax years 2018 through 2021. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected               

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $197,694,885 532,615 

2019 Personal Income Tax $197,694,885 532,615 

2020 Personal Income Tax $197,694,885 532,615 

2021 Personal Income Tax $197,694,885 532,615 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut does not allow any standard or itemized deductions from Connecticut 
adjusted gross income in determining the taxpayer’s Connecticut tax liability.  Connecticut allows 
only exemption amounts to be deducted from Connecticut AGI when determining the taxpayer’s 
Connecticut tax liability.  These exemption amounts depend on the filing status of the taxpayer 
and phase-out as Connecticut AGI increases. 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-701(a)(20) and 12-702 
 
Maine:  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the basic standard deduction for 
resident individuals filing as a single individual or a married person filing a separate return is 
$11,600.  For persons filing as heads of household, the basic standard deduction is $17,400.  For 
married persons filing joint returns or surviving spouses, the basic standard deduction is $23,200.  
Maine also provides for an additional standard deduction for age and blindness equal to the amount 
allowed under the Internal Revenue Code Section 63(c)(3).  Maine includes a phase-out for the 
value of the standard deduction beginning for taxpayers whose adjusted gross income exceeds 
$70,000 for single individuals and married persons filing separate returns, $105,000 for heads of 
households, and $140,000 for married persons filing jointly or for surviving spouses.  The 
deductions amount is fully phased out for taxpayers whose adjusted gross income is $145,000 for 
single filers and married persons filing separately, $217,500 for heads of households, and $290,000 
for married individuals filing jointly or for surviving spouses.  For tax years beginning in 2018 and 
thereafter, the standard deduction is equal to the federal standard deduction, including the 
additional standard deduction amount for age and blindness.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5124-B, 5124-C  
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, Vermont used federal income tax 
liability as the starting point for calculating Vermont personal income tax liability, the federal 
standard deduction, which is adjusted annually for inflation, and itemized deductions are used in 
calculating an individual’s Vermont income tax liability.  The amount is also increased for those 
who are 65 years and older and/or blind.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, 
Vermont has a state-defined standard deduction of $6,000 for single filers, $9,000 for head of 
household filers, and $12,000 for married filing jointly or surviving spouses.  There is an additional 
deduction of $1,000 for taxpayers who are 65 years and older and/or blind and who qualified and 
received the deduction at the federal level.  All deduction amounts are subject to inflation on an 
annual basis.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(C)(ii) 
 

21. Student Loan Interest (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
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Federal AGI allows a deduction for the interest paid on a qualified student loan.  A qualified 
student loan is a loan that was taken out solely to pay qualified education expenses.  For tax years 
2016 through 2020, the maximum deduction amount for student loan interest is $2,500 per return.  
Beginning in TY 2016, the amount of student loan interest deduction is phased out for taxpayers 
with a modified federal AGI over a certain amount.  Taxpayers who are married filing separately 
or who can be claimed as a dependent are ineligible for this deduction.   
 

 
Single / Head of Household/ 

Widow(er) Married Filing Jointly 

Tax Year 
Deduction 
Maximum Phase-Out Range 

Deduction 
Maximum Phase-Out Range 

2016 $2,500 $65,000 - $80,000 $2,500 $130,000 - $160,000 
2017 $2,500 $65,000 - $80,000 $2,500 $135,000 - $165,000 
2018 $2,500 $65,000 - $80,000 $2,500 $135,000 - $165,000 
2019 $2,500 $70,000 - $85,000 $2,500 $140,000 - $170,000 
2020 $2,500 $70,000 - $85,000 $2,500 $140,000 - $170,000 

 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017, Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income (SOI), Table 
2: Individual Income and Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income.  TY 2016 and 
TY 2017 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective personal 
income tax rate for each reported federal AGI category, after adjusting for married filing separately 
and dependent returns, and then summing the revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI 
categories.  For TY 2016, these Rhode Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.5384% for 
the federal AGI category of under $25,000 to 2.9163% for the federal AGI category of $100,000 
to $200,000.  For TY 2017, the comparable numbers are -0.8403% for the federal AGI category 
of under $25,000 and 2.9306% for the federal AGI category of $100,000 to $200,000.  The number 
of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $908,601 50,140 

2017 Personal Income Tax $900,638 50,740 
 
Projection Methodology:  For projected revenue forgone and projected number of taxpayers for 
tax years 2018-2021, ORA took the average of tax years 2016 and 2017.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $904,620 50,440 

2019 Personal Income Tax $904,620 50,440 

2020 Personal Income Tax $904,620 50,440 

2021 Personal Income Tax $904,620 50,440 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for interest paid on a student loan up to $2,500. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions follow the federal deduction for interest paid by the 
taxpayer for a qualified education loan for graduate or undergraduate education, subject to 
taxpayer income limitations. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) and 3(B)(a)(12) 
 
Vermont:  For tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining 
income subject to the Vermont personal income tax is federal taxable income.  For tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the starting point for determining income subject to the 
Vermont personal income tax is federal AGI.  Because Vermont used an individual’s federal 
taxable income, and now federal AGI, as the starting point for calculating Vermont income tax 
liability, the federal treatment of interest paid on a student loan is adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
 

22. Tax Incentives for Employers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-55-4.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  Businesses that employ and retain in the State employees who have been previously 
unemployed for at least 26 consecutive calendar weeks and have been domiciled residents of 
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Rhode Island for at least 52 consecutive calendar weeks or have been a recipient of Rhode Island’s 
Aid to Families with Dependent Children program for at least one year preceding the date of hire 
shall receive a deduction from the corporate income, gross earnings, bank, bank deposits, or gross 
premiums subject to the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-
14, 44-15 and 44-17.  The deduction is equal to 40.0 percent of the eligible employee’s first year 
wages, up to a maximum $2,400 per eligible employee.  A modification reducing income subject 
to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30 shall apply to eligible businesses 
and is listed in the modification section of this report. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporation: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue 
Analysis (ORA) calculations.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the 
apportioned deduction by the business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent.  The number of 
taxpayers includes C-corporations that had a deduction decreasing federal taxable income. 
 
Bank Tax: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the apportioned deduction by the bank 
excise tax rate of 9.0 percent. 
 
Bank Deposits Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Insurance Company Gross Premiums Taxes, Rhode Island Division of Taxation, ORA 
calculations.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the deduction by the 
insurance company gross premiums tax of 2.0 percent.   
 
Public Service Corporation Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  Bank, Business Corporation, and Insurance Company Gross Premiums Taxes, 
1; Public Service Corporation, Bank Deposits Taxes, 5  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $1,294 19 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $1,294 19 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $138,020 33 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Bank Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1 2 

2017 Total $138,020 35 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 revenue forgone amounts and number of taxpayers from all 
tax types is preliminary data from the Division of Taxation.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data 
does not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed by the 
Division of Taxation.   
 
Business Corporation: TY 2019-TY 2021 revenue forgone amounts and number of taxpayers is 
the average revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2018.  
 
Bank Tax: TY 2019-TY 2021 revenue forgone amounts and number of taxpayers is the average 
revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2018. 
 
Insurance Company Gross Premiums Taxes: TY 2019-TY 2021 revenue forgone amounts and 
number of taxpayers is the average revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 
2018. 
 
Public Service Corporation and Bank Deposits Taxes:  No projection is made due to lack of 
reliable data.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $977 13 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Projected Total $977 13 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $46,763 22 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Bank Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 1 

2019 Projected Total $46,763 23 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $46,763 22 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Bank Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 1 

2020 Projected Total $46,763 23 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $46,763 22 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Bank Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Deposits Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 1 

2021 Projected Total $46,763 23 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

23. Tuition and Fees (Federal): 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3) / 44-30-32(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2010 
 
Description:  Rhode Island’s income tax system for a resident individual starts with the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  The Rhode Island income of a non-resident 
individual includes “[t]he net amount of items of income and deductions entering into his or her 
federal adjusted gross income derived from or connected with Rhode Island sources.” 
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Federal AGI allows a deduction for tuition and fees.  Tuition and fees are defined as qualified 
expenses for higher education.  The maximum amount of tuition and fees that can be deducted is 
$4,000.  The qualified higher education expenses can be for the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, 
or a dependent of the taxpayer.  For tax years 2016 and 2017, the tuition and fees deduction can 
only be taken by single filers with modified AGI of not more than $80,000 and married joint filers 
with modified AGI of not more than $160,000.  Taxpayers who are married filing separately or 
who can be claimed as a dependent are ineligible for this deduction.  The tuition and fees deduction 
expired on December 31, 2017 and may not be taken for tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 2018.  It should be noted that the tuition and fees deduction expired on December 31, 2016 but 
was retroactively extended for TY 2017 by Congress on February 9, 2018, which was after the TY 
2017 filing season began.  It is possible not all taxpayers eligible for the tuition and fees deduction 
that had already filed their federal tax return chose to file an amended return.  
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 and TY 2017, Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income, Table 2: 
Individual Income and Tax Data, by State and Size of Adjusted Gross Income.  TY 2016 and TY 
2017 data is for Rhode Island resident returns only.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying 
the reported amount of the deduction by the Rhode Island resident effective personal income tax 
rate for each reported federal AGI category, after adjusting for married filing separately and 
dependent returns, and then summing the revenue forgone amounts across all federal AGI 
categories.  For TY 2016, these Rhode Island resident effective tax rates range from -0.5384% for 
the federal AGI category of under $25,000 to 2.9163% for the federal AGI category of $100,000 
to $200,000.  For TY 2017, the comparable numbers are -0.8403% for the federal AGI category 
of under $25,000 and 2.9306% for the federal AGI category of $100,000 to $200,000.  The number 
of taxpayers is the total number reported in the IRS’ SOI report for the given tax year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $155,512 5,760 

2017 Personal Income Tax $94,140 3,530 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s income base provisions begin with federal AGI and, therefore, allow 
this item because it is part of the determination of the taxpayer’s federal AGI. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(19) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s personal income tax base is federal AGI, as defined by federal law, which by 
application allows a deduction for tuition and fees paid for qualified higher education. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5121 
 
Massachusetts:  Effective January 1, 2006, Massachusetts’ provisions does not follow the federal 
deduction for tuition payments paid by the taxpayer for a qualified education expenses.  However, 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items - Deductions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  181 

there is a separate Massachusetts deduction for undergraduate tuition if the total paid exceeds 25.0 
percent of the taxpayer’s Massachusetts AGI.  Effective January 1, 2017, nonresidents and part-
year residents are no longer eligible for the tuition deduction.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3(B)(a)(11)  
 
Vermont:  The starting point for determining every individual’s taxable income subject to Vermont 
income tax is federal taxable income for tax years beginning prior to January 1, 2018.  Because 
Vermont used an individual’s federal taxable income as the starting point for calculating Vermont 
income tax liability during that time, the federal treatment of tuition and fees paid for qualified 
higher education was adopted.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21) 
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1. Biodiesel Portion of Blended Gallon of Diesel Fuel: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-36-1(6) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1925 / 2009 
 
Description:  The manufactured biodiesel portion of any gallon of blended biodiesel and petroleum 
diesel fuel is excluded from the state’s motor fuel tax provided that the manufactured biodiesel 
consists of “[m]ono-alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids derived from vegetable oils or animal 
fats which conform to ASTM D6751 specifications for use in diesel engines” and the production 
of which “results in employment in Rhode Island at a fixed location at a manufacturing facility for 
biodiesel fuel.”  
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Total biodiesel gallons are 
summed and multiplied by the motor fuel tax rate of $0.33 per gallon for FY 2016, FY 2017 and 
FY 2018 and the motor fuel tax rate of $0.34 per gallon for FY 2019. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Motor Fuel Tax $1,036,257 1 

2017 Motor Fuel Tax $1,485,727 1 

2018 Motor Fuel Tax  $2,120,414 1 

2019 Motor Fuel Tax $2,491,881 1 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion and number of taxpayers held constant with FY 
2019. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Motor Fuel Tax $2,491,881 1 

2021 Motor Fuel Tax $2,491,881 1 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  For fuel consisting of eligible cellulosic biofuel or of a blend of gasoline and 
eligible cellulosic biofuel, the tax per gallon shall be reduced in proportion to the percentage of 
the fuel content consisting of eligible cellulosic biofuel, measured by available energy content, as 
determined by the department of energy resources. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64A, § 1A 
 

2. Conveyance of Mobile/Manufactured Homes for Consideration of $100 or Less: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-44-20(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-44-20 applies only to 
mobile and manufactured homes that are conveyed for a consideration of more than $100.  In the 
event that no consideration is paid for the conveyance of a mobile/manufactured home, no 
documentary stamps are required on the instrument of conveyance. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

3. Conveyance of Real Estate for Consideration of $100 or Less: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-25-1(a) and 44-25-1(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1968 / 2004  
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Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-25-1 applies only to 
“lands, tenements or other realty” that are conveyed for a consideration of more than $100.  In the 
event that no consideration is paid for the conveyance of the lands, tenements or other realty, no 
documentary stamps are required on the instrument of conveyance. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont have similar 
provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exclusion for conveyance of property when the 
consideration is less than $2,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-498(a)(10) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exclusion for conveyance where the 
consideration is not more than $100. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64D, § 1 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire’s provisions include exclusion for conveyance where the 
consideration is $4,000 or less at which time a minimum fee of $20 is imposed. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-B:1, I(b) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include exclusion of the first $110,000 in value of the property 
transferred if the purchaser obtains a purchase money mortgage funded in part with a homeland 
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grant through the Vermont housing and conservation trust fund or which the Vermont housing and 
finance agency or U.S. Department of Agriculture and Rural Development has committed to make 
or purchase and tax at the rate of one and one-quarter percent shall be imposed on the value of that 
property in excess of $110,000 a guarantee fee is paid to the Vermont Home Mortgage Guaranty 
Program. Otherwise, Vermont does not have an exclusion and instead has a minimum tax of $1.00. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9602(1) 
 

4. Conveyance of Real Estate Relating to the Capitol Center Project: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-25-2(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1968 / 2000  
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-25-1 “does not apply to 
any deed, instrument, or writing which has or shall be executed, delivered, accepted, or presented 
for recording…certain master property conveyance contract dated December 29, 1982, and 
recorded in the land evidence records of the city of Providence on January 27, 1983, at 1:30 p.m. 
in book 1241 at page 849” that relates to the Capitol Center Project in the City of Providence. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Department of Revenue. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $0 0 

2017 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $0 0 

2018 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  $0 0 

2019 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion and number of taxpayers held constant with FY 
2017. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $0 0 

2021 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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5. Corporations Exempt from Taxation by Charter: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(vi) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, “[a]ny corporation expressly exempt from taxation by charter” is 
excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-11.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

6. Corporations Not Doing Business for Profit: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(iv) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, “[c]orporations specified in § 7-6-4, incorporated hospitals, schools, 
colleges, and other institutions of learning not organized for business purposes and not doing 
business for profit and no part of the net earnings of which inures to the benefit of any private 
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stockholder or individual,” are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exclusion for companies exempt by the federal 
corporation net income tax law or under any other section of the Internal Revenue Code; however, 
such organizations are likewise taxed on their unrelated business income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-214(a)(2)(B) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a general exclusion for a corporation, which is exempt from 
federal income tax from the Maine corporate income tax by definition.  Maine also exempts 
associations, trusts, or other unincorporated organizations which by reason of its purposes or 
activities is exempt from federal income tax with respect to its unrelated business taxable income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(6) and 5162(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exclusion for corporations, which are tax 
exempt for federal income tax purposes under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30(1) and 30(2) 
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New Hampshire:  New Hampshire’s provisions include exclusion from the business enterprise tax 
for organizations exempt from federal tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 
and regulated investment companies. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, I 
 
Vermont:  For corporations that are organized for religious, charitable, scientific or educational 
purposes for which no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private stockholder or 
individual member are exempt from corporate income tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

7. Corporations that Maintain and Manage Intangible Investments: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(vii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  Corporation is defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4).  By 
definition “[c]orporations which together with all corporations under direct or indirect common 
ownership that employ not less than five full-time equivalent employees in the state, which 
maintain an office in the state, and activities within the state are confined to the maintenance and 
management of their intangible investments and the collection and distribution of the income from 
those investments or from tangible property physically located outside the state.” are excluded 
from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-
11.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Passive investment companies are exempt from the corporation business tax.  In 
addition, dividends received, directly or indirectly, from such companies do not constitute gross 
income for corporation business tax purposes.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-213(a)(9)(D) 
 
Massachusetts:  Corporate Regulated Investment Companies are exempt from the corporate excise. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30 and 38B 
 

8. Dividends Received From Shares of Stock: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-11-12(1) and 44-14-15  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1989 
 
Description:  Dividends received from the shares of stock of any business entity subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13 or 44-14 shall be excluded from a 
taxpayer’s net income. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporation Tax:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Amount of exempt 
interest and dividends was multiplied by the taxpayer’s apportionment factor in each tax year for 
any taxpayer that took this exclusion.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying 
the apportioned dividends received by the business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent for TY 2016 
and TY 2017.  
 
Bank Tax:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Amount of exempt interest and dividends was 
multiplied by the taxpayer’s apportionment factor in each tax year for any taxpayer that took this 
exclusion.  The amount of revenue forgone is derived by multiplying the apportioned dividends 
received by the banking institution excise tax rate of 9.0 percent for TY 2016 and TY 2017. 
 
Public Service Corporation Tax:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  Business Corporation Tax, Bank Tax: 1; Public Service Corporation Tax: 5; 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $19,696,505 1,348 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Bank Tax $1,448,000 25  

2016 Total $21,144,505 1,373 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $29,681,391 1,445 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Bank Tax $1,694,651 30 

2017 Total $31,376,042 1,475 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation Tax:  TY 2018 revenue forgone, and number of 
taxpayers is data provided by the Division of Taxation and utilizes a business corporation tax rate 
of 7.0 percent.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended 
returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  TY 2019-TY 2021 is the 
average number of taxpayers and revenue forgone from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 
Bank Tax:  TY 2018 revenue forgone, and number of taxpayers is data from the Division of 
Taxation and utilizes a banking institution excise tax rate of 9.0 percent.  It should be noted that 
TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed 
by the Division of Taxation.  TY 2019-TY 2021 is the average number of taxpayers and revenue 
forgone from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 
Public Service Corporation Tax:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $30,291,304 472 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Bank Tax $51,045 6 

2018 Projected Total $30,342,349 478 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $24,688,948 1,397 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Bank Tax $1,571,326 28 

2019 Projected Total $26,260,274 1,425 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $24,688,948 1,397 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Bank Tax $1,571,326 28 

2020 Projected Total $26,260,274 1,425 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $24,688,948 1,397 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Bank Tax $1,571,326 28 

2021 Projected Total $26,260,274 1,425 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  “In arriving at net income… whether or not the taxpayer is taxable under the federal 
corporation net income tax, there shall be deducted from gross income… in the case of all 
taxpayers, all dividends as defined in the Internal Revenue Code effective and in force on the last 
day of the income year not otherwise deducted from gross income, …other than thirty per cent of 
dividends received from a domestic corporation in which the taxpayer owns less than twenty per 
cent of the total voting power and value of the stock of such corporation.” 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(1)(D) 
 
Maine:  The taxable income of the taxpayer under the laws of the United States shall be decreased 
by…[f]ifty percent of the apportionable dividend income the taxpayer received during the taxable 
year from an affiliated corporation that is not included with the taxpayer in a Maine combined 
report. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5200-A.2.G 
 
Massachusetts:  “Net income…adjusted as follows shall constitute taxable net income:  (1) 95.0 
percent of dividends exclusive of distributions in liquidation, included therein shall be deducted 
other than dividends from or on account of the ownership of… (iii) any class of stock, if the 
corporation owns less than fifteen per cent of the voting stock of the corporation paying such 
dividend.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(a)(1) 
 

9. Financial Institutions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-11-1(4)(i) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, “[s]tate banks, mutual savings banks, federal savings banks, trust 
companies, national banking associations, building and loan associations, credit unions, and loan 
and investment companies” are excluded from the base of taxpayers that are subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.  These financial institutions are taxable 
under Rhode Island General Law Chapters 44-14 or 44-15. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  There is an exemption from the corporation business tax for qualified banks, insurers 
and investment companies located in a designated insurance and financial services export zone 
within the City of Hartford. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 32-531 
 
Maine:  Financial corporations subject to the Maine financial institutions franchise tax under Me. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5206 are not subject to the Maine corporate income tax.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(6) 
 
Massachusetts:  In lieu of the corporate excise tax, every financial institution engaged in business 
in Massachusetts is subject to an excise tax for financial institutions measured by taxable net 
income. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 2(a) 
 
Vermont:  Banking corporations and loan associations are exempt from the corporation income 
tax.  Instead, they are subject to a franchise tax on the privilege of doing business in Vermont.  The 
tax is imposed on every corporation that is a bank, savings bank, savings institution, trust company, 
savings and loan association, and building and loan association located in Vermont. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5836(g) 
 

10. Fraternal Beneficiary Societies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(v) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  Fraternal beneficiary societies, as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 27-
25-1, are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-11. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  Fraternal benefit societies that are operated under the lodge system and designed to 
provide benefits to members and their dependents and other domestic fraternal societies operated 
under the lodge system, which devote their net earnings to charitable purposes are exempt from 
federal income tax under Internal Revenue Code Sections 501(c)(8) and 501(c)(10) and, therefore, 
are exempt from the Connecticut corporation business, dues, and insurance tax.  However, entities 
exempt from federal income tax under Internal Revenue Code Section 501 may be subject to the 
Connecticut tax on unrelated business income, under appropriate circumstances.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-543(b)(3) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a general exclusion for a corporation, which is exempt from 
federal income tax from the Maine corporate income tax by definition.  Maine also exempts 
associations, trusts, or other unincorporated organizations which by reason of its purposes or 
activities is exempt from federal income tax with respect to its unrelated business taxable income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5102(6) and 5162(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exemption for those corporations, which are 
tax exempt for federal income tax purposes under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 30(1) and 30(2) 
 
Vermont:  For corporations that are organized for religious, charitable, scientific or educational 
purposes for which no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private stockholder or 
individual member are exempt from corporate income tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811 
 

11. Fraternal Benefit Societies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-17-1(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1896 / 2010 
 
Description:  Insurers that are organized as fraternal benefit societies, as defined in Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 27-25-1, are excluded from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

12. Gain or Loss on Sale of Any Property Other Than Securities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-14-11 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 1956 
 
Description:  By definition, taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-14 exclude gains and losses from the sale or other disposition of any property other 
than securities from gross income.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

13. Income from Sale of International Investment Management Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-14.5 / Rhode Island Regulation 
280-RICR-20-25-9.11 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  A taxpayer located in Rhode Island that employs, separately or as part of a 
consolidated tax return, an average of not less than 500 full-time equivalent employees in the state 
shall exclude from its net income subject to tax under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11 
any income derived from the sale of international investment management services to non-U.S. 
persons or non-U.S. investment funds. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 

Projected        
Number of 
Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Earnings from international banking facilities are allowed to be deducted under the 
net income base. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-217(a)(1)(C) 
 

14. Insurance and Surety Companies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(iii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition, insurance and surety companies are excluded from the base of 
taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.  These 
companies are subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 

Projected         
Revenue Forgone 

Projected        
Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exclusion from the corporation business tax for 
domestic insurance companies or those organized or incorporated under the laws of any other state 
or foreign government. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-214(2)(A) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include exclusion from the Maine corporate income tax for insurance 
companies by definition. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5102(6) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exclusion for insurance companies from the 
corporate excise tax but provide that such companies are subject to a tax on premiums. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 20, 22, 23, 30(1), and 30(2) 
 
Vermont:  Insurance companies are excluded from the corporate income tax in Vermont. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(3)(A) 
 

15. Interest Received from Debt Instruments Issued by Public Service Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-12(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1989 
 
Description:  Interest received from the debt instruments or the distributive share of the taxable 
income of any company subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-13 
are excluded from a taxpayer’s net income that is subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-11. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

16. Long-Term Gain from Capital Investment in Small Business: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-43-5 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  A long-term capital gain realized from the sale or exchange of an interest in any 
entity which at the time the interest was acquired was a “qualifying business entity” is excluded 
from the determination of income that is subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14 or 44-30. 
 
A “qualifying business entity” is a business entity that has average annual gross revenue less than 
$2.5 million; has been in business for less than 4 years; expends to establish, expand or increase 
its operations at a regular place of business in Rhode Island; and has received certification from 
the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  An exclusion from taxable income for the first $5,000 of adjusted net long-term capital 
gains.  Gains from the sale of standing timber and farms retained the previous 40.0 percent 
exclusion.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B)(ii) 
 

17. Lubricating Oils, Marine Diesel Fuel, Aviation Fuel and Heating Oil: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-36-1(4) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1925 / 2009 
 
Description:  Lubricating oils, marine diesel fuel, aviation fuel, and heating oil are excluded from 
the list of fuels that are suitable to use in the operation and propulsion of motor vehicles with 
internal combustion engines that are subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 31-36. 
 
Data Source:  Annual Energy Outlook, Independent Statistics and Analysis, U.S. Energy 
Information Administration; U.S. Department of Energy.  FY 2016, FY 2017, FY 2018, and FY 
2019 Other non-taxable distribution (gallons), jet fuel, and marine diesel fuel, Excise Tax Section, 
Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Total gallons of residential fuel oil and other non-taxable fuel 
are summed and multiplied by the motor fuel tax rate of $0.33 per gallon for FY 2016, FY 2017 
and FY 2018 and $0.34 per gallon in FY 2019 to arrive at the revenue forgone.  No reliable data 
exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Motor Fuel Tax $178,685,196 No estimate possible 

2017 Motor Fuel Tax $214,812,408 No estimate possible 

2018 Motor Fuel Tax $214,888,245 No estimate possible 

2019 Motor Fuel Tax $255,893,225 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion for FY 2020 and FY 2021 is held constant with 
FY 2019.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected           

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Motor Fuel Tax $255,893,225 No estimate possible 

2021 Motor Fuel Tax $255,893,225 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.    
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s motor vehicle fuels tax excludes lubricating oils from the definition 
of “fuels.” 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-455a 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions exclude lubricating oils from the definition of internal combustion 
engine fuel.  Aircraft users are entitled to a reimbursement in the amount of the tax paid, less 4 
cents per gallon upon presenting to the State Tax Assessor a refund application accompanied by 
the original invoices showing those purchases. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 2902 and 2910 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions exclude lubricating oils from the definition of fuel in 
the taxation of gasoline law cite. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64A, § 1   
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s law excludes lubricating oils from the gasoline tax definition.  Gasoline or 
other motor fuel is defined to mean any type of fuel, by whatever name it may be called, used in 
an internal combustion engine to generate power to propel a motor vehicle upon a highway. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 23, § 3173 
 

18. Maximum Tax of $0.50 per Cigar: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-20-13.2(a)(2) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1992 / 2009 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-20-13.2(a)(1) is placed 
on all smokeless tobacco, cigars, and pipe tobacco products sold or held for sale in the state by any 
person.  The tax is imposed at a rate of 80.0 percent of the wholesale cost of cigars, pipe tobacco 
products and smokeless tobacco other than snuff.  Notwithstanding the 80.0 percent rate, the tax 
on cigars shall not exceed $0.50 for each cigar. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  The total number of 
individual cigars with a wholesale cost greater than $0.63 was 1,566,179 in FY 2016; 1,732,712 
in FY 2017; 3,172,076 in FY 2018 and 3,340,148 in FY 2019.  The Office of Revenue Analysis 
used data for the January through March 2009 period and the January through March 2010 period 
to determine that 34.23 percent of the total number of cigars in each tax year with a wholesale cost 
greater than $0.63 per cigar had an average wholesale cost greater than $1.25 per cigar.  Based on 
information provided by New York State in a 2011 fiscal note, ORA assumed that these “premium 
cigars” had an average wholesale cost of $2.53 per cigar.  The remaining 65.77 percent of cigars 
with an average wholesale price of more than $0.63 and less than or equal to $1.25 per cigar were 
assumed to have an average wholesale cost of $0.94 per cigar (the midpoint between $0.63 and 
$1.25).  Revenue forgone is based on the difference between taxes estimated using 80.0 percent of 
the projected wholesale value, computed using these assumptions, and actual taxes collected each 
year.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Cigarette Tax $1,076,652 No estimate possible 

2017 Cigarette Tax $1,191,134 No estimate possible 

2018 Cigarette Tax $2,180,609 No estimate possible 

2019 Cigarette Tax $2,296,149 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exclusion is the average of revenue forgone from FY 2017 
through FY 2019.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable 
data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Cigarette Tax $1,889,297 No estimate possible 

2021 Cigarette Tax $1,889,297 No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Effective July 1, 2011, the tax on all tobacco products is 50.0 percent of the 
wholesale price but in the case of cigars the tax shall not exceed fifty cents per cigar. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-330c(a)(1) and 12-330c(a)(2) 
 
Vermont:  The tax on cigars is 92.0 percent of the wholesale price for cigars with a wholesale price 
greater than $2.17 per cigar, or $4.00 per cigar for cigars with a wholesale price of $10.00 or more 
per cigar. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7811 
 

19. Net Taxable Estate Amount: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-22-1 and 44-22-1.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / 2009 
 
Description:  The Rhode Island estate tax is imposed upon the transfer of the net estate of every 
resident or non-resident decedent.  For decedents whose death occurs on or after January 1, 2010, 
the net taxable estate amount excluded from the Rhode Island estate tax is $850,000.  Beginning 
on January 1, 2011 and each January 1 thereafter, the exclusion amount will be adjusted by the 
percentage of increase in the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) as of 
September 30 of the prior calendar year compounded annually and rounded up to the nearest $5.00 
increment.  For decedents whose death occurs on or after January 1, 2011, the net taxable estate 
exclusion amount was $859,350; on or after January 1, 2012, the net taxable estate exclusion 
amount is $892,865; on or after January 1, 2013, the net taxable estate exclusion amount is 
$910,725; and on or after January 1, 2014, the net taxable estate exclusion amount is $921,655.  
Prior to January 1, 2010, the net taxable estate exclusion amount was $675,000.   
 
For decedents whose death occurs on or after January 1, 2015, a Rhode Island credit shall be 
allowed against any tax so determined in the amount of $64,400.  Beginning on January 1, 2016 
and each January 1 thereafter, the Rhode Island credit amount will be adjusted by the percentage 
of increase in the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) as of September 30 of 
the prior calendar year compounded annually and rounded up to the nearest $5.00 increment. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  This expenditure item will only 
be utilized by decedents whose death occurred prior to January 1, 2015.  
   
Reliability Index:  5 
 



VIII. Detail of Tax Expenditure Items – Exclusions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  206 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.  The 
full comparison of these states can be found in the credits section of the report, item number 34, 
“Tax on Net Estate of Decedent”. 
 

20. Possession of Ten Packs of Cigarettes with Out-of-State Tax Stamps: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-20-16 
  
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1948 / 1991  
 
Description:  The provisions of Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-20-13 through 44-20-17 
do not apply to the use or storage of cigarettes up to a maximum of 10 packs as “ordinarily defined 
by the practice of the trade” which have been brought into the state on the person. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Cigarette Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Cigarette Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions allow an individual the use or storage of cigarettes in an 
amount not exceeding 200 cigarettes which have been brought into this state on the person or in 
accompanying baggage. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-320 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions allow an unlicensed individual to transport cigarettes for personal use 
not to exceed two cartons as commonly defined. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 4366-B 
 

21. Public Service Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(ii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 1994 
 
Description:  By definition public service corporations, with the exception of those public service 
corporations that are provided for in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-2.2, are excluded 
from the base of taxpayers subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-
11.  These companies are subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 
44-13. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions specifically state that the taxation provided for public 
service companies tax upon gross earnings in any year shall be in lieu of all other taxes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-268j 
 

22. Taxed Gross Earnings and Associated Costs of Non-Public Service Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-2.2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-2.2 requires that a corporation or public 
service company whose principal business in Rhode Island is not an activity enumerated in Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-13-4 shall be subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapters 44-11 or 44-30 “provided that the gross earnings subject to tax under Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-13-4 and the direct and indirect costs associated with these gross 
earnings” are excluded from the calculation of net income upon which said taxes are assessed. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2016 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

23. Taxes Legally Imposed on Consumer but Separately Stated on Invoice: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-12(b)(iv) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 2006  
 
Description:   Taxes legally imposed directly on the consumer that are separately stated on the 
invoice, bill of sale, or similar document provided to the purchaser are not included in the sale 
price upon which the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 is assessed. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Excluded from the sales price, the amount of any tax not including manufacturers or 
importer’s excise tax imposed by the United States upon or with respect to retail sales. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(8)(B)(iii) 
 
Maine:  The sale price does not include the amount of any tax imposed by the United States on or 
with respect to retail sales. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752 (1-D) 
 
Massachusetts:  In computing the tax due, and before applying the rate, the vendor should exclude 
the tax reimbursement paid by purchaser to vendor and the federal manufacturers’ excise (currently 
applicable to the federal retail excise tax provisions) levied on motor vehicles (trucks) under the 
Internal Revenue Code.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 1, 3, 25 
 
Vermont:  Effective January 1, 2007, the term “sales price,” which is the tax base for the sales and 
use tax, does not include any taxes legally imposed directly on the consumer that are separately 
stated on the invoice, bill of sale, or similar document given to the purchaser. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9701(4)(B)(iii) 
 

24. Value-Added Non-Voice Services That Use Computer Processing Applications: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-4(4) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 2008  
 
Description:  “Value added non-voice services in which computer processing applications are used 
to act on the form, content, code, and protocol of the information to be transmitted” are excluded 
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from the definition of telecommunication service and thus are not subject to the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-13. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

25. Veterinary and Testing Laboratories Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-7.3(b)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2012 / N/A  
 
Description:  Effective October 1, 2012, sales and use tax is imposed on pet care services, except 
veterinary and testing laboratories services.   
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

FY 2017 Sales and Use Tax $11,680,090 No estimate possible 

FY 2018 Sales and Use Tax $11,918,401 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  $12,389,980 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $12,929,862 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $13,381,491 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Effective July 1, 2011, pet grooming, pet obedience services, and pet boarding, 
unless provided as an integral part of professional veterinary services, are taxable.  Veterinary 
services are not identified as taxable services and are exempt from tax. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(37)(KK) 
 
Maine:  Services such as surgery, grooming, lab testing and boarding sold by veterinarians are not 
subject to Maine sales tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Maine Sales Tax Instructional Bulletin No. 51 
 
Vermont:  Sales of services are exempted from sales and use tax, unless specifically designated as 
taxable.  Veterinary services are not specifically designated as a taxable service.   
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741 
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1. Agricultural Products for Human Consumption: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(61) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale or storage, use or consumption of livestock and poultry of the kinds of 
products which ordinarily constitute food for human consumption and of livestock of the kind the 
products of which ordinarily constitute fibers for human use are exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $2,774,143 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $2,871,299 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $2,984,909 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $3,114,973 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $3,223,777 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of livestock and poultry of a kind which ordinarily constitute food for human 
consumption as well as the feed for such livestock and poultry are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(p) 
 
Vermont:  “Agriculture feeds, seed, plants, baler twine, silage bags, agricultural wrap, sheets of 
plastic for bunker covers, liming materials, breeding and other livestock, semen breeding fees, 
baby chicks, turkey poults, agriculture chemicals other than pesticides, veterinary supplies, and 
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bedding; and fertilizers and pesticides for use and consumption directly in the production for sale 
of tangible personal property on farms, including stock, dairy, poultry, fruit and truck farms, 
orchards, nurseries, or in greenhouses or other similar structures used primarily for the raising of 
agricultural or horticultural commodities for sale” are exempt from the sales and use tax in 
Vermont. 
 
Effective July 1, 2019, the veterinary supplies category was removed from this exemption. 
Prescription drugs, durable medical equipment, and veterinary supplies intended for animal use 
remain exempt. Over-the-counter medicine intended for animal use is taxable.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(3) 
 

2. Air and Water Pollution Control Facilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(15) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1966 / 1980  
 
Description:  The sale or storage, use or consumption of tangible personal property or supplies 
acquired for use in the operation of air and/or water pollution control facilities and which have 
been certified as approved for that purpose by the Director of the Rhode Island Department of 
Environmental Management are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $146,023 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $149,431 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $155,343 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $162,112 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $167,775 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include personal property incorporated into waste 
treatment facilities or consumed in air pollution control facilities. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(21) and 12-412(22) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include sales of water pollution control and air pollution control 
facilities certified as such by the Commissioner of Environmental Protection and any part or 
accessories thereof or any materials for the construction or maintenance of a facility. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(29) and 1760(30) 
 

3. Aircraft and Aircraft Parts: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(56) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale or storage, use or consumption of any new or used aircraft or aircraft parts 
is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $3,091,516 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $3,220,082 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $3,347,492 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $3,493,356 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $3,615,376 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of, aircraft is exempt from tax.  Aircraft 
repair or replacement parts and repair services are also exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(20), 12-412(76), and 12-412(77) 
 
Maine:  An exemption applies to sales or leases of aircraft that weigh over 6,000 pounds, that are 
propelled by one or more turbine engines, or that are in use by a Federal Aviation Administration 
classified 135 operator. A “classified 135 operator” is a small commercial air carrier such as a 
commuter airline or air taxi.  An exemption also applies to the sale or use in Maine of replacement 
or repair parts of an aircraft used by a scheduled airline in the performance of service under 49 
U.S. Code, Subtitle VII and Federal Aviation Administration regulations. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, §§ 1760(76) and 1760(88) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of aircraft and repair or replacement 
parts exclusively for use in aircraft or in the significant overhauling or rebuilding of aircraft or 
aircraft parts or components on a factory basis is exempt from sales and use taxes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(uu) and 6(vv) 
 
Vermont:  There is an exemption for aircraft sold to a person which holds itself out to the public 
as engaging in air commerce, for use primarily in the carrying of persons or property for 
compensation or hire.  Effective June 11, 2007 through June 30, 2018, an exemption also applies 
to parts, machinery, and equipment to be installed in any aircraft. Beginning September 1, 2017, 
the sales of drones, and parts, machinery, and equipment to be installed in drones are no longer 
exempted from sales and use tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32, § 9741(29) 
 

4. Banks and Regulated Investment Companies Interstate Toll Free Calls: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(49) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  218 

Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / 1999 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 does not apply to 
“the furnishing of interstate and international, toll-free, terminating telecommunication service that 
is used directly and exclusively by or for the benefit of an eligible company.” 
 
An eligible company is a company that employs “on average during the calendar year” at least 500 
full-time equivalent employees and is a regulated investment company, as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 
1 et seq., or a corporation to the extent the service is provided to or on behalf of a regulated 
investment company, an employee benefit plan, a retirement plan or a pension plan or a state 
chartered bank. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2016 data is from the 2018 Tax Expenditures Report.  Number of toll-free 
numbers reported managed by Somos.  FY 2017 revenue forgone is calculated by applying the 
sales and use tax rate to the number of toll-free calls made by an investment company in Rhode 
Island.  The revenue forgone estimate assumes 4 hours of toll-free calls per day, 5 days a week, 52 
weeks a year, at a cost of 6.4 cents per minute.  The product is multiplied by the total number of 
toll-free calls made in the United States, which is then scaled to U.S. investment firms using the 
ratio of U.S. investment firms to total U.S. firms.  The result is then scaled to Rhode Island using 
the ratio of Rhode Island investment firms to U.S. investment firms.  The estimate of revenue 
forgone is determined by multiplying this figure by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which 
to determine the number of taxpayers.  For FY 2018, applied the FY 2018 over the FY 2017 growth 
rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to FY 2017 forgone revenue. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $1,060,555 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $906,585 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $960,167 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2019, FY 2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  No 
projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $960,167 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $960,167 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $960,167 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
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Maine:  Sales of international and interstate telecommunications service are exempt from tax for 
all purchasers. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, §§ 2557(33) and 2557(34) 
 

5. Beverage Containers, Hard-to-Dispose Material, and Litter Control Participation 
Permittee: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-44-3.6 and 44-44-2(1) / Rhode 
Island Public Laws 2019, Chapter 088, Article 5, Section 15 
 
Stated Purpose:  This chapter is enacted to provide funding for the litter reduction and recycling 
program and the hard-to-dispose material – control and recycling program, created pursuant to 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 37-15.1. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / 2019 
 
Description:  Effective July 1, 2012, the definition of “beverage” was amended to include all non-
alcoholic drinks for human consumption, except milk, but including beer and other malt beverages 
and subject these beverages to the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-44-
3.  Milk sales are exempt from the beverage container tax per case.  Effective July 1, 2019, the 
case fee was increased to $0.08. 
 
Data Source:  Annual Estimates of Population for the United States (2016 through 2018), United 
States Census Bureau.  Per Capita Consumption of Dairy, USDA National Agricultural Statistics 
Service.  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is based on 
beverage sales in Rhode Island that are not subject to the tax on beverage containers, which 
includes milk sales.  Number of taxpayers was provided by the Division of Taxation.   
 
Forgone revenue from milk sales is based on the number of cases of milk sold in Rhode Island 
annually multiplied by 4.0 cents per case for CY 2016 – CY 2018.  Rhode Island milk sales are 
based on the per capita consumption of milk (in gallons) divided by four to determine the per capita 
consumption of milk (cases) and the result is multiplied by the population of Rhode Island to 
determine the number of cases of milk consumed in Rhode Island.   
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Tax on Beverage Containers $189,174 43 

2017 Tax on Beverage Containers $184,271 36 

2018 Tax on Beverage Containers $179,498 31 
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Projection Methodology:  CY 2019, CY 2020, and CY 2021 assume no additional growth but 
include the increase in per case fee to $0.08 effective July 1, 2019.   For CY 2019 through CY 
2021 the number of taxpayers was held constant with CY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Tax on Beverage Containers $269,246 31 

2020 Tax on Beverage Containers $358,995 31 

2021 Tax on Beverage Containers $358,995 31 
 
Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

6. Bibles: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(29) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1982 / N/A 
 
Description:  From the sale and from the storage, use, or other consumption of “any canonized 
scriptures of any tax-exempt nonprofit religious organization including, but not limited to, the Old 
Testament and the New Testament versions.”   
 
The exemption of bibles and other canonized scriptures from the sales and use tax has been deemed 
unconstitutional by the Rhode Island Supreme Court (Ahlburn v. Clark, 728 A.2d 449 (RI. 1999); 
see notes to Decisions). 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Subject to the provisions of Section 1760-C, no tax on sales, storage or use may be 
collected upon or in connection with bibles. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, § 1760(13) 
 
Massachusetts:  Books used for religious worship are exempt from sales tax. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(m) 
 

7. Boats or Vessels Brought in Exclusively for Winter Storage Maintenance, Repair or Sale: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(46) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1991 / N/A 
 
Description:  The tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20 “is not applicable 
for the period commencing on the first day of October in any year to and including the 30th day of 
April next succeeding with respect to the use of any boat or vessel within Rhode Island exclusively 
for purposes of: (i) delivery of a vessel to a facility in this state for storage, including dry storage 
and storage in water by means of apparatus preventing ice damage to the hull, maintenance, or 
repair; (ii) the actual process of storage, maintenance, or repair of the boat or vessel; or (iii) storage 
for the purpose of selling the boat or vessel.” 
 
Data Source:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue from 
this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2018 Sales and Use Tax * * 
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Projection Methodology:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone 
revenue from this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  * * 

2019 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2020 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2021 Sales and Use Tax * * 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption from use tax for vessels brought into 
the state exclusively for storage, maintenance or repair. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-413a 
 
Maine:  The purchase of a watercraft outside this State is exempt if the watercraft is registered 
outside the State by the purchaser and used outside the State by the purchaser and the watercraft 
is present in the State not more than 30 days, not including any time spent in this State for 
temporary storage, during the 12 months following its purchase. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, § 1760(25)(B) 
 

8. Boats or Vessels Generally: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(48) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1993 / N/A 
 
Description:  From the sale and from the storage, use or other consumption of any new or used 
boat is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $5,105,467 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $5,700,487 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $5,926,040 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $6,184,262 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $6,400,273 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption from sales tax provided such vessel 
is docked in the state for sixty or fewer days in a calendar year.  Effective July 1, 2018, boats, boat 
engines, and boat trailers receive a lower sales and use tax rate of 2.99 percent compared to the 
standard Connecticut sales and use tax rate of 6.35 percent. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-408(1) 
 

9. Boats Sold to Non-Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(30) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1982 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale of a boat or vessel to a bona fide non-resident who does not register the boat 
or vessel in this state, or document the boat or vessel with the United States government at a home 
port within the state, whether the sale or delivery of the boat or vessel is made within this state or 
elsewhere; provided, that the non-resident transports the boat within thirty (30) days after delivery 
by the seller outside the state for use thereafter solely outside the state is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue from 
this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2018 Sales and Use Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone 
revenue from this exemption is included in the “Boats or Vessels Generally” exemption.) 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  * * 

2020 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2021 Sales and Use Tax * * 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A vessel sold to a non-resident is exempt from tax, if the non-resident does not 
maintain a permanent place of abode in Connecticut, the vessel is not registered or required to be 
registered with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles and the non-resident provides the 
retailer with CERT-139 (Sales and Use Tax Exemption for a Vessel Purchased by a Non-Resident 
of Connecticut).  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(60) 
 
Maine:  Sales of watercraft to a person that is not a resident of Maine, when the watercraft is 
intended to be sailed or transported outside the State immediately upon delivery by the seller; sales 
to a person that is not a resident of the State, under contracts for the construction of a watercraft 
intended to be sailed or transported outside the State immediately upon delivery by the seller, of 
materials to be incorporated in the watercraft; and sales to a person that is not a resident of the 
State for the repair, alteration, refitting, reconstruction, overhaul or restoration of a watercraft 
intended to be sailed or transported outside the State immediately upon delivery by the seller, of 
materials to be incorporated in the watercraft are exempt from the sales and use tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(25) 
 

10. Building Materials Used to Rebuild After Disaster: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(51) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1998 / N/A 
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Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of lumber, hardware, and other building 
materials used in the reconstruction of a manufacturing business facility, which suffers the 
destruction of 60.0 percent or more of the facility is exempt from the tax imposed under Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  The exemption does not apply to the cost of the 
reconstruction materials reimbursed by insurance. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

11. Buses, Trucks or Trailers Used in Interstate Commerce: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-40 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1992 / 2012  
 
Description:  The purchase, rental, or lease of a bus, truck or trailer, by a bus or trucking company, 
is not subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 provided that the 
bus, truck and/or trailer is utilized exclusively in interstate commerce.  Effective June 20, 2012, 
buses operated by a bus company are allowed the sales and use tax exemption for the purchase or 
rental/lease of a bus that transports passengers for hire, provided that the bus is used no less than 
80.0 percent of the time in interstate commerce.   
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
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Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $4,635,400 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $4,649,000 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $4,832,949 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $5,043,540 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $5,219,706 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Each purchaser of a commercial truck, truck, tractor, truck tractor, or semi-trailer or 
vehicle used in combination therewith is exempt from tax upon presentation of a certificate/permit 
issued by the Interstate Commerce Commission. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(70) 
 
Maine:  The sale of a vehicle, railroad rolling stock, aircraft or watercraft that is placed in use by 
the purchaser as an instrumentality of interstate or foreign commerce within 30 days after that sale 
and that is used by the purchaser not less than 80 percent of the time for the next 2 years as an 
instrumentality of interstate or foreign commerce is exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(41) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of new and used motor buses used to provide scheduled, intracity local 
service are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(aa) 
 

12. Camps: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(16) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1967 / N/A 
 
Description:  The rental charged for living quarters or sleeping or housekeeping accommodations 
at camps or retreat houses operated by religious, charitable, educational, or other nonprofit 
organizations as listed in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(5); or privately owned and 
operated summer camps for children are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $1,386,198 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $1,497,001 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $1,556,234 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $1,624,045 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $1,680,772 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Privately owned and operated summer camps for children, as well as those operated 
by religious or charitable organizations, are exempt from tax on the lodging accommodations. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(17) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include an exemption for rental charged for living quarters, sleeping 
or housekeeping accommodations at camps, which are also entitled to a corresponding property 
tax exemption.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(17) 
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Massachusetts:  An exemption from both the sales tax on meals and the room occupancy excise is 
provided for summer camps for children age 18 and under, or for summer camps for 
developmentally disabled individuals.  Camps that satisfy the above criteria but offer their facilities 
during the off-season to individuals 60 years of age or over for 30 days or less in any calendar year 
will not lose their exemption. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64G, § 2 and 64H § 6(cc) 
 
Vermont:  Overnight accommodations as well as meals at camps serving children are not subject 
to the rooms or meals tax.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9202(6) and 9202(10)(D)(ii)(VI) 
 

13. Casual Sales: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20(d-g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1995  
 
Description:  The sale of tangible personal property not held or used by the seller in the course of 
the activities for which the seller is required to hold a seller’s permit are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  Casual sales are limited to no more than 
five in any twelve-month period and include sales made at bazaars.  Casual sales also include fairs, 
picnics, or similar events by non-profit organizations and are limited to a total of two events that 
do not exceed six days in duration. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Casual or isolated sales are exempt from tax. These are sales whose number, scope, 
and character are insufficient to make it necessary for the seller to have a seller’s permit. This 
exemption is based on the fact that sales tax applies only to sales by retailers and a person making 
casual or isolated sales would not meet the definition of “retailer” contained in Connecticut law. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431 
 
Maine:  Casual sales, in general, are not subject to Maine’s sales and use taxes. These taxes are 
imposed on sales at retail, and casual sales are specifically excluded from the definition of retail 
sales.  In most cases of casual sales involving the sale of trailers, truck campers, motor vehicles, 
special mobile equipment except farm tractors and lumber harvesting vehicles or loaders, 
watercraft or aircraft, the sales and use tax must be imposed. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1752(11)(B)(1) and 1764 
 
Massachusetts:  Casual and isolated sales by a vendor not regularly engaged in the business of 
making sales at retail are exempt except for the casual or isolated sale of a motor vehicle, a trailer, 
a boat or an airplane. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(c) 
 
Vermont:  Sale of tangible personalty as a casual sale is exempt.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(4) 
 

14. Charitable, Education or Religious Organizations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(5) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1961 / 1988 
 
Description:  The sale to and from the storage, use, and other consumption of tangible personal 
property by nonprofit hospitals, educational institutions not operated for a profit, churches, 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  230 

orphanages and other institutions or organizations operated exclusively for religious or charitable 
purposes, interest-free loan associations not operated for profit, nonprofit organized sporting 
leagues and associations and bands for boys and girls under the age of 19, state chapters of national 
vocational students organizations, organized nonprofit golden age and senior citizens clubs for 
men and women and parent teacher associations are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $95,094,200 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $95,901,500 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected             

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $99,696,067 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $104,040,231 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $107,674,264 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The exemption extends to any organization exempt from federal income tax under 
various Internal Revenue Code § 501 provisions as well as nonprofit charitable hospitals, nonprofit 
nursing homes, nonprofit rest homes and nonprofit residential care homes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(5) and 12-412(8) 
 
Maine:  The exemption includes:  (1) proprietors of unincorporated hospitals, (2) hospitals, (3) 
medical research centers, (4) churches, (4) schools, (5) incorporated nonprofit nursing homes, (6) 
incorporated nonprofit residential care facilities, (7) incorporated nonprofit assisted housing 
programs for the elderly, (8) incorporated nonprofit home health agencies, (9) incorporated 
nonprofit rural community health centers, (10) incorporated nonprofit dental health centers, (11) 
medical clinics whose sole mission is to provide free medical care to the indigent or uninsured, 
(12) organizations organized for the purpose of establishing and maintaining laboratories for 
scientific study and investigation in the field of biology or ecology, (13) institutions operating 
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educational television or radio stations, and (14) organizations or their affiliates whose purpose is 
to provide literacy assistance or free clinical assistance to children with dyslexia. 
 
Maine also exempts sales to (a) incorporated private nonprofit residential child caring institutions, 
(b) community mental health facilities, community adult developmental services facilities and 
substance use disorder facilities, (c) incorporated nonprofit memorial foundations that primarily 
provide cultural programs free to the public, historical societies and museums, (d) incorporated 
nonprofit nursery schools and day-care centers, (e) incorporated, church affiliated nonprofit 
organization which operates a residential home for adults, (f) incorporated nonprofit organizations 
that provide free temporary emergency shelter or food for underprivileged individuals in Maine, 
(g) incorporated nonprofit child abuse and neglect prevention councils, statewide organizations 
that advocate for children and that are members of the Medicaid Advisory Committee, and certain 
community action agencies, (h) any nonprofit free public lending library which is funded in part 
or wholly by the State or any political subdivision or the federal government, (i) incorporated 
nonprofit Veterans’ Memorial Cemetery Associations, (j) incorporated nonprofit hospice 
organizations, (k) nonprofit youth organizations whose primary purpose is to provide athletic 
instruction in a non-residential setting and councils and local units of incorporated nonprofit 
national scouting organizations, (l) incorporated nonprofit animal shelters, (m) local branches of 
incorporated international nonprofit charitable organizations that lend medical supplies and 
equipment to persons free of charge, (n) incorporated nonprofit organizations whose sole purpose 
is to fulfill the wishes of children with life-threatening diseases when their family or guardian is 
unable to otherwise financially fulfill those wishes, (o) schools and school-sponsored 
organizations, (p) incorporated nonprofit monasteries and convents, (q) incorporated nonprofit 
organizations engaged primarily in providing support systems for single-parent families for the 
development of psychological and economic self-sufficiency, (r) local branches of incorporated 
nonprofit organizations whose purpose is to construct low-cost housing for low-income people, 
(s) incorporated nonprofit organizations whose sole purpose is to create, maintain and update a 
registry of Vietnam veterans, (t) incorporated nonprofit organizations whose primary purposes are 
to promote public understanding of hearing impairment and to assist hearing-impaired persons, (u) 
nonprofit organizations whose primary purpose is to develop housing for low-income people, and 
(v) nonprofit organizations whose primary purpose is to obtain, medically evaluate and distribute 
eyes for use in corneal transplantation, research and education, (w) certain veterans’ service 
organizations. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, §§ 1760(15-16), 1760(18-A), 1760(28), 1760(42-44), 
1760(47-A), 1760(49-51), 1760(55-56), 1760(60), 1760(62-67), 1760(69-70), 1760(72), 
1760(77), 1760(100) 
 
Massachusetts:  The exemption includes sales to any corporation, foundation, organization or 
institution which is exempt from taxation under the Federal Internal Revenue Code Section 
501(c)(3), provided that the tangible personal property or services sold is used in the conduct of 
religious, charitable, educational or scientific enterprise and the corporation, foundation, 
organization or institution has obtained a certification from the commissioner stating that it is 
entitled to such an exemption. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(e) 
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Vermont:  Organizations that qualify for exempt status under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 
501(c)(3), as well as agricultural organizations similarly qualified when presenting agricultural 
fairs, field days or festivals, are not subject to the sales and use tax. Organizations which qualify 
for exempt status under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(4)-(13) and (19), and political 
organizations as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 527(e) are exempt from the sales and use tax upon 
entertainment charges…in the case of not more than four special events (not including usual or 
continuing activities of the organization) held in any calendar year, and which, in the aggregate, 
are not held on more than four days in such year, and which are open to the general public. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9743(3) and 9743(5) 
 

15. Clothing and Footwear: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(27) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1977 / 2012 
 
Description:  The sales of articles of clothing and footwear suitable for general use to be worn or 
carried on or about the human body are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-18.  This exemption does not apply to clothing for athletic activity or protective 
use and excludes the sale of clothing, including footwear, with a retail sales price which exceeds 
$250 per item.  The sales and use tax is imposed on the portion of the retail price of an individual 
item of clothing or footwear that exceeds $250. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $35,180,268 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $37,260,845 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected           

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $38,735,157 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $40,423,006 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $41,834,945 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts safety apparel only, which is defined as any item of clothing 
or protective equipment worn by an employee for protection during the course of the employee’s 
employment.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(91) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exemption provisions are limited to clothing, including footwear, 
that is intended to be worn or carried on the human body up to $175 of the sales price for any 
article. The exemption does not apply to special clothing or footwear designed for athletic activity 
or protective use and is not normally worn except for the athletic or protective use. Sales of wearing 
materials or any cloth made up of natural or synthetic fibers and used for clothing purposes are 
also exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(k) and 6(v) 
 
Vermont:  Sales and use tax exemption applies to all clothing, but clothing shall not include 
clothing accessories or equipment, protective equipment, or sport or recreational equipment.   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(45) 
 

16. Coffins, Caskets, Urns, Shrouds, and Burial Garments: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(12) / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 5, Section 9 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1952 / 2019 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of coffins, caskets, shrouds and other 
burial garments ordinarily sold by a funeral director as part of the business of funeral directing are 
exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Effective October 1, 2019, this exemption was expanded to include the sale, storage, use or other 
consumption of urns sold by a funeral director as part of the business of funeral directing. 
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Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $1,211,485 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $1,276,465 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021, however the 
enacted FY 2020 budget estimate for urns was added to the estimate for FY 2020.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $1,326,972 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $1,459,793 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $1,510,782 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts sales of tangible personal property by any funeral 
establishment performing the primary services in preparation for and the conduct of burial or 
cremation, provided any such property must be used directly in the performance of such services 
and the total amount of such exempt sales with respect to any single funeral may not exceed 
$2,500. Sales of caskets used for burial or cremation are also exempt.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(55) 
 
Maine:  “Sales of funeral services” are considered to mean sales of tangible personal property by 
a funeral director insofar as such sales are a necessary part of the preparation of a human body for 
burial, or a necessary part of the ceremony conducted by the funeral director prior to or in 
connection with the burial of a human body. Sales by funeral directors of caskets, vaults, boxes, 
clothing, crematory urns, or other similar items generally referred to as “funeral furnishings,” are 
exempt from tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(24) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of coffins, caskets, burial garments or other materials, which are ordinarily 
sold by a funeral director as part of the business of funeral directing are exempt. 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  235 

Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(n) 
 
Vermont:  Funeral charges, including sales of tangible personal property such as caskets, vaults, 
boxes, clothing, crematory urns, and other such funeral furnishings as are necessary incidents of 
the funeral, but excluding the sale of flowers and other items sold as an accommodation rather than 
as an integral part of the funeral service or preparation therefore are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(22) 
 

17. Coins: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(43) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1988 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale and other consumption of coins having numismatic or investment value are 
exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  2016, 2017, and 2018 Annual Reports, United States Mint.  Annual Estimates of 
Population for the United States (2016 through 2018), United States Census Bureau.  Revenue 
forgone is based on the annual numismatic and bullion coin sales in Rhode Island.  Annual U.S. 
numismatic and bullion coin sales are scaled for Rhode Island using the ratio of Rhode Island’s 
population to the total U.S. population.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this amount 
by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $588,104 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $490,243 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $327,170 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island sales 
and use tax revenues to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 2019 revenue forgone.  FY 2020 
and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible 
due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $348,368 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $348,368 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $348,368 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exemptions for legal tender of any nation, rare and 
antique coins and coins traded according to value as a precious metal.  The exemption is limited 
to transactions in which the total value of the sale is less than $1,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(45) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exemption includes sales of $1,000 or more of items traded or sold 
according to their value as precious metals such as rare coins of numismatic value, gold or silver 
bullion or coins, and gold or silver tender of any nation. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(ll) 
 
Vermont:  Coins and other numismatic items when purchased as a medium of exchange are not 
considered tangible personal property and are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Code of Vt. Rules § 1.9701-1(B)(3) 
 

18. Commercial Fishing Vessels in Excess of Five Net Tons: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(26) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1976 / 2002 
 
Description:  The sales of vessels and other watercraft of more than five net tons, if used 
exclusively for commercial fishing, are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-18.  The exemption also applies to fishing equipment used in connection with 
the commercial fishing done by the vessel as well as material for the maintenance and/or repair of 
the vessels. 
 
Data Source:  Annual estimates of number of boats, Annual vessel permit data listed by home port, 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Greater Atlantic Region.  Pricing data 
obtained from an online marine broker where boat weight was available.  The average price per 
weight class was calculated for boats weighing between 5 and 18 tons, 18 to 30 tons, 30 to 49 tons 
and boats weighing over 50 tons.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the average price 
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calculated by the number of boats in that weight class with a home port listed as Rhode Island then 
multiplying by the sales and use tax rate of 7.0 percent.  Number of taxpayers are the number of 
vessel permits found in that year.  Estimate is for the sale of vessels only and does not include 
additional revenue forgone for fishing equipment used in connection with the commercial fishing 
done by the vessel or materials for the maintenance and/or repair of the vessels.  For FY 2018, no 
estimate is possible due to lack of available permit data. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $221,175 28 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $111,282 15 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $263,170 26 
 
Projection Methodology:  The projected revenue forgone for FY 2020 and FY 2021 as well as the 
projected number of taxpayers is determined by the average of the revenue forgone from FY 2016, 
FY 2017 and FY 2019.   
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $198,542 20 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $198,542 20 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Commercial fishing vessels and machinery or equipment for use thereon are exempt.  
A “commercial fishing vessel” includes any vessel with a certificate of documentation issued by 
the United States Coast Guard for coastwise fishery. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(40) 
 
Maine:  Maine does not include an exemption but does provide a refund.  A refund and an 
alternative exemption card procedure exists for certain depreciable machinery and equipment used 
in commercial fishing.  This includes new or used watercraft, nets, traps, cables, tackle and related 
equipment necessary to and used directly and primarily in the operation of a commercial fishing 
venture. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2013 and Code Me. R. § 323  
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include exemption for sales of vessels used directly 
and exclusively in commercial fishing, machinery and equipment and replacement parts thereof. 
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Also vessels used exclusively to provide scheduled commuter passenger service, repair and 
replacement parts thereof are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(o) & 6(pp) 
 
Vermont:  Ferryboats, including depreciable parts, machinery, and equipment to be installed as a 
capital asset in such ferryboat for use primarily in the carriage of persons or property for 
compensation or hire are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(31) 
 

19. Commercial Vessels of 50 Tons Burden or More: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(25) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1976 / N/A 
 
Description:  Sales made to commercial ships, barges, or other vessels of 50 tons burden or more 
primarily engaged in interstate or foreign commerce are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  Provisions, supplies and material purchased for maintenance 
and repair of such commercial vessels are also exempt. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
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Maine:  Sales of cabin, deck, engine supplies, and bunkering oil to ships engaged in transporting 
cargo or passengers for hire in interstate or foreign commerce are exempt from the sales and use 
tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(4) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of barges or vessels of 50 tons burden or over are exempt from tax when 
constructed in the Commonwealth and sold by their builders.  Also exempt are sales of fuel or fuel 
substitutes for those vessels engaged in interstate or foreign commerce or used directly and 
exclusively in commercial fishing along with the machinery and equipment used for those vessels, 
and replacement parts for the vessels, machinery, and equipment. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(o) 
 

20. Compressed Air: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(33) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, consumption or other use of compressed air is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.   
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found in the other New England states. 
 

21. Containers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(4) / Rhode Island Public Laws 
2018, Chapter 47, Article 4, Section 10 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Year Amended:  1947 / 2018 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of non-returnable containers, including 
boxes, paper bags, and wrapping materials which are biodegradable and all bags and wrapping 
materials utilized in the medical and healing arts, when sold without the contents to people who 
place the contents in the container and sell the contents with the container are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  Returnable containers are also exempt 
when sold with the contents in connection with the retail sale of the contents.  Returnable 
containers are also exempt when sold for refilling.  Effective July 1, 2018, kegs and barrel 
containers, returnable and non-returnable, that are sold to alcoholic beverage producers who place 
the alcoholic beverages in the containers are exempt from sales and use tax. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $10,361,665 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $10,690,623 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $11,113,622 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $11,597,888 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $12,002,992 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions are similar to Rhode Island’s and include an exemption for 
returnable dairy product containers when sold without the contents. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(14) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include returnable containers sold with the contents or resold for 
refilling.  A further part of the provisions covers packaging materials when sold for packing or 
shipping tangible personalty or for packing or shipping tangible personalty sold by the purchaser 
of the packaging materials. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(12) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exempts most containers.  They include sales of empty returnable 
and non-returnable containers to be filled and resold, containers the contents of which are exempt 
from the sales tax, and returnable containers when sold with the contents or resold for refilling. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(q) 
 
Vermont:  Materials, containers, labels, sacks, cans, boxes, drums or bags and other packing, 
packaging or shipping materials for use in packing, packaging or shipping tangible personalty by 
a manufacturer or distributor are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(16) 
 

22. Deed, Instrument or Writing where Grantor is U.S. Government or State of Rhode Island: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-25-2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1968 / 2000 
 
Description:  Any deed, instrument, or writing where the United States, the State of Rhode Island 
or one the State’s political subdivisions are the grantor is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-25. 
 
Data Source:  All real estate transactions recorded in the state for FY 2018 and FY 2019 per the 
Warren Group.  The Office of Revenue Analysis eliminated all transactions except those involving 
the United States, the State and their political subdivisions.  Estimates used the sale price for each 
transaction and multiplied these transactions by 0.18%, the state’s share of the 0.46% real estate 
conveyance tax and then summed across all transactions. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $121,645 48 

2019 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $113,592 80 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2020 over FY 2019 growth rate in Rhode Island real 
estate transfer taxes adopted at the November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference to FY 2019 
revenue forgone to project FY 2020 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 
2021.  FY 2020 number of taxpayers is the average taxpayers from FY 2018 and FY 2019.  FY 
2021 projected number of taxpayers is set equal to FY 2020. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $126,528 64 

2021 Real Estate Conveyance Tax $130,983 64 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include exemption for those deeds for which Connecticut 
is prohibited from taxation under the United States Constitution or related laws. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-498 
 
Maine: Deeds to property transferred to or by the United States, the State of Maine or any of their 
instrumentalities, agencies or subdivisions are exempt from the special taxes imposed by section 
4641-A. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 4641-C(1) 
 

23. Diesel Emission Control Technology: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(62) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2010 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale and use of diesel retrofit technology that is required by Rhode Island General 
Laws Section 31-47.3-4 is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

24. Dietary Supplements: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(59) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of dietary supplements, as defined in 
Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-7.1(1)(v), sold on prescription are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  A dietary supplement is any product, 
other than tobacco, that contains one or more of the following: a vitamin; a mineral; an herb or 
other botanical; an amino acid; a dietary substance for use by humans that increases the total 
dietary intake; or a concentrate, metabolite, constituent, extract, or combination of any ingredient 
described in above. 
 
Data Source:  2016, 2017, and 2018 Supplemental Business Report, Nutrition Business Journal.  
Annual Estimates of Population for the United States and Rhode Island (2016 through 2018), 
United States Census Bureau.  Revenue forgone is based on the annual sales of dietary supplements 
by prescription in Rhode Island.  The U.S. sales of dietary supplements are scaled to Rhode Island 
using the ratio of Rhode Island’s population to the total U.S. population.  It is assumed that 25.0 
percent of Rhode Island sales of dietary supplements are by prescription.  Revenue forgone is 
determined by multiplying this amount by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to 
determine the number of taxpayers. 
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Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $2,292,554 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $2,403,969 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $2,528,988 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  $2,692,847 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $2,692,847 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $2,692,847 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions.  
 
Connecticut:  Beginning April 1, 2015, sales of dietary supplements including vitamins, minerals, 
herbs, amino acids, or dietary supplements intended to supplement the diet of a human or animal 
is exempt from Connecticut’s sales and use tax. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(120) 
 
Maine:  Medicines, tonics, vitamins and preparations in liquid, powdered, granular, tablet, lozenge 
or pill form, sold as dietary supplements or adjuncts, when sold on the prescription of a physician 
are exempt.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1730(3) and 1752(3-B) 
   

25. Distressed Essential Community Hospital: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 23-17.25-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2010 / N/A 
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Description:  For a period of 12 years, Landmark Medical Center (LMC) or any entity owned and 
controlled by LMC, or any successor-in-interest to LMC, shall not be required to pay or otherwise 
be financially responsible for any Rhode Island sales and use taxes that might otherwise be due in 
connection with any purchases, capital improvements, or any other activities conducted by LMC 
pursuant to the health facility licenses maintained by LMC. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property to and by profit and nonprofit charitable hospitals 
in the state are exempt.  Connecticut’s exemption includes nursing homes, rest homes and homes 
for the aged as well. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(5) 
 

26. Educational Institutions Rental Charges: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(18) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1967 / N/A 
 
Description:  The rent charged by any non-profit educational institution for living quarters, 
sleeping or housekeeping accommodations, or other rooms or accommodations to any student or 
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teacher necessitated by attendance at an educational institution is exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $8,353,659 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $8,936,917 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $9,290,527 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $9,695,353 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $10,034,003 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar sales and use tax provisions.  
Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont provide similar exemptions under the room 
occupancy excise, rooms, and rooms and meals taxes, respectively. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include the exemption of lodging accommodations at 
educational institutions. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(17) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include the exemption of rental charges for living quarters, sleeping 
or housekeeping accommodations to any student necessitated by attendance at a school as defined 
further by Maine statutes. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(19) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include the exemption of lodging accommodations, 
including dormitories, at religious, charitable, educational and philanthropic institutions; provided, 
however, that this exemption shall not apply to accommodations provided by any such institution 
at a hotel or motel operated by the institution. 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  247 

Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64G, § 2(b) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire excludes from the definition of occupancy, “[o]ccupancy at a 
facility or establishment owned or leased pursuant to a long-term agreement by an organization 
operated for educational purposes, which organization is exempt from federal income taxation 
under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, but only if occupancy at such facility or 
establishment is provided: (A) To students regularly attending the organization; (B) To employees, 
faculty members or administrative officials of the organization, but only if occupancy at such 
facility or establishment is provided in connection with responsibilities performed for the 
organization; (C) To volunteers providing services in connection with the organization; or (D) To 
any person, but only if occupancy at such facility or establishment is provided pursuant to an 
activity which is related to educational purposes and the sponsor of such activity is an organization 
exempt from federal income taxation under Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code or the 
federal or state government or an instrumentality thereof.  The exemption provided by this 
subparagraph (b)(2)(D) shall not apply if occupancy at the facility or establishment is offered to 
the general public on a regular and continuous basis without regard to an activity which is related 
to educational purposes.” 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-A:3, VI(b)(2) 
 
Vermont:  The rental charges for living quarters, sleeping, or household accommodations to 
students attending a school are not subject to the rooms tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9202(8)  
 

27. Electricity and Gas: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(21) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1972 / 2015 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of all electricity or gas, regardless of use, 
is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $70,155,339 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $73,531,199 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $76,440,632 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $79,771,463 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $82,557,809 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions exempt the sale, furnishing or service of gas, including 
bottled gas, and electricity, when delivered to consumers through mains, lines, pipes, or bottles for 
use in any residential dwelling or directly in agricultural production or in the fabrication of a 
finished product to be sold or an industrial manufacturing plant provided that not less than 75.0 
percent of the gas or electricity is used for the purpose of production, fabrication, or manufacturing.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(3) 
 
Maine:  Maine exempts coal, oil, wood, and all other fuels, including gas and the first 750 kilowatt 
hours of residential electricity per month, when purchased for cooking and heating in buildings 
designed and used for both human habitation and sleeping.  Maine also exempts 95.0 percent of 
the sale price of all fuel and electricity purchased for use at a manufacturing facility. Effective 
January 1, 2017, fuel purchased for use in commercial agriculture, commercial fishing or 
commercial wood harvesting is eligible for refund.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(9)(B), 1760(9)(C), 1760(9)(D), and 2013(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exempts the sales, furnishing or service of water, gas, steam, or 
electricity used for residential purposes as well as gas, steam, or electricity which are consumed 
and used directly in an industrial plant in the actual manufacture of tangible personal property at 
which at least 75.0 percent of fuel consumed is used for purpose of such manufacturing or heating.  
Massachusetts also exempts sales of gas, steam, electricity, and heating fuel used by any business 
that has 5 or fewer employees and had gross income of less than $1.0 million for the preceding 
calendar year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(i) and 6(qq) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts sales of electricity, oil, gas, and other fuels used in a residence for all 
domestic use, including heating.  Sales of electricity, oil, gas, and other fuels used directly and 
exclusively for farming purposes are also exempt as well as those fuels used directly or indirectly 
in manufacturing processes. 
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Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(26), 9741(27), and 9741(34) 
 

28. Electricity, Steam and Thermal Energy from Rhode Island Economic Development 
Corporation (now the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation): 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-40.1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1995 / N/A 
 
Description:  The gross receipts from the sale, storage, use or other consumption of electricity, 
steam and thermal energy that is produced, transmitted, and/or sold by the Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Quonset Development Corporation 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of exemption and number of taxpayers are held constant.   
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $0 0 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

29. Equipment for Research and Development: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(42) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / 1996  
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Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of equipment that is used for research 
and development purposes by a qualifying company is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  A qualifying company is a business “for which the use of 
research and development equipment is an integral part of its operation.”  Equipment means 
“scientific equipment, computers, software and related items.” 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $5,035,870 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $5,278,597 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $5,487,458 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $5,726,568 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $5,926,592 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Property used in research and development can qualify for the exemptions given to 
manufacturing materials.  Research and development services are not among the list of taxable 
services and, therefore, are not subject to tax. Also, a sales and use tax exemption for the sale of 
and the storage, use or other consumption of machinery, equipment, tools, materials, supplies and 
fuel used directly in the biotechnology industry is available.  “Biotechnology” means the 
application of technologies, such as recombinant DNA techniques, and new bioprocesses, using 
living organisms, or parts of organisms, to produce or modify products, to improve plants or 
animals, to identify targets for small molecule pharmaceutical development, to transform 
biological systems into useful processes and products or to develop microorganisms for specific 
uses. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-407(a)(37) and 12-412(89) 
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Maine:  Maine’s exemption provisions include sales of machinery and equipment for the use by 
the purchaser directly and exclusively in research and development in the experimental and 
laboratory sense and primarily biotechnology applications. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(32) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of materials, tools, and fuels, in addition to machinery or replacement parts 
thereof, used in research and development by a manufacturing corporation or a research and 
development corporation are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(r) and 6(s) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions exempt sales of tangible personal property purchased for use or 
consumption directly and exclusively, except for isolated or occasional uses, in commercial 
industrial or agricultural research and development. 
 
Vermont’s Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(24) 
 

30. Estates of Persons Declared Missing in Action by U.S. Armed Forces: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-22-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1977 / 1990 
 
Description:  The estate of a serviceman or servicewoman who has been classified by the armed 
forces of the United States as missing in action is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-22. 
 
Data Source:  Estate Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1  
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Estate and Transfer Tax $0 0 

2017 Estate and Transfer Tax $0 0 

2018 Estate and Transfer Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected revenue forgone for FY 2019 through FY 2021 is held 
constant with FY 2018.  The number of taxpayers for FY 2019 through FY 2021 is also held 
constant with FY 2018. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Estate Tax $0 0 

2020 Estate Tax  $0 0 

2021 Estate Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

31. Farm Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(32) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / 2004  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of machinery and equipment, including 
replacement parts, and tools and supplies used in the repair and maintenance of farming equipment, 
used directly for commercial farming and agricultural production is exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  “Commercial farming” is defined as the keeping 
or boarding of five or more horses or the production within this state of agricultural products, 
including, but not limited to, field or orchard crops, livestock, dairy, and poultry, or their products, 
where the keeping, boarding, or production provides at least $2,500 in annual gross sales to the 
operator. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $921,600 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $935,400 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $972,411 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $1,014,783 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $1,050,229 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include any items sold exclusively for use in agricultural 
production by a farmer engaged in such production as a business as evidenced by the Farmer’s 
Tax Exemption Permit issued by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(63) 
 
Maine:  Maine does not include an exemption but does provide a refund as follows: A refund and 
an alternative exemption card procedure exist for certain depreciable machinery and equipment 
used in commercial agricultural production, commercial fishing, or commercial aquacultural 
production. The refund procedure is also applicable to purchases of electricity used for such 
purposes.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit. 36, § 2013 and Code Me. R. §323  
  
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include sales of machinery or replacement parts used 
directly and exclusively in agricultural production.  Farmers (including persons who raise poultry 
and livestock) and fishermen pay no tax on materials, tools, and fuel they buy that is used or 
consumed directly and exclusively in agricultural production and commercial fishing. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(r), 6(s) and 6(p) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of agricultural machinery and equipment used predominately to produce or grow 
tangible personalty for sale at farms (including stock, dairy, poultry, fruit, and truck farms) 
orchards, nurseries, or in greenhouses or other similar structures used primarily for the raising of 
agricultural or horticultural items for sale are exempt from sales and use tax.  Predominately means 
75 percent of the time it is in use.  Vermont also includes items used in the production on farms of 
tangible personal property.  This applies to a specific list of items including feed, seed, plants, 
baler twine, silage bags, sheets of plastic for bunker covers or agricultural wrap, and breeding of 
other livestock.  They also include pesticides, chemicals and fertilizers as well as compost, animal 
manure, and planting mix but only when used for agriculture. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9741(25), 9741(3), and 9741(50) 
 

32. Farm Structure Construction Materials: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(44) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1988 / N/A 
 
Description:  Lumber, hardware, and other materials used in the new construction of farm 
structures including production facilities and any other structures used in connection with 
commercial farming are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $239,352 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $249,376 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $259,243 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $270,540 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $279,989 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Any materials for the construction, repair or maintenance of an animal waste storage 
facility are exempt. An “animal waste storage facility” means a structure or pit constructed and 
used solely for storing manure, animal bedding waste or other wastes generated by animal 
production. For a facility to be eligible for this exemption, the Commissioner of Agriculture, Food 
and Rural Resources must certify that a nutrient management plan has been prepared in accordance 
with Title 7, Section 4204 for the farm utilizing that animal waste storage facility. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(81) 
 

33. Feed for Certain Animals Used in Commercial Farming: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(63) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description:  The feed for “livestock and poultry of the kinds of products of which ordinarily 
constitute food for human consumption and of livestock of the kind the products of which 
ordinarily constitute fibers for human use” is exempted from the sales and use tax.   
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $558,439 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $564,731 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $587,076 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $612,657 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $634,057 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include any items sold exclusively for use in agricultural 
production by a farmer engaged in such production as a business as evidenced by the Farmer’s 
Tax Exemption Permit issued by the Connecticut Department of Revenue Services. This includes 
the raising, feeding, caring for, shearing, training or management of livestock including horses, 
bees, poultry, fur-bearing animals or wildlife. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(63) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include sales of organic bedding materials for farm animals and hay.  
It also includes seed, fertilizers, defoliants, and pesticides for use in the commercial production of 
an agricultural or silvicultural crop as well as sales of breeding stock, semen, embryos, feed, 
hormones, antibiotics, medicine, pesticides, and litter for use in animal agricultural production.  
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Maine’s provisions include sales of tree seedlings for use in commercial forestry.  It finally 
includes sales of feed, hormones pesticides, antibiotics and medicine for use in aquacultural 
production and sales of bait to commercial fisherman. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(7), 1760(73) and 1760(78) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts exempts from sales tax the “sales of feed, including the bags in 
which the feed is customarily contained, for livestock and poultry of a kind which ordinarily 
constitute food for human consumption or are to be sold in the regular course of business or for 
animals produced for research, testing, or other purposes relating to the promotion or maintenance 
of the health, safety or well-being of human beings or animals or for fur-bearing animals, the pelts 
of which are sold in the regular course of business.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(p)(2)  
 
Vermont:  “Agriculture feeds, seed, plants, baler twine, silage bags, agricultural wrap, sheets of 
plastic for bunker covers, liming materials, breeding and other livestock, semen breeding fees, 
baby chicks, turkey poults, agriculture chemicals other than pesticides, veterinary supplies, and 
bedding; and fertilizers and pesticides for use and consumption directly in the production for sale 
of tangible personal property on farms, including stock, dairy, poultry, fruit and truck farms, 
orchards, nurseries, or in greenhouses or other similar structures used primarily for the raising of 
agricultural or horticultural commodities for sale” are exempt for the sales and use tax in Vermont. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(3) 
 

34. Feminine Hygiene Products: 
 

Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(66) / Rhode Island Public 
Laws 2019, Chapter 88, Article 5, Section 9 
 
Stated Purpose:  No explicit purpose provided in the statute. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2019 / N/A 
 
Description:  Beginning October 1, 2019, the sale, storage, use, or other consumption of tampons, 
panty liners, menstrual cups, sanitary napkins, and similar products for which the principal use is 
feminine hygiene in connection with the menstrual cycle are exempt from the sales and use tax.  
 
Data Source: Fiscal Note 2019-S-0049 Rhode Island Office of Management and Budget. 
 
Projection Methodology: Fiscal Note 2019-S-0049 Rhode Island Office of Management and 
Budget.  The exemption does not go into effect until part way into FY 2020.  Applied the FY 2021 
over FY 2020 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use tax revenues to FY 2020 full-year revenue 
forgone to project FY 2021 revenue forgone.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible 
due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $0 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $611,994 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $836,318 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  The sale of and the storage, use or other consumption of feminine hygiene products 
is exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(23) 
 
Massachusetts:  Health care items, including tampons, sanitary napkins and belts are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(l)  

 
35. First 50,000 Gallons of Distilled Spirits of a Distiller in Continuous Operation for 12 

Months: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 3-10-1(d) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2016 / NA 
 
Description:  Beginning July 1, 2016, the first 50,000 gallons of distilled spirits produced and 
distributed in the State in any calendar year is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 3-10-1(a), provided that the distiller has actively and directly owned, 
managed and operated a distillery in the State for at least 12 consecutive months.   
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. Based on gallonage filings 
with the Excise Tax Section. ORA took the estimate for the number of gallons distributed in Rhode 
Island for TY 2018 and multiplied by the per gallonage excise tax rate of $5.40.  Distillers were 
not required to file annual gallonage reports until May 2019. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible 2 

2017 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible 2 

2018 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $75,600 2 
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Projection Methodology:  CY 2019 through CY 2021 assumes no additional growth. CY 2019 
number of taxpayers from Department of Business Regulation, Division of Commercial Licensing 
and Regulation public data as of December 2019.  Number of taxpayers held constant with CY 
2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $75,600 4 

2020 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $75,600 4 

2021 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $75,600 4 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

36. First 100,000 Barrels of Beer of a Brewer in Continuous Operation for 12 Months: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 3-10-1(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1933 / 2013 
 
Description:  The first 100,000 barrels of beer produced and distributed in the State in any calendar 
year is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 3-10-1(a), provided 
that the brewer has actively and directly owned, managed and operated a brewery in the State for 
at least 12 consecutive months.  A barrel of beer is defined as 31 gallons. 
 
Data Source:  Data for FY 2017 and FY 2018 is from the Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island 
Division of Taxation.  The Excise Tax Section reports that a brewer is not required to file barrels 
of beer brewed until they brew more than 100,000 barrels.  The revenue forgone estimates are 
determined by taking reported gallons sold in Rhode Island only and calculating barrels sold in 
Rhode Island (31 gallons per barrel) multiplied by the tax rate of $3.30 per barrel.  Revenue 
forgone does not include estimates from smaller brewers and brewpubs who have not filed with 
the Division of Taxation.  The Division of Taxation did not begin collecting this reportable data 
until FY 2017.  Number of taxpayers is from the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation 
(DBR). 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible 16 

2017 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $29,543 28 

2018 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $43,434 34 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2019 through FY 2021 is the average of revenue forgone from FYs 
2017 – 2018.  Number of taxpayers for FY 2019 is what is currently available on DBR’s website.  
Number of taxpayers for FY 2020 and 2021 is held constant with FY 2019. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $36,489 33 

2020 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $36,489 33 

2021 Alcoholic Beverage Tax $36,489 33 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

37. Flags: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(34) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
  
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / 1992 
  
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of United States, Rhode Island, or POW-
MIA flags is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Flag Manufacturers Association of America.  Annual Estimates of Population for 
the United States (2016 through 2018), United States Census Bureau.  Revenue forgone is based 
on the annual sales of U.S. flags in Rhode Island.  Nationally, the sale of U.S. flags is consistent 
year to year; therefore, no growth in U.S. sales is estimated.  U.S. sales are scaled for Rhode Island 
using the ratio of Rhode Island’s population to the total U.S. population.  Revenue forgone is 
determined by multiplying this amount by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to 
determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $34,328 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $34,117 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $33,933 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2019, FY 2020, and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  No 
projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $33,933 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $33,933 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $33,933 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Flags of the United States and the State of Connecticut are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(23) 
 
Massachusetts:  Flags of the United States are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(w) 
 
Vermont:  Flags of the United States sold to and by veterans’ organizations, which are exempted 
under Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(19), are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(33) 
 

38. Food and Food Ingredients: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(9) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended: 1948 / 2006  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of all food and food ingredients sold for 
ingestion or chewing by humans for their taste or nutritional value are exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  For the purposes of this chapter, “food and food 
ingredients” does not include candy, soft drinks, dietary supplements, alcoholic beverages, 
tobacco, food sold through vending machines or prepared foods generally. 
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Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  The exemption amount for food items paid for under the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP), Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(39), as determined 
from information provided by the Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS), was 
subtracted from this estimate.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of 
taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index: 3 (Figures below include any amounts attributable to the “Seeds and Plants used 
for Food and Food Ingredients” exemption). 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $163,324,676 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $170,724,311 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $177,479,417 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $185,212,920 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $191,682,242 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Specific food groupings that are similar to those of Rhode Island are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(13) 
 
Maine:  Sale of grocery staples and certain meals are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(3) and 1752(3-B) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of food products for human consumption which includes cereals and cereal 
products, flour and flour products, milk and milk products, including ice cream, oleomargarine, 
meat and meat products, fish and fish products, eggs and egg products, vegetables and vegetable 
products, fruit and fruit products, soft drinks, herbs, spices and salt, sugar and sugar products, 
candy and confectionery; coffee and coffee substitutes, tea, cocoa and cocoa products; and ice 
when used for household consumption are exempt. 
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Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(h) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of food and food ingredients sold for human consumption off the premises where 
sold, as well as eligible foods purchased with food stamps are exempt.  Vermont’s exemption does 
not include soft drinks except when purchased through the SNAP program. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(13) 
 

39. Food Items Paid for by Food Stamps: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(39) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1986 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of eligible food items, which are 
properly paid for with U.S. government food stamps issued in accordance with the Food Stamp 
Act of 1977, 7 U.S.C. § 2011 et seq., are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:   Revenue forgone is based on Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
benefits information supplied by the Department of Administration’s Office of Management and 
Budget. An assumed leakage factor of 10.0 percent was applied for out-of-state use.  The balance 
is then multiplied by 7.0 percent.  Number of taxpayers represents the average number of SNAP 
recipients during each fiscal year.  
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

FY 2016 Sales and Use Tax $17,413,518 172,162 

FY 2017 Sales and Use Tax $17,147,896 167,529 

FY 2018 Sales and Use Tax  $16,571,266 158,924 

FY 2019 Sales and Use Tax $13,263,847 154,944 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 projected revenue forgone is held constant at FY 
2019 values because projected data is no longer calculated by DHS. No projection of the number 
of taxpayers is possible due to lack of reliable data.    
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $13,263,847 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $13,263,847 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Sales of any items purchased with SNAP benefits are exempt from the Connecticut 
sales and use tax. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(57) 
 
Maine:  Sales of items purchased with food instruments distributed by the Department of Health 
and Human Services pursuant to SNAP or the Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Special 
Supplemental Food Program are exempt from the sales and use tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(54) 
 
Massachusetts:  Tangible personal property purchased with federal food stamps and not otherwise 
exempt under this Chapter is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(kk) 
 
Vermont:  Sales of food and food ingredients sold for human consumption off the premises where 
sold, and sales of eligible foods that are purchased with benefits under SNAP are exempt including 
a limited list of restaurant meals. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9202(10)(D)(ii)(X) and 9741(13) 
 

40. Gasoline: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(6) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1996 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of gasoline and other products taxed 
under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-36 and aviation fuel are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Self-Serve Unleaded 
Gasoline and Diesel Prices, Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER). OER stopped 
collecting gasoline and diesel price data as of April 15, 2019. New England prices, as reported by 
the U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA), were used for missing values.  Revenue 
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forgone is based on taxable sales of motor fuel, gasoline and diesel in Rhode Island.  The Office 
of Revenue Analysis calculated Rhode Island taxable sales by multiplying the annual taxable 
gallons of gasoline and diesel by the average monthly price per gallon, including state and federal 
taxes, of self-serve unleaded gasoline and low sulfur diesel fuels.  Revenue forgone is determined 
by multiplying this figure by 7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the 
number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $70,475,348 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $70,902,147 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $82,841,492 No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $84,094,463 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  No projection of 
the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $84,094,463 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $84,094,463 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of motor fuel is exempt.  Dyed diesel 
sold to marine fuel docks for marine purposes is exempt from the motor vehicle fuels tax but is 
subject to sales and tax as of July 1, 2018.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(15) 
 
Maine:  Certain motor fuels upon which a tax at the maximum rate for highway use has been paid 
is exempt from sales and use tax. Internal combustion engine fuel bought and used for the purpose 
of propelling jet engine aircraft is also exempt. Effective January 1, 2017, fuel purchased for use 
in commercial agriculture, commercial fishing or commercial wood harvesting is eligible for 
refund. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(8)(A), 1760(8)(B), and 2013(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Gasoline and special motor carrier fuels that are subject to the provisions of 
Chapter 64A (Taxation of Sales of Gasoline), 64E (Taxation of Special Fuels in the Propulsion of 
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Motor Vehicles), or 64F (Taxation of Fuel and Special Fuels Acquired Outside and Used within 
the Commonwealth) of the Massachusetts General Laws are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(g) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions are similar to those of Rhode Island except that jet fuel is taxable 
for sales and use tax purposes. Beginning July 1, 2017, this exemption includes dyed diesel used 
to power forestry machinery or to propel a vehicle off the highways of the State.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(7)(A) 
 

41. Heating Fuels: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(20) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1972 / 2015 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of every type of heating fuel, regardless 
of use is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Annual Energy Outlook, Independent Statistics and Analysis, U.S. Energy 
Information Administration; U.S. Department of Energy.  Revenue forgone is based on energy 
consumption and price in Rhode Island.  Office of Revenue Analysis calculated Rhode Island sales 
of residential distillate fuel oil and propane for FY 2016 by multiplying total New England British 
Thermal Units (btus) of distillate fuel oil and propane consumed by the average yearly price per 
btu of home heating source.  Revenue forgone is determined by scaling this figure to Rhode Island 
and multiplying by 7.0 percent.  For FY 2017, FY 2018, and FY 2019, Rhode Island sales of 
distillate fuel oil and propane included residential as well as commercial consumption of New 
England btus of distillate fuel oil and propane consumed.  Revenue forgone is determined by 
multiplying New England btus by the average yearly price per btu, scaling the figure to Rhode 
Island by Rhode Island’s percent of New England’s residential btus and multiplying by 7.0 percent.  
No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $17,342,019 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $17,693,959 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $23,431,275 No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $24,244,467 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.   No projection of 
the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $24,244,467 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $24,244,467 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  All fuels used for heating purposes for residential use are exempt or any building or 
premise used directly in agricultural production or in the fabrication of a finished product to be 
sold or an industrial manufacturing plant provided that not less than 75.0 percent of the gas or 
electricity is used for the purpose of production, fabrication, or manufacturing. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(16) 
 
Maine:  Coal, oil, wood and all other fuels, except gas and electricity, when bought for cooking 
and heating in buildings designed and used for both human habitation and sleeping are exempt.  
Ninety-five (95) percent of the sale price of all fuel and electricity purchased for use at a 
manufacturing facility is exempt.  Beginning January 1, 2016, 95.0 percent of the sale price of fuel 
purchased for use in certain greenhouse facilities is exempt from Maine sales tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(9) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sales of fuel used for residential heating purposes are exempt, as well as fuel 
used for heating purposes in an industrial plant where not less than 75.0 percent is used in the 
actual manufacture of tangible personal property to be sold.  Massachusetts also exempts heating 
fuels used by any business that has 5 or fewer employees and had gross income of less than $1.0 
million for the preceding calendar year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(j) and 6(qq) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts sales of electricity, oil, gas, and other fuels used in a residence for all 
domestic use, including heating.  Sales of electricity, oil, gas, and other fuels used directly and 
exclusively for farming purposes are also exempt as well as those fuels used directly or indirectly 
in manufacturing. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(26), 9741(27), and 9741(34) 
 

42. Horse Food Products: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(53) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2000 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of horse food products purchased by a 
person engaged in the business of boarding horses is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  This estimate 
was scaled to horses by multiplying the estimate by the ratio of “total horses and ponies on Rhode 
Island farms” to the “total number of livestock on Rhode Island farms” derived from the United 
States Department of Agriculture, 2016 State Agriculture Overview.  The calculated percentage 
was 6.0923 percent. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $30,116 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $30,669 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $31,882 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $33,272 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $34,434 No estimate possible 
 
Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s exemption for “agricultural production,” includes the raising, feeding, 
caring for, shearing, training, or management of livestock, including horses. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(63)(C) 
 
Maine:  Sales of breeding stock, semen, embryos, feed, hormones, antibiotics, medicine, 
pesticides, and litter for use in animal agricultural production and sales of antiseptics and cleaning 
agents used in commercial animal agricultural production. Animal agricultural production includes 
the raising and keeping of equines. 
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(7-C) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of feed, including the bags in which the feed is customarily contained for 
livestock and poultry of a kind, which ordinarily constitute food for human consumption or are to 
be sold in the regular course of business are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(p) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts agricultural feeds broadly. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(3) 
 

43. Human Blood: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(60) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage, or other consumption of human blood is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  The 2015 and 2017 National Blood Collection and Utilization Survey Report 
(conducted by the American Association of Blood Banks), United States Department of Health 
and Human Services.  Annual Estimates of Population for the United States (2016, 2017, and 
2018), United States Census Bureau.  Revenue forgone is based on the sale of whole blood and 
red blood cell units to hospitals located in Rhode Island.  The total value of units of blood collected 
in the U.S. is scaled for Rhode Island using the ratio of Rhode Island’s population to the total U.S. 
population.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this amount by 7.0 percent.  No reliable 
data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $576,802 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $556,428 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $542,186 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  The FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island sales and use 
tax revenues was applied to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 2019 revenue forgone. FY 
2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is 
possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  $577,315 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $577,315 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $577,315 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Blood or blood plasma, when sold for medical use in humans or animals, is exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(19) 
 
Massachusetts:  Medical items, including blood and blood plasma, are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(l) 
 
Vermont:  Blood or blood plasma used in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering or to 
correct, in whole or in part, human physical disabilities is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(2) 
 

44. Installation Labor Charges When Separately Stated: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-12(b)(ii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 2006  
 
Description:  The amount charged for labor or services rendered in installing or applying the 
property sold is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 
provided that the charges for such labor or services rendered are separately stated by the retailer 
to the purchaser. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.   
 
Reliability Index: 3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $36,249,200 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $38,070,500 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected           

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $39,576,848 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $41,301,373 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $42,743,993 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Charges for labor rendered in installing or applying the property sold, provided such 
charge is separately stated, are exempt. Not included are services to industrial, commercial, or 
income-producing real property, including, but not limited to, such services as management, 
electrical, plumbing, painting and carpentry, provided income-producing property does not include 
property used exclusively for residential purposes in which the owner resides and which contains 
no more than three dwelling units. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(8)(B) 
 
Maine:  The price received for labor or services used in installing or applying or repairing the 
property sold or fabricated, if separately charged or stated, is excluded from the taxable sales price. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(14)(B) 
 
Massachusetts:  The amount charged for labor or services rendered in installing or applying the 
property sold is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 1 
 
Vermont: Installation charges, if the charges are separately stated on the invoice, bill of sale, or 
similar document given to the purchaser, are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9701(4)(B)(iv) 
 

45. Jewelry Display Product: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(47) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1993 / N/A 
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Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of tangible personal property used to 
display any jewelry product is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18 as long as the title to the jewelry display product is transferred by the jewelry 
manufacturer or seller and the jewelry display product is shipped out of state for use solely outside 
the state and is not returned to the manufacturer or seller.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

46. Lottery Prizes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-61-17  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1974 / 1989 
 
Description:  The prizes received pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-61 are 
exempt from the state sales or use tax.  Prizes are still subject to any taxes applicable to Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

47. Manufacturers’ Machinery and Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(22) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1974 / 1998 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of tools, dies, and molds, and machinery 
and equipment, including replacement parts, and related items to the extent used in connection 
with the actual manufacture, conversion, or processing of tangible personal property or computer 
software whether or not it is to be sold or that machinery and equipment used in the furnishing of 
power to an individual manufacturing plant is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18.  Machinery and equipment used in administration or distribution 
operations is not exempt. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $38,810,300 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $39,220,200 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected           

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $40,772,039 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $42,548,643 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $44,034,829 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Machinery used directly in a manufacturing production process is exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(34) 
 
Maine:  Machinery and equipment for use by the purchaser directly and primarily in either the 
production of tangible personal property intended to be sold or leased ultimately for final use or 
consumption or in the production of tangible personal property is exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(31) 
  
Massachusetts:  Machinery or its replacement parts, that is used directly and exclusively in an 
industrial plant in the actual manufacture of tangible personal property that is to be sold is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(s) 
 
Vermont:  Machinery and equipment for use or consumption directly and exclusively except for 
isolated or occasional uses in the manufacture of tangible personal property for sale or in the 
manufacture of other machinery or equipment, parts or supplies for use in the manufacturing 
process is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(14) 
 

48. Medicines, Drugs and Durable Medical Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(10) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1948 / 2011  
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Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of drugs sold on prescription, medical 
oxygen, insulin whether it is sold on prescription or not, durable medical equipment for home use 
only, and supplies and related ancillary dressings used to dispense or administer prescription drugs 
are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.   
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $120,478,638 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $128,246,521 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $133,320,894 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $139,130,230 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $143,989,924 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Oxygen, blood plasma, prostheses, walkers and wheel chairs, prescription 
medicines, and syringes are exempt.  Effective April 1, 2015, over-the-counter drugs and 
medicines are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(4), 12-412(19), and 12-412(120) 
 
Maine:  Sales of medicines for human beings sold by prescription are exempt from Maine sales 
tax.  Sales of over-the-counter drugs and medical marijuana are not exempt from Maine sales tax. 
All equipment and supplies, whether medical or otherwise, used in the diagnosis or treatment of 
human diabetes is exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(5) and 1760(33) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of medicine, insulin needles and insulin syringes on prescriptions of 
registered physicians and…sales of artificial devices individually designed, constructed or altered 
solely for the use of a particular crippled person so as to become a brace, support, supplement, 
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correction or substitute for the bodily structure including the extremities of the individual; sales of 
artificial limbs, artificial eyes, hearing aids and other equipment worn as a correction or substitute 
for any functioning portion of the body; sales of artificial teeth by a dentist and the materials used 
by a dentist in dental treatment; sales of eyeglasses, when especially designed or prescribed by an 
ophthalmologist, oculist or optometrist for the personal use of the owner or purchaser; sales of 
crutches and wheel chairs for the use of invalids and crippled persons; and sales of baby oil; and 
the rental, sales and repairs of kidney dialysis machines, enteral and parenteral feedings, and 
feeding devices, suction machines, physician-prescribed, medically necessary breast pumps, 
oxygen concentrators, oxygen regulators, oxygen humidifiers, oxygen masks, oxygen cannulas, 
ultrasonic nebulizers, life sustaining resuscitators, incubators, heart pacemakers, canes, all types 
of hospital beds for home use, tripod quad canes, breast prosthesis, alternating pressure pad units 
and patient lifts, when prescribed by a physician.  All medical implements, pads, pouches, and 
solutions which are used as a result of a person undergoing a colostomy or ileostomy. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(l) and 6(z) 
 
Vermont:  Drugs intended for human use, durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing 
equipment, and prosthetic devices and supplies, including blood, blood plasma, insulin, and 
medical oxygen, used in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering or to correct, in whole or 
in part, human physical disabilities are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(2) 
 

49. Mobile and Manufactured Homes Generally: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(50) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, use, storage or other consumption of mobile and / or manufactured homes 
that are subject to tax under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 31-44 are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is calculated from mobile 
home conveyance tax receipts.  The Office of Revenue Analysis used the current mobile home 
conveyance tax rate of $1.40 for each $500 or fractional part thereof which is paid for the purchase 
of the home to estimate gross sales.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this figure by 
7.0 percent.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $257,525 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $326,100 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $342,500 No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $337,650 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  No projection of 
the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $337,650  No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax  $337,650  No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include that the sale of a new modular or prefabricated 
home, from a manufacturer shall be subject to sales and use taxes except that the sales price of a 
new mobile manufactured home or new modular or prefabricated home shall be deemed to be 70.0 
percent of the manufacturer’s sales price applicable with respect to such sale. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412c 
 
Maine:  Sales of new manufactured housing to the extent of all costs other than materials that is 
included in the sale price are exempt up to a maximum of 50.0 percent of the sale price.  Sales of 
used manufactured houses are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(40) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include exclusion for 40.0 percent of the receipts from the sale 
of mobile homes and modular housing when they are sold as tangible personal property. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(32) 
 

50. Motor Vehicle and Adaptive Equipment for Amputee Veterans: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(35) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / 1989 
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Description:  The sale of a motor vehicle and adaptive equipment to and for the use of a veteran 
with a service-connected loss of or loss of use of a leg, foot, hand or arm or any veteran who is a 
double amputee, whether service-connected or not is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue from 
this exemption is included in the “Motor Vehicles and Adaptive Equipment for Persons with 
Disabilities” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2017 Sales and Use Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  * * 

2020 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2021 Sales and Use Tax * * 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Sales of motor vehicles to amputee veterans who have been granted free registration of 
such vehicles by the Secretary of State are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(22) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of motor vehicles purchased by or for the use of a veteran who has been 
determined to be permanently disabled by the medical advisory board and has been issued a 
disabled veteran number plate are exempt. The exemption applies only to a single motor vehicle 
that must be purchased by and registered for the personal, noncommercial use of the disabled 
veteran. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(u) 
 

51. Motor Vehicles and Adaptive Equipment for Persons with Disabilities: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(19) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1969 / 2000 
 
Description:  The sale of special adaptations, the component parts of special adaptations, or a 
specially adapted motor vehicle is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18 provided that the owner supplies the tax administrator with an affidavit of a licensed 
physician indicating that the specially adapted motor vehicle is necessary to transport a disabled 
family member including the owner. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Motor Vehicles, Rhode Island Department of Revenue.  Data pulled 
from a new system implemented at the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles which began use 
in July 2017. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $3,561 20 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $2,826 13 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional growth.  Number of 
taxpayers is held constant with FY 2019. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $2,826 13 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $2,826 13 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.  
 
Connecticut:  Sales and the storage, use or other consumption of special equipment installed in a 
motor vehicle for the exclusive use of a person with physical disabilities and repair or replacement 
parts for such equipment, whether such repair or replacement parts are purchased separately or in 
conjunction with such equipment, and whether such parts continue the original function or enhance 
the functionality of such equipment are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(80) 
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Maine:  A person with a disability is granted a sales tax exemption for adaptive equipment for 
installation in or on a motor vehicle to make that vehicle operable or accessible by a person with 
a disability who is issued a disability plate or placard by the Secretary of State. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(95) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of a motor vehicles purchased by and for the use of a person who has suffered 
loss, or permanent loss of use of, one leg or one arm or both are exempt.  This exemption applies 
to one motor vehicle only owned and registered for the personal, noncommercial use of such 
person. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(u) 
 
Vermont:  An exemption for one motor vehicle owned or leased and operated by a person with a 
permanent physical disability whom the vehicle controls have been altered to enable the person to 
drive is granted. A motor vehicle owned or leased by a parent or guardian of a person with a 
permanent disability for whom a mechanical lifting device has been installed to allow for entry 
and exit of the vehicle, provided that the person with a disability has been certified exempt from 
the tax by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles under the provisions of section 8901 of this title, 
is also exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(12) 
 

52. Narragansett Pier Railroad Company: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-1(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 1985 
 
Description:  The Narragansett Pier Railroad Company is exempted from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-13 “in any year until and unless the net receipts of the 
railroad applicable to dividends or other form of distribution of corporate earnings shall in the year 
amount to a sum not less than 4.0 percent of the aggregate valuation of the property of the railroad 
as determined by the public utility administrator.” 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

53. Newspapers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of newspapers is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  In this context, newspapers are defined 
as “unbound publications printed on newsprint, which contains news, editorial comment, opinions, 
features, advertising, and other matters of public interest.”  Newspapers do not include “a 
magazine, handbill, circular, flyer, sales catalog, or similar item unless the item is printed for and 
distributed as a part of a newspaper.” 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $1,390,933 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $1,522,700 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $1,582,950 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $1,651,925 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $1,709,626 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions exempt newspapers by subscription, magazines, regardless 
of frequency, and publications by subscription that only contain puzzles. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(114) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions exempt sales of any publication regularly issued at average intervals 
not exceeding three months.  Maine also exempts free publications and components of 
publications.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(14) and 1760(14-A) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions exempt sales of newspapers and magazines, regardless 
of frequency. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(m) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provision exempts newspapers and tangible personalty, which becomes part 
of a newspaper even if the newspaper is distributed without charge.  On average for the tax year, 
at least 10.0 percent of a newspaper’s printed material must consist of news of general or 
community interest, community notices, editorial comment, or articles by different authors. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(15) 
 

54. Ocean Marine Insurance: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-17-1(a)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1896 / N/A 
 
Description:  The premiums received from contracts of ocean marine insurance are exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-17.  In this context ocean marine 
insurance is defined as contracts of insurance written by an insurance company transacting the 
business of marine insurance upon hulls, freights, or disbursements, or upon goods, wares, 
merchandise, and all other personal property and interests in the course of exportation from, 
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importation into any country, or transportation coastwise in connection with any and all risks or 
perils of navigation, transit, and while being prepared for, and while awaiting shipment and during 
any delays, storage, or reshipment and including war risks and marine builders risks.   
 
Data Source:  Global Marine Insurance Report, 2005-2017 by country, International Union of 
Marine Insurance.  Annual estimates of number of boats, annual vessel permit data listed by home 
port, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Greater Atlantic Region.  Annual U.S. 
insurance premium data is scaled to Rhode Island using the ratio of Rhode Island vessels to total 
vessels.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying this amount by 2.0 percent.  Number of 
taxpayers are the number of vessel permits found in that year. 
 
Reliability Index:  4 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,783 262 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,759 244 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,779 240 
 
Projection Methodology:  A three-year average of revenue forgone from FY 2016 – FY 2018 is 
used to project revenue forgone for FY 2019, FY 2020, and FY 2021.  A three-year average of the 
number of taxpayers is used to project the number of taxpayers for fiscal years 2019, 2020, and 
2021. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $1,774 240 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax  $1,774  240 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax  $1,774  240 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Ocean marine insurance companies are excluded from the tax on net direct insurance 
premiums. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-210(b) 
 

55. Out-of-State Shipments of Rhode Island Alcoholic Beverage Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 3-10-2 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1933 / 1956 
 
Description:  Rhode Island based manufacturers of alcoholic beverages that have reason to ship 
any beverage out-of-state with the intention that the consumption of that beverage shall occur 
outside of the state’s borders may receive an exemption from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 3-10.  The exemption from the tax shall be granted by the Department of 
Business Regulation. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Alcoholic Beverage Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No tax is imposed on manufacturers of alcoholic beverages for sales to licensed 
distributors or on sales for export.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-435 
 
Massachusetts:  Alcoholic beverages made in Massachusetts or imported into Massachusetts and 
then exported are exempt.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 138, § 21(g)  
 
Vermont:  Vermont states the alcoholic beverage taxes are only due on sales in the State. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 7, §§ 421(a) and 422(a) 
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56. Personal and Dependent: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2.6(c)(3)(C) / Rhode Island 
Public Laws 2018, Chapter 47, Article 4, Section 13 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2018 
 
Description:  Resident and non-resident taxpayers are allowed a personal and/or dependent 
exemption against the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  The exemption 
amount is adjusted for inflation as determined by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-
2.6(c)(3)(E) using tax year 2000 as the base year.  A personal exemption is granted to the taxpayer 
and spouse, if jointly filing a tax return, and the dependent exemption is granted to the dependents 
that are claimed by the taxpayer on their federal income tax return.  The Tax Cut and Jobs Act of 
2017 (TCJA) eliminated federal personal and dependent exemptions.  The 2018 General Assembly 
enacted several changes to allow Rhode Island personal and dependent exemptions to continue.  
For tax years beginning on or after 2018, the term exemption amount means the same as it did in 
the Internal Revenue Code Section 151 and 152 as of December 22, 2017.  The exemption amount 
will be adjusted for inflation.  If the taxpayer identification number (TIN) is not listed on the federal 
income tax form for any individual, the TIN must be listed on the Rhode Island personal income 
tax form for the exemption to be claimed. 
 

Tax Year 
Personal and Dependent 

Exemption Amount Phase-Out Range 
2016 $3,900 $193,600 - $215,800 
2017 $3,900 $195,000 - $217,350 
2018 $4,000 $199,000 - $221,800 
2019 $4,100 $203,850 - $227,050 

 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 
2016 and 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the personal and dependent exemptions for the same tax years, then summed the 
results for both calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the 
difference between the two tax liability calculations.  Number of taxpayers includes all taxpayers 
that claimed an exemption to reduce their personal tax liability. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $113,991,759 544,960 

2017 Personal Income Tax $127,014,158 553,334 
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Projection Methodology:  For TY 2018, revenue forgone is projected using the TY 2017 ORA 
Personal Income Tax Model rebased to TY 2018 Rhode Island personal income tax laws.  
Similarly, for TY 2019 the model is rebased to TY 2019 Rhode Island personal income tax laws.  
For TY 2020, the amount of exemption is grown by the growth rate in the exemption amount of 
2.500 percent (i.e., $4,100 / $4,000).  For TY 2021, TY 2020 revenue forgone was grown by the 
rate of inflation from the Consensus Economic Forecast adopted at the November 2019 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.  The number of taxpayers for TY 2018 and TY 2019 is projected using 
the ORA Personal Income Tax Model.  For TY 2020 and 2021 the number of taxpayers is held 
constant with TY 2019.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $120,502,959 549,147 

2019 Personal Income Tax $120,502,959 549,147 

2020 Personal Income Tax $123,515,532 549,147 

2021 Personal Income Tax $125,775,986 549,147 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Any person, other than a trust or estate, subject to the income tax for any taxable 
year who files under the federal income tax for such taxable year as a married individual filing 
separately or, for taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2014, but prior to January 1, 
2015, a personal exemption of $14,500 is allowed.  In the case of any such taxpayer whose 
Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds $29,000, the exemption amount 
shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or fraction thereof, by which the taxpayer’s 
Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds said amount.   
 
For taxable years commencing on or after January 1, 2015, a personal exemption of $15,000 is 
allowed.  In the case of any such taxpayer whose Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable 
year exceeds $30,000, the exemption amount shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or 
fraction thereof, by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year 
exceeds said amount. 
 
A taxpayer filing as a head of household for federal income tax purposes is entitled to a personal 
exemption of $19,000 in determining Connecticut taxable income.  A taxpayer filing as head of 
household whose Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds $38,000, the 
exemption amount shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or fraction thereof, by which the 
taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds the said amount. 
 
Taxpayers subject to the Connecticut personal income tax for any taxable year who file a return 
under the federal income tax for such taxable year as married individuals filing a joint return or 
any person who files a return for such taxable year as a surviving spouse, as defined in Section 
2(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, is entitled to a single personal exemption of $24,000 in 
determining Connecticut taxable income for purposes of this chapter.  In the case of a taxpayer 
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filing jointly or as a qualified widow(er) and the Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable 
year exceeds $48,000, the exemption amount shall be reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000, or 
fraction thereof, by which the taxpayer’s Connecticut adjusted gross income for the taxable year 
exceeds the said amount. In no event shall the reduction exceed 100.0 per cent of the exemption 
for each filing status. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-702 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include personal exemptions as a deduction to income 
as follows:  A personal exemption amount is allowed for the single or married filing separately 
filer, which shall not exceed $4,400.  Married filing jointly is allowed an exemption amount up to 
$8,800.  Head of household is allowed an exemption up to $6,800.  There are additional exemptions 
provided for qualifying dependents equaling $3,600 for one such dependent with respect to the 
taxpayer, or 7,200 if there are two or more such dependents with respect to the taxpayer. Blindness 
for the primary filer and spouse is allowed an additional exemption of $2,200 each. An exemption 
of $700 for each spouse who attained the age of 65 before the close of the taxable year is also 
allowed. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3 
 
Maine:  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013 but before January 1, 2018, a resident 
individual is allowed a deduction equal to the total amount of deductions allowed for personal 
exemptions in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, Section 151. Beginning January 1, 
2018, a resident individual is allowed a personal exemption deduction of $4,150 unless the 
taxpayer is claimed as a dependent on another return. A resident individual is allowed an additional 
personal exemption deduction equal to $4,150 if the individual is married filing a joint return, 
unless the individual’s spouse may be claimed as a dependent on another return. The deduction 
allowed is subject to phase-out. For tax years beginning after 2018, the personal exemption 
deduction and phaseout threshold amounts are adjusted for inflation.    
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5126 and 5126-A 
 
Vermont:  Vermont uses an individual’s federal tax liability as the starting point for calculating 
Vermont income tax liability, with the federal personal exemptions allowed under IRC § 151 
allowed for Vermont personal income tax purposes.  
 
Effective January 1, 2018, a resident’s tax liability is calculated using the federal income tax 
statues that were in effect on December 31, 2017, but without regard to federal income tax rates 
under 26 U.S.C. §1. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5824 
 

57. Personal Holding Company, Regulated Investment Company, or Real Estate Investment 
Trust: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(c) 

https://checkpoint.riag.com/app/main/docLinkNew?DocID=i8c9ab1f819d711dcb1a9c7f8ee2eaa77&SrcDocId=T0SLEXANNW%3A58227.1-1&feature=tcheckpoint&lastCpReqId=2962374
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1956 / 2004 
 
Description:  A personal holding company registered under the federal Investment Company Act 
of 1940, a regulated investment company as defined in the IRC § 851, or a real estate investment 
trust shall not pay the tax imposed under Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(a) but rather 
must pay annually to the state a tax equal to $0.10 for each $100.00 of gross income or a tax of 
$100, whichever tax is greater.  Gross income is as defined in federal income tax law plus any 
interest not included in federal gross income less interest precluded from taxation by Rhode Island 
and less 50.0 percent of the excess capital gains over capital losses realized in the taxable year. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and New Hampshire have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  These entities are exempt from the net income base of the tax and from the capital 
base and the minimum tax.  Regulated investment company (RIC) means a regulated investment 
company as defined in I.R.C. § 851.  Distributions paid by RICs to the Company that are “exempt-
interest dividends,” as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 852(b)(5), and “capital gain dividends,” as defined 
in 26 U.S.C. § 852(b)(3)(C), are not “dividends as defined in the federal income tax law” because 
federal law transforms their character from dividend income to exempt-interest income and capital 
gain income, respectively.  Therefore, “exempt-interest dividends” and “capital gain dividends” 
may not be deducted under Connecticut business taxes.  Distributions paid by the Regulated 
Investment Company to the Company that are not “exempt-interest dividends” or “capital gain 
dividends” may be deducted, provided that such distributions are “dividends” as defined in 26 
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U.S.C. § 316 and no provision of federal income tax law expressly transforms their dividend 
character, and provided that the Regulated Investment Company is a domestic corporation. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217(a)(1)(B), 12-217(a)(3) and 12-219(c) 
 
New Hampshire:  An enterprise shall not be characterized as a business organization and shall be 
excluded from taxation at the entity level if it elects to be treated as a qualified investment 
company.  A qualified investment company is defined as (1) A regulated investment company as 
defined in Section 851 of the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986 in effect on December 
31, 2000; (2) An organization that is an investment company under the Investment Company Act 
of 1940 as amended; (3) An organization that would be an investment company under the 
Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, but for the exception from investment company 
status provided by Section 3(c)(1) or 3(c)(7) of said Investment Company Act; or (4) A qualified 
community development entity as defined in Section 45D of the United States Internal Revenue 
Code, which entity is owned, controlled, or managed, directly or indirectly, by the business finance 
authority of the state of New Hampshire. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 77-A:1, I and XXI 
 

58. Precious Metal Bullion: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(24) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1975 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of precious metal bullion is exempt from 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  Precious metal bullion is defined 
as “any elementary precious metal which has been put through a process of smelting or 
refining…and which is in a state or condition that its value depends upon its content not upon its 
form.”  Precious metal bullion does not include fabricated precious metal that has been 
manufactured for one or more “customary industrial, professional or artistic uses.” 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include gold or silver bullion.  The exemption is limited to 
transactions in which the total value of the sale is less than $1,000. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(45) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions exempt sales of $1,000 or more of rare coins of 
numismatic value; gold or silver bullion or coins; or, gold or silver tender traded and sold according 
to value as precious metal. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(ll) 
 

59. Promotional and Product Literature of Boat Manufacturers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(38) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of boat manufacturers’ promotional and 
product literature is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 
provided that said literature is shipped to points outside of Rhode Island and either (1) accompanies 
the product which is sold; (2) is shipped in bulk to out-of-state dealers for use in the sale of the 
product; or (3) is mailed to directly to customers at no charge. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $171,200 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $173,000 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $179,845 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $187,682 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $194,237 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s exemption includes all advertising or promotional materials printed on paper and 
purchased for the purpose of subsequently transporting such materials out of the State. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(83) 
 

60. Property Otherwise Exempted: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-36(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1989  
 
Description:  Property purchased at retail, the sale of which “would be exempt by express 
specification” from the sales tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 is also 
exempted from the use tax imposed under Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20 had the 
sale been otherwise subject to the sales tax. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Items exempt from use tax are those, which are exempt if the storage, acceptance, 
consumption or other use is not otherwise taxable. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-413 
 
Maine:  A tax is imposed…on the storage, use or other consumption in this State of tangible 
personal property or a service, the sale of which would be subject to tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1861 
 
Massachusetts:  An excise is hereby imposed upon the storage, use or other consumption in the 
Commonwealth of tangible personal property or services purchased from any vendor or 
manufactured, fabricated or assembled from materials acquired either within or outside the 
Commonwealth for storage, use or other consumption within the Commonwealth. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 2 
 
Vermont:  Unless property has already been or will be subject to the sales tax, there is imposed on 
every person a use tax at the rate of six percent for the use within the state, except as otherwise 
exempted. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9773 
 

61. Property Purchased from Federal Government: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-35 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1956 
 
Description:  The storage, use, or other consumption of property purchased from the United States, 
its agencies and instrumentalities is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18 “only to the extent that the taxation in this state would violate the provisions of the 
Constitution of the United States.” 
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Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $8,991,668 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $9,255,468 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $9,621,682 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $10,040,938 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $10,391,659 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property or services, which the state is prohibited from 
taxing under the Constitution or laws of the United States, are exempt. 
  
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-413(2) 
 
Maine:  No tax is imposed on the sales, storage or use on or in connection with sales made directly 
to the State of Maine or any political subdivision, or to the federal government, or to any 
unincorporated agency or instrumentality of Maine or the federal government, including agencies 
and instrumentalities that are wholly owned. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales, which the Commonwealth is prohibited from taxing under the Constitution 
or laws of the United States, are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(a)  
 
Vermont:  Sales not within the taxing power of the state under the Constitution of the United States 
are exempt. The United States of America, any of its instrumentalities, are explicitly exempt from 
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sales and use taxes when it is the purchaser, user or consumer, or when it sells services or property 
of a kind not ordinarily sold by private persons.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9471(1) and 9743(2) 
 

62. Property Purchased Outside of State by Non-Resident and Brought Into State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-36(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1989  
 
Description:  The storage, use or other consumption of property purchased by the user while a non-
resident, used outside of Rhode Island while a non-resident, and then brought into Rhode Island 
for the user’s personal use is exempt from the use tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18.  The term used outside of Rhode Island does not include “the mere removal of the 
property from the state of purchase” to Rhode Island. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.   
 
Maine:  Sales of property purchased and used by the present owner outside the State for more than 
12 months prior to the property’s use in Maine are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(45)(B) 
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Massachusetts:  Sales which the purchaser has paid a tax or made reimbursement to a vendor or 
retailer under the laws of any state or territory of the United States are exempt.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 7(c)  
 
Vermont:  Property purchased and used by the user while a non-resident of Vermont, except in the 
case of tangible personal property which the user, in the performance of a contract, incorporates 
into real property located in the state is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9744(2) 
 

63. Property Returned Within 120 Days from the Date of Delivery: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(58) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  The amount charged for property returned by customers within 120 days from the 
date of delivery when the entire amount, exclusive of handling charges, paid for the property is 
refunded in either cash or credit is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18.   
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Data is for the returns of 
motor vehicles only. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $59,287 65 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $58,869 67 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $35,254 45 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $67,803 74 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected revenue forgone for FY 2020 and FY 2021 is held constant 
with FY 2019.  The number of taxpayers for FY 2020 through FY 2021 is also held constant with 
FY 2019. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $67,803  74 

2021 Sales and Use Tax  $67,803  74 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include a general provision for refunds of sales tax paid if 
the item is returned within 90 days from the date of purchase. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-407(a)(8)B 
 
Maine:  Sale price excludes the price of property returned by customers, when the full price is 
refunded either in cash or by credit. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(14)(B)(3) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ law includes a general provision for refund of the sales tax paid if 
the items are returned within 90 days from date of sale. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 1 
 
Vermont:  The commissioner may provide by regulation for the exclusion from taxable receipt 
property that has been returned on the receipt or charge for which a refund or credit of the tax has 
been made. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9780 
 

64. Prosthetic Devices and Mobility Enhancing Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(11) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1948 / 2006  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of prosthetic devices as defined in Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-18-7.1(t) sold on prescription including but not limited to artificial 
limbs, dentures, spectacles and eyeglasses and artificial eyes; artificial hearing devices and hearing 
aids, whether or not sold on prescription and mobility enhancing equipment as defined in Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-18-7.1(p) including wheelchairs, crutches and canes are exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
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Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $11,669,129 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $12,724,984 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $13,228,478 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $13,804,896 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $14,287,089 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s exemption includes oxygen, blood plasma, prostheses, custom-made 
wigs or hairpieces, hearing and vision aids, canes, crutches, walkers and wheel chairs, vital life 
support equipment, apnea monitors, support hose and related repair or replacement parts and repair 
services. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(19) 
 
Maine:  Effective October 1, 2016 the exemption for prosthetic devises was amended to apply to 
sales of prosthetic or orthotic devices sold by prescription. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(5)(A) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ exemption includes sales of artificial devices individually 
designed, constructed or altered solely for a particular crippled person so as to become a brace, 
support, supplement, correction or substitute for the bodily structure including the extremities of 
the individual. Sales of artificial limbs, artificial eyes, hearing aids and other equipment worn as a 
correction or substitute for any functioning portion of the body are also exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(l) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s exemptions include durable medical equipment, mobility enhancing 
equipment, and prosthetic devices and supplies, including blood, blood plasma, insulin, and 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  297 

medical oxygen, used in treatment intended to alleviate human suffering or to correct, in whole or 
in part, human physical disabilities. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(2) 
 

65. Purchases Used for Manufacturing Purposes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(7) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1996 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of “computer software, tangible personal 
property, electricity, natural gas, artificial gas, steam, refrigeration, and water” is exempt from the 
tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 when “the property or service is 
purchased for the purpose of being manufactured into a finished product for resale and becomes 
an ingredient, component, or integral part of the manufactured, compounded, processed, 
assembled or prepared or if the property or service is consumed in the process of manufacturing 
for resale computer software, tangible personal property, electricity, natural gas, artificial gas, 
steam, refrigeration, or water.” 
 
Data Source:  TY 2016 Census, Annual Survey of Manufacturers.  Office of Revenue Analysis 
used reported total cost of materials by all RI manufacturers reduced by ORA’s estimate for 
commercial utilities in the same year.  Revenue forgone is found by multiplying this figure by 7.0 
percent. No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers.  TY 2017 
revenue foregone calculated by applying the TY 2017 over TY 2016 growth rate in Rhode Island 
sales and use tax revenues to TY 2016 revenue foregone. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $379,125,624 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $389,371,558 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2018 through TY 2021 assume no additional growth and are held 
constant with TY 2017.  No projection of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of 
reliable data.  
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $389,371,558 No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $389,371,558 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $389,371,558 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $389,371,558 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of and the storage or use of materials, rope, fishing nets, tools and fuel or any 
substitute therefore, which become an ingredient or component part of tangible personal property 
to be sold or which are used directly in the fishing industry or in an industrial plant in the actual 
fabrication of the finished product to be sold are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(18) 
 
Maine:  Ninety-five percent of the sale price of all fuel and electricity purchased for use at a 
manufacturing facility is exempt from the sales and use tax.  Maine’s provisions also include 
tangible personal property that becomes an ingredient or component part of tangible personal 
property produced for later sale or lease or that becomes an ingredient or component of tangible 
personal property produced pursuant to a contract with the federal government.  There is a third 
provision that fuel oil or coal, the by-products from the burning of which become an ingredient or 
component part of tangible personal property for later sale. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(9-D), 1760(9-G), 1760(74) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of materials, tools and fuel, or any substitute therefore, which become an 
ingredient or component part of tangible personal property to be sold or which are consumed and 
used directly and exclusively in an industrial plant in the actual manufacture of tangible personal 
property to be sold are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(r)  
 
Vermont:  Tangible personal property, which becomes an ingredient or component part of, or is 
consumed or destroyed or loses its identity in the manufacture of tangible personal property for 
sale, is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(14) 
 

66. Qualified Sales of Manufactured and Mobile Home Parks: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-44-3.3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2012 / N/A 
 
Description:  The qualified sale of a mobile or manufactured home community to a resident-owned 
organization is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-25. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Real Estate Conveyance Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Real Estate Conveyance Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

67. Rebuild Rhode Island Sales and Use Tax: 
 

Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.20-5(q) 
 

Stated Purpose:  “Through the establishment of a rebuild Rhode Island tax credit program, Rhode 
Island can take steps to stimulate business development; retain and attract new business and 
industry to the state; create good-paying jobs for its residents; assist with business, commercial, 
and industrial real estate development; and generate revenues for necessary state and local 
governmental services.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2015 / 2019 
 
Description:  At the discretion of the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation (CommerceRI), 
projects which have been deemed eligible to receive Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credits may be 
exempt from sales and use taxes imposed on furniture, fixtures and equipment, except automobiles, 
and materials, including construction materials and supplies to the extent they are utilized directly 
and exclusively on the project in question and are essential to the project.  The Rebuild Rhode 
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Island Tax Credit qualified per project cap of $15 million, or $25 million cap in the case of a 
qualified development project on “I-195 land”, includes any amounts awarded for sales and use 
tax exemptions.   

 
Data Source: Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony at the November 2019 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.  CommerceRI maintains that “but for” the provision of the Rebuild Rhode 
Island Tax Credits the projects in question would not be built and the sales tax revenue shown 
below would not have been received.  Therefore, CommerceRI states that it is a misnomer to 
classify the Rebuild Rhode Island sales and use tax exemption revenue as being forgone by the 
state.  (Projected revenue forgone for the Rebuild Rhode Island tax credit is included in the credits 
section.) 
 
Reliability Index:  2  
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $531,513 1 
 

Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 are based on projected amounts reported at 
November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference by the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation.   
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $7,685,385 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $4,613,000 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 

 
68. Refillable and Reusable Beverage Containers: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-44-3 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / 1998 
 
Description:  Reusable and refillable beverage containers are exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-44.  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-44 imposes a 
tax of $0.04 on each case of beverage containers sold by a wholesaler to a retailer or consumer. 
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Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5  
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Tax on Beverage Containers No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

69. Renewable Energy Products: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(57) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2005 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of solar photovoltaic modules or panels, 
or any module or panel that generates electricity from light; solar thermal collectors; geothermal 
heat pumps; wind turbines; towers used to mount wind turbines if specified or sold by a wind 
turbine manufacturer; DC to AC inverters that interconnect with utility power lines; manufactured 
mounting racks and ballast pans for solar collector, module or panel installation, monitoring and 
control equipment if specified or supplied by a manufacturer of solar thermal, solar photovoltaic, 
geothermal or wind energy systems; and solar storage tanks that are part of a solar domestic hot 
water system or a solar space heating system are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER) and Office of Revenue Analysis 
calculations.  Revenue forgone is based on the number of residential renewable energy systems 
installed during the calendar year as reported by OER as well as an average cost assumption by 
ORA of $25,000 per installation.  Office of Revenue Analysis used this data to estimate sales of 
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renewable energy products in Rhode Island for TY 2016, TY 2017, and TY 2018 and multiplied 
it by 7.0 percent to estimate revenue forgone.   
  
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $1,291,500 1,230 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $1,732,500 1,650 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $1,535,100 1,462 
 
Projection Methodology:  TY 2019 forgone revenue and the number of taxpayers is equal to the 
3-year average (TY 2016, TY 2017, and TY 2018) amount of revenue forgone and count of 
taxpayers.  TY 2020 and TY 2021 are set equal to TY 2019. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $1,519,700 1,447 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $1,519,700 1,447 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $1,519,700 1,447 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales and use of solar energy electricity generating systems, passive or active solar 
water or space heating systems, geothermal resource systems, including related equipment and 
sales of installation services are exempt from sales tax.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(117) 
 
Maine:  Sales of solar energy equipment as well as sales of tangible personal property to qualified 
community wind power generators are exempt from sales tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(38) and 1760(89) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of equipment directly related to a solar, wind-powered, or heat pump system 
that serves as the primary or auxiliary power system for the purpose of heating or otherwise 
supplying the energy needs for taxpayer’s principal residence is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(dd) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions exempt hot water systems that converts solar energy into thermal 
energy used to heat water but limited to the property directly used to capture, convert or store solar 
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energy for this purpose.  In addition, a net metering system that employs a renewable energy source 
is also exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 32, § 9741(46) 
 

70. Rental Charged for Living or Sleeping Quarters in a Hospital or Nursing Home: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(17) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1967 / N/A 
 
Description:  The rental charged for living or sleeping quarters in an institution licensed by the 
state for the hospitalization, custodial, or nursing care of human beings is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  The sales and use tax model estimate includes non-profit and propriety hospitals and non-
profit and propriety nursing homes.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number 
of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $34,994,860 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $37,371,970 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected         

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $38,850,679 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $40,543,562 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $41,959,712 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions.  Massachusetts, New 
Hampshire and Vermont provide similar exemptions under their Room Occupancy Excise, Rooms 
or Rooms and Meals taxes, respectively. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption for rentals in nonprofit charitable 
hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes and homes for the aged. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-407(a)(17)(A), 12-407(a)(17)(B) and 12-
407(a)(17)(F) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include an exemption on rental charged for living or sleeping quarters 
in an institution licensed by the state for the hospitalization or nursing care of human beings is 
exempt from tax.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(18) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include the exemption of lodging accommodations, 
including dormitories, at religious, charitable, educational and philanthropic institutions; provided, 
however, that this exemption shall not apply to accommodations provided by any such institution 
at a hotel or motel operated by the institution. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64G, §§ 2(b) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire excludes from the definition of hotel, “[a] hospital licensed 
under RSA 151, or a sanitarium, convalescent home, nursing home, or home for the aged.” 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-A:3, III(a) 
 
Vermont:  The room charges to occupy a hospital or other institution providing health care such 
as a nursing home are not subject to the rooms and meals tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9202(3)(A) 
 

71. Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation (now the Rhode Island Commerce 
Corporation) Project Status Designees: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64-20 
 
Stated Purpose:  The exercise of the powers granted by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 42-
64 titled “Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation” will be in all respects for the benefit 
of the people of Rhode Island, the increase of their commerce, welfare, and prosperity and for the 
improvement of their health and living conditions and will constitute the performance of an 
essential governmental function. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1974 / 2011 
 
Description:  Effective June 30, 2011, this exemption was repealed and will only apply to projects 
approved prior to July 1, 2011 and those projects for which long-term agreements were entered.  
Acquisitions, projects of construction, reconstruction, rehabilitations, improvement and 
development projects of the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation (CommerceRI, previously the 
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Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation) receive an exemption from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  For purposes of the exemption CommerceRI shall 
not be required to hold legal title to any real or personal property, including any fixtures, 
furnishings or equipment which are acquired and used in the construction and development of the 
project, but the legal title may be held in the name of a lessee (including sub-lessees) from the 
corporation.  This property, which shall not include any goods or inventory used in the project 
after completion of construction, shall be exempt from taxation to the same extent as if legal title 
of the property were in the name of the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation.  The sales tax 
benefits granted only apply to materials used in the construction, reconstruction or rehabilitation 
of the project and to the acquisition of furniture, fixtures and equipment, except automobiles, 
trucks or other motor vehicles, or materials that otherwise are depreciable and have a useful life of 
one year or more. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony at the November 2019 Revenue 
Estimating Conference. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $350,000 1 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  There are currently no CommerceRI refunds under review. FY 2019 and 
FY 2020 are based on projected amount reported at November 2019 Revenue Estimating 
Conference.  FY 2021 is kept constant with FY 2020. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $0 1 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption for “[p]ersonal property and services 
used or consumed in development, construction, rehabilitation, renovation, repair or operation of 
housing facilities for low and moderate income families and persons” and “[s]ervices used or 
consumed in the development, construction, rehabilitation, renovation or repair of housing 
facilities for low and moderate income families in qualified census tracts or difficult development 
areas.” 
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Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(29) and 12-412(100) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include an exemption for “[S]ales of tangible personal property and 
transmission and distribution of electricity to qualified development zone businesses.” 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(87) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provisions include the exemption of “[S]ales of building materials 
and supplies to be used in the construction, reconstruction, alteration, remodeling or repair of…any 
building, structure, residence, school or other facility included under any written contract dated on 
or after January 1, 1985 arising out of or related to the Massachusetts Port Authority residential 
and school soundproofing programs, notwithstanding whether such building, structure, residence, 
school or other facility is owned by or held in trust for the benefit of the Massachusetts Port 
Authority or is used exclusively for public purposes.” 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(f)(3) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont exempts from the sales and use tax “[s]ales of building materials within any 
three consecutive years in excess of one million dollars in purchase value used in the construction, 
renovation, or expansion of facilities which are used exclusively, except for isolated or occasional 
uses, for the manufacture of tangible personal property for sale.” 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(39)  
 

72. Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation Lessees: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 45-37.1-9 
 
Stated Purpose:  The exercise of the powers granted by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 45-
37.1 titled “Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation” will be in all respects for the benefit of 
the people of Rhode Island, the increase of their commerce, welfare, and prosperity and for the 
improvement of their health and living conditions and will constitute the performance of an 
essential government. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1967 / 2011 
 
Description:  The Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation (RIIFC) is not required to pay any 
taxes or assessments upon or in respect of a project, or any property or moneys of the corporation.  
In the case of any person, partnership, corporation, or concern leasing a project from RIIFC any 
such person, partnership, corporation or concern so leased shall be exempt from payment of state 
sales tax applicable to materials used in construction of such a facility only to the extent that the 
costs of such materials do not exceed the amount financed through the corporation.  The sales tax 
benefits granted only apply to materials used in the construction, reconstruction or rehabilitation 
of the project and to the acquisition of furniture, fixtures and equipment, except automobiles, 
trucks or other motor vehicles, or materials that otherwise are depreciable and have a useful life of 
one year or more. 
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Effective June 30, 2011 this exemption was repealed and will only apply to projects previously 
approved and those projects for which long-term agreements were entered.   
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation testimony at the November 2019 Revenue 
Estimating Conference.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  This exemption was repealed effective July 1, 2011 for projects not 
approved on or before June 30, 2011.  Projects approved prior to June 30, 2011 are allowed to take 
the exemption.  FY 2019 projected revenue forgone is based on a pending refund application filed 
with the Field Audit Section of the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  FY 2020 projected revenue 
is based on projected amount reported at November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference.  FY 
2021 kept constant with FY 2020. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $33,843 1 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

73. Sacramental Wines Sold Directly to Member of Clergy: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 3-10-1(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1933 / 1997  
 
Description:  Sacramental wines sold directly to a member of the clergy for use by the purchaser, 
or his or her congregation for sacramental or other religious purposes is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 3-10. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
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Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Alcoholic Beverage Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Alcoholic Beverage Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Sacramental wines are exempt from the excise tax on alcoholic beverages. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 138, § 21 
 

74. Sales and Use Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30A(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1965 / 1986 
 
Description:  The use tax provisions of Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 do not apply to 
the use, storage or other consumption in Rhode Island of tangible personal property purchased at 
retail outside the state where the purchaser has paid a sales or use tax equal to or greater than the 
amount imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 in another taxing jurisdiction.  If 
the purchaser has paid a sales or use tax in an amount less than the amount imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 in another taxing jurisdiction, then the purchaser must pay to 
the tax administrator the difference in the amount paid to the other taxing jurisdiction and the 
amount that would be imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Data from Rhode Island Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV), Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculation.  Estimate is for motor vehicles purchased 
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in Massachusetts but registered in RI only.  Data was pulled from a new system implemented at 
the DMV which began use in July 2017. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $12,698,343   11,666  

2019 Sales and Use Tax  $17,356,798   14,257  
 
Projection Methodology:  The projected revenue forgone for FY 2020 and FY 2021 as well as the 
projected number of taxpayers is determined by the average of the values from FY 2018 and FY 
2019. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $15,027,570   12,962  

2021 Sales and Use Tax  $15,027,570   12,962  
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A credit is allowed if any taxable property or services have already been subjected 
to sales or use tax in another state or political subdivision thereof. Connecticut tax is due only on 
the difference between the applicable Connecticut rate and the rate on which the other 
jurisdiction’s tax was computed. If the other jurisdiction’s rate was higher than Connecticut’s, no 
further tax is due.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-430(5) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s use tax provisions do not apply to the use, storage or consumption in Maine of 
purchases made outside the state, if the purchaser paid the other jurisdiction a sales or use tax equal 
or greater to the amount of tax imposed by Maine. However, if the amount of tax paid to the other 
jurisdiction is less than the amount imposed by Maine, the purchaser must pay tax in an amount 
representing the difference between the tax paid in the other jurisdiction and the total amount of 
tax that otherwise would be due to Maine.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1862 
 
Massachusetts:  A credit is allowed against Massachusetts use tax for sales tax paid to another state 
or territory on purchases of items for use, storage or other consumption in Massachusetts.  The 
credit is allowed if (1) the other state allows a corresponding credit on sales or use tax paid to 
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Massachusetts on property brought into the other state, (2) a sales or similar tax was actually paid 
to the other reciprocal state, and (3) the tax paid to the other state was legally due without any right 
to a refund or credit. If the Massachusetts tax rate is higher than the rate of the other state’s tax, 
the use tax is payable to the extent of the rate difference. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 7(c) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions apply to motor vehicles only.  Motor vehicles on which a state 
sales or use tax has been paid by the person applying for registration in Vermont or paid by a 
person who, at the time of the tax payment to another state, was the spouse of the person now 
applying for registration, are exempt. If the tax paid in another state is less than the Vermont tax, 
the tax due shall be the difference. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(9) 
 

75. Sales Beyond Constitutional Power of State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of tangible personal property the gross 
receipts from the sale of which, or the storage, use, or other consumption of which, Rhode Island 
is prohibited from taxing under the Constitution of the United States or under the Constitution of 
Rhode Island are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property or services which this state is prohibited from 
taxing under the Constitution or laws of the United States are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(2) 
 
Maine:  Sales the State is prohibited from taxing under the Constitution or laws of the United States 
or under the Constitution of this State are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales which the Commonwealth is prohibited from taxing under the constitution 
or laws of the United States are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(a) 
 
Vermont:  Sales not within the taxing power of this state under the Constitution of the United 
States are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(1) 
 

76. Sales by Writers, Composers, Artists: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30.B 
 
Stated Purpose: “The general assembly makes the following findings of facts:  (1) The arts and 
culture are a significant asset for Rhode Island, one which generates revenue through increased 
tourism and economic activity, creates jobs and economic opportunities, revitalizes communities 
adding to quality of life and property values, and fosters creativity, innovation, and 
entrepreneurship. (2) Since 1998 the establishment of arts districts where “one-of-a-kind limited 
production” works of art may be sold exempt from state sales tax has resulted in an increased 
presence for the arts in designated cities and towns, with benefits to those communities and to the 
state. (3) Since the establishment of arts districts, many communities have sought legislation to 
expand the program to their city or town.  (4) There is value in expanding the arts district program 
statewide, providing incentives for the sale and purchase of art. This is a unique opportunity for 
Rhode Island to shape history, and gain an advantage over other states, by becoming the first and 
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only state in the country to declare a statewide sales tax exemption on art. This will strengthen 
Rhode Island's identity as an arts-friendly destination and “State of the Arts”.” 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / 2014 
 
Description:  A “work” means an original and creative work, whether written, composed or 
executed for “one-of-a-kind limited” production and which falls into one of the following 
categories: (i) A book or other writing; (ii) a play or the performance of said play; (iii) a musical 
composition or the performance of said composition; (iv) A painting or other like picture; (v) a 
sculpture; (vi) traditional and fine crafts; (vii) the creation of a film or the acting within the film; 
or (viii) the creation of a dance or the performance of the dance.  
 
Effective December 1, 2013, this exemption was expanded to apply to the sales of artistic works 
by: (a) an individual who is a resident of and has a principal place of business situated in this state; 
(b) a writer, composer or artist conducting their business as a legal entity organized and registered 
under the laws of this state and that has its principal place of business situated in this state; or (c) 
any art gallery located in the state of Rhode Island.  In addition, print and photograph were added 
to the list of original and creative works of art that are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is based 
on eligible sales of artistic works in Rhode Island as reported by artists as part of the annual sales 
tax reconciliation conducted by the Division of Taxation and multiplied by 7.0 percent.  The 
number of taxpayers represents the number of active artist exemptions in that year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $1,029,084 590 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $962,478 652 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $918,019 785 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the CY 2019 over CY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island sales 
and use tax revenues to CY 2018 to project CY 2019 revenue forgone. CY 2020 and CY 2021 
assume no additional growth. Number of taxpayers is held constant with CY 2018. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $990,136 785 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $990,136 785 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $990,136 785 
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Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

77. Sales in Municipal Economic Development Zones: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30.C 
 
Stated Purpose:  The General Assembly makes the following findings of fact: (1) Various sections 
of several towns in the state, including, but not limited to, the town of West Warwick, are 
deteriorated, blighted areas which have created very difficult challenges to economic development; 
(2) Several areas of the state are in a distressed financial condition as defined by Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 45-13-12(b) and cannot finance economic development projects on its own 
without the participation of private enterprise; (3) The General Assembly has found that it is nearly 
impossible for private enterprise alone to meet these challenges; (4) In certain sections of 
financially distressed communities, the serious challenges of economic development and/or 
redevelopment have not been met by private enterprise alone and the impact is being felt 
throughout the community; (5) Legislation enacted to encourage redevelopment of the 
deteriorated, blighted areas through the formation of local redevelopment agencies has had very 
limited success; (6) Various states, such as New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Michigan, have had a 
great deal of success in generating economic development by exercising the authority to exempt 
and/or stabilize taxes; (7) The State of Rhode Island has generated economic growth by redirecting 
and/or exempting certain commercial and retail activity from the imposition of sales, use and 
income taxes with recent examples being the Providence Place Mall, the Arts Districts in the cities 
of Providence, Pawtucket and Westerly, and financial services and aquaculture industries; (8) Most 
recently, municipalities in our state have had great success in attracting large commercial 
development, including financial services, manufacturing, and major energy facilities, due in large 
part to the authority to exempt and/or stabilize property, tangible and/or inventory taxes; (9) 
Attracting large non-residential developments or encouraging expansion of existing commercial 
entities can be extremely important to municipalities, where the quality of public education is 
largely dependent on the local tax base, thereby expanding the commercial tax base and reducing 
reliance upon the residential tax base; (10) The ability to attract this development and increase the 
non-residential tax base, in turn, improves municipalities’ ability to finance school systems, 
municipal services and infrastructure, thereby improving the quality of life; (11) In addition to 
increasing the local non-residential tax base, this development creates construction jobs, 
permanent jobs, and spurs additional investment by private enterprises; and (12) Providing 
authority to offer tax exemptions from, or to stabilize, the imposition of sales and use taxes will 
attract and assist in expanding, revitalizing and redeveloping the tax base in our municipalities, 
thereby providing long-term economic benefits and development.  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2002 / 2005  
 
Description:  All businesses engaging in qualifying sales and located in new construction in a 
Municipal Economic Development (MED) Zone are exempt from the requirement to charge and 
collect 50.0 percent of the current sales and use tax pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 
Sections 44-18-18 and 44-18-20 for a period of 10 years.  Sales and use taxes collected in a MED 
Zone shall be returned to the municipality in which the MED Zone is located, in accordance with 
the provisions of Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30.C(b).  Qualifying sales do not 
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include “gambling activities, or the retail sales of motor vehicles, furniture, home furnishings, 
including mattresses and oriental rugs, tobacco products or packaged alcoholic beverages.”  In 
addition, qualifying sales must originate and have the point of delivery within the same MED 
Zone. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  As of September 1, 2019, 
no business has applied for status as an eligible business engaging in qualifying sales in a MED 
Zone. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Office of Revenue Analysis projections. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  Receipts from the tax imposed by this chapter on sales of construction materials used 
in qualified projects…shall be allocated…and paid to the municipality in which the project is 
located as follows:  (1) In a municipality in which the population is 7,500 residents or less, all 
receipts from sales in excess of $100,000 of construction materials used in each separate qualified 
project located in that municipality; (2) In a municipality in which the population is greater than 
7,500 residents but fewer than 30,000 residents, all receipts from sales in excess of $200,000 of 
construction materials used in each separate qualified project located in that municipality; or (3) 
In a municipality in which the population is more than 30,000 residents, all receipts from sales in 
excess of $1.0 million of construction materials used in each separate qualified project located in 
that municipality 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9819(a) 
 

78. Sales in Public Buildings by Blind People: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(14) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1965 / 1988 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of all products or wares offered for 
purchase in all public buildings from a person licensed under Rhode Island General Laws Section 
40-9-11.1 titled “Authorization to Establish Vending Facilities for the Blind on State Property” is 
exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2016 Annual Report and Rhode Island Business Enterprise Program Data, Office 
of Rehabilitation Services, Rhode Island Department of Human Services.  Revenue forgone is 
based on sales generated through the Business Enterprises Program multiplied by 7.0 percent.  
Number of taxpayers reflects the number of licensed blind vendors. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $101,675 14 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $82,126 14 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  $91,403 14 
 
Projection Methodology:  For FY 2019 through FY 2021, the amount of exemption and number 
of taxpayers is held constant with FY 2018.  
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $91,403 14 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $91,403 14 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $91,403 14 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

79. Sales of Motor Vehicles to Non-Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(13) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1958 / 1990 
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Description:  The sale of a motor vehicle to a bona fide non-resident who does not register the 
motor vehicle in Rhode Island regardless of where the sale or delivery of the motor vehicle took 
place is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  If a motor 
vehicle is sold to a bona fide non-resident whose state of residence does not allow a like exemption 
to its non-residents, then a sales tax is imposed at a rate equal to the rate that would have been 
imposed in the bona fide non-resident’s home state not to exceed the rate that is imposed under 
Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20.  When computing the tax, the licensed Rhode Island 
motor vehicle dealer shall take into consideration the law in the bona fide non-resident’s state of 
residence as it pertains to the trade-in of motor vehicles.  The sales tax collected by the Rhode 
Island licensed motor vehicle dealer is remitted to the tax administrator. 
 
It should be noted that Massachusetts is a non-reciprocal state to Rhode Island when it comes to 
the assessment of a sales tax on the sale of motor vehicles to bona fide non-residents.  Thus, sales 
by Rhode Island motor vehicle dealers to residents of Massachusetts are subject to Rhode Island 
sales tax up to the Massachusetts sales tax rate.  The sales taxes collected from Massachusetts 
residents are remitted to the Rhode Island Department of Revenue. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $2,143,934 1,624 
 
Projection Methodology:  The FY 2018 over FY 2017 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales 
tax receipts was applied to FY 2017 revenue forgone to estimate FY 2018 revenue forgone.  The 
FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island registry sales tax receipts was applied to FY 
2018 revenue forgone to estimate FY 2019 revenue forgone.  The same process was used to project 
the number of taxpayers for FY 2018 and FY 2019.  FY 2020 and FY 2021 assume no additional 
growth and number of taxpayers is held constant.   
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $2,180,407 1,652 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $2,305,013 1,746 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $2,305,013 1,746 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $2,305,013 1,746 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provision allows an exemption from the sales tax for non-residents 
who do not register the vehicle in Connecticut. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(60) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions exempt the sales of motor vehicles, truck bodies and trailers, 
semitrailers, aircraft and camper trailers purchased by a non-resident or a resident business and 
intended to be driven or transported outside the state immediately upon delivery by the seller. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(23), 1760(23-A), 1760(23-B), 1760(23-C) and 
1760(23-D) 
 
Vermont:  Motor vehicles purchase and use tax is defined as imposed upon the purchase in 
Vermont of a motor vehicle by a resident.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8903(a)(1) 
 

80. Sales of Non-Motorized Recreational Vehicles Sold to Non-Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(54) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2003 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale of a non-motorized recreational vehicle to a bona fide non-resident who 
does not register the non-motorized recreational vehicle in Rhode Island regardless of where the 
sale or delivery of the non-motorized recreational vehicle took place is exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  If a non-motorized recreational vehicle is 
sold to a bona fide non-resident whose state of residence does not allow a like exemption to its 
non-residents, then a sales tax is imposed at a rate equal to the rate that would have been imposed 
in the bona fide non-resident’s home state not to exceed the rate that is imposed under Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-18-20.  When computing the tax, the licensed Rhode Island non-
motorized recreational vehicle dealer shall take into consideration the law in the bona fide non-
resident’s state of residence as it pertains to the trade-in of non-motorized recreational vehicles.  
The sales tax collected by the Rhode Island licensed non-motorized recreational vehicle dealer is 
remitted to the tax administrator. 
 
A non-motorized recreational vehicle is any portable dwelling designed and constructed to be used 
as a temporary dwelling for travel, camping, recreational and vacation use that is eligible to be 
registered for highway use. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions generally exempt sales of camper trailers purchased by a non-resident 
and intended to be driven or transported outside the state immediately upon delivery by the seller. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(23-C) 
 

81. Sales of Trailers Ordinarily Used for Residential Purposes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20(d)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1995  
 
Description:  The sale or transfer of a trailer, other than a camping trailer, of the type ordinarily 
used for residential purposes and commonly known as a house trailer or a mobile home is exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue from this 
exemption is included in the “Mobile and Manufactured Homes Generally” exemption.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include an exemption for mobile manufactured homes if 
such dwelling is permitted as a non-conforming use. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412c(b) 
 
Maine:  Maine’s exemptions include the sales of used manufactured housing and new 
manufactured housing to the extent of all costs, other than materials, included in the sale price, but 
the exemption may not exceed 50.0 percent of the sale price.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(40) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include an exemption of 40.0 percent of the receipts from the 
sales of mobile homes when sold as tangible personal property. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9741(32) 
 

82. Sales to Common Carriers for Use Outside of the State: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-33 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The gross receipts from sales of tangible personal property to a common carrier, 
shipped by the seller via the purchasing carrier under a bill of lading to a point outside of Rhode 
Island and the property is actually shipped to the out-of-state destination for use by the carrier in 
the conduct of its business as a common carrier is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

83. Sales to Federal Government: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-31 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The gross receipts from the sale of any tangible personal property to the United States 
government, its agencies and instrumentalities are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $8,415,176 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $8,468,166 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $8,803,229 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $9,186,821 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $9,507,709 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions.  
 
Connecticut:  Sales of tangible personal property or services to the United States or respective 
agencies are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(1) 
 
Maine:  Maine does not impose a tax on sales, storage or use on or in connection with sales made 
directly to the federal government, or to any unincorporated agency or instrumentality…of the 
federal government, including agencies and instrumentalities that are wholly owned.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales made to the United States, Massachusetts or their political subdivisions or 
agencies are exempt from tax. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(d) 
 
Vermont:  Any sale, service, or admission to a place of entertainment charged by or to the United 
States of America, any of its agencies and instrumentalities, insofar as it is immune from taxation 
when it is the purchaser, user or consumer, or when it sells services or property of a kind not 
ordinarily sold by private persons is exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(2) 
 

84. Sales to the State or its Political Subdivisions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(8) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale to and the storage, use or other consumption by the State of Rhode Island, 
any city, town, district or other political subdivision of the State is exempt from the tax imposed 
by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  Every redevelopment agency created pursuant 
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Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 45-31 is deemed to be a subdivision of the municipality in 
which it is located. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  Number of taxpayers is a sum of the state, cities and towns, quasi-public agencies and fire 
districts in Rhode Island. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $33,843,467 98  

2018 Sales and Use Tax $33,937,589 98 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  Number of 
taxpayers is held constant with FY 2018. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $35,280,409 98 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $36,817,720 98 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $38,103,730 98 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  The sales of tangible personal property or services to the state of Connecticut or any 
of the political subdivisions thereof or their respective agencies are exempt.  In addition, sales of 
goods and services to The University of Connecticut Educational Properties Incorporated, the 
Connecticut Materials Innovation and Recycling Authority for the operation of projects, and any 
tourism district in the state are also exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-412(1), 12-412(84), 12-412(92) and 12-412(93) 
 
Maine:  Sales to the state or any political subdivision or to any unincorporated agency or 
instrumentality of either of them or to any incorporated agency or instrumentality of them wholly 
owned by them are exempt.  In addition, sales to nonprofit fire departments, nonprofit ambulance 
services, regional planning commissions and councils of government, nonprofit volunteer search 
and rescue organizations and the Maine Science and Technology Foundation are also exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(2), 1760(26), 1760(37), 1760(53), 1760(68) 
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Massachusetts:  Sales to the Commonwealth or any political subdivision thereof or their respective 
agencies are exempt.  In addition, sales of fire trucks to any volunteer, nonprofit fire company or 
similar organization furnishing public fire protection, and sales of ambulances to any volunteer, 
nonprofit organization furnishing a public ambulance service, are also exempt. 
  
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, §§ 6(d) and 6(x) 
 
Vermont:  The state of Vermont, its agencies, instrumentalities, public authorities, public 
corporations, and political subdivisions are not subject to sales and use tax when: it is a purchaser, 
user, or consumer; it is a vendor of services or property of a kind not ordinarily sold by private 
persons; or it charges for admission to any amusement.  In addition, a school or municipality; 
which “[a]s used in this subdivision, “school” means a school as defined in 16 V.S.A. § 11(7) and 
(8) and “municipality” means a city, town, unorganized town, village, grant, or gore”, are also not 
subject to sales and use tax.”  Finally, sales of equipment, supplies, and building materials made 
directly to volunteer fire departments, volunteer ambulance companies, or volunteer rescue squads 
for official use by the volunteer organizations are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9743(1), 9743(6) and 9741(21) 
 

85. Sales to U.S. Government and Operators of Railroad Transportation Equipment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-36-13 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1925 / 1977 
 
Description:  Any fuel sold by a distributor to the United States government or to a person, firm, 
or corporation who or which shall use the fuel solely for the operation of railroad transportation 
equipment on fixed rails or tracks is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 31-36. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Revenue forgone is based 
on motor fuel consumption by exempt distributors. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Motor Fuel Tax $3,949,427 6 

2017 Motor Fuel Tax $1,883,444 6 

2018 Motor Fuel Tax $2,329,149 6 

2019 Motor Fuel Tax $1,505,624 6 
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Projection Methodology:  Amount of exemption and number of taxpayers held constant with FY 
2019. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Motor Fuel Tax $1,505,624 6 

2021 Motor Fuel Tax $1,505,624 6 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  The gasoline tax is not imposed if the imposition of the tax is precluded by federal law or 
regulation. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 2903(4)(F) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of fuel used in the operation of railroads is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(j) 
 
Vermont:  Railroad rolling stock, including depreciable parts, machinery and equipment to be 
installed as a capital asset in such rolling stock, sold for use primarily in the carriage of persons or 
property are exempt.  Railroad rolling stock includes locomotives, cabooses, boxcars, tank cars, 
flatbed cars, maintenance of way equipment and all other wheeled vehicles used on rails or tracks.  
Railroads are also exempt in purchasing diesel fuels. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9741(30) and 9741(7) 
 

86. School Meals: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1989 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of meals served by public, private, or 
parochial schools, school districts, colleges, universities, student organizations, parent teacher 
associations to the students or teachers of a school, college, or university whether the meals are 
served by the educational institutions or by a food service or management entity under contract to 
the educational institutions is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 
44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  325 

Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $4,859,970 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $5,146,201 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $5,349,823 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $5,582,936 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $5,777,943 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut’s, Maine’s and Massachusetts’ exemptions are under the Sales and 
Use Tax.  New Hampshire’s and Vermont’s exemptions are under the Meals and Rooms tax. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of meals and food products to students and teachers by schools, colleges and 
universities and to patients by hospitals, homes for the aged and convalescent homes, nursing 
homes and rest homes are exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(9) 
 
Maine:  Meals served to students and teachers by schools, colleges, universities, student 
organizations and parent-teacher associations to the students or teachers of a school are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 1760(6)(A) and 1760(6)(E) 
 
Massachusetts:  Only meals served to students at schools, colleges and universities and meals 
served by camps for children eighteen years of age or under or for developmentally disabled 
individuals are exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(cc) 
 
New Hampshire:  Meals served or furnished by an organization operated for educational purposes, 
which organization is exempt from federal income taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, either directly through facilities owned and operated by such organization or 
indirectly through a catering or food service enterprise under contract with such organization, but 
only if such meals are served or furnished: (A) To students regularly attending the organization; 
(B) To employees, faculty members or administrative officers of the organization; (C) To 
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volunteers providing services in connection with the organization; or (D) To other persons but 
only if the meals are served or furnished pursuant to an activity which is related to educational 
purposes and the sponsor of such activity is an organization exempt from federal income taxation 
under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code or the federal or state government of an 
instrumentality thereof. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78-A:3, X(c)(2) 
 
Vermont:  Schools may sell meals on their own ground without collecting the meals tax.  
Contractors may sell meals to school students and staff under this exemption, but restaurants and 
caterers otherwise subject to the tax may not deliver meals to the schools without collecting the 
tax.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9202(10)(D)(ii)(II) 
 

87. Securities from Taxation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-14 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 1985 
 
Description:  The owners of shares of stock, bonds, debentures, and other evidences of 
indebtedness of any corporation liable to a tax under Rhode Island General Law Chapter 44-13 
and of any corporation the property of which is operated in this state by any corporation shall be 
exempt from taxation.  
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 

 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

88. Seeds and Plants used to Grow Food and Food Ingredients: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(65)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 2017 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of seeds and plants used to grow food 
and food ingredients is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-
18.  The exemption does not apply to marijuana seeds or plants. 
 
Data Source:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone revenue from 
this exemption is included in the “Food and Food Ingredients” exemption.) 

 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2017 Sales and Use Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (The forgone 
revenue from this exemption is included in the “Food and Food Ingredients” exemption.) 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2019 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2020 Sales and Use Tax * * 

2021 Sales and Use Tax * * 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Vegetable seeds suitable for planting to produce food for human consumption are 
exempt from Connecticut’s sales tax. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(96) 
 
Maine:  Products, including seeds, used in commercial agricultural production are exempt from 
the state sales and use tax.  Vegetable seeds and seedlings used in home gardens are taxable.  
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit., 36 § 1760 (7-B) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of plants, including parts of plants, suitable for planting to produce food for 
human consumption or when such plants, including parts thereof or the produce thereof, are to be 
sold in the regular course of business, including such items as seed potatoes, onion sets, asparagus 
roots, berry plants or bushes, and fruit trees are exempt from sales and use tax in Massachusetts. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Massachusetts Gen. Laws Ch. 64H § 6(p) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include a sales and use tax exemption for agricultural inputs, 
which includes seed and plants used for agricultural purposes.  
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit., 32 § 9741(3) 
 

89. Special Adaptations for Wheelchair Accessible Taxicabs: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(19)(iii) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2007 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale of: special adaptations or the component parts of the special adaptations, for 
a “wheelchair accessible taxicab” as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 39-14-1 and/or 
a “wheelchair accessible public motor vehicle” as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 
39-14.1-1 are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

90. Supplies Used in On-Site Hazardous Waste Recycling, Reuse, or Treatment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(37) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1988 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of tangible personal property or supplies 
used or consumed in the operation of equipment, the exclusive function of which is recycling, 
reuse, or recovery of materials (other than precious metals) from the treatment of hazardous wastes 
as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 23-19.1-4 are exempt from the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 provided that the hazardous wastes are generated in 
Rhode Island solely by the same taxpayer and where the personal property is located at, in or 
adjacent to a generating facility of the taxpayer in Rhode Island. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provision includes an exemption for personal property for 
incorporation into or used in waste treatment facilities. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(21) 
 

91. Supplies Used in Preparing Floral Products and/or Arrangements: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(52) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2000 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use, or other consumption of tangible personal property or supplies 
purchased by florists, garden centers, or other like producers or vendors of flowers, plants, floral 
products, and natural and artificial floral arrangements which are ultimately sold with flowers, 
plants, floral products, and natural and artificial floral arrangements or are otherwise used in the 
decoration, fabrication, creation, processing, or preparation of flowers, plants, floral products, or 
natural and artificial floral arrangements are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $867,017 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $898,736 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
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2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $934,297 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $975,008 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $1,009,064 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Vermont has a similar provision. 
 
Vermont:  Sales of fresh cut flowers only by a qualified Section 501(c)(3) organization, during a 
single, annual sales event not to exceed seven days, are exempt. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(3)(D) 
 

92. Telecommunications Carrier Access Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(45) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1989 / 2007  
 
Description:  Carrier access service or telecommunications service purchased by a 
telecommunications company from another telecommunications company to facilitate the 
provision of telecommunications service is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-18.  
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model. No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index: 3 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $13,168,600 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $13,184,900 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology: Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $13,706,591 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $14,303,843 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $14,803,464 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Sales of international and interstate telecommunications services are exempt from the 
service provider tax for all purchasers. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 2557(33) and 2557(34) 
 
Massachusetts:  The tax on sales of telecommunications does not apply to sales for resale. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Regulations 830 CMR 64H.1.6 Telecommunications Services 
 
Vermont:  Charges for wholesale transactions between telecommunications service providers 
where the service is a component part of a service provided to an end user are exempt. This 
exemption includes, but is not limited to, network access charges and interconnection charges paid 
to a local exchange carrier.  In addition, the sale of telecommunications service to an affiliate of 
the telecommunications provider is not a taxable transaction under Vermont law. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9741(41) and 9742(10) 
 

93. Textbooks: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(36) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1985 / 2007  
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of textbooks by an educational 
institution, as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(18), and by an educational 
institution, as defined by Rhode Island General Laws Section 16-63-9(a)(4), or used textbooks by 
any source are exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  FY 2017 and FY 2018 Rhode Island Interactive Sales and Use Tax Simulation 
Model.  No reliable data exists from which to determine the number of taxpayers. 
 
Reliability Index:  3 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $1,724,228 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $1,864,553 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $1,938,328 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $2,022,789 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $2,093,443 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts sales of college textbooks both new and used to full and part-
time students enrolled at institutions of higher education or a private occupational school. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(109) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of books required for instructional purposes in educational institutions are 
exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(m) 
 
Vermont:  Organizations which qualify for exempt status under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. § 
501(c)(3) shall be exempt if the organization’s gross sales of tangible personal property and 
services, which would be subject to tax under this chapter but for this subdivision did not exceed 
$20,000.00 in the prior year. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(3)(C) 
 

94. Total Loss or Destruction of Motor Vehicle within 120 Days of Tax Payment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-21(c) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1977  
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Description:  In the case of a motor vehicle that has been destroyed or been deemed a total loss 
within 120 days of its purchase, the amount of the use tax paid on the vehicle under Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-18-20 constitutes an overpayment.  The overpayment may be credited 
against the amount of use tax on any replacement vehicle, which the owner acquires or may be 
refunded in whole or in part. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $59,287 65 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $58,869 67 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $35,254 45 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $67,803 74 
 
Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 and FY 2021 are the three-year averages for data reported for 
FY 2017, FY 2018 and FY 2019. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $53,975 62 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $53,975 62 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No use tax shall be payable in cases of purchase when a motor vehicle which has 
been declared a total loss is rebuilt for sale or use, provided the purchaser was subjected to the 
sales and use tax for the last taxable sale of the vehicle. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431(a)(2)(D) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont’s provisions include a partial or complete refund of taxes paid if an insurer 
makes a payment on account of the total loss or destruction of a vehicle from an accident occurring 
within three months of the purchase. 
 
Vermont’s Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8902(5)(D)(ii) 
 

95. Trade-In Value of Boats: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(41) 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of “so much of the purchase price paid 
for a new or used boat as is allocated for a trade-in allowance on the boat of the buyer given in 
trade to the seller or of the proceeds applicable only to the boat as are received from an insurance 
claim as a result of a stolen or damaged boat, towards the purchase of a new or used boat by the 
buyer” is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Where a trade-in of any vessel is received by a retailer of such vessels upon the sale 
of another such vessel to a consumer, the tax is only on the difference between the sale price of 
such vessel purchased and the amount allowed on such vessel traded in on such purchase. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-430(4) 
 
Maine:  When one or more watercraft are traded in toward the sale price of another watercraft, the 
tax imposed must be levied only upon the difference between the sale price of the watercraft and 
the trade-in allowance of the watercraft taken in trade. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1765(3) 
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Massachusetts:  Where a trade-in of a boat is received by a dealer in boats upon the sale of another 
boat to a consumer or user, the tax shall be imposed only on the difference between the sale price 
of the boat purchased and the amount allowed on the boat traded in on such purchase.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 27A 
 
Vermont:  Sales price does not include credit for any trade-in where trade-in means an allowance 
made for like-kind property given to a vendor. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9701(4)(B)(v) 
 

96. Trade-In Value of Private Passenger Automobiles: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(23) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1975 / 2011 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of “so much of the purchase price paid 
for a new or used automobile as is allocated for a trade-in allowance on the automobile of the buyer 
given in trade to the seller, or of the proceeds applicable only to the automobile as are received 
from the manufacturer of automobiles for the repurchase of the automobile whether the repurchase 
was voluntary or not towards the purchase of a new or used automobile by the buyer” is exempt 
from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18.  The term “automobile” 
means a private passenger automobile not used for hire and does not refer to any other motor 
vehicle.  
  
Prior to October 1, 2011, proceeds received as a result of an insurance claim for the total loss of a 
motor vehicle were exempt from sales tax. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Motor Vehicles, Rhode Island Department of Revenue.  Data taken from 
new system implemented at the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles which began use in July 
2017. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $11,458,426 20,598 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $8,348,417 13,367 
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Projection Methodology:  FY 2020 amount of exemption and number of taxpayers is the average 
of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from FY 2018 and FY 2019.  FY 2021 is set equal to 
FY 2020.   
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $9,903,421 16,983 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $9,903,421 16,983 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Where a trade-in of a motor vehicle is received by a motor vehicle dealer upon the 
sale of another motor vehicle to a consumer, the tax is only on the difference between the sale 
price of the motor vehicle and the amount allowed on the motor vehicle traded in on such purchase. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-430(4) 
 
Maine:  When one or more motor vehicles are traded in toward the sale price of another motor 
vehicle, the tax imposed must be levied only upon the difference between the sale price of the 
motor vehicle and the trade-in allowance of the motor vehicle taken in trade. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1765(1) 
 
Massachusetts:  Where a trade-in of a motor vehicle is received by a dealer upon the sale of another 
motor vehicle to a consumer or user, the tax shall be imposed only on the difference between the 
sales price of the motor vehicle purchased and the amount allowed on the motor vehicle traded in 
on such purchase. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 26 
 
Vermont:  For any purchaser who has paid tax on the purchase or use of a motor vehicle that was 
sold or traded by the purchaser, the taxable cost of the replacement motor vehicle shall exclude 
the value allowed by the seller on any motor vehicle accepted by him as part of the consideration 
of the motor vehicle, provided the motor vehicle accepted by the seller is owned and previously or 
currently registered by the purchaser, with no change of ownership since registration. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8902(5)(A) 
 

97. Transfers or Sales Made to Immediate Family Members: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20(d)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1995 
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Description:  The sale or transfer of tangible personal property that is otherwise subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 is exempt from said tax “when the 
transferee or purchaser is the spouse, mother, father, brother, sister, or child of the transferor or 
seller.” 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No use tax shall be payable in cases of purchase of motor vehicles, vessels, 
snowmobiles and aircraft when the purchaser is the spouse, mother, father, brother, sister or child 
of the seller. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431(a)(2)(A) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts’ provisions include an exemption for family members including a 
spouse, mother, father, brother, sister, or child of the seller in the purchase of motor vehicles, 
trailers, boats and airplanes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64I, § 7(b) 
 
Vermont:  Motor vehicles transferred to the spouse, mother, father, child, grandparent, or 
grandchild of the donor are exempt from tax. 
 
Vermont Statute: Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 8911(8) 
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98. Transfers or Sales Related to Business Dissolution or Partial Liquidation: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20(d)(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 1995 
 
Description:  The sale or transfer of tangible personal property that is otherwise subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 is exempt from said tax “when the transfer 
or sale is made in connection with the organization, reorganization, dissolution, or partial 
liquidation of a business entity provided that: (1) the last taxable sale, transfer or use of the article 
being sold was subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18; (2) the 
transferee is the business entity referred to or is a stockholder, owner, member or partner; and (3) 
any gain or loss to the transferor is not recognized” as income for federal income tax purposes. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  No use tax shall be payable in cases of purchase when a motor vehicle or vessel is 
sold in connection with the organization, reorganization or liquidation of an incorporated business, 
provided the last taxable sale or use of the motor vehicle or vessel was subjected to the sales or 
use tax and the purchaser is the incorporated business or a stockholder thereof. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-431(a)(2)(B) 
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Maine:  A retail sale that is subject to the sales and use tax includes the sale or liquidation of a 
business or the sale of substantially all of the assets of a business, to the extent that the seller 
purchased the assets of the business for resale, lease or rental in the ordinary course of business, 
except when: the sale is to an affiliated entity and the transferee,…purchases the assets for resale, 
lease or rental in the ordinary course of business; or the sale is to a person that purchases the assets 
for resale, lease or rental in the ordinary course of business or that purchases the assets for transfer 
to an affiliate for resale, lease or rental by the affiliate in the ordinary course of business. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1752(11)(A)(4) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sale or transfer of a motor vehicle, trailer, or other vehicle to or from a 
business entity is exempt from tax as follows, provided that the transferor previously paid the sales 
or use tax on the vehicle: (a) the sale or transfer must be pursuant to a transaction which qualifies 
as a “reorganization;” or (b) the sale or transfer must be pursuant to the formation of a partnership 
or corporate trust, or pursuant to the organization of a corporation, solely in exchange for an 
ownership interest in the enterprise; or (c) the sale or transfer must be to an owner of a business 
entity solely in exchange for the owner’s interest on the complete dissolution of a partnership or 
corporate trust, or the complete liquidation of a corporation. 
 
Massachusetts Regulation:  830 CMR 64H.25.1 Motor Vehicles 
 
Vermont:  The transfer of tangible personal property to a corporation in a reorganization, a merger 
or consolidation; the distribution of property by a corporation in liquidation, the distribution of 
property by a partnership in liquidation is exempt from tax. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 9742(2) through 9742(6) 
 

99. Transportation Charges of Motor Carriers to Haul Goods: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(40) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale or hiring of motor carriers as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 
39-12-2(l) to haul goods when the contract or hiring cost is charged by a motor freight tariff filed 
with the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission based on the number of miles driven or by the 
number of hours spent on the job is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Exemptions 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  341 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 

  
100. Vacation Homes Rented in Entirety: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-36.1(a) 

 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1986 / 2015 
 
Description:  A house, condominium, or other resident dwelling rented in its entirety is exempt 
from the hotel tax administered and collected by the Division of Taxation or the City of Newport.  
The hotel tax is a 5.0% tax upon the total consideration charged for occupancy of any space 
furnished by any hotel, travel packages, or room reseller. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation, monthly hotel tax data, Office of Revenue 
Analysis (ORA) calculations. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Hotel Tax $920,087 No estimate possible 

2017 Hotel Tax $2,479,513 No estimate possible 

2018 Hotel Tax $3,819,029 No estimate possible 

2019 Hotel Tax  $3,674,039 No estimate possible 
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Projection Methodology:  ORA projections of the hotel tax amounts prepared for the Governor’s 
recommended FY 2020 budget.  ORA utilized growth observed in collections from July – 
September of FY 2020.  FY 2021 assumes no additional growth.  No projection of the number of 
taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $3,953,196 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $3,953,196 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found in the other New England states. 

 
101. Vehicles Purchased by Non-Resident Military Personnel Subject to Sales Tax Elsewhere: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30.A(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1965 / 1986 
 
Description:  The use, storage or other consumption of a motor vehicle purchased in Rhode Island 
where the buyer is an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces stationed outside of 
Rhode Island and where the buyer has paid a sales or use tax greater than or equal to the amount 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18 is exempt from the use tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-20.  If the buyer has paid a sales or use tax in an amount 
less than that imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18, then the buyer must pay the 
difference between the amount of the tax paid and the amount of the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-18 to the tax administrator. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Sales of motor vehicles to non-resident members of the armed forces on full-time 
active duty in Connecticut or their spouses are taxed at a reduced 4.5 percent rate, provided that 
the retailer requires and obtains documentation including a declaration under penalty of false 
statement confirming the purchaser’s military status and state of residency.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-408(1)(C) 
 

102. Video-Lottery Terminal, Table Games, and Sports Wagering Prizes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-61.2-10 / Rhode Island Public Laws 
2018, Chapter 47, Article 4, Section 4 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law.  
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1992 / 2018 
 
Description:  The prizes, including payoffs, received pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 42-61.2 are exempt from the state sales or use tax.  This tax expenditure was extended to 
sports betting in the 2018 Session for prizes received from video-lottery terminals and table games 
to prizes, including payoffs, received from sports betting.  Prizes are still subject to any taxes 
applicable to Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions were found for the other New England states. 
 

103. Water for Residential Use: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(28) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1977 / N/A 
 
Description:  The sale, storage, use or other consumption of water provided for domestic use by 
occupants of residential premises is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18. 
 
Data Source: Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission, Rhode Island regulated water suppliers’ 
water rates.  Estimate is based on usage of 60,000 gallons per household at an average cost of 
$486.98 per year.  From the physical housing characteristics for occupied housing units reported 
by the US Census, it is estimated that there were 407,484 households in Rhode Island in calendar 
year 2015, 408,239 households in CY 2016, 408,748 households in CY 2017 and 406,573 
households in CY 2018.  Revenue forgone is determined by multiplying the total yearly sales by 
7.0 percent and summing one half of each calendar year to arrive at a fiscal year total.  Fiscal year 
number of taxpayers is determined by summing one half of each calendar year. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $13,489,030 407,862 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $13,717,546 408,494 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $13,896,505 407,661 
 
Projection Methodology:  A three-year moving average of the growth rate in Rhode Island 
occupied housing units was used to estimate FY 2019, FY 2020 and FY 2021 number of taxpayers 
and similar methodology applied to estimate FY 2019, FY 2020 and FY 2021 revenue forgone.   
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $13,864,902 406,733 

2020 Sales and Use Tax  $13,873,383 406,982 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $13,877,531 407,104 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut exempts the sales of water, steam and telegraph services, when 
delivered to consumers through mains, lines, pipes or bottles. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(3)(C) 
 
Maine:  Sales of water purchased for use in buildings designed and used for both human habitation 
and sleeping, with the exception of hotels, are exempt. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(39) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sales, furnishing, and service of water is exempt. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(i) 
 

104. Wine and Spirits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(64)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1947 / 2013 / 2015 
 
Description:  The sale by a Class A Licensee of alcoholic beverages or the storage, use or other 
consumption of wine and spirits is exempt from the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-18.  Previously this exemption was temporarily in place for the period December 1, 
2013 through June 30, 2015, however, effective July 1, 2015 the exemption became permanent. 
 
Data Source:  Tax Administrator’s Reports Sales and Taxation of Alcoholic Beverages in Rhode 
Island published May 2016, May 2017, May 2018 and May 2019.  ORA utilized the five-year 
average percent of alcohol excise taxes remitted from January – June as well as July – December 
to extract fiscal year sales from the Taxation report.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax $16,826,599 No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax $16,902,518 No estimate possible 

2018 Sales and Use Tax $16,927,206 No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  Applied the FY 2019 over FY 2018 growth rate in Rhode Island retail 
sales from the November 2019 IHS Markit forecast to FY 2018 revenue forgone to project FY 
2019 revenue forgone.  A similar process was followed for FY 2020 and FY 2021.  No projection 
of the number of taxpayers is possible due to a lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2019 Sales and Use Tax $17,596,970 No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax $18,363,742 No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax $19,005,171 No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions.  
 
Maine:  The sales, storage or use of spirituous and vinous liquors are exempt from sales and use 
taxes. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(36) 
 
Massachusetts:  The sales of all alcoholic beverages taxed under the excise taxes listed in Mass 
Gen Laws chapter 138 are exempt from sales and use taxes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H, § 6(g) 
 

105. Youth Activities Equipment Sold for $20 or Less: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-18-30(31) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1984 / 1995 
 
Description:  The sale for not more than $20 per item by non-profit charitable organizations for 
youth activities which the organization is formed to sponsor and support or by accredited 
elementary and secondary schools for the purposes of the schools or of organized activities of 
enrolled students and the storage, use or other consumption of such items are exempt from the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-18. 
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Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Sales and Use Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Sales and Use Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  A sales and use tax exemption is provided for sales of items for $20 or less made by 
eleemosynary organizations when the sales are made for purposes of supporting youth activities.  
Examples of such organizations include:  Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Parent-Teacher Organizations, 
Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs, Little League, Pee Wee Football, 4-H Clubs, Camp Fire Girls and Junior 
Achievement.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(26) 
 
Massachusetts:  Sales of tangible personal property by a nonprofit organization for fundraising 
purposes are exempt from sales tax as casual and isolated sales if (i) the organization does not 
make sales in the regular course of business of the same type of property and if (ii) amounts derived 
from such casual and isolated sales are used to further the organization’s exempt purpose. 
 
Massachusetts Regulation:  830 CMR Section 64H.6.1(4)(a)  
 
Maine:  Sales of tangible personal property and taxable services by elementary and secondary 
schools and by student organizations sponsored by those schools, including booster clubs and 
student or parent-teacher organizations, as long as the profits from the sales are used to benefit 
those schools or student organizations or are used for a charitable purpose. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 1760(64) 
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Vermont:  Sales by qualified Section 501(c)(3) organizations shall be exempt from the sales and 
use tax if the organization’s gross sales of tangible personal property and services which would be 
subject to the sales and use tax but for this exemption, in the prior year, did not exceed $20,000. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 9743(3)(C) 
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1. Bonus Depreciation Provided by JCWAA of 2002 and JGTRRA of 2003: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-61-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2002 / 2008  
 
Description:  For purposes of depreciating assets under Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-
11, 44-14 and 44-30, the bonus depreciation provided by the federal Job Creation and Workers 
Assistance Act (JCWAA) of 2002 and the federal Jobs Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act 
(JGTRRA) of 2003, or any subsequent enactment for federal tax purposes, is not allowed for 
Rhode Island tax purposes.  In the year those assets are placed in service and in all subsequent 
years, depreciation for Rhode Island tax purposes is allowed as it would have been computed prior 
to the enactment of the JCWAA of 2002. 
 
The JCWAA of 2002 allowed a special 30.0 percent bonus depreciation deduction in the first year 
for qualifying property purchased after September 10, 2001, and before September 11, 2004, for 
purposes of computing federal net income.  In addition, the JCWAA of 2002 modified Internal 
Revenue Code Section 168(k) to allow taxpayers to claim an additional first-year bonus 
depreciation allowance on any new Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (MACRS) 
property when the recovery period is 20 years or less.  The additional depreciation allowance is 
equal to 30.0 percent of the adjusted cost basis of the property after any Internal Revenue Code 
Section 179 expense deductions are taken.  The JGTRRA of 2003 increased the bonus depreciation 
deduction from 30.0 percent to 50.0 percent for assets purchased after May 5, 2003, but before 
January 1, 2005.  The American Jobs Creation Act of 2004 extended some bonus depreciation 
rules for certain aircraft as well as other items.  The Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 reintroduced 
bonus depreciation of 50.0 percent for qualifying property placed in service in TY 2008.  The 
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 extended the 50.0 percent bonus depreciation 
for qualifying property placed in service in TY 2009.  The Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 
increased the bonus depreciation from 50.0 percent to 100.0 percent for qualifying property 
acquired and placed in service after September 8, 2010, but before January 1, 2012.  Qualifying 
property acquired on or before September 8, 2010 was eligible for the 50.0 percent bonus 
depreciation, provided that it was placed in service prior to January 1, 2013.  The American 
Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 extends the 50.0 percent bonus depreciation for qualifying property 
placed in service in TY 2013.  The Protecting Americans from Tax Hikes (PATH) Act of 2015 
extended bonus depreciation to property acquired and placed in service before 2020 while retaining 
the 50 percent bonus depreciation in 2017 and providing for lesser bonus depreciation percentages 
of 40 percent for TY 2018 and 30 percent for TY 2019.  The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) of 
2017 retained the 50 percent bonus depreciation for property placed in service on or before 
September 27, 2017 and increased the bonus depreciation to 100 percent for property placed in 
service after September 27, 2017 but before January 1, 2023.  Beginning on January 1, 2023, the 
allowable bonus depreciation decreases by 20 percentage points in each subsequent year until it 
reaches zero percent on January 1, 2027. 
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Rhode Island’s disallowance of bonus depreciation is a timing issue.  In the year that an asset is 
put in service and is eligible for the federal bonus depreciation, a Rhode Island taxpayer must take 
as a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) the difference in the bonus 
depreciation amount allowed on the federal tax return and the depreciation amount allowed for 
Rhode Island tax purposes.  In subsequent years, a Rhode Island taxpayer may take as a 
modification decreasing federal AGI the difference in the depreciation amount allowed for Rhode 
Island tax purposes and the depreciation amount allowed on the federal tax return.  At the end of 
the asset’s “useful” life, the same amount of depreciation will be realized by the taxpayer on both 
the federal and the Rhode Island tax returns.  Thus, over the life of the asset, there is no net impact 
on Rhode Island tax collections. 
 
Data Source:  Personal Income Tax:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  
Modifications include adjustments that either increase or decrease federal AGI.  For TY 2016 and 
TY 2017, the total net modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; 
therefore, there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2016 or TY 2017.  The number 
of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either 
increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Business Corporation Tax and Bank Tax:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
(This modification / deduction is included in the Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, 
Section 179 of Internal Revenue Code deduction.) 
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporation, Bank Tax, 5; Personal Income Taxes, 1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2016 Bank Tax * * 

2016 Personal Income Tax $0 26,804 

2016 Total $0 26,804 

2017 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2017 Bank Tax * * 

2017 Personal Income Tax $0 27,238 

2017 Total $0 27,238 
 
Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation, Bank Taxes:  * Projections for this modification 
/ deduction is included in the Expensing of Assets in Lieu of Depreciation, Section 179 of Internal 
Revenue Code deduction.  Personal Income Taxes:  Due to changes in Federal tax law, ORA is 
unable to project usage of this deduction into the future and have thus reported no estimate possible 
for tax years 2018-2021.  
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2018 Bank Tax * * 

2018 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2018 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2019 Bank Tax * * 

2019 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2020 Bank Tax * * 

2020 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2021 Bank Tax * * 

2021 Personal Income Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Projected Total No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut personal income tax law requires that for property placed in service 
after September 10, 2001 but prior to September 11, 2004, in taxable years ending after September 
10, 2001, any additional allowance for depreciation under Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC), as provided by the JCWAA of 2002, to the extent deductible in determining federal 
AGI be recorded as a modification increasing federal AGI for Connecticut income tax purposes.  
In addition, to the extent any additional allowance for depreciation under Section 168(k) of the 
IRC, as provided by the JCWAA of 2002, for property placed in service after December 31, 2001, 
but prior to September 10, 2004, was added to federal AGI in computing Connecticut AGI for a 
taxable year ending after December 31, 2001, Connecticut personal income tax law allows for a 
modification decreasing federal AGI for Connecticut income tax purposes of 25.0 percent of such 
additional allowance for depreciation in each of the four succeeding taxable years.  Effective for 
tax year 2017 and going forward, Connecticut decoupled from the federal bonus depreciation 
deduction, taxpayers who report a subtraction modification on their federal return must report a 
bonus depreciation addition modification on the Connecticut return.  The taxpayer may then report 
25.0 percent of such additional allowance for depreciation in each of the four succeeding taxable 
years.   
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Connecticut corporation tax law states that for purposes of determining net income subject to tax, 
the deduction allowed for depreciation shall be determined as provided under the IRC, provided 
that in making such determination the provisions of Section 168(k) of the IRC do not apply.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-701(a)(20)(A)(ix), 12-701(a)(20)(B)(v) and 12-
217(b)(1) 
 
Maine:  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, federal adjusted gross income shall 
be increased by an amount equal to the net increase in depreciation attributable to the depreciation 
deduction claimed by the taxpayer under Section 168(k) for which a Maine credit is claimed under 
section 5219-NN for that tax year; and an amount equal to the net increase in depreciation 
attributable to the depreciation deduction claimed by the taxpayer under Section 168(k) with 
respect to property for which a Maine credit is not claimed under section 5219-NN. 
 
The addition modifications are recaptured in future years through a series of subtraction 
modifications.  Federal AGI or federal net income is reduced by a fraction of any amount 
previously added back by the taxpayer. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, an 
amount equal to the net increase in the depreciation deduction allowable under Sections 167 and 
168 of the IRC that would have been applicable to that property had the depreciation deduction 
under Section 168(k) of the IRC not been claimed with respect to such property placed in service 
during the taxable year for which an addition was required under subsection 1, paragraph KK, 
subparagraph (2) for the taxable year. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, ch. 805, §§ 5122(1)(KK), 5122(2)(Q), 5122(2)(AA), 
5122(2)(II), 5122(2)(MM), 5122(2)(NN), and ch. 817, §§ 5200-A(1)(CC), and 5200-A(2)(AA) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts personal income tax law excludes from “Part B adjusted gross 
income” the deduction allowed by Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), as amended 
and in effect for the current tax year. 
 
Massachusetts taxation of corporations law also excludes from the definition of “net income” the 
deduction allowed by Section 168(k) of the IRC. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1)(N) and ch. 63, §§ 1, 30(4)(iv) 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines the “United States Internal Revenue Code” (IRC) to 
mean “[f]or all tax years beginning after January 1, 2000, the United States Internal Revenue Code 
of 1986 in effect on December 31, 2000.”  Thus, by definition, any amendments to the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) that occurred after December 31, 2000 are not allowable under New 
Hampshire’s business profits tax and business taxpayers have to adjust the taxable income reported 
on the federal tax return before reporting gross business profits on the New Hampshire business 
tax return.  The adjustment requires: (1) the removal of the federal bonus depreciation in effect for 
the taxable year; and (2) the inclusion of only the depreciation allowed under the IRC in effect on 
December 31, 2000. 
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For all taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2017, the definition of “United States 
Internal Revenue Code” was updated to reference the IRC in effect on December 31, 2015 but 
must be applied with the adjustments provided in N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:3-b, which includes 
section 168(k) of the IRC.  For all taxable periods beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the 
definition was updated to the IRC in effect on December 31, 2016 and shall be applied without 
section 168(k) of the IRC.   
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, XX 
 
Vermont:  Vermont defines net income for any corporate taxpayer as “the taxable income of the 
taxpayer for that taxable year under the laws of the United States, without regard to 26 U.S.C. § 
168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), and excluding income which under the laws of the 
United States is exempt from taxation by the states.”  For the individual income tax and for that of 
estates or trusts, Vermont defines taxable income as “federal taxable income determined without 
regard to Section 168(k) of the IRC.”   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(18)(A), (21), (28) 
 

2. Companies Engaged in Buying, Selling, Dealing In or Holding Securities on Own Behalf: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1938 / 2004 
 
Description:  Corporations that buy, sell, deal in or hold securities on their own behalf and “not as 
a broker, underwriter, or distributor” and whose gross receipts derived from these actions amount 
to at least 90.0 percent of its total gross receipts derived from all activities in a taxable year can 
take as a modification reducing net income 50.0 percent of excess capital gains over capital losses 
for the taxable year prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-
11. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected        

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Every financial institution or business corporation which is engaged exclusively 
in buying, selling, dealing in, or holding securities on its own behalf and not as a broker and is not 
a bank holding company under the Internal Revenue Code, as amended and in effect for the taxable 
year shall pay, on account of each taxable year, an excise equal to 0.132 percent of the gross 
income received by such corporation during the taxable year, or $456, whichever is greater  For 
every financial institution or business corporation that is engaged in buying, selling, dealing or 
holding securities on its own behalf and not as a broker and is a bank holding company, the 
respective rate is 0.33 percent of the gross income, or $456, whichever is greater.  Such companies 
are exempt from the corporate excise tax.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, §§ 38B, 68C 
 

3. Contribution to Medical Savings Accounts by Scituate Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-25.1(d)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2002 / N/A  
 
Description:  A resident individual of the town of Scituate who establishes a medical savings 
account is allowed a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) prior to 
computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30 for contributions made 
to said medical savings account to the extent such a contribution is deemed taxable under the 
Internal Revenue Code.  The income, including gains and losses on a medical savings account, is 
exempt from taxation. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
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Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $399 8 

2017 Personal Income Tax $355 6 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is average of revenue 
forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016– TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected        

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $377 7 

2019 Personal Income Tax $377 7 

2020 Personal Income Tax $377 7 

2021 Personal Income Tax $377 7 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts allows a deduction for contributions to Archer Medical Savings 
Accounts (MSA) for all individuals who qualify for the federal deduction.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(d)(1) 
 

4. Contributions to an Account under Tuition Savings Program: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(4) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2002 / NA 
 
Description:  Contributions made to an account under the Rhode Island tuition savings program, 
including the “contributions carryover”, if any, can be taken as a modification decreasing federal 
adjusted gross income (AGI) prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapter 44-30 subject to the limitation that the aggregate subtraction for any taxable year of the 
taxpayer shall not exceed $500 or $1,000 if a joint return.  The subtraction shall not reduce the 
taxpayer’s federal AGI to less than zero. 
 
The following shall not be considered contributions to an account under the tuition savings 
program:  (1) Contributions made by any person to an account who is not a participant of the 
account at the time the contribution is made; (2) Transfers or rollovers to an account from any 
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other tuition savings program account or from any other “qualified tuition program” under Section 
529 of the Internal Revenue Code; or (3) A change of the beneficiary of the account. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 (This modification includes the Federally Taxable Qualified Withdrawals 
from Tuition Savings Program Account modification). 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $141,364 3,571 

2017 Personal Income Tax $161,069 3,990 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016 – TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected        

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $151,217 3,781 

2019 Personal Income Tax $151,217 3,781 

2020 Personal Income Tax $151,217 3,781 

2021 Personal Income Tax $151,217 3,781 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut taxpayers may deduct contributions to accounts established pursuant to 
any qualified state tuition program, as defined in Section 529(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, 
established and maintained by the state or any official, agency or instrumentality of the state, but 
shall not exceed $5,000 for each individual taxpayer, or $10,000 for taxpayers filing a joint return.  
Any amount of a contribution that is not subtracted by the taxpayer in that year for which the 
contribution is made, on or after January 1, 2006, may be carried-forward as a subtraction from 
income for the succeeding five years; provided the amount subtracted shall not exceed the 
maximum allowed in each subsequent taxable year. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-701(20)(B)(xiii) and 12-701a 
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Massachusetts:  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017 and through the tax year 
beginning on January 1, 2021, there is a deduction equal to either the purchases of or contributions 
made in a taxable year to an account in a pre-paid tuition program or a college savings program 
established by Massachusetts or an instrumentality or authority of Massachusetts.  The deduction 
is capped at $1,000 for single, married filing separately, or head of household filers and $2,000 for 
a married couple filing jointly.   
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3(B)(a)(19) 
 
Vermont:  The Vermont Higher Education Investment Plan (VHEIP) tax credit entitles a taxpayer, 
including each spouse filing a joint return, a nonrefundable credit of 10.0 percent of the first $2,500 
contributed for each beneficiary to a Vermont higher education investment plan account.  A 
taxpayer who has received this credit must repay to the state 10.0 percent of any non-qualified 
distribution from a VHEIP account, up to a maximum of the total credits received by the taxpayer. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5825a 
 

5. Enterprise Zone Business Owner with Domiciliary in Enterprise Zone: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.3-7 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1982 / 1997  
 
Description:  A domiciliary of an enterprise zone who owns and operates a qualified business 
facility in that zone and which business is not required to file under Rhode Island General Laws 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, or 44-17 may take as a modification decreasing federal adjusted 
gross income (AGI) prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 
44-11 and 44-30 an amount of $50,000 during the first three years after certification and operations 
in the zone and may deduct $25,000 in the fourth and fifth year.  In the case of multiple business 
owners, the modification shall be apportioned according to the ownership interests of the qualified 
business.  
 
Data Source:  Business Corporation Tax:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income 
Tax Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident taxpayers with a modification that 
decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Personal Income Tax $21,510 71 

2016 Total $21,510 71 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Personal Income Tax $19,483 63 

2017 Total $19,483 63 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016 – TY 2017. 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected        

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Personal Income Tax $20,497 67 

2018 Projected Total $20,497 67 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Personal Income Tax $20,497 67 

2019 Projected Total $20,497 67 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Personal Income Tax $20,497 67 

2020 Projected Total $20,497 67 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Personal Income Tax $20,497 67 

2021 Projected Total $20,497 67 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Maine has a similar provision. 
 
Maine:  Maine allows as a modification decreasing the taxable income of the taxpayer under the 
laws of the United States in the case of a corporation, or federal AGI in the case of an individual, 
an amount equal to the reduction in salaries and wages expense for federal income tax purposes 
associated with the taxpayer’s federal empowerment zone employment credit as determined under 
Section 1396 of the Internal Revenue Code.   
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Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(2)(B) 
 

6. Federally Taxable Qualified Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program Account: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / N/A 
 
Description:  The amount of any withdrawal or distribution from the tuition savings program 
referenced in Rhode Island General Laws Section 16-57-6.1 which is included in federal adjusted 
gross income (AGI) other than a withdrawal or distribution or portion thereof that is deemed 
nonqualified is a modification that decreases federal AGI for purposes of the tax imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Under federal income tax law, the taxable portion of a qualified withdrawal or distribution is the 
earnings portion of the withdrawal or transfer that exceeds the adjusted qualified education 
expenses.  Adjusted qualified education expenses is the total qualified education expenses reduced 
by any tax-free educational assistance.  Tax-free educational assistance includes: the tax-free 
portion of scholarships and fellowships, veterans’ educational assistance, Pell grants, employer-
provided educational assistance and any other nontaxable (tax-free) payments (other than gifts or 
inheritances) received as educational assistance. 
 
Data Source:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (This modification is included 
in the Contributions to an Account under Tuition Savings Program.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax * * 

2017 Personal Income Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  * * 

2019 Personal Income Tax * * 

2020 Personal Income Tax * * 

2021 Personal Income Tax * * 
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Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Maine have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  To the extent properly includable in the gross income for federal income tax purposes 
of a designated beneficiary, any distribution to such beneficiary from any qualified state tuition 
program, as defined in Section 529(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, established and maintained 
by the state or any official, agency or instrumentality of the state can be taken as a modification 
decreasing federal AGI for Connecticut income tax purposes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(B)(xii) 
 
Maine:  To the extent included in federal adjusted income, any amount that is a qualified 
distribution from an account established under the Maine College Savings Program and used for 
paying higher education expenses of the designated beneficiary of that account is subtracted from 
federal AGI in calculating a taxpayer’s Maine taxable income.   
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(J) 
 

7. Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying Corporations: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-39.3-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  “The income, gain, or preference items resulting from the sale, transfer, or exercise 
of qualified and nonqualified stock options, the stock issued or transferred on the exercise of any 
option and warrants issued with respect to options and/or stock of a qualifying corporation” can 
be taken by a qualifying taxpayer as a modification reducing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
for the purposes of computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
A qualifying taxpayer is a resident of Rhode Island who has been employed at a location in Rhode 
Island for at least three consecutive months as a full-time employee of a qualifying corporation 
and the estate, heirs, and successors of that taxpayer.  A qualifying corporation is any corporation 
that (1) annually elects to be a qualifying corporation; (2) has at least 10 full-time employees in 
Rhode Island; and (3) is engaged principally in at least one business activity described in Standard 
Industrial Classification (SIC) codes 7371, Computer Programming Services; 7372, Prepackaged 
Software; or 7373, Computer Integrated Systems Design. 
 
Data Source:  *No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (This modification is included 
in the Income or Gain from a Qualifying Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying Corporation 
modification.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax * * 

2017 Personal Income Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  * * 

2019 Personal Income Tax * * 

2020 Personal Income Tax * * 

2021 Personal Income Tax * * 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts: Massachusetts gives a preferential tax rate of three percent for gains derived from 
the sale of investments.  Investments must have been made within five years of the corporation’s 
date of incorporation and must be in stock that generally satisfies the definition of qualified small 
business stock under the Internal Revenue Code (I.R.C.) § 1202(c), except for the requirement the 
stock be of a C-corporation. The stock must have been held for a minimum of three years and the 
investments must be made in a corporation domiciled in Massachusetts, incorporated on or after 
January 1, 2011, has less than $50 million in assets at the time of investment, and complies with 
certain active business requirements under the I.R.C. § 1202. 
 
Massachusetts Statute: Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 4(c) 
 

8. Income Earned on Rhode Island Family Education Accounts: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30-12(c)(2) and 44-30-25(f) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1988 / 2005  
 
Description:  The income earned on the assets held in family education accounts can be taken as a 
modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) prior to the computation of the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  A family education account is an account 
created by an individual taxpayer for the purpose of providing qualified educational benefits to a 
qualified beneficiary provided that the account is created by a written governing instrument as 
prescribed by the Tax Administrator that designates the account as a Rhode Island Family 
Education Account.   
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Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $19,657 295 

2017 Personal Income Tax $14,909 263 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $17,283 279 

2019 Personal Income Tax $17,283 279 

2020 Personal Income Tax $17,283 279 

2021 Personal Income Tax $17,283 279 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  To the extent properly includable in the gross income for federal income tax purposes 
of a designated beneficiary, any distribution to such beneficiary from any qualified state tuition 
program, as defined in Section 529(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, established and maintained 
by the state or any official, agency or instrumentality of the state can be taken as a modification 
decreasing federal AGI for Connecticut income tax purposes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(B)(xii) 
 
Maine:  To the extent included in federal AGI, any amount constituting a qualified distribution 
from an account established under Maine law and used for paying higher education expenses of 
the designated beneficiary of that account can be claimed as a modification decreasing federal AGI 
in determining Maine taxable income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(J) 
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Massachusetts:  Plan earnings are tax-free when used to pay for qualified higher education 
expenses.  Income may be taxable if the distribution is made for a reason other than qualified 
expenses, beneficiary’s death, or receipt of a scholarship. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3(B)(a)(19) 
 

9. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Preservation Tax Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-33.6-3(f) 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2013 / 2016  
 
Stated Purpose:  The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the purpose of 
stimulating the redevelopment and reuse of Rhode Island's historic structures, as well as to generate 
the positive economic and employment activities that will result from such redevelopment and 
reuse. 
 
Description:  Any assignment or sales proceeds received by the taxpayer for its assignment or sale 
of the tax credits allowed pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-33.6 shall be taken 
as a modification decreasing federal (AGI) prior to the calculation of the taxes imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Title 44 entitled “Taxation.” 
 
If a tax credit is subsequently recaptured, revoked or adjusted, the seller’s tax calculation for the 
year of revocation, recapture, or adjustment shall be increased by the total amount of the sales 
proceeds, without proration, as a modification increasing federal AGI under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
In the event that the seller is not a natural person, the seller’s tax calculation under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-12*, 44-13 (other than with respect to the tax imposed under 
Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-13-13), 44-14, 44-17, or 44-30, as applicable, for the year 
of revocation, recapture, or adjustment, shall be increased by including the total amount of the 
sales proceeds without proration.  As such, assignment or sales of tax credits under above 
mentioned tax types increase taxable income to the seller.  The Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) 
will report on the required increasing and decreasing modifications to federal AGI under Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The raw data for this modification includes the modification amounts for income for 
the assignment or transfer of historic preservation, historic structures, motion picture, and musical 
or theatrical production tax credits.  The amount of revenue forgone allocated to each tax credit 
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type is based on TY 2016 and TY 2017 tax credit redemption.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $118,298 40 

2017 Personal Income Tax $20,365 42 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $69,332 41 

2019 Personal Income Tax $69,332 41 

2020 Personal Income Tax $69,332 41 

2021 Personal Income Tax $69,332 41 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

10. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Structures Tax Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-33.2-3(e)(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / 2008 
 
Description:  Any assignment or sales proceeds received by the taxpayer for its assignment or sale 
of the tax credits allowed pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-33.2 shall be taken 
as a modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) prior to the calculation of the 
taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Title 44 entitled “Taxation.” 
 
If a tax credit is subsequently recaptured, revoked or adjusted, the seller’s tax calculation for the 
year of revocation, recapture, or adjustment shall be increased by the total amount of the sales 
proceeds, without proration, as a modification increasing federal AGI under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
In the event that the seller is not a natural person, the seller’s tax calculation under Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13 (other than with respect to the tax imposed under Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-13-13), 44-14, 44-17, or 44-30, as applicable, for the year of 
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revocation, recapture, or adjustment, shall be increased by including the total amount of the sales 
proceeds without proration.  As such, assignment or sales of tax credits under above mentioned 
tax types increase taxable income to the seller.  The Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) will report 
on the required increasing and decreasing modifications to federal AGI under R.I.G.L. Chapter 
44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The raw data for this modification includes the modification amounts for income for 
the assignment or transfer of historic preservation, historic structures, motion picture, and musical 
or theatrical production tax credits.  The amount of revenue forgone allocated to each tax credit 
type is based on TY 2016 and TY 2017 tax credit redemption. The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $322,090 15 
2017 Personal Income Tax $5,346 15 

 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $163,718 15 

2019 Personal Income Tax $163,718 15 

2020 Personal Income Tax $163,718 15 

2021 Personal Income Tax $163,718 15 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

11. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Motion Picture Production Credits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-31.2-9 
 
Stated Purpose:  The purpose of this chapter is to create economic incentives for the purpose of 
stimulating the local economy and reducing unemployment in Rhode Island. 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Modifications 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  367 

Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2005 / 2006 
 
Description:  Any motion picture production tax credit certificate issued in accordance with Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 44-31.2-5 which has been issued to a motion picture production 
company or passed through in accordance with Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31.2-5(d), 
and to the extent not previously claimed against the tax of the motion picture production company 
or of the owner of the certificate if the certificate was issued in accordance with Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-31.2-5(d), may be transferred or sold by such company to another Rhode 
Island taxpayer, subject to certain procedures and conditions.  Any assignment or sales proceeds 
received by the motion picture production company for its assignment or sale of the motion picture 
production tax credit shall be taken as a modification decreasing federal taxable income prior to 
the calculation of taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Title 44, entitled “Taxation.” 
 
Failure to comply with Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31.2-9 will result in the 
disallowance of the tax credit until the taxpayers are in full compliance.  Disallowance of the 
motion picture production tax credit that was previously claimed is recaptured and added back as 
a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI). 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The raw data for this modification includes the modification amounts for income for 
the assignment or transfer of historic preservation, historic structures, motion picture, and musical 
or theatrical production tax credits.  The amount of revenue forgone allocated to each tax credit 
type is based on TY 2016 and TY 2017 tax credit redemption. The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $54,875 7 

2017 Personal Income Tax $1,973 13 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $28,424 10 

2019 Personal Income Tax $28,424 10 

2020 Personal Income Tax $28,424 10 

2021 Personal Income Tax $28,424 10 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

12. Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 
Credits: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-31.3-2(b)(6)  
 
Stated Purpose:  The purpose of this tax expenditure is to create economic incentives for the 
purpose of stimulating the local economy and reducing unemployment in Rhode Island. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2012 / 2014 
 
Description:  Any musical and theatrical production tax credit, to the extent not previously claimed 
against the tax of the taxpayer, may be transferred or sold to another Rhode Island taxpayer, subject 
to certain procedures and conditions.  The assignee of the tax credits may use acquired credits to 
offset up to 100.0 percent of the tax liabilities otherwise imposed pursuant to Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-11, 44-13 (other than the tax imposed under § 44-13-13), 44-14, 44-17 or 44-30.  
The assignee may apply the tax credit against taxes imposed on the assignee for not more than 
three succeeding tax years.  Any assignment or sales proceeds received for its assignment or sale 
shall be taken as a modification decreasing federal taxable income prior to the calculation of taxes 
imposed by the State of Rhode Island. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The raw data for this modification includes the modification 
amounts for income for the assignment or transfer of historic preservation, historic structures, 
motion picture, and musical or theatrical production tax credits.  The amount of revenue forgone 
allocated to each tax credit type is based on TY 2016 and TY 2017 tax credit redemption. The 
number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that 
decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  2 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $28,191 6 

2017 Personal Income Tax $482 12 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017.  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $14,336 9 

2019 Personal Income Tax $14,336 9 

2020 Personal Income Tax $14,336 9 

2021 Personal Income Tax $14,336 9 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

13. Income or Gain from a Qualifying Employee’s Ownership of a Qualifying Corporation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-43-8 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1993 / 1995  
 
Description:  Any income, gain or preference items resulting from the transfer of employer 
securities from a qualified retirement plan, the sale, transfer, or exercise of stock, warrants, options, 
bonds, notes, or other interests of any corporation can be taken as a modification decreasing federal 
adjusted gross income (AGI) for the purpose of computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-30 provided that at the time of the sale, transfer, or exercise the 
corporation is a qualifying corporation as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-43-
8(c) with respect to the qualifying taxpayer. 
 
Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-43-8(b) defines a qualifying taxpayer as a current or former 
employee of a qualifying corporation employed for three consecutive months as a full-time 
employee in accordance with corporate policy.  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-43-8(c) 
and 44-43-8(d) define a qualifying corporation. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
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taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index: 1 (This modification includes the Gain from Stock Options in Qualifying 
Corporations modification.) 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $30,534 20 

2017 Personal Income Tax $49,700 28 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $40,117 24 

2019 Personal Income Tax $40,117 24 

2020 Personal Income Tax $40,117 24 

2021 Personal Income Tax $40,117 24 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

14. Interest on Obligations of the United States and its Possessions: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(1) and 44-11-11(a)(1)(iv) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any interest income on obligations of the United States and its possessions to the 
extent includible in gross income for federal income tax purposes, and any interest or dividend 
income on obligations, or securities of any authority, commission, or instrumentality of the United 
States to the extent includible in gross income for federal income tax purposes but exempt from 
state income taxes under the laws of the United States; provided that the amount to be subtracted 
shall in any case be reduced by any interest on indebtedness incurred or continued to purchase or 
carry obligations or securities the income of which is exempt from Rhode Island personal income 
tax, to the extent the interest has been deducted in determining federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
or taxable income shall be subtracted from federal AGI prior to computing the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
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Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $2,118,804 17,431 

2017 Personal Income Tax $1,930,198 18,890 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $2,024,501 18,161 

2019 Personal Income Tax $2,024,501 18,161 

2020 Personal Income Tax $2,024,501 18,161 

2021 Personal Income Tax $2,024,501 18,161 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  There shall be deducted from federal AGI in determining Connecticut adjusted gross 
income subject to the personal income tax, to the extent properly includable in gross income for 
federal income tax purposes, any income with respect to which taxation by any state is prohibited 
by federal law.   
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(20)(B)(i) 
 
Maine:  Federal AGI shall be reduced by interest or dividends on obligations of the United States 
and its territories and possessions or of any authority, commission or instrumentality of the United 
States to the extent that interest or those dividends are included in federal AGI but exempt from 
state income taxes under the laws of the United States.  A similar provision exists under Maine’s 
corporate income tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(A) and 5200-A(2)(A) 
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Massachusetts:  Interest on obligations of the United States are exempt from state income taxation 
to the extent included in federal gross income, and dividends received from a regulated investment 
company qualified under section 851 of the Internal Revenue Code to the extent such dividends 
are attributable to interest on obligations of the United States that are exempt from state income 
taxation and are so identified in a written notice mailed to the shareholders of such regulated 
investment company not later than 60 days after the close of its tax year can be deducted from 
federal gross income. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(A) 
 
New Hampshire:  Income derived from interest on notes, bonds or other securities of the United 
States is deducted from gross business profits before calculating tax. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:4(II) 
 
Vermont:  Taxable income begins with federal AGI, without regard to 26 U.S.C §165(k) and is 
decreased by income from United States government obligations. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5811(21)(B)(i) 
 

15. Military Pay of Non-Resident Individuals: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-32(d) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / N/A 
 
Description:  Compensation paid by the United States for service in the armed forces of the United 
States, performed by an individual not domiciled in Rhode Island can be taken as a modification 
decreasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) for the purposes of computing the tax imposed by 
Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $752,713 1,090 

2017 Personal Income Tax $455,145 1,068 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
  

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $603,929 1,079 

2019 Personal Income Tax $603,929 1,079 

2020 Personal Income Tax $603,929 1,079 

2021 Personal Income Tax $603,929 1,079 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
  
Connecticut:  Compensation paid by the United States for active service in the armed forces of the 
United States, performed by an individual not domiciled in Connecticut, shall not constitute 
income derived from sources within Connecticut. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-711(d) 
 
Maine:  A member of the armed services who is a legal resident of another state but is stationed in 
Maine by military orders is not subject to Maine income tax on his or her service pay. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5142(7) 
 
Massachusetts:  The compensation paid by the United States to its uniformed military personnel 
assigned to duty at military posts, bases or stations within the Commonwealth for services rendered 
by said personnel while on active duty shall be deemed to be from sources other than sources 
within the Commonwealth. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 5A(c) 
 
Vermont:  For any taxable year, the Vermont income of a resident individual is the adjusted gross 
income of the individual for that taxable year less the military pay for full-time active duty with 
the armed services earned outside Vermont and less the first $2,000 of military pay for unit training 
in Vermont to National Guard and United States Reserve personnel that have certified that all unit 
training of his or her unit was completed during the calendar year, and who have a federal AGI of 
less than $50,000. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5823(a)(2) 
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16. New Research and Development Facilities: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-32-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1974 / 1975  
 
Description:  A deduction for all expenditures paid or incurred for the construction, reconstruction, 
erection, or acquisition of any new tangible property that is depreciable under 26 U.S.C. § 167, 
was acquired by purchase as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 179(d), is located in the State, and is used in 
the taxpayer’s trade or business for purposes of research and development in the experimental or 
laboratory sense shall be allowed against the portion of its entire net income allocated to Rhode 
Island during the taxable year.  The deduction can be taken against the taxes imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Chapters 44-11 and 44-30 and is in lieu of depreciation or an investment tax 
credit.  The deduction is not refundable and may be carried over for up to three years. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporation Tax: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue 
Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Amount of allowed deduction was summed and then multiplied by 
the business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent for TY 2016 and TY 2017 to determine revenue 
forgone.  The number of taxpayers includes those taxpayers with a deduction that decreased federal 
AGI. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income 
Tax Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-
resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporation Tax, Personal Income Tax, 1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $16,166 33 

2016 Personal Income Tax $30 1 

2016 Total $16,196 34 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $24,353 11 

2017 Personal Income Tax $131 1 

2017 Total $24,484 12 
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Projection Methodology:  Business Corporation Tax:  TY 2018 forgone revenue and the number 
of taxpayers is data from the Division of Taxation and utilizes a business corporation tax rate of 
7.0 percent.  It should be noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended 
returns that have not yet been processed by the Division of Taxation.  TY 2019-TY 2021 is the 
three-year average from TY 2016 – TY 2018 of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Projected TY 2018 - TY 2021 amount of modification and number of 
taxpayers is the average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $17,798 2 

2018 Personal Income Tax $81 1 

2018 Projected Total $17,879 3 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $19,439 15 

2019 Personal Income Tax $81 1 

2019 Projected Total $19,520 16 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $19,439 15 

2020 Personal Income Tax $81 1 

2020 Projected Total $19,520 16 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $19,439 15 

2021 Personal Income Tax $81 1 

2021 Projected Total $19,520 16 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

17. Nonqualified Withdrawals from a Medical Savings Account by Scituate Residents: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30-12(b)(5) and 44-30-25.1(d)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2002 / N/A 
 
Description:  An employee or account holder who withdraws money from a medical savings 
account for any purpose other than a purpose described in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-
30-25.1(c)(3) will incur a penalty of 10.0 percent of the withdrawal amount.  The amount of any 
such withdrawal shall, to the extent that any earlier contribution(s) or income was claimed as a 
modification decreasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) for Rhode Island purposes shall be 
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a modification increasing federal AGI of the account holder or employee for the purpose of 
determining his or her tax liability under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30 in the year 
that the withdrawal or withdrawals are made.   
 
A modification which increases federal adjusted gross income cannot, by definition, be a tax 
expenditure item.  There is therefore, no revenue forgone to report.   
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that increased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
A total of four taxpayers had modifications increasing federal AGI in both TY 2016 and TY 2017.  
As is it not a tax expenditure, nonqualified withdrawals from a medical savings account by Scituate 
residents will not be included in future tax expenditure reports. 
 

18. Nonqualified Withdrawals from Tuition Savings Program Account: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30-12(b)(4) and 44-30-32(a)(3) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2002 / N/A 
 
Description:  A nonqualified withdrawal made from an account in the tuition savings plan program 
as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 16-57-6.1 shall be recorded as a modification 
increasing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) for the purpose of determining the amount of 
income subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  The amount that 
must be added back to federal adjusted gross income is the lesser of (i) the amount of the 
nonqualified withdrawal reduced by any administrative fee or penalty imposed on the nonqualified 
withdrawal or (ii) the amount of the modification decreasing federal AGI taken under Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(4) for the person’s taxable year and the two preceding taxable 
years less the amount of any nonqualified withdrawals taken in the two prior taxable years that 
were added to the person’s federal AGI in those years. 
 
Nonqualified withdrawals include (a) a transfer or rollover to a qualified tuition program under 
Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code other than the tuition savings program defined in Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 16-57-6.1; (b) a withdrawal or distribution that is not applied on a 
timely basis to qualified higher education expenses; (c) a withdrawal or distribution that is not 
made due to the death or disability of the beneficiary of the tuition savings program or in an amount 
greater than the amount of a scholarship, allowance or payment received by said beneficiary; or 
(d) is not made under other circumstances for which an exclusion from federal adjusted gross 
income is allowed under 26 U.S.C. § 529 applies provided that the nonqualified withdrawal is 
made within two taxable years following the taxable year for which a modification decreasing 
federal AGI was taken pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(4).   
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A modification which increases federal adjusted gross income cannot, by definition, be a tax 
expenditure item.  There is therefore, no revenue forgone to report.   
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that increased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
A total of 37 taxpayers had modifications increasing federal AGI in TY 2016 while 42 taxpayers 
took the nonqualified withdrawals from tuition savings program account modification in TY 2017.  
As is it not a tax expenditure, nonqualified withdrawals from a tuition savings program account 
will not be included in future tax expenditure reports. 
 

19. Nonqualified Withdrawals or Distributions from Rhode Island Family Education 
Accounts: 

 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Sections 44-30-12(b)(3) and 44-30-25(g) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2001 / N/A 
 
Description: “Any amount withdrawn from a family education account other than as a qualified 
withdrawal shall be a modification increasing federal adjusted gross income” prior to computing 
the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  The modification increasing 
federal adjusted gross income (AGI) shall not exceed the net modifications reducing federal 
adjusted gross income taken in the current or prior tax years. 
 
A modification which increases federal adjusted gross income cannot, by definition, be a tax 
expenditure item.  There is therefore, no revenue forgone to report.   
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes 
those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that increased federal AGI.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 
A total of 14 taxpayers had modifications increasing federal AGI in TY 2016 while 10 taxpayers 
took the nonqualified withdrawals or distributions from Rhode Island family education accounts 
modification in TY 2017.  As is it not a tax expenditure, nonqualified withdrawals or distributions 
from Rhode Island family education accounts will not be included in future tax expenditure reports. 
 

20. Organ Transplantation: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(7) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
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Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2009 / N/A 
 
Description:  An individual may subtract up to $10,000 from federal adjusted gross income if he 
or she, while living, donates one or more of his or her human organs to another human being for 
human organ transplantation.  An individual can claim this decreasing modification once and for 
unreimbursed expenses that are incurred by the claimant and related to the claimant’s organ 
donation in travel expenses, lodging expenses and lost wages.  This modification may be claimed 
by residents of Rhode Island only. 
 
Data Source: Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident taxpayers with 
a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $5,313 73 

2017 Personal Income Tax $3,843 64 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $4,578 69 

2019 Personal Income Tax $4,578 69 

2020 Personal Income Tax $4,578 69 

2021 Personal Income Tax $4,578 69 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, taxpayers may subtract 
up to $10,000 from Connecticut adjusted gross income for certain expenses related to organ 
donation. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(B)(xxii) 
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Massachusetts:  A deduction is allowed for any individual who donates an organ to another person 
for human organ transplantation.  The individual may claim travel expenses, lodging expenses, 
and lost wages not to exceed $10,000 that are incurred by the individual and related to the 
individual’s organ donation.  This deduction is only available to Massachusetts residents. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 3(B)(a)(16) 
 

21. Performance-Based Income of Eligible Employees via the Jobs Growth Act: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.11-4 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2005 / N/A 
 
Description:  An eligible employee, as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.11-
2(j), of an eligible company, as defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.11-2(i), shall 
be allowed as a modification decreasing adjusted gross income and alternative minimum income 
50.0 percent of the performance-based income realized by the eligible employee during any 
calendar year for which an eligible company has been certified under Rhode Island General Laws 
Section 42-64.11-3, prior to computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 
44-30. 
 
In any taxable year for which an eligible company has been certified under Rhode Island General 
Laws Section 42-64.11-3, said eligible company or its affiliates shall pay a tax equal to 5.0 percent 
of the aggregate performance-based compensation paid to its eligible employees. 
 
Although this modification decreasing federal AGI is still permitted under state law, the 2010 
reform of the personal income tax system effectively made this modification moot. 
 
Data Source:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.   
 
Reliability Index:  1  
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2017 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Projection Methodology:  Amount of modification and number of taxpayers is held constant with 
TY 2017.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2019 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2020 Personal Income Tax $0 0 

2021 Personal Income Tax $0 0 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

22. Profits or Gains from Sales of Work by Artists, Writers, and Composers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-1.1(c)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / 2005 
 
Description:  An individual to whom Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-1.1 applies is 
entitled to have the profits or gains arising from the publication, production, or sale of a work or 
works be taken as a modification reducing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) for the purposes 
of computing the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  The modification is 
available only to artists, writers and composers that reside within designated economic 
development zones in Providence, Pawtucket, Woonsocket, Warwick, Westerly, Newport, 
Tiverton, Little Compton, and Warren. 
 
A work is defined in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-1.1(a) as “an original and creative 
work whether written, composed, created or executed” that falls into one of the following 
categories: (1) a book or other writing; (2) a play or the performance of said play; (3) a musical 
composition or the performance of said composition; (4) a painting or other like picture; (5) a 
sculpture; (6) traditional and fine crafts; (7) the creation of a film or the acting of said film; or (8) 
the creation of a dance or the performance of said dance. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $20,139 95 

2017 Personal Income Tax $14,747 87 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $17,443 91 

2019 Personal Income Tax $17,443 91 

2020 Personal Income Tax $17,443 91 

2021 Personal Income Tax $17,443 91 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

23. Provision of Insurance Benefit to Dependent or Domestic Partner: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(c)(6) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2006 / N/A 
 
Description:  Any amount of insurance benefits or other coverage plan paid for or provided to a 
dependent, including a domestic partner that is included in adjusted gross income (AGI) for federal 
income tax purposes shall be taken as a modification reducing federal AGI prior to the computation 
of the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $45,450 378 

2017 Personal Income Tax $44,003 377 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017.   
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $44,727 378 

2019 Personal Income Tax $44,727 378 

2020 Personal Income Tax $44,727 378 

2021 Personal Income Tax $44,727 378 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Massachusetts:  If an employee participates in an employer-provided health insurance plan, any 
amount which would be included in gross income of the employee by reason of coverage under 
the plan of any person other than the employee, to the extent such coverage is mandated by law, 
may be deducted from federal AGI for purposes of calculating Massachusetts personal income tax.  
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(Q) 
 
Vermont:  Vermont law governing income taxes shall apply to parties to a civil union and surviving 
parties to a civil union as if federal income tax law recognized a civil union in the same manner as 
Vermont law. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 5812 
 

24. Qualifying Investment in a Certified Venture Capital Partnership: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-43-2(5) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1987 / N/A 
 
Description:  A modification reducing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) for making a 
qualifying investment in a certified venture capital partnership shall be allowed for the amount of 
the qualifying investment in the year in which the taxpayer first makes such an investment prior 
to computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  (A deduction 
reducing net income or net worth, gross earnings, or gross premiums shall be allowed prior to 
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computing the tax owed under Rhode Island General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14 or 44-
17.) 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal AGI.  ORA 
calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 and TY 2017 Rhode 
Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without the 
modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $377 7 

2017 Personal Income Tax $214 4 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $296 6 

2019 Personal Income Tax $296 6 

2020 Personal Income Tax $296 6 

2021 Personal Income Tax $296 6 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

25. Railroad Retirement Benefits: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Title 45 U.S.C. § 231m(a) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1935 / 2008  
 
Description:  The United States Railroad Retirement Act provides that notwithstanding any other 
law of the United States, or of any State, territory, or the District of Columbia no annuity or 
supplemental annuity shall be assignable or be subject to any tax or to garnishment, attachment, 
or other legal process under any circumstances whatsoever. 
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Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-
resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $199,672 302 

2017 Personal Income Tax $187,690 308 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $193,681 305 

2019 Personal Income Tax $193,681 305 

2020 Personal Income Tax $193,681 305 

2021 Personal Income Tax $193,681 305 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  In computing Connecticut adjusted gross income, there shall be subtracted from 
federal adjusted gross income, to the extent properly includable in gross income for federal income 
tax purpose, any tier 1 railroad retirement benefits. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(B)(iv) 
 
Maine:  In determining income subject to the Maine personal income tax, federal adjusted gross 
income shall be reduced by “railroad retirement benefits paid by the United States, to the extent 
included in federal adjusted gross income.” 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(C) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides a deduction for social security benefits included in federal 
gross income under Section 86 of the Internal Revenue Code.  The term social security benefits in 
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Section 86 includes Tier 1 railroad retirement benefits.  Tier II railroad retirement benefits are also 
exempt from state taxation under 45 U.S.C. § 231m. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(H) 
 
Vermont: Vermont’s provisions exclude Tier I and II railroad retirement benefits from the 
calculation of the personal income tax.   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(21)(B)(iv), 5830e 
 

26. Recognition of Income from Discharge of Business Indebtedness: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-66-1 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2009 / N/A 
 
Description:  For purposes of computing Rhode Island taxable income under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-14 and 44-30, the recognition of income from the discharge of business 
indebtedness deferred under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 for 
federal tax purposes, must be reported as a modification increasing federal income for Rhode 
Island tax purposes in the year the discharge of indebtedness occurred.  When claimed as income 
on a future federal tax return the deferred amount of the discharge of indebtedness may be reported 
as a modification decreasing federal income for Rhode Island tax purposes. 
 
The ARRA of 2009 allowed certain businesses that had debts discharged in 2009 and 2010 to defer 
the recognition of income from the cancellation of such debts until 2014 and then spread that 
recognition of income over a five-year period.  Rhode Island’s disallowance of the recognition of 
income from the discharge of business indebtedness is a timing issue.  Over the course of the 
indebtedness, there is no net impact on Rhode Island tax collections. 
 
Data Source:  Business Corporation: Rhode Island Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue 
Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Amount of modification was first multiplied by the taxpayer’s 
apportionment ratio and then multiplied by the business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent for TY 
2016 and TY 2017 to determine revenue forgone.  The number of taxpayers includes those 
taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Bank Taxes:  Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  Amount of modification was first multiplied by 
the taxpayer’s apportionment ratio and then multiplied by the banking institution excise tax rate of 
9.0 percent for TY 2016 and TY 2017 to determine revenue forgone.  The number of taxpayers 
includes those taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Personal Income Tax:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income 
Tax Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
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and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-
resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  Business Corporation, Bank Taxes and Personal Income Tax, 1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $886,302 70 

2016 Bank Tax $0 0 

2016 Personal Income Tax $17,646 58 

2016 Total $903,948 128 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $491,120 71 

2017 Bank Tax $3,881 1 

2017 Personal Income Tax $2,296 46 

2017 Total $497,297 118 
 
Projection Methodology:  The cancellation of debt income for 2009 and 2010 could be deferred 
until 2014 and spread over five years (i.e., TY 2014 through TY 2018).  Therefore, ORA projects 
this modification will be zero in TY 2019 and thereafter for all tax types.   
 
Business Corporation Tax:  TY 2018 forgone revenue and the number of taxpayers is data from 
the Division of Taxation and utilizes a business corporation tax rate of 7.0 percent.  It should be 
noted that TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been 
processed by the Division of Taxation.   
 
Bank Tax: TY 2018 forgone revenue and the number of taxpayers is data from the Division of 
Taxation and utilizes a banking institution excise tax rate of 9.0 percent.  It should be noted that 
TY 2018 data does not include any extensions or amended returns that have not yet been processed 
by the Division of Taxation.   
 
Personal Income Tax:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers for TY 2018 is 
the average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017.   
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected       

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $100,702 11 

2018 Bank Tax $0 0 

2018 Personal Income Tax $9,971 52 

2018 Projected Total $110,673 63 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and New Hampshire have similar 
provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Any income from the discharge of indebtedness in connection with any 
reacquisition, after December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, of an applicable debt 
instrument or instruments, as defined in Section 108 of the IRC, as amended by Section 1231 of 
the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 not included in federal AGI shall 
be taken as a modification increasing adjusted gross income for Connecticut income tax purposes. 
 
To the extent that any income from the discharge of indebtedness in connection with any 
reacquisition, after December 31, 2008, and before January 1, 2011, of an applicable debt 
instrument or instruments, as those terms are defined in the ARRA of 2009, was added to federal 
AGI in computing Connecticut adjusted gross income for a preceding taxable year, the amount of 
the income that was added to federal AGI may be taken as a modification decreasing adjusted 
gross income for Connecticut income tax purposes. 
 
Similar provisions are included in Connecticut law for business corporation taxes. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-217(b)(2)(A), 12-217(b)(2)(B), 12-701(a)(20)(A)(xi) 
and 12-701(a)(20)(B)(xviii) 
 
Maine:  Maine taxable income for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, but before 
January 1, 2011, is federal adjusted gross income increased by an amount equal to the gross income 
during the taxable year from the discharge of indebtedness deferred under the United States Code, 
Section 108(i). 
 
Maine taxable income for tax years after December 31, 2010 is federal adjusted gross income 
decreased by an amount equal to the gross income from the discharge of indebtedness previously 
deferred under the Code, Section 108(i) and included in federal adjusted gross income. 
 
Similar provisions are included in Maine law for the imposition of tax on corporations. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 5122(1)(CC), 5122(2)(DD), 5200-A(1)(W) and 
5200-A(2)(U) 
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Massachusetts:  Gross income is defined as under the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code, as 
amended and in effect for the taxable year, but shall be determined without regard to Section 108(i) 
of the Code 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 1 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire defines the term “United States Internal Revenue Code” to 
mean “[F]or all tax years beginning after January 1, 2000, the United States Internal Revenue Code 
of 1986 in effect on December 31, 2000.”  Thus, by definition, amendments to the Internal Revenue 
Code that occurred after December 31, 2000 are not allowable under New Hampshire’s business 
profits tax and business taxpayers are required to adjust the taxable income reported on their 
federal return before reporting their gross business profits on their New Hampshire business tax 
return.  The adjustment will require: (1) the addition of the deferred income from the cancellation 
of indebtedness taken in the taxable year; and (2) the subtraction of the amount of income from 
the cancellation of indebtedness deferred from a prior taxable year. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-A:1, XX 
 

27. Rental Vehicle Surcharge Retained by Rental Car Companies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 31-34.1-2(b) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1994 / 2015 
 
Description:  The rental vehicle surcharge rate is 8.0 percent of gross receipts per vehicle on all 
rentals for each of the first thirty (30) consecutive days. Beginning on July 1, 2014 and thereafter 
sixty percent of the revenue collected from the imposition of the surcharge imposed by Rhode 
Island General Laws Section 31-34.1-2(a) is retained by the rental car company and forty percent 
of the surcharge is remitted to the state for deposit in the Rhode Island highway maintenance 
account. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation data on 40% of the surcharge 
remitted to the state.  ORA calculations to determine 60% retained by rental car companies. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,331,906 46 

2017 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $4,949,228 41 

2018 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,474,231 53 

2019 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,208,182 57 
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Projection Methodology:  The number of taxpayers and projected revenue forgone is held constant 
with FY 2019.   
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,208,182 57 

2021 Rental Vehicle Surcharge $5,208,182 57 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  The rental surcharge is equal to 3.0 percent of the total rental charge and is included 
in the sales tax base.  It applies only if the rental company owns a fleet of at least five passenger 
motor vehicles used for rentals, and the vehicle is leased for less than 31 days.  The total surcharge 
collected is retained by the rental company.  Rentals by licensed new car dealers, repairers and 
limited repairers are exempt from the surcharge. Rentals by used car dealers who are not primarily 
engaged in the rental business are also exempt. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-692(b) 
 

28. Rhode Island Fiduciary Adjustment: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12(d) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / 2002 
 
Description:  The taxpayer’s share, as beneficiary of an estate or trust, of the Rhode Island fiduciary 
adjustment determined under Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-17 shall be taken as a 
modification either decreasing or increasing federal adjusted gross income as the case may be prior 
to the computation of the tax liability imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30. 
 
The Rhode Island fiduciary adjustment is the net amount of the modifications provided for in 
Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-12 exclusive of subdivisions (b)(4), (c)(3) and (c)(4) 
which relates to items of income or deduction of an estate or trust.  This includes the modification 
for the Rhode Island fiduciary adjustment, subdivision (d) of Rhode Island General Laws Section 
44-30-17, if the estate or trust is a beneficiary of another estate or trust.  The respective shares of 
an estate or trust and its beneficiaries, including solely for the purpose of this allocation, non-
resident beneficiaries, in the fiduciary adjustment are in proportion to their respective share of 
federal distributable net income of the estate or trust. 
 
Data Source:  Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) calculations.  Modifications include adjustments 
that either increase or decrease federal adjusted gross income (AGI).  For TY 2016 and TY 2017, 
the total net modification by resident and non-resident taxpayers increased federal AGI; therefore, 
there is no revenue forgone from this modification in TY 2016 or TY 2017.  The number of 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Modifications 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  390 

taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a modification that either 
increased or decreased federal AGI.      
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $0 1,440 

2017 Personal Income Tax $0 1,427 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $0 1,434 

2019 Personal Income Tax $0 1,434 

2020 Personal Income Tax $0 1,434 

2021 Personal Income Tax $0 1,434 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  With respect to a person who is the beneficiary of a trust or estate, there shall be 
added or subtracted, as the case may be, from adjusted gross income such person’s share, as 
determined under Section 12-714, in the Connecticut fiduciary adjustment. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(a)(20)(C) 
 
Maine:  There shall be added to or subtracted from federal adjusted gross income, as the case may 
be, the taxpayer’s share of the fiduciary adjustment determined under section 5164, Computation 
of Taxable Income of Resident Estates and Trusts. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(3) 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts gross income includes a further modification for the income 
received from any trustee or other fiduciary, which income is taxable under the personal income 
tax to the trustee or other fiduciary. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(C) 
 

29. Tax Incentives for Employers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-55-4.1 
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Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1997 / N/A 
 
Description:  Businesses that employ and retain in the State employees who have been previously 
unemployed for at least 26 consecutive calendar weeks and have been employed for at least 52 
consecutive calendar weeks shall receive a modification from the income, gross earnings, deposits, 
or gross premiums subject to the taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30.  
The modification is equal to 40.0 percent of the eligible employee’s first year wages, up to a 
maximum $2,400 per eligible employee.  (Eligible businesses shall receive a deduction from the 
income, gross earnings, deposits, or gross premiums subject to the taxes imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14, 44-15 and 44-17.) 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-
resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $14,374 22 

2017 Personal Income Tax $18,057 38 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax  $16,216 30 

2019 Personal Income Tax $16,216 30 

2020 Personal Income Tax $16,216 30 

2021 Personal Income Tax $16,216 30 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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30. Taxable Pension Plan and/or Annuity Income: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30-12(c)(9) / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2016, Chapter 142, Article 13, Section 16 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / 2016 
 
Description:  A modification reducing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) for up to $15,000 of 
taxable pension and/or annuity income included in federal AGI is allowed for individual filers with 
federal AGI of $80,000 or less and joint filers with federal AGI of $100,000 or less who also have 
reached “full retirement age” based on Social Security Administration rules for tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2017.  The federal AGI dollar amounts will be adjusted for inflation on a 
going-forward basis. 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2017 
Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer without 
the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both calculations across all 
taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability 
calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-resident taxpayers with a 
modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax n/a n/a 

2017 Personal Income Tax $11,968,388 41,541 
 
Projection Methodology:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal 
Income Tax Simulation Model.  Estimates prepared by ORA at the request of the House Fiscal 
Office during the 2016 session were updated to reflect the actual modification taken in TY 2017.  
ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer with the modification, then 
compared the results with the tax liabilities without the modification across all taxpayers.  Revenue 
forgone is determined by taking the difference between the two tax liability calculations.  The 
number of taxpayers is equal to the number of residents that took the modification in TY 2017. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $12,543,685 41,541 

2019 Personal Income Tax $13,053,409 41,541 

2020 Personal Income Tax $13,423,012 41,541 

2021 Personal Income Tax $13,803,081 45,541 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut: There shall be deducted from federal adjusted gross income in determining 
Connecticut adjusted gross income subject to the personal income tax, to the extent properly 
includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes, any income received from the United 
States government as retirement pay for a retired member of the Armed Forces or the National 
Guard.  Additionally, there shall be deducted from federal adjusted gross income in determining 
Connecticut adjusted gross income subject to the personal income tax, to the extent properly 
includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes, for the taxable year commencing 
January 1, 2016 through January 1, 2018, 25 percent of the income received from the state teachers' 
retirement system, and for the taxable year commencing January 1, 2019, and each taxable year 
thereafter, 50 percent of the income received from the state teachers' retirement system. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(20)(B)(xvii), (xx) 
 
Maine: For each individual who is a primary recipient of pension benefits under an employee 
retirement plan, federal adjusted gross income should be reduced by an amount that is the lesser 
of: (1) $10,000 reduced by the total amount of the individual’s social security benefits and railroad 
retirement benefits paid by the United States, but not less than $0. The reduction does not apply to 
benefits paid under a military retirement plan; or (2) the aggregate of retirement plan benefits under 
employee retirement plans included in the individual’s federal adjusted gross income. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(M) 
 
Massachusetts: Massachusetts personal income tax provisions include a modification reducing 
federal gross income for income from any contributory annuity, pension, endowment or retirement 
fund of the United States government or the commonwealth or any political subdivision thereof 
including the optional retirement system established by section 40 of Chapter 15A, to which the 
employee has contributed, or any income received from the United States government as 
retirement pay for a retired member of the Uniformed Services of the United States, including 
survivorship benefits.  
 
Massachusetts provisions also contain a modification reducing federal gross income for income 
from annuity, stock bonus, pension, profit-sharing, annuity or deferred-payment plans or contracts 
described in sections 403(b) and 404 of the Code or for individual retirement accounts, individual 
retirement annuities, or retirement bonds described in sections 408 and 409 of the Code.  This 
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modification does not apply to income from the optional retirement system established by Mass. 
Gen. Laws, ch. 15A, § 40. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(E), (F) 
 

31. Taxable Social Security Income: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-30-12(c)(8) / Rhode Island Public 
Law 2015, Chapter 141, Article 11, Section 12 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / 2015 
 
Description:  A modification reducing federal adjusted gross income (AGI) of taxable social 
security income included in federal AGI is allowed for individual filers with federal AGI of 
$80,000 or less and joint filers with federal AGI of $100,000 or less who also have reached “full 
retirement age” based on Social Security Administration rules for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2016.  The federal AGI dollar amounts will be adjusted for inflation on a going-forward 
basis.  For the tax year beginning on January 1, 2017, the federal AGI thresholds increased to 
$81,575 and $101,950, respectively. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.  Modification includes adjustments that decreased federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).  ORA calculated the Rhode Island tax liability for each taxpayer under TY 2016 
and TY 2017 Rhode Island personal income tax laws and the Rhode Island tax liability for each 
taxpayer without the modification for the same tax years, then summed the results for both 
calculations across all taxpayers.  Revenue forgone is determined by taking the difference between 
the two tax liability calculations.  The number of taxpayers includes those resident and non-
resident taxpayers with a modification that decreased federal AGI. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $16,479,910 40,688 

2017 Personal Income Tax $16,420,037 47,720 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected amount of modification and number of taxpayers is the 
average of revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from TY 2016-TY 2017. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $16,449,974 41,704 

2019 Personal Income Tax $16,449,974 41,704 

2020 Personal Income Tax $16,449,974 41,704 

2021 Personal Income Tax $16,449,974 41,704 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  There shall be deducted from federal adjusted gross income in determining 
Connecticut adjusted gross income subject to the personal income tax, to the extent properly 
includable in gross income for federal income tax purposes, an amount equal to the Social Security 
benefits includable for federal income tax purposes for single filers and married individuals filing 
separately whose federal AGI for such taxable year is less than $50,000 and for married individuals 
filing jointly and heads of households whose federal AGI for such taxable year is less than $60,000.  
For all filers who do not meet the above income thresholds, the modification reducing federal AGI 
for Connecticut personal income tax purposes is an amount equal to the difference between the 
amount of Social Security benefits includable for federal income tax purposes and the lesser of 25 
percent of the Social Security benefits received during the taxable year, or 25 percent of the excess 
described in Section 86(b)(1) of the IRC. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-701(20)(B)(x) 
 
Maine: Federal AGI shall be reduced by Social security benefits and railroad retirement benefits 
paid by the United States, to the extent included in federal AGI. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5122(2)(C) 
 
Massachusetts:  Social security benefits includable in federal gross income may be subtracted from 
federal gross income for the calculation of Massachusetts personal income tax. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 2(a)(2)(H) 
 
Vermont:  Beginning in TY 2018, social security beneficiaries meeting certain income 
requirements will be able to claim an exemption for the taxable portion of their social security 
benefits.  For single, married filing separately, head of household, and qualifying widow(er) filers, 
taxpayers with a federal AGI of less than $45,000 may exclude all of their federally taxable social 
security benefits and taxpayers with a federal AGI between $45,000 and $55,000 maybe exclude 
some portion of the federally taxable social security.  For married filing jointly filers, the maximum 
federal AGI is $70,000, with a phaseout range of $60,000 to $70,000.   
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §§ 5811(21)(B)(iv), 5830e 
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1. Allocation and Apportionment of Airlines: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-15 / Rhode Island Code 
of Regulations Title 280, Chapter 20, Subchapter 25, Part 9.11(C) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / 2015 
 
Description:  According to the Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) 280-20-25-9, 
Apportionment of Net Income, Part 9.11 specifies that certain categories of taxpayers are 
eligible to apportion income according to modified formulas.  Airlines are specifically 
listed as a type of taxpayer eligible for a special apportionment formula.   
 
According to 280-RICR-20-25-9.11(C), for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2015, to arrive at a determination of the share of net income attributable to Rhode Island 
for an airline, passenger revenue and freight revenue shall be allocated to Rhode Island 
based on the ratio of departures of flight aircraft, by type, from locations in Rhode Island 
compared to departures everywhere, multiplied by total passenger revenue everywhere.  
All other receipts that are attributable to Rhode Island shall also be included in the 
numerator.  The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-11. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
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Connecticut:  Connecticut’s tax on air carriers shall be allocated to Connecticut by use of 
the average of the following three ratios (a) The ratio which the aircraft arrivals and 
departures within Connecticut scheduled by such air carrier during the income year bears 
to the total aircraft arrivals and departures scheduled by such carrier on its entire system 
during the same period; provided, in the case of nonscheduled operations, all arrivals and 
departures shall be substituted for scheduled arrivals and departures; (b) the ratio which the 
revenue tons handled by such air carrier at airports within Connecticut during the income 
year bears to the total revenue tons handled by such carrier at all airports on its entire 
system during the same period; (c) the ratio which such air carrier's originating revenue 
within Connecticut for the income year bears to the total originating revenue of such carrier 
from its entire system for the same period.  If the formula provided subjects a taxpayer to 
a portion of taxes larger or smaller than is reasonably attributable to Connecticut, than the 
provisions of Conn. Gen. Stat. Section 12-221a shall apply.  
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-244 
 
Massachusetts:  Airlines use a modified three factor apportionment percentage formula in 
Massachusetts.  The numerator of the property factor is the sum of the average value of the 
real and tangible personal property of the airline, other than aircraft ready for flight, situated 
in Massachusetts and the average value of the aircraft ready for flight owned or rented and 
used by the airline in Massachusetts.  The denominator of the property factor is the average 
value of all of the airline's real and tangible personal property owned, rented, or leased, and 
used during the taxable year.  The numerator of the payroll factor is the sum of the 
compensation paid in Massachusetts to non-flight personnel during the taxable year and 
the compensation paid in Massachusetts to flight personnel during the taxable year.  The 
denominator of the payroll factor is the total compensation paid by the airline during the 
taxable year.  The sales factor is a fraction whose numerator is total sales of the taxpayer 
in Massachusetts during the taxable year and whose denominator is total sales of the 
taxpayer everywhere during the taxable year.  In general, a taxpayer's total sales are its 
gross receipts. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(j), Mass. Regulations 830 CMR 
63.38.2: Apportionment of Income of Airlines 
 

2. Allocation and Apportionment of Brokerage Services: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-14.2(b) / Rhode Island 
Code of Regulations Title 280, Chapter 20, Subchapter 25, Part 9.11(D)(2) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1995 / N/A 
 
Description:  According to the Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) 280-20-25-9, 
Apportionment of Net Income, Part 9.11 specifies that certain categories of taxpayers are 
eligible to apportion income according to modified formulas.  Providers of securities 
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brokerage services are specifically listed as a type of taxpayer eligible for a special 
apportionment formula.  
 
Any taxpayer located in Rhode Island that provides securities brokerage services may 
choose to allocate its net income as follows: all net income derived directly or indirectly 
from the sale of security brokerage services shall be apportioned to Rhode Island only to 
the extent that securities brokerage customers are domiciled in Rhode Island.  The 
apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of the brokerage commissions and total margin 
interest paid on accounts owned by Rhode Island domiciled customers to the brokerage 
commissions and total margin interest paid on accounts owned by all of the taxpayer’s 
customers.  The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island 
General Laws Chapter 44-11.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, 
then the taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years 
after the tax year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Each taxpayer that provides securities brokerage service shall apportion its 
net income derived, directly or indirectly, from rendering securities brokerage services as 
follows: the numerator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of the brokerage 
commissions and total margin interest paid on behalf of brokerage accounts owned by the 
taxpayer’s customers who are domiciled in Connecticut during such taxpayer’s income 
year, computed according to the method of accounting used in the computation of net 
income. The denominator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of brokerage 
commissions and total margin interest paid on behalf of brokerage accounts owned by all 
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of the taxpayer’s customers, wherever domiciled, during such taxpayer’s income year, 
computed according to the method of accounting used in the computation of net income. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 12-218(f) 
 

3. Allocation and Apportionment of Credit Card Banks: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-14.3 / Rhode Island Code 
of Regulations Title 280, Chapter 20, Subchapter 25, Part 9.11(E) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description: According to the Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) 280-20-25-9, 
Apportionment of Net Income, Part 9.11 specifies that certain categories of taxpayers are 
eligible to apportion income according to modified formulas.  Credit card banks are 
specifically listed as a type of taxpayer eligible for a special apportionment formula.  
 
Any banking institution whose business activities are taxable within and outside of Rhode 
Island and whose activities are limited to those described in Section 2(c)(2)(F) of the 
federal Bank Holding Company Act (12 U.S.C. § 1841(c)(2)(F)) may choose to allocate 
its net income based on a special apportionment formula.  All net income derived directly 
or indirectly from the banking institution shall be apportioned to Rhode Island only to the 
extent that the banking institution’s customers are domiciled in Rhode Island.  The 
apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of the income derived from accounts owned by 
customers domiciled in Rhode Island to the income derived from accounts owned by all of 
the banking institution’s customers.  The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax 
imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this 
apportionment method, then the taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five 
succeeding tax years after the tax year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Only Connecticut has a similar provision. 
 
Connecticut:  Any financial service company that has net income derived from credit card 
activities shall apportion its net income derived from credit card activities using a special 
formula.  The numerator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of the Connecticut 
receipts.  The denominator of the apportionment fraction shall consist of (A) the total 
amount of interest and fees or penalties in the nature of interest from credit card receivables, 
(B) receipts from fees charged to card holders, including, but not limited to, annual fees, 
irrespective of the billing address of the card holder, (C) net gains from the sale of credit 
card receivables, irrespective of the billing address of the card holder, and (D) all credit 
card issuer’s reimbursement fees, irrespective of the billing address of the card holder. 
 
Connecticut receipts are determined by adding (A) interest and fees or penalties in the 
nature of interest from credit card receivables and receipts from fees charged to card 
holders, including, but not limited to, annual fees, where the billing address of the card 
holder is in Connecticut and (B) the product of (i) the sum of net gains from the sale of 
credit card receivables and all credit card issuer’s reimbursement fees multiplied by (ii) a 
fraction, the numerator of which shall be interest and fees or penalties in the nature of 
interest from credit card receivables and receipts from fees charged to card holders, 
including, but not limited to, annual fees, where the billing address of the card holder is in 
Connecticut, and the denominator of which shall be the total amount of interest and fees or 
penalties in the nature of interest from credit card receivables and receipts from fees 
charged to card holders, including, but not limited to, annual fees, irrespective of the billing 
address of the card holder. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(i) 
 

4. Allocation and Apportionment of Motor Carriers: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-15 / Rhode Island Code 
of Regulations 280-RICR-20-25-9.11(B) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2004 / 2015 
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Description:  According to the Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) 280-20-25-9.11 
Apportionment of Net Income, only certain, specified categories of taxpayers are eligible 
to apportion income according to modified formulas.  Motor carriers are specifically listed 
as a type of taxpayer eligible for a special apportionment formula.   
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, to arrive at a determination of the share 
of net income attributable to Rhode Island the motor carrier’s net income is multiplied by 
the motor carrier’s apportionment percentage.  The apportionment percentage is a ratio of 
the motor carrier’s total Rhode Island sales, and the motor carrier’s total worldwide sales.  
A motor carrier’s Rhode Island sales consist of the average of the inbound/outbound Rhode 
Island receipts plus all other receipts attributable to Rhode Island. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut and Massachusetts have similar provisions.   
 
Connecticut:  Any motor carrier which transports property for hire and which is taxable 
both within and without Connecticut shall apportion its net income derived from carrying 
of property for hire by means of an apportionment fraction, the numerator of which shall 
represent the total number of miles operated within Connecticut and the denominator of 
which shall represent the total number of miles operated everywhere, but income derived 
by motor carriers from sources other than the carrying of property for hire shall be 
apportioned as herein otherwise provided. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(d) 
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Massachusetts:  Motor carrier companies use a modified three factor apportionment 
percentage formula in Massachusetts.  The numerator of the property factor is the sum of 
the value of the real and tangible personal property of the motor carrier, other than mobile 
property, situated in Massachusetts and the value of the mobile property owned, rented, or 
leased and used by the motor carrier in Massachusetts.  The denominator of the property 
factor is the average value of all of the motor carrier's real and tangible personal property 
owned, rented, or leased, and used during the taxable year.  The numerator of the payroll 
factor is the sum of the compensation paid in Massachusetts to personnel other than 
operating personnel and the compensation paid in Massachusetts to operating personnel.  
The denominator of the payroll factor is the total compensation paid by the motor carrier 
during the taxable year.  The sales factor is a fraction whose numerator is total sales of the 
taxpayer in Massachusetts during the taxable year and whose denominator is total sales of 
the taxpayer everywhere during the taxable year.  In general, a taxpayer’s total sales are its 
gross receipts. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(j), Mass. Regulations 830 CMR 
63.38.3: Apportionment of Income of Motor Carriers 
 

5. Allocation and Apportionment of Regulated Investment Companies: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-14.2(a) / Rhode Island 
Code of Regulations Title 280, Chapter 20, Subchapter 25, Part 9.11(D)(1) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1995 / N/A 
 
Description:  According to the Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) 280-20-25-9, 
Apportionment of Net Income, Part 9.11 specifies that certain categories of taxpayers are 
eligible to apportion income according to modified formulas.  Regulated investment 
companies are specifically listed as a type of taxpayer eligible for a special apportionment 
formula.  
 
Any taxpayer located in Rhode Island that sells management, distribution or administration 
services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company, as defined by federal law, may 
choose to allocate its net income as follows: all net income derived directly or indirectly 
from the sale of management, distribution, or administration services to or on behalf of 
regulated investment companies, including net income received directly or indirectly from 
trustees, and sponsors or participants of employee benefit plans which have accounts in a 
regulated investment company, shall be apportioned to Rhode Island only to the extent that 
shareholders of the regulated investment company are domiciled in Rhode Island.  The 
apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of the taxpayer’s Rhode Island receipts from 
the services it provides to the taxpayer’s receipts everywhere from the services it provides.  
Rhode Island receipts are determined by multiplying total receipts for the taxable year from 
each separate regulated investment company for which the services are performed by a 
fraction: the numerator being the average of the number of shares owned by the regulated 
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investment company’s shareholders domiciled in this state at the beginning of and at the 
end of the company’s taxable year and the denominator being the average of the number 
of the shares owned by the regulated investment company’s shareholders everywhere at 
the beginning and the end of the company’s taxable year.   
 
The apportioned net income is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-11.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then the 
taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the tax 
year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Maine, and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Each taxpayer that provides management, distribution or administrative 
services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company, as defined in Section 851 of 
the Internal Revenue Code, shall apportion its net income derived, directly or indirectly, 
from providing management, distribution or administrative services to or on behalf of a 
regulated investment company, including net income received directly or indirectly from 
trustees, and sponsors or participants of employee benefit plans which have accounts in a 
regulated investment company, as follows: the numerator of the apportionment fraction 
shall consist of the sum of the Connecticut receipts, while the denominator of the 
apportionment fraction shall consist of the total receipts from the sale of management, 
distribution or administrative services to or on behalf of all the regulated investment 
companies.   
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-218(e) 
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Maine:  Maine has a special apportionment formula for mutual fund service providers.  A 
mutual fund service provider may elect to apportion its net income as follows: net income 
is multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the Maine receipts during the taxable 
year and the denominator of which is the total receipts everywhere for the same taxable 
year.  Maine receipts from the direct or indirect provision of management, distribution or 
administration services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company or from trustees, 
sponsors and participants of employee benefit plans that have accounts in a regulated 
investment company are determined by multiplying total receipts for the taxable year from 
each separate regulated investment company for which the mutual fund service provider 
performs management, distribution or administration services by a fraction.  The numerator 
of the fraction is the average of the number of shares owned by the regulated investment 
company’s shareholders domiciled in Maine at the beginning of and at the end of the 
regulated investment company’s taxable year, and the denominator of the fraction is the 
average of the number of the shares owned by the regulated investment company’s 
shareholders everywhere at the beginning of and at the end of the regulated investment 
company’s taxable year.  If the taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then 
the taxpayer must use this apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the 
tax year of election. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 5212(2) 
 
Massachusetts:  A mutual fund service corporation is defined as any corporation doing 
business in the commonwealth which derives more than fifty percent of its gross income 
from the provision directly or indirectly of management, distribution or administration 
services to or on behalf of a regulated investment company and from trustees, sponsors and 
participants of employee benefit plans which have accounts in a regulated investment 
company.  Any mutual fund service corporation whose employment level in the current 
taxable year is equal to or greater than its jobs commitment level for such taxable year or 
any such mutual fund service corporation for which the jobs commitment level requirement 
no longer applies shall apportion such income by multiplying it by 100 percent of the sales 
factor.  A mutual fund service corporation that fails to achieve its jobs commitment level 
may still use 100 percent of the sales factor in apportioning net income if the failure to 
achieve the jobs commitment level for any taxable year is demonstrated by the mutual fund 
service corporation to be a direct result of adverse economic conditions in that taxable year.  
Any taxable net income received by mutual fund sales that is not derived from mutual fund 
sales must be apportioned using the standard Massachusetts three factor apportionment.  A 
mutual fund service corporation that has taxable net income from mutual fund sales as well 
as taxable net income from non-mutual fund sales in the same tax year will have two 
income apportionment percentages for that year. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38(m), 830 CMR 63.38.7 
Apportionment of Income of Mutual Fund Service Corporations 
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6. Allocation and Apportionment of Retirement and Pension Plans: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-14.4 / Rhode Island Code 
of Regulations Title 280, Chapter 20, Subchapter 25, Part 9.11(F) 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1996 / N/A 
 
Description:  According to the Rhode Island Code of Regulations (RICR) 280-20-25-9, 
Apportionment of Net Income, Part 9.11 specifies that certain categories of taxpayers are 
eligible to apportion income according to modified formulas.  Retirement and pension 
plans are specifically listed as a type of taxpayer eligible for a special apportionment 
formula.  
 
Any taxpayer located in Rhode Island that sells management, distribution, or 
administration services, including without limitations, transfer agent, fund accounting, 
custody and other similar related services to or on behalf of an employee retirement or 
pension plan may choose to allocate its net income as follows: all net income derived 
directly and indirectly from the sale of the management, distribution, or administration 
services to or on behalf of a retirement or pension plan shall be apportioned to Rhode Island 
to the extent that the beneficiaries or participants of a retirement or pension plan are 
domiciled in Rhode Island.  The apportionment factor is defined as the ratio of Rhode 
Island receipts from the services to the total receipts everywhere from the services.  Rhode 
Island receipts are determined by multiplying total taxable year receipts from a retirement 
or pension plan for which the services are performed by a fraction, the numerator of which 
is the average of the number of total beneficiaries or participants of each retirement or 
pension plan domiciled in Rhode Island at the beginning of and at the end of taxable year 
of the taxpayer and the denominator of which is the average of the number of total 
beneficiaries or participants of the retirement or pension plan located everywhere at the 
beginning of and at the end of the taxable year of the taxpayer.  The apportioned net income 
is then subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-11.  If the 
taxpayer chooses to use this apportionment method, then the taxpayer must use this 
apportionment method for the five succeeding tax years after the tax year of election. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Business Corporation Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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1. Jobs Development Act: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.5-3 / Rhode Island General Laws 
Section 44-48.3-12 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1994 / 2015 
 
Description:  The rate of tax payable by an eligible company, or each of its eligible subsidiaries, 
on its net income taxed under Chapters 44-11, 44-14, and 44-17 or on its gross earnings taxed 
under Chapter 44-13 shall be reduced by the amount specified in Section 42-64.5-4.  The amount 
of rate reduction for any eligible company that is not a telecommunications company shall be based 
on the aggregate amount of new employment for each taxable year over the base employment and 
is equal to 0.25 percent for each unit of new employment.  The total amount of rate reduction 
cannot exceed 6.0 percent in any taxable year.  For an eligible telecommunications company, the 
amount of rate reduction shall be equal to 0.01 percent up to a maximum of 1.0 percent in any 
taxable year. 
 
New employment is defined as the amount of adjusted current employment for each taxable year 
minus the amount of base employment, but not less than zero; provided, however, no eligible 
company is permitted to transfer, assign or hire employees who are already employed within the 
State by such eligible company for itself or any affiliated entity.  A unit of new employment means 
for eligible companies which are not small businesses, the amount of new employment divided by 
50 rounded down to the nearest multiple of 50 and for eligible companies which are small 
businesses, the amount of new employment divided by 10 rounded down to the nearest multiple 
of 10. 
 
Should any eligible company fail to maintain in any taxable year the number of units of new 
employment it reported for its 1997 tax year or, if applicable, the third taxable year following the 
base employment period election set forth in Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.5-5, the 
rate reduction provided under the Jobs Development Act (JDA) shall expire permanently. 
 
For the tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, the amount of the JDA rate reduction for 
any eligible company required to file and pay taxes pursuant to Section 44-11-2, shall be based 
upon the aggregate amount of new employment of the eligible company and its eligible 
subsidiaries for each taxable year, and shall be determined by multiplying 0.20 percent by the 
number of units of new employment for each taxable year through the taxable year ending in 1997 
or, if applicable, the third taxable year following the base employment period election; and for 
each taxable year thereafter, the number of units of new employment reported for the taxable year 
1997 or, if applicable, the third taxable year following the base employment period election, 
however, the amount of each rate reduction shall in no event be greater than 4.0 percent. 
 
Further, the tax rate reduction provision allowed under JDA is discontinued as of July 1, 2015.  
Any company that qualified for a rate reduction under JDA before July 1, 2015 will be allowed to 
maintain the rate reduction in effect as of June 30, 2015, although no additional rate reduction 
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under the program will be allowed.  “All obligations of the company required under chapter 42-
64.5 to retain a rate reduction shall remain in full force and effect.” 
 
Data Source:  November 2019 Revenue Estimating Conference Testimony, Rhode Island Division 
of Taxation  
 
Reliability Index:  1 (This preferential tax rate includes the Life Sciences Rate Reduction 
preferential tax rate to the extent that preferential tax rate has been used by any taxpayers). 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax $12,000,666 5 

2016 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2016 Bank Tax $11,531,021 1 

2016 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2016 Total $23,531,687 6 

2017 Business Corporation Tax $1,877,840 4 

2017 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2017 Bank Tax $7,074,323 1 

2017 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2017 Total $8,952,163 5 

2018 Business Corporation Tax $1,414,740 4 

2018 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2018 Bank Tax $6,448,475 1 

2018 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2018 Total $7,863,215 5 

2019 Business Corporation Tax $1,570,000 4 

2019 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2019 Bank Tax $9,956,752 1 

2019 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2019 Total $11,526,752 5 

 
Projection Methodology:  As no new taxpayers may qualify for the JDA rate reduction, the number 
of taxpayers was held constant with FY 2019 for tax years 2020 and 2021.  For projected revenue 
forgone these same tax years, ORA used the three-year revenue forgone average from tax years 
2017-2019.   
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Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected          

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Business Corporation Tax $1,620,860 4 

2020 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2020 Bank Tax $7,826,517 1 

2020 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2020 Projected Total $9,447,377 5 

2021 Business Corporation Tax $1,620,860 4 

2021 Public Service Corporation Tax $0 0 

2021 Bank Tax $7,826,517 1 

2021 Ins Co Gross Premiums Tax $0 0 

2021 Projected Total $9,447,377 5 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
 

2. Life Science Rate Reduction: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.14-10 
 
Stated Purpose:  The purpose of Rhode Island General Laws Section 42-64.14 is to create a state-
local-private sector partnership to plan, implement, administer, and oversee the redevelopment of 
the surplus I-195 properties and to authorize, provide for, and facilitate the consolidated exercise 
of development and redevelopment powers existing at the state and local levels. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  2011 / 2014 
 
Description:  The rate of tax payable by an eligible life science company and each of its 
subsidiaries for any taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2011 on its net income subject 
to taxation under Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-2(a) is reduced by the amount 
specified in Section 42-64.14-11.  The amount of rate reduction for any eligible company for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2012 shall be determined by multiplying the numerical 
equivalent of 0.25 percent by the number of units of new employment for each taxable year through 
the taxable year ending in 2014 or, if applicable the third taxable year following the base 
employment period election set forth in Section 42-64.14-12, provided however, the amount of 
each rate reduction shall in no event be greater than 6.0 percent.   
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015 the amount of rate reduction for any eligible 
company shall be based on the aggregate amount of new employment for each taxable year over 
the base employment and is equal to 0.20 percent for each unit of new employment.  The total 
amount of rate reduction cannot exceed 4.0 percent for any taxable year. 
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Should any eligible company fail to maintain the number of units of new employment it reported 
for its 2014 tax year in any taxable year after 2014 or, if applicable, the third taxable year following 
the base employment period election, the rate reduction shall expire permanently. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  (*This preferential tax rate is 
included in the Jobs Development Act preferential tax rate to the extent that preferential tax rate 
has been used by any taxpayers.) 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2017 Business Corporation Tax * * 
 
Projection Methodology:  * Projections for this modification / deduction are included in the Jobs 
Development Act preferential tax rate. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Business Corporation Tax  * * 

2019 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2020 Business Corporation Tax * * 

2021 Business Corporation Tax * * 
 
Law Comparison:  Massachusetts has a similar provision. 
 
Massachusetts:  A taxpayer, to the extent authorized by the life sciences tax incentive program, 
may be allowed a refundable jobs credit against the Massachusetts corporate income tax in an 
amount determined by the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center in consultation with the 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue.  A taxpayer taking said credit shall commit to the creation 
of a minimum of 50 net new permanent full-time positions in Massachusetts.  The amount of the 
jobs credit issued that exceeds the taxpayer’s liability under the Massachusetts corporate income 
tax shall be refunded to the taxpayer at a rate of 90 percent of the amount of excess credit.  The 
Department of Revenue shall issue the refundable portion of the jobs credit in accordance with the 
cumulative amount, including the current year costs of incentives allowed in previous years, which 
shall not exceed $30.0 million annually. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 63, § 38CC 
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1. Cigarette Tax Stamping Discount: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-20-19 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1939 / 2007  
 
Description:  Cigarette distributors have a right to purchase cigarette excise tax stamps at a 
discount from the stamp’s face value.  The cigarette distributor pays to the Tax Administrator 
98.75 percent of the face value of the cigarette excise tax stamps that are purchased.  This yields a 
discount of 1.25 percent for the distributor.  Distributors may also be allowed to pay for the 
cigarette excise tax stamps purchased up to 30 days after the actual receipt of the tax stamps. 
 
Data Source:  Excise Tax Section, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. The number of taxpayers is 
set to the number of Rhode Island registered cigarette distributors for that fiscal year. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Cigarette Tax $1,743,232 23 

2017 Cigarette Tax $1,672,327 22 

2018 Cigarette Tax $1,734,551 19 

2019 Cigarette Tax $1,625,306 18 
 
Projection Methodology:  For FY 2020 and FY 2021 the Office of Revenue Analysis averaged 
revenue forgone and number of taxpayers from FY 2018 and FY 2019 since the new per pack tax 
rate of $4.25 was implemented in August of 2017.  The projected number of taxpayers is equal to 
the Rhode Island registered cigarette distributors published for FY 2020. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2020 Cigarette Tax $1,679,929 18 

2021 Cigarette Tax $1,679,929 18 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut’s provisions include a discount of 1.0 percent of the face value of the 
cigarette excise tax stamps if purchased by a distributor.  No discount applies if the cigarette excise 
tax stamps are purchased by a dealer.  The Commissioner of Revenue may permit a licensed 
distributor or licensed dealer to pay for such stamps within thirty days after the date of purchase, 
provided a bond or other security satisfactory to the Commissioner in an amount not less than the 
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sale price of such stamps shall have been filed with the Commissioner conditioned upon payment 
for such stamps. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-298 
 
Maine:  Maine’s provisions include a discount rate of 1.15 percent for stamps at the face value of 
100 mills, or $0.10 per cigarette.  The State Tax Assessor may permit a licensed distributor to pay 
for the stamps within 30 days after the date of purchase, if a bond satisfactory to the assessor in an 
amount not less than 50 percent of the sale price of the stamps has been filed with the assessor 
conditioned upon payment for the stamps. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, ch. 703, § 4366-A(2)(D) 
 
Massachusetts:  For stamps purchased on or after January 1, 2012, a stamper may withhold and 
retain from each payment to be made by that stamper for cigarette excise tax stamps as 
compensation for service rendered in stamping packs of cigarettes…the following amounts: (1) 
for encrypted stamps purchased and not returned for an abatement, $12 per roll of 1,200 stamps; 
and (2) in each fiscal year, $600 per roll of 30,000 encrypted stamps for the first 50 rolls purchased 
and $200 per each additional roll of 30,000 encrypted stamps purchased; and (3) in the case of 
non-encrypted adhesive stamps purchased and not returned for an abatement, $1.85 for each 600 
stamps purchased and a proportionate amount for any fraction thereof.  No such compensation 
shall be allowed on any sale of less than $100. The commissioner, in his discretion, may, permit a 
stamper to pay for such stamps within 30 days after the date of purchase; provided that the stamper 
furnishes a bond. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64C, § 30 
 
New Hampshire:  New Hampshire does not provide a discount to stampers, however, the 
Commissioner of Revenue may permit a licensed wholesaler to pay for cigarette excise tax stamps 
within 30 days after the date of purchase, provided a bond satisfactory to the Commissioner in an 
amount not less than the sale price of such stamps shall have been filed with the Commissioner, 
conditioned upon the payment of such stamps. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78:9, I 
 
Vermont:  The Commissioner of Taxes shall sell cigarette excise tax stamps to licensed wholesale 
dealers at a discount of 2.3 percent of their face value for payment at time of sale.  At the 
purchaser’s request, the Commissioner of Taxes may sell cigarette excise tax stamps…to licensed 
wholesale dealers for payment within 10 days, at a discount of 1.5 percent of their face value if 
timely paid. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7772 
 

2. Political Check-Off: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-30-2(d)(1) 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Tax Abatements 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  416 

 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1971 / 1997  
  
Description:  There shall be allowed as a credit against the tax due under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-30 a contribution of $5.00, or $10.00 if married filing a joint return, for the public 
financing of the electoral system.  The first $2.00, $4.00 if married filing a joint return, shall go to 
a political party or a non-partisan account if indicated by the taxpayer up to a maximum of 
$200,000 in total for all political parties and the non-partisan account.  The remainder of the credit 
is general revenue to the State. 
 
Data Source:  Division of Taxation, Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) Personal Income Tax 
Simulation Model.   
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Personal Income Tax $84,695 12,193 

2017 Personal Income Tax $84,405 12,213 
 
Political Party Contributions: 
 

POLITICAL PARTY 
2016 

CONTRIBUTIONS 
2017 

CONTRIBUTIONS 

Democratic Party $9,528 $9,228 

Green Party $48 $28 

Moderate Party $446 $524 

Non-Partisan $5,502 $5,812 

Republican Party $3,166 $2,856 
 
Projection Methodology:  Projected revenue forgone for TY 2018 through TY 2021 is the average 
of TY 2016 and TY 2017 revenue forgone.  The projected number of taxpayers electing for TY 
2018 through TY 2021 is the average TY 2016 and TY 2017 number of taxpayers. 
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Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Personal Income Tax $84,550 12,203 

2019 Personal Income Tax $84,550 12,203 

2020 Personal Income Tax $84,550 12,203 

2021 Personal Income Tax $84,550 12,203 
 
Law Comparison:  Maine and Massachusetts have similar provisions. 
 
Maine:  Resident taxpayers may designate that $3 of their taxes be deposited in the Maine Clean 
Election Fund.  The State Tax Assessor shall provide on the first page of the income tax form a 
space for the filing individual to indicate whether that filer wishes to pay $3, or $6 if filing a joint 
return, from the General Fund of the State to finance the Maine Clean Election Fund. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, ch. 831, § 5286 
 
Massachusetts:  Massachusetts provides for a $1.00 credit for a resident individual filer and a $2.00 
credit for a resident jointly filed return against the Massachusetts individual income tax to be paid 
over to the State Election Campaign Fund. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 62, § 6C 
 

3. Value of Farmland Included in Estate: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-23-5(b)  
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1916 / 2013  
 
Description:  All farmland included as part of an estate, and utilized by the executor, administrator, 
heir-at-law, beneficiary or trustee as farmland, shall be appraised at its use value and not at fair 
market value.   
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type Forgone Revenue Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Tax Abatements 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  418 

Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Fiscal Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Estate and Transfer Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  Connecticut, Massachusetts and Vermont have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  In determining the tax due, the value of any farm land transferred by a donor by gift 
to a donee who is a lineal descendant or spouse thereof the actual value of the land shall be based 
upon its current use without regard to neighborhood land use of a more intensive nature.  This 
present value shall be deemed by assessors and boards of assessment appeals to be the fair market 
value and not its value at an auction sale. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-646a 
 
Massachusetts:  If the gross estate of a decedent includes real property devoted to use as a farm for 
farming purposes, the estate may elect to value such property in accordance with section 2032A 
of the Internal Revenue Code.  Section 2032A of the IRC allows an alternative method for valuing 
certain real property used as a farm to reflect the (lower) value of the property in its current use. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65C, § 5(c) 
 
Vermont:  For Vermont estate tax purposes, all values are determined for federal estate tax 
purposes.  Section 2032A of the IRC allows an alternative method for valuing certain real property 
used as a farm to reflect the (lower) value of the property in its current use. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. Title 32, § 7442a 
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TAX DEFERRALS 
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1. Holding Period for Unstamped Cigarettes: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-20-14 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1948 / 2007 
 
Description:  Any consumer possessing any cigarettes with respect to the storage or use of which 
is subject to the tax imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-20-13 must, within 24 
hours after coming into possession of the cigarettes in Rhode Island, file a return with the State.  
The return must be accompanied by a payment for the amount of tax due shown on the tax return. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for this tax expenditure item.  The nature of the tax 
expenditure item is such that the tax deferral is for a very short duration, 24 hours, and thus 
realistically no revenue is forgone from the tax expenditure item provided that consumers comply 
with the law. 
 
Reliability Index:  1 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Cigarette Tax $0 Unknown 

2017 Cigarette Tax $0 Unknown 
 
Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Cigarette Tax  $0 Unknown 

2019 Cigarette Tax $0 Unknown 

2020 Cigarette Tax $0 Unknown 

2021 Cigarette Tax $0 Unknown 
 
Law Comparison:  All of the New England states have similar provisions. 
 
Connecticut:  Connecticut allows a 24-hour holding period before unstamped cigarettes must have 
tax stamps affixed by dealers. 
 
Connecticut Statute:  Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-303 
 
Maine:  Any person, who is not a licensed distributor, who imports, receives or otherwise acquires 
more than two cartons in any one month of unstamped cigarettes for use or consumption in Maine 
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must file a return, on or before the last day of the month following the month in which unstamped 
cigarettes were acquired, together with payment of the tax. 
 
Maine Statute:  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 4384 
 
Massachusetts:  Stamps must be affixed to every cigarette package no later than 72 hours after 
receipt of the cigarettes. 
 
Massachusetts Statute:  Mass Gen. Laws ch. 64C, §30 
 
New Hampshire:  At any time before tobacco products are transferred out of the possession of a 
licensed wholesaler, stamps shall be affixed, at the location for which the license is issued, to each 
package of tobacco projects sold or distributed. 
 
New Hampshire Statute:  N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 78:12 
 
Vermont:  Vermont allows a 24-hour holding period before unstamped cigarettes must have tax 
stamps affixed by retailers. 
 
Vermont Statute:  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7775 
 

2. Write-Downs or Reserves for Security Losses: 
 
Statutory Reference:  Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-14-14 
 
Stated Purpose:  No stated purpose given in law. 
 
Year Enacted / Last Year Amended:  1942 / 1956  
 
Description:  A financial institution that is subject to the tax imposed under Rhode Island General 
Laws Chapter 44-14 may elect to treat the amount of the write down of the value of any of its 
securities or the establishment of reserves for the decrease in values of its securities that have been 
required by regulators with supervisory authority over the financial institution as deductions in the 
year in which such write downs or reserves are recorded on its books.  The write-downs or reserves 
specifically allocated to any security shall be used to adjust the basis of the security and the 
adjusted basis shall be used in determining gains or losses when the security is sold or disposed. 
 
Data Source:  No reliable data exists for tax expenditure item. 
 
Reliability Index:  5 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type Revenue Forgone Number of Taxpayers 

2016 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2017 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 



VIII. Tax Expenditure Items – Tax Deferrals 
 

2020 Rhode Island Tax Expenditures Report  422 

Projection Methodology:  No projection is made due to lack of reliable data. 
 

Calendar Year / Tax Type 
Projected         

Revenue Forgone 
Projected        

Number of Taxpayers 

2018 Bank Tax  No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2019 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2020 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 

2021 Bank Tax No estimate possible No estimate possible 
 
Law Comparison:  No similar provisions found in the other New England states. 
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 Recommendations for Improving the Report 
 
The Tax Expenditures Report’s effectiveness as a tax policy tool is dependent on the report’s users’ 
background, knowledge of state tax law, and ability to understand the process by which estimates 
have been derived by the Office of Revenue Analysis.  Although 55.1 percent of the tax 
expenditure items for which reliable data existed in TY 2017 were assigned a reliability level index 
of “1,” meaning the source of the derived estimate was actual tax returns, ideally 100.0 percent of 
the derived estimates for tax expenditure items for which reliable data exists should have as a 
source the actual tax return from which the estimate is derived. 
 
The primary tax type for which actual tax return data does not exist and thus estimates of forgone 
revenue must be derived via less reliable methods is the sales and use tax.  Given that the sales and 
use tax is the second largest source of state general revenue and that it also is the tax type for which 
the greatest amount of forgone revenue was estimated at $1,432,207,659 in TY 2017, the Office 
of Revenue Analysis finds that the quality and quantity of data collected for the sales and use tax 
needs to be improved for there to be an increase in the reliability of the forgone revenue estimates 
for the sales and use tax.   
 
In addition, the quantity and quality of data for the business corporation tax is lacking.  The 
business corporation tax, commonly referred to as the corporate income tax, is the tax type with 
the fourth largest amount of estimated forgone revenue due to tax expenditure items at $56,412,732 
in TY 2017, but has one of the largest percentage of tax expenditures items at 40.4 percent for 
which no reliable data exists from which to derive estimates of forgone revenue.  This compares 
to 6.6 percent of tax expenditure items for which no reliable data exists for the personal income 
tax and 33.3 percent of tax expenditure items for which no reliable data exists for the sales and use 
tax.  The Office of Revenue Analysis finds that the quality and quantity of data collected for the 
business corporation tax needs to be improved for there to be an increase in the reliability of the 
forgone revenue estimates for the business corporation tax.  Unfortunately, most of the data that 
would improve the reporting of business corporation tax expenditure items is not reported on the 
taxpayers’ tax returns and the crux of the issue in this regard is that these are calculations that are 
done at the firm level before arriving at taxable income, which is where the Rhode Island return 
begins. 
 
To this end, the Office of Revenue Analysis is recommending updating the report’s interpretation 
of tax expenditure.  Under current law, a tax expenditure is defined as any tax credit, deduction, 
exemption, exclusion, credit preferential tax rate, tax abatement, and tax deferral that provides 
preferential treatment to selected taxpayers, whether directly through Rhode Island general laws 
or constitutional provisions or indirectly through adoption of other tax codes.  Other states’ tax 
expenditures reports, such as Connecticut and Minnesota, include criteria that a tax expenditure 
provision must meet before a tax expenditure item is included in the tax expenditures report.  In 
preparing their respective tax expenditure reports, these states do not include every exemption, 
deduction, credit, or lower tax rate.  A provision must meet all the criteria in order to be a tax 
expenditure.  Such criteria include, if a provision has an impact on a tax that is applied statewide; 
confers preferential treatment; results in reduced tax revenue in the applicable fiscal years; is not 
included as an expenditure item in the state budget; is included in the defined tax base for that tax; 
is not subject to an alternative tax; and can be amended or repealed by a change in state law.   
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Of interest to the Office of Revenue Analysis in this recommendation is the criteria of whether the 
provision is an exception to the tax base.  The exclusion of certain income is currently reported in 
the 2020 Tax Expenditures Report however, ORA is recommending removing such items from the 
report.  For example, currently included in the report, is an exclusion set forth in Rhode Island 
General Laws Section 44-43-5 which excludes any long-term gains from capital investments in 
small businesses from the determination of income that is subject to the tax imposed by R.I.G.L. 
Chapters 44-11, 44-13, 44-14 or 44-30.  This type of income is excluded from taxable income and 
not reported on taxpayers’ returns but instead calculated at the firm level before arriving at taxable 
income. 
Finally, the criteria regarding provisions subject to more than one tax would be useful in 
eliminating some expenditure items where no estimate can be derived nor expected to be 
calculated.  In some instances, one tax may be imposed in place of another tax, and it would not 
be reasonable for a taxpayer or activity to be subject to both taxes.  The exemption from one tax 
type when another is imposed is currently reported in the 2020 Tax Expenditures Report, however 
ORA is recommending removing these items from the report.  For example, currently included in 
the report, is an exclusion set forth in Rhode Island General Laws Section 44-11-1(4)(ii) for public 
service corporations from the tax imposed by R.I.G.L. 44-11.  These taxpayers are excluded from 
paying under the business corporation tax and required to pay under another tax type, public 
service corporation tax.  It is not clear if this exclusion is a tax expenditure if the inclusion 
generates more revenue than the exclusion precludes. 
ORA believes these two updates are a logical application of the tax expenditure concept, while 
making the report more accessible to readers.  ORA lacks the authority to implement these two 
updates without a change to Rhode Island General Laws § 44-48.1-1(b).  In this regard, ORA 
would recommend that this section be amended as follows: 

§ 44-48.1-1. Tax expenditure reporting.  
 
(a) On or before the second Tuesday in January of each even numbered year beginning in 2004, 
the chief of the office of revenue analysis, shall deliver a tax expenditure report to the general 
assembly. Each report will provide the minimum information for one hundred percent (100%) of 
tax expenditures in effect on January 1 of the calendar year preceding the report's publication.  

(b) For the purposes of this section, a "tax expenditure" is any tax credit, deduction, exemption, 
exclusion, credit preferential tax rate, tax abatement, and tax deferral that provides preferential 
treatment to selected taxpayers, whether directly through Rhode Island general laws or 
constitutional provisions or indirectly through adoption of other tax codes. provided, however, 
that such a tax expenditure does not subject the selected taxpayers to tax elsewhere in Title 44 or 
the Rhode Island General Laws. 

(c) The information included for each tax expenditure shall include, but shall not be limited to:  

(1) The legal reference of the expenditures, including information whether the expenditure is 
required as a result of federal or state constitutional, judicial, or statutory mandate.  

(2) Amount of revenues forgone or an estimate, if the actual amount cannot be determined, for 
the calendar year immediately preceding the publication of the report. The report shall also 
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include an estimate of revenue forgone for the calendar year in which the report is published and 
the year following the report's publication. The tax administrator shall develop an index of the 
reliability of each estimate using five (5) levels with level one being most reliable. Where actual 
tax returns are the source of the estimate, the estimate should be assigned reliability level one. 
Where no reliable data exists for the estimate, the estimate should be assigned reliability level 
five (5). The reliability level shall be reported for the estimate of the revenues forgone.  

(3) To the extent allowable by law, identification of the beneficiaries of the exemption by 
number, income, class and industry.  

(4) A comparison of the tax expenditure to the tax systems of the other New England states, with 
emphasis on Massachusetts and Connecticut.  

(5) The data source(s) and analysis methodology.  

(6) To the extent allowable by law, identification of similar taxpayers or industries that do not 
enjoy the exemption.  

(d) Each report shall include a section containing recommendations for improving the 
effectiveness of the report as a tax policy tool. This section shall identify the resources required 
to implement these recommendations and shall also contain an estimate of the costs associated 
with such recommendations.  

(e) On or before the second Tuesday in January 2004, the chief of the office of revenue analysis 
shall make available to the general assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island's tax expenditure 
reporting effort. The plan shall include measurable criteria to evaluate improvements in the 
reliability of tax expenditure item estimates and the identification of beneficiaries of each tax 
expenditure by number, income, class and industry. The plan shall also include cost estimates of 
additional resources necessary to implement the plan and may include any other information that 
the tax administrator deems appropriate for inclusion in said plan.  
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Appendix A: Current Statute on Tax Expenditure Reporting 
 

TITLE 44 
Taxation 

CHAPTER 44-48.1 
Tax Expenditure Reporting 

 
SECTION 44-48.1-1 

 
§ 44-48.1-1 Tax expenditure reporting.  
 
(a)  On or before the second Tuesday in January of each even numbered year beginning in 
2004, the chief of the office of revenue analysis, shall deliver a tax expenditure report to the general 
assembly. Each report will provide the minimum information for one hundred percent (100%) of 
tax expenditures in effect on January 1 of the calendar year preceding the report's publication.  
 
(b)  For the purposes of this section, a “tax expenditure” is any tax credit, deduction, exemption, 
exclusion, credit preferential tax rate, tax abatement, and tax deferral that provides preferential 
treatment to selected taxpayers, whether directly through Rhode Island general laws or 
constitutional provisions or indirectly through adoption of other tax codes.  
 
(c)  The information included for each tax expenditure shall include, but shall not be limited 
to:  
 

(1)  The legal reference of the expenditures, including information whether the expenditure is 
required as a result of federal or state constitutional, judicial, or statutory mandate.  
 
(2)  Amount of revenues forgone or an estimate, if the actual amount cannot be determined, for 
the calendar year immediately preceding the publication of the report. The report shall also 
include an estimate of revenue forgone for the calendar year in which the report is published and 
the year following the report's publication. The tax administrator shall develop an index of the 
reliability of each estimate using five (5) levels with level one being most reliable. Where actual 
tax returns are the source of the estimate, the estimate should be assigned reliability level one. 
Where no reliable data exists for the estimate, the estimate should be assigned reliability level 
five (5). The reliability level shall be reported for the estimate of the revenues forgone.  
 
(3)  To the extent allowable by law, identification of the beneficiaries of the exemption by 
number, income, class and industry.  
 
(4)  A comparison of the tax expenditure to the tax systems of the other New England states, 
with emphasis on Massachusetts and Connecticut.  
 
(5)  The data source(s) and analysis methodology.  
 
(6)  To the extent allowable by law, identification of similar taxpayers or industries that do not 
enjoy the exemption.  
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(d)  Each report shall include a section containing recommendations for improving the 
effectiveness of the report as a tax policy tool. This section shall identify the resources required to 
implement these recommendations and shall also contain an estimate of the costs associated with 
such recommendations.  
 
(e)  On or before the second Tuesday in January 2004, the chief of the office of revenue analysis 
shall make available to the general assembly a plan to improve Rhode Island’s tax expenditure 
reporting effort.  The plan shall include measurable criteria to evaluate improvements in the 
reliability of tax expenditure item estimates and the identification of beneficiaries of each tax 
expenditure item by number, income, class and industry.  The plan shall also include cost estimates 
of additional resources necessary to implement the plan, and may include any other information 
that the tax administrator deems appropriate for inclusion in said plan. 
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 1996, ch. 327, § 1; P.L. 1996, ch. 394, § 1; P.L. 1997, ch. 30, art. 38, § 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 142, 
§ 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 146, § 1; P.L. 2006, ch. 246, art. 38, § 16.) 
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Appendix B: Current Statute on Tax Incentives Evaluation 
 

TITLE 44 
Taxation 

CHAPTER 44-48.2 
Rhode Island Economic Development Tax Incentives Evaluation Act of 2013 

 
SECTION 44-48.2-1 

 
§ 44-48.2-1 Short title. – This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Economic 
Development Tax Incentives Evaluation Act of 2013." 
 
History of Section.  
(P.L. 2013, ch. 155, § 5; P.L. 2013, ch. 209, § 5.)  
 

SECTION 44-48.2-2 
 
§ 44-48.2-2 Legislative findings and purpose. – The general assembly finds and declares 
that:  
 

(1) The state of Rhode Island relies on a number of tax incentives, including credits, 
exemptions, and deductions, to encourage businesses to locate, hire employees, expand, 
invest, and/or remain in the state;  
 
(2) These various tax incentives are intended as a tool for economic development, 
promoting new jobs and business growth in Rhode Island;  
 
(3) The state needs a systematic approach for evaluating whether incentives are 
fulfilling their intended purposes in a cost-effective manner;  
 
(4) In order to improve state government's effectiveness in serving the residents of this 
state, the legislature finds it necessary to provide for the systematic and comprehensive 
analysis of economic development tax incentives and for those analyses to be 
incorporated into the budget and policymaking processes. 
 

History of Section. 
(P.L. 2013, ch. 155, § 5; P.L. 2013, ch. 209, § 5; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 65.)  
 

SECTION 44-48.2-3 
 
 § 44-48.2-3 Economic development tax incentive defined. – (a) As used in this section, 
the term "economic development tax incentive" shall include:  
 

(1) Those tax credits, deductions, exemptions, exclusions, and other preferential tax 
benefits associated with §§ 42-64.3-6, 42-64.3-7, 42-64.5-3, 42-64.6-4, 42-64.11-4, 44-
30-1.1, 44-31-1, 44-31-1.1, 44-31-2, 44-31.2-5, 44-32-1, 44-32-2, 44-32-3, 44-39.1-1, 
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44-43-2, 44-43-3, and 44-63-2, and chapters 64.20, 64.21, 64.26, 64.30 of title 42 and 
chapter 48.3 of title 44;  

 
(2) Any future incentives enacted after the effective date of this section for the purpose 
of recruitment or retention of businesses in the state of Rhode Island.  

 
(b) In determining whether a future tax incentive is enacted for "the purpose of recruitment 
or retention of businesses", the office of revenue analysis shall consider legislative intent, 
including legislative statements of purpose and goals, and may also consider whether the 
tax incentive is promoted as a business incentive by the state's economic development 
agency or other relevant state agency.  
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 2013, ch. 155, § 5; P.L. 2013, ch. 209, § 5; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 65; P.L. 2015, ch. 
141, art. 19, § 14.)  
 

SECTION 44-48.2-4 
 
§ 44-48.2-4 Economic Development Tax Incentive Evaluations, Schedule. – (a) In 
accordance with the following schedule, the tax expenditure report produced by the chief 
of the office of revenue analysis pursuant to § 44-48.1-1 shall include an additional analysis 
component, consistent with § 44-48.2-5 and produced in consultation with the director of 
the economic development corporation, the director of the office of management and 
budget, and the director of the department of labor and training:  
 

(1) Analyses of economic development tax incentives as listed in subdivision 44-48.2-
3(1) shall be completed at least once between July 1, 2014, and June 30, 2017, and no 
less than once every three (3) years thereafter;  

 
(2) Analyses of any economic development tax incentives created after July 1, 2013, shall 
be completed within five (5) years of taking effect and no less than once every three (3) 
years thereafter;  

 
(b) No later than the tenth (10th) of January each year, beginning in 2014, the office of 
revenue analysis will submit to the chairs of the senate and house finance committees a 
three-year (3) plan for evaluating economic development tax incentives.  
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 2013, ch. 155, § 5; P.L. 2013, ch. 209, § 5; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 65.)  
 

SECTION 44-48.2-5 
 
§ 44-48.2-5 Economic Development Tax Incentive Evaluations, Analysis. – (a) The 
additional analysis as required by § 44-48.2-4 shall include, but not be limited to:  
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(1) A baseline assessment of the tax incentive, including, if applicable, the number of 
aggregate jobs associated with the taxpayers receiving such tax incentive and the 
aggregate annual revenue that such taxpayers generate for the state through the direct 
taxes applied to them and through taxes applied to their employees;  

 
(2) The statutory and programmatic goals and intent of the tax incentive, if said goals 
and intentions are included in the incentive's enabling statute or legislation;  

 
(3) The number of taxpayers granted the tax incentive during the previous twelve-
month (12) period;  

 
(4) The value of the tax incentive granted, and ultimately claimed, listed by the North 
American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) Code associated with the taxpayers 
receiving such benefit, if such NAICS Code is available;  

 
(5) An assessment and five-year (5) projection of the potential impact on the state's 
revenue stream from carry forwards allowed under such tax incentive;  

 
(6) An estimate of the economic impact of the tax incentive including, but not limited 
to:  

 
(i) A cost-benefit comparison of the revenue foregone by allowing the tax incentive 
compared to tax revenue generated by the taxpayer receiving the credit, including direct 
taxes applied to them and taxes applied to their employees;  

 
(ii) An estimate of the number of jobs that were the direct result of the incentive; and  

 
(iii) A statement by the director of the economic development corporation as to 
whether, in his or her judgment, the statutory and programmatic goals of the tax benefit 
are being met, with obstacles to such goals identified, if possible;  

 
(7) The estimated cost to the state to administer the tax incentive if such information is 
available;  

 
(8) An estimate of the extent to which benefits of the tax incentive remained in state or 
flowed outside the state, if such information is available;  

 
(9) In the case of economic development tax incentives where measuring the economic 
impact is significantly limited due to data constraints, whether any changes in statute 
would facilitate data collection in a way that would allow for better analysis;  

 
(10) Whether the effectiveness of the tax incentive could be determined more 
definitively if the general assembly were to clarify or modify the tax incentive's goals 
and intended purpose;  
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(11) A recommendation as to whether the tax incentive should be continued, modified, 
or terminated; the basis for such recommendation; and the expected impact of such 
recommendation on the state's economy;  

 
(12) The methodology and assumptions used in carrying out the assessments, 
projections and analyses required pursuant to subdivisions (1) through (8) of this section.  

 
(b) All departments, offices, boards, and agencies of the state shall cooperate with the chief 
of the office of revenue analysis and shall provide to the office of revenue analysis any 
records, information (documentary and otherwise), data, and data analysis as may be 
necessary to complete the report required pursuant to this section. 
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 2013, ch. 155, § 5; P.L. 2013, ch. 209, § 5; P.L. 2014, ch. 528, § 65.)  
 

SECTION 44-48.2-6 
 
§ 44-48.2-6 Consideration by the governor. – The governor's budget submission as 
required under chapter 35-3 shall identify each economic development tax incentive for 
which an evaluation was completed in accordance with this chapter in the period since the 
governor's previous budget submission. For each evaluated tax incentive, the governor's 
budget submission shall include a recommendation as to whether the tax incentive should 
be continued, modified, or terminated.  
 
History of Section. 
(P.L. 2013, ch. 155, § 5; P.L. 2013, ch. 209, § 5.) 
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Appendix C: Defunct Tax Expenditure Items Found in Rhode 
Island Law 
 
Due to various law changes, there are tax expenditure items found listed in the Rhode Island 
General Laws that are unable to be taken against one or more tax types.  In the 2010 Session, the 
Rhode Island Legislature enacted a personal income tax reform that explicitly stated which credits 
may be used against the personal income tax.  Credits not listed in Rhode Island General Laws 
Section 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(F) are not able to be taken.  Credits that are no longer able to be taken 
against the personal income tax may still be able to be taken against another tax type.  Additionally, 
in the 2014 Session, the legislature enacted a change to the business corporation tax requiring the 
use of combined reporting, single sales factor apportionment of net income, and market-based 
sourcing of sales for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, which rendered several tax 
expenditure items associated with the business corporation tax moot.  Also, in the 2014 Session, 
the legislature repealed the franchise tax (Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-12) for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2015, which eliminated any tax expenditure item established 
against taxes imposed by the franchise tax.  Finally, there are tax expenditure items that have been 
allowed to expire through a sunset provision or other enacted legislation.  ORA has included a list 
of these items that were eliminated due to legislation enacted in or after the 2008 Session.  
 
Disallowed Tax Expenditure Items 
The following is a list, by tax type, of various tax expenditure items that can no longer be used 
against the tax type cited.  The Rhode Island General Laws citation is contained in the parentheses 
immediately following the tax expenditure item. 
 
Business Corporation Tax: 
Exclusions: 

• Special Apportionment of U.S. Federal Drug Administration Facilities (§ 44-11-14.1) 
Modifications: 

• Domestic International Sales Corporations (DISCs) (§ 44-11-11(c)) 
• Foreign Sales Corporations (FSCs) (§ 44-11-11(d)) 

Other Items: 
• Allocation and Apportionment of Manufacturers (§ 44-11-14.6) 
• Allocation and Apportionment of Specialty Receipts (§ 44-11-15) 

 
Personal Income Tax: 
Credits: 

• Adoption* (§ 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(L)) 
• Adult and Child Daycare (Chapter 44-47) 
• Adult Education Credit (Chapter 44-46) 
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Personal Income Tax: 
Credits (continued): 

• Art Exhibition Credit (§ 44-30-24) 
• Biotechnology Investment (§ 44-31-1.1) 
• Elderly or Disabled* (§ 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K)) 
• Employment – Welfare Bonus Program (Chapter 44-39.1) 
• Empowerment Zone Employment Credit* (§ 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K)) 
• Farm to School Income (§ 44-30-27) 
• General Business* (§ 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K)) 
• Historic Homeownership Assistance 13 (Chapter 44-33.1) 
• Hydroelectric Power (§ 44-30-22) 
• Interest for Loans to Mill Building Owners (§ 42-64.9-9) 
• Investment Credit (Chapter 44-31-1) 
• Juvenile Restitution (§ 14-1-32.1(c)) 
• Mortgage Interest Credit* (§ 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K)) 
• Non-Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating Distribution (§ 44-30-37) 
• Prior Year Minimum Tax* (§ 44-33-5) 
• Qualified Electric Vehicle Credit* (§ 44-30-2.6(c)(2)(K)) 
• Qualifying Widow(er) (§ 44-30-26) 
• Research and Development Expense (§ 44-32-3) 
• Research and Development Property (§ 44-32-2) 
• Resident Trust Beneficiary for Accumulating Distribution (§ 44-30-19) 
• Residential Renewable Energy System (§ 44-57-1)  
• Specialized Mill Building Investment (Chapter 44-31-2) 
• Wage credit – Tax Incentives for Capital Investment in Small Businesses (§ 44-43-3) 
• Wages Paid by Employers in Mill Buildings (§ 42-64.9-8) 

* For tax years beginning on or before December 31, 2010, Rhode Island taxpayers were able to 
receive a Rhode Island credit of 25 percent of certain allowable federal credits.  

Deductions: 
• Amortization of Air or Water Pollution Control Facilities (§ 44-30-7) 

Preferential Tax Rate: 
• Alternative Personal Income Tax (§ 44-30-2.10) 

 
Franchise Tax:  
The repeal of the franchise tax for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, under Rhode 
Island Public Laws 2014, Chapter 145, Article 12, Section 20, eliminated any tax expenditure item 
established against taxes imposed by Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 44-12.  The following 
                                                 
13 No new credits may be issued under the Historic Homeownership Assistance Act.  Please see Historic 
Homeownership Assistance in Section VIII: Credits for an explanation on the allowance of previously issued 
carryforwards.   
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is a list of tax expenditure items impacted by this law change, along with their statutory reference 
in parentheses:  
Franchise Tax:  
Credits: 

• Historic Preservation (Chapter 44-33.6) 
• Historic Structures (Chapter 44-33.2) 
• Incentives for Innovation and Growth (Chapter 44-63) 
• Musical and Theatrical Production (Chapter 44-31.3) 

Exclusions: 
• Corporations Taxed Under the Business Corporation Tax (§ 44-12-1(b)) 

Exemptions: 
• Hospitals and Other Specific Corporations (§ 44-12-11) 

Modifications: 
• Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Preservation Tax Credits (§ 44-33.6-

3(f)) 
• Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Historic Structures Tax Credits (§ 44-33.2-

3(2)) 
• Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Motion Picture Production Tax Credits (§ 

44-31.2-9(c)) 
• Income from the Assignment or Transfer of Musical and Theatrical Production Tax 

Credits (§ 44-31.3-2(b)(6)) 

Expired Tax Expenditure Items 
The following is a list, by tax type, of various tax expenditure items that have expired, along with 
the expiration date.  It should be noted that some tax expenditure items may still be taken if the 
taxpayer was approved for the tax expenditure item prior to the expiration date.  The Rhode Island 
General Laws citation is contained in the parentheses immediately following the tax expenditure 
item. 
 
Business Corporation Tax: 
Credits: 

• Anchor Institution, December 31, 2018 (Chapter 42-64.30)  
• Enterprise Zone Wage, June 30, 2015 (Chapter 42-64.3)  
• Incentives for Innovation and Growth, December 31, 2016 (§ 44-63-2) 
• Jobs Training, December 31, 2017 (§ 42-64.6-4) 
• Mill Building and Economic Revitalization Act, August 8, 2009 (Chapter 42-64.7)  
• Taxes Paid to Foreign Governments, January 1, 2008 (§ 44-30-2.6) 

Exemptions: 
• Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation (now the Rhode Island Commerce 

Corporation) Project Status Designees, June 30, 2011 (§ 42-64-20) 
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Business Corporation Tax: 
Other Items: 

• Passive Investment Treatment, December 31, 2014 (§ 44-11-43)  
• Returns of Affiliated Groups of Corporations, December 31, 2014 (§ 44-11-4)  

Preferential Tax Rates 
• Capital Gains as Ordinary Income, December 31, 2009 (§§ 44-30- 2.6, 44-30-2.7) 

 
Insurance Company Gross Premiums Tax 
Exclusions 

• Programs of Insurance Administered Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, 42 
U.S.C. 

Exemptions 
• Nonprofit Dental Service Corporations, January 1, 2009 (§ 27-20.1-2(f)) 
• Premiums Received from Insurance for Medical Malpractice, January 1, 2011 (§ 42-14.1-

1) 
Preferential Tax Rates 

• Nonprofit Hospital Service Corporations, Nonprofit Medical Service Corporations, 
Nonprofit Dental Corporations, and Health Maintenance Organizations, January 1, 2009 
(§ 44-17-1) 

 
Sales and Use Tax 
Exemptions 

• Prewritten Computer Software Delivered Electronically, June 30, 2011 (§ 44-15-30(61)) 
• Rhode Island Industrial Facilities Corporation Lessees, June 30, 2011 (§ 45-37.1-9) 
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